Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, excellent...and excellent
There is nothing bad about this movie at all. Not a damn thing. Witherspoon is amazing as the hardened 'red riding hood' Vanessa, escaping the Government child-support system that has treated her badly to go in search of her grandmother. Keifer Sutherland's calm, necrophile serial killer 'big bad wolf' Bob Wolverton is entertaining and believable. Also, Brittany Murphy as...
Published on 29 April 2006 by Oz

versus
23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An excellent film compromised by sloppy transfer to DVD
A classic modern interpretation of Little Red Riding Hood, Matthew Bright manages to both shock and charm by turns. Keifer Sutherland and Reese Witherspoon supply compelling performances as the teacher come serial killer and the not-so-innocent schoolgirl runaway. My only gripe is the sloppy manner the DVD was put together. No anamorphic widescreen picture - just a badly...
Published on 5 Jun 2002 by Markman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An excellent film compromised by sloppy transfer to DVD, 5 Jun 2002
This review is from: Freeway [DVD] (DVD)
A classic modern interpretation of Little Red Riding Hood, Matthew Bright manages to both shock and charm by turns. Keifer Sutherland and Reese Witherspoon supply compelling performances as the teacher come serial killer and the not-so-innocent schoolgirl runaway. My only gripe is the sloppy manner the DVD was put together. No anamorphic widescreen picture - just a badly cropped regular cut. The soundtrack is generally flat and the sleeve notes can't even get the name of the serial killer right (calling him the I-10 killer rather than the I-5 killer - picky I know, but indicative of the lack of care which has gone into producing this disc). I'd give the film 5 stars quite happily, but not in this release format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, excellent...and excellent, 29 April 2006
By 
Oz (Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Freeway [DVD] (DVD)
There is nothing bad about this movie at all. Not a damn thing. Witherspoon is amazing as the hardened 'red riding hood' Vanessa, escaping the Government child-support system that has treated her badly to go in search of her grandmother. Keifer Sutherland's calm, necrophile serial killer 'big bad wolf' Bob Wolverton is entertaining and believable. Also, Brittany Murphy as a slightly deranged lesbian that Vanessa meets in a youth prison was great fun to watch. The story is fast-paced, full of action and even more laughs but definitely not for the faint-hearted. Several scenes in which Vanessa is battling the evil Wolverton are graphic but fun. The humour is very dark but this movie is just so entertaining, I'd recommend it to just about everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LITTLE RED RIDING HOOD GONE BAD, 18 Jan 2001
This review is from: Freeway [DVD] (DVD)
This film is an adult spin on the Little Red Riding Hood tale and Reese witherspoon is excellent as our heroine(as are all the other characters). Reese's mother and stepfather end up in jail so off goes reese to her grandmothers, which is not as easy as it sounds!!! On her way she encounters some truly sick and twisted characters. This film is not for all tastes but if you like your films with plenty of violence,sex and anything else you may wish for then this is for you! I loved this film not only because of the violence and humour but because also everyone involved in making this film seemed %110 dedicated. Buy it but keep telling yourself its only a fairytale..its only a fairytale!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When the Big Bad Wolf meets a VERY Bad Little Red Riding Hood, well, there will be blood..., 29 Jan 2013
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely loved this very, VERY dark and violent comedy, which by its general atmosphere and kind of humor reminded me strongly of "True Romance" and a little bit of "Pulp Fiction". Limited SPOILERS below.

This is the story of Vanessa Lutz (Reese Witherspoon), a 16 years old girl living with her mother (a crack addict and a prostitute) and her stepfather (a crack addict and petty thief). She is half-illiterate but very resourceful and street-wise. In the beginning of the film, after a particularly horrible day, she decides to run away and go live with her grandmother. But on the way she meets a certain Bob Wolverton (Kieffer Sutherland), a charming, gentle, helpful man, with a wide smile and really big teeth... What follows, is for you to discover, but let me tell you - you are in for a wild ride!

This film was made before Reese Witherspoon big break, so she really put everything she had or could borrow in her acting, and believe me, she is INCREDIBLE! Without the slightest doubt, this is her best role ever! Kieffer Sutherland is as good, even if his character is a little bit more typical and therefore more previsible. Brooke Shields plays a smaller but important role of Bob's wife. Amanda Plummer (famous for her role of Hunny Bunny in "Pulp Fiction") is absolutely amazing as Vanessa'a mum. And finally, there is Brittany Murphy, who plays a small role, but steals the show in every scene she appears in! Frankly, she completely impressed me in this film - it is such a pity that she left us so young...

The major strength of this film is in the incredible, clever, frequently funny and sometimes surrealistic dialogs, which bear strong resemblance to those from "True Romance" and sometimes also from "Pulp Fiction". It is understandable as director and writer of "Freeway", Matthew Bright, made his life mostly as scenario writer before trying his luck in directing. Considering that "Freway" was his first film, it is a pity that for some reason his career didn't take off, as his next three films were complete failures and he didn't turn anything since 2003.

