Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2001
If, like me, you've been listening to prog since the late 60's and if, like me you wish Gabriel had stayed with Genesis and if, like me you buy prog CDs by the truck load from all over the World - its great to find that 'special' CD. I hadn't really taken much notice of IQ but THE SEVENTH HOUSE really made me sit up and take notice. The album kicks in with the superbly titled THE WRONG SIDE OF WEIRD which rocks with the best of them, EROSION follows with sweeping keys and voice before chugging guitars lift it to another plane - as so it goes on through to the finale in the form of GUIDING LIGHT, another rocker but not until the trade mark melodious keys. It's not a perfect album but it IS a superb prog effort from a band that really know their stuff.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2001
IQ, along with Marillion and several other groups, were at the forefront of the so-called neo-progressive scene of the early 80s. While Marillion have in recent times shied away from their early influences, with mixed results, IQ have very much continued along prog lines and, judging by this album, are justified in doing so.
Every one of the six songs on this album grabbed my attention so its very difficult to pick out a stand-out track, although the title song is just possibly the strongest.
Admittedly this album will not be to everyones taste. It has a huge production sound which doesn't sit comfortably with today's fashion for lo-fi, so it'll probably take some getting used to for the uninitiated, and the early Genesis influence is clear, what with the swirling keyboard solos, and vocalist Peter Nicholls does sound like Peter Gabriel. Nevertheless I'd heartily recommend this album to anyone, even if you don't have much experience of the genre.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2001
IQ have been around since the early eighties and have always been synonymous with top quality musicianship and composition, but they seem to have scaled new heights with The Seventh House. Beginning with a bright and breezy opening track followed by the atmospheric 'Erosion', the band then embark on a fourteen-minute odyssey titletrack containing some of their greatest work - the line 'Cathedral that man created...' is so well sung it brings a lump to my throat! The rest of the album provides some refreshing moments with 'Shooting Angles' being the only below-par track on the Album. Mike Holmes seems to be bringing in some different styles on guitar and the sumptuous chordwork lets John Jowitt really twang those bass strings! Martin Orford is top-class on the keys as usual, and I've never heard Paul Cook's drums sound quite so good. It is difficult to see how IQ can improve on this one, but I will certainly look forward to their next masterpiece.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2007
Subterranea is a hard act to follow, but The Seventh House proves that size isn't everything, and that understatement may be just as potent a weapon.

At first listening the album may seem a little lop-sided, because of the sheer immensity of the title track, possibly IQ's finest hour. Melodic, full of twists and turns and yet with an undeniable coherence and driving logic: think Subterranea, but distilled into 15 minutes. The lyrics are momentous - and they need to be to accommodate the enormity of the music and the importance of the subject matter. Then, at the end, just as the main theme is restated and you think it's all over, a final, triumphant 3-minute coda with the sort of majesty you might like your final moments on earth to be played out to.

In short, the problem with this album may be not be How to Follow Subterranea, rather How To Get Past The Title Track.

And yet, and yet. Zero Hour. Just a pretty little refrain, a couple of verses, setting the scene for just the sweetest play-out on the guitar: not too flash, not too many pyrotechnics, embroidering around a nice riff and letting the tune do all the work. And so it goes on: as you Get Past The Title Track, the album just reveals more and more. Outstanding.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2000
This is a bit of a masterpiece from a band who have endeavoured to bring the 70's sound of Progressive Rock into the 21st. Century. All six tracks are of a very high quality especially the title track. production levels are similarily of high quality to produce an album as good as Subterranea.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2007
This and the last album by IQ (Dark Matter) really stand out, but Seventh House is the best. It's a little like Genesis (Gabriel era) rolled on 15 to 20 years so you get a more modern feel with better production and sound quality. The composition and standard of playing is excellent and although lacking any long guitar solos aka Steve Hacket, the album works incredibly well. Guitar, keyboards and vocals (although pretty difficult to decipher their meaning) are particularly good although the percussion is too heavy on the symbols for my liking. However, despite the references to Genesis, IQ are definitely their genre.

The title track `Seventh House' and the closer `Guiding Light' are absolutely superb, both commencing with a quiet opening and transitioning through a heavier section to conclude with a reprise of the opening theme. The `Wrong Side of Weird' is a brilliant opener and `Illusion' is also fabulous. The weak link on the album is `Shooting Angels'. Despite a couple of very minor reservations, I'm still going to give this five stars as I can't give four and a half.

If you're going to buy one IQ album this is the one. Subterranea and Dark Matter are also well worth considering. Forget the others they are weak and sound very old in comparison.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2015
Fantastic band! I used to be a big Marillion fan, (still like the Fish era) First few Hogarth cds were great but now boring. I seemed to have missed IQ first time round, but have discovered them last year, so far I'm loving all their releases, this is what Marillion should have sounded! So I am delighted to have IQ in my cd collection. Seventh house continues in the same vein as frequency in that I mean its awesome, get it & forget Marillions latest releases you won't regret it 😉
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2007
If you read these reviews, you'll buy this CD. If you do and like me, you are old enough to "know better", you'll be wondering, like me why you didn't find out about this band until now.
This is superb stuff, this band have been plying their trade for a long time (eh Martin?) and it shows in their musicicanship and tightness. There's also the matter of a fabulous front voice, Pete Nicholls is brilliant - it does matter. Just get on and buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2010
Having bought this album after reading all the recommendations I have no regrets. The only comment I would make is that to me all the references to Genesis seem slightly off the mark. If I were to compare it to anyone it would be as a slightly softer version of Rush.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
Prog atmosphere melodic airy guitar meets drums on a strange beating path and warm glowing vocals which wrap you in an envelope of sound....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)