Although dialogs are great, be advised that they are by moments shocking, pretty obscene and quasi pornographic - and therefore this is a film for adults only. Also, "Freeway" is very politically incorrect (an asset as far as I am concerned) and some more violent moments can be pretty disturbing. Finally, the whole climate of the movie as well as the main character (Vanessa) are moraly very... well, questionnable. It is good, solid entertainment - but not for all tastes.

Botom line, this is an excellent, very surprising and by moments extremely funny film, with top level dialogs and a bunch of great actors. I absolutely keep my DVD to a re-watch. Enjoy - if you dare!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, disgusting and utterly wonderful., 25 Nov 2010
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freeway [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
Freeway is written and directed by Matthew Bright. It stars Reese Witherspoon, Kiefer Sutherland, Dan Hedaya, Wolfgang Bodison, Brooke Shields & Brittany Murphy. Plot is darkly based around the Little Red Riding Hood fairy tale and sees young runaway Vanessa Lutz (Witherspoon) hit the road after her parents are arrested. Setting off to visit her grandmother she agrees to a lift from the kind and well spoken Bob Wolverton (Sutherland), only to find that he's not as nice as she first thought. He in turn is in for a big surprise himself since Vanessa is more than capable of looking after herself.

Twisted and richly humorous, Matthew Bright's movie oozes originality and quite frankly deserves to be better appreciated: never mind better known! Going into it for a first time completely oblivious to its structure will arguably aid the experience. Suffice to say that the less known about it prior to viewing it the better. All I have to say is that it's violent, sweary and contains very sexually explicit dialogue, so if those things are likely to offend then perhaps stay away from it. But what if I offer up that those things are dealt with a satirical bent? That the tough scenes, and some of them are very tough, are basis to a caustic narrative about social hypocrisy and the often stupidity of the law? Interested? You should be, because once viewed you're unlikely to forget it. It's no surprise to see Oliver Stone's name etched onto the production credits, since this very much feels like a dirty second cousin to his Natural Born Killers. I'd argue that here we have the better acted film with Witherspoon and Sutherland giving virtuoso performances: with admirable support coming from the likes of Bodison, Shields and Murphy.

One of the most undervalued film's of the 90s? You bet it is! 8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not for me, 5 Sep 2010
By 
Janet Stuckey "oneillfan" (Gloucestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Freeway [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
Freeway [1996] [DVD]

Sorry but this one was not for me, I did read reviews before I bought it, as usual because Michael T was in it, but he was in it for about five minutes and the rest of this movie was rubbish. I thought it was a waste of all the cast's talent. They are all capable of much better things than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Messed up fairytale for generation X., 27 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Freeway [DVD] (DVD)
This highly twisted adaptation of "Little Red Riding Hood" will have somepeople switching off the DVD in disgust and the rest glued to the screenand loving every minute of it. I first saw this film when I was 16 or soand it left a huge impression on me. The acting is fabulous, it'sextremely well casted and the story is gripping. If you have a delicateconstitution I wouldn't reccomend this film, but if you have no objectionto copious amounts of bad language, violence and sick humour then pleasedo buy this film. The only complaint I have is the way the DVD was puttogether, they got the name of the serial killer wrong on the back of thebox and the titles were badly cut but it doesn't affect the film reallydoes it? If you're tired of films with the big, strong man rescuing thepoor helpless girl and wanna see a sicko getting his backside whupped byhis intended victim then buy this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best films of the 90s, 19 Feb 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freeway [VHS] (VHS Tape)
now that reese witherspoon is a mega hollywood actress commanding $20million a film now is the time to take a look at this quirky black comedy from earlier in her career. Set out like a modern day take on red riding hood follow vanessa lutz as she preaches her way from a an obussive home life through to her stint in prison and her visit to grandmas. This truly is the greatest black comedy you will ever see. Career best from the young mrs witherspoon (after watching this it makes you wonder why she settles for the rubbish rom-coms we see her in now) and keifer sutherland who is now on the comeback trail with his hit show 24. This truly is a film you can watch over and over again. not for the easily offended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great performance by Reese Witherspoon!, 2 Aug 2003
This review is from: Freeway [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this film shown on TV one night and it was mentioned and it was a bit of a cult hit. And what a hit it is.
Witherspoon is electric as a young tearaway, with a prostitute mother and an abusing step father, who having seen the rough side of life is more than a little rough around the edges. Through sheer will and strengh of character she repeated gets herself out incredibly difficult situations.
The film is loosely based on little red riding hood but dont let that fool you! The big bad wolf is a seriously disturbed serial killer played by Keifer Sutherland who finds our young riding hood too much to handle.
The film is quite dark at times with a suprising amount of violence even instigated by the main character, but you still sympathize with the her and by the end of the film practically applaud her no nonsense manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freeway [DVD] (DVD)
Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Freeway [DVD]
Freeway [DVD] by Matthew Bright (DVD - 2002)
£21.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews