Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an original sound
While the image of Jim White suggest another alt-country troubador, the sound of this record is something very different. He mixes almost ambient sounding dance with country and rock, to produce a record unlike anything else you will hear. His lyrics combine strange surreal observations with humorous comments on life and religion ('god was drunk when he made me'). All in...
Published on 24 May 2004 by redcol1975

versus
0 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing!
The new album by Jim White to me is far from good. Is songs have no character or meaning. I really thought that the new album would have some flare but I was decived. You may like it I certenly don't, its boring with no true meaning. I sincerly recomend you listern to the album before you consider buying it.
Published on 19 Feb 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an original sound, 24 May 2004
This review is from: No Such Place (Audio CD)
While the image of Jim White suggest another alt-country troubador, the sound of this record is something very different. He mixes almost ambient sounding dance with country and rock, to produce a record unlike anything else you will hear. His lyrics combine strange surreal observations with humorous comments on life and religion ('god was drunk when he made me'). All in all, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crossover masterpiece, 4 April 2008
By 
Mr. Gary Mcindoe "macmanchester" (manchester uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Such Place (Audio CD)
As someone not normally entranced by C & W, I love this record. Jim White has produced an accessible, engaging mix of alt.country, electro beats and beautiful songwriting on No Such Place. He is an undiscovered gem of an artist with a dry humour, perfectly suited to this material. Standout tracks are Handcuffed to a Fence... , 10 Miles to Go... and the haunting Corvair. Jim has reverted to a more traditional southern country sound on more recent albums - I wish he had continued to mine this particular seam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful "Tricky" second album, 19 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: No Such Place (Audio CD)
On first listening I didn't think that this was as good as the excellent debut album 'Wrong-eyed Jesus'. How wrong can you get! 'No Such Place' is every bit as good if not better than WEJ. This is such a rewarding album that uncovers a fresh gem with every listening. From the first to last track, JW expounds his wondrously off-kilter view of life , first explored on WEJ.
My current favourite track is 'Ghost town of my brain' but as there is so much to choose from this changes on a daily basis...
A wonderfully inventive album , chock full of various styles and ideas and a superb progression from the first album. If you get the chance to see Jim live - do so, you will not be disappointed.
Without doubt ,my album of the year. BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jim White - In absolutely the right place, 17 July 2010
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: No Such Place (Audio CD)
Jim White is not so much a musician as a storyteller who weaves odd, oblique and original soundtracks. He is a completely obvious "shoe in" to be on David Bryne Luaka Bop label and is in this reviewers humble opinion has produced the greatest music from that quirky stable of artists. It was hardly surprising when British director Andrew Douglas wanted to make a road movie about the Deep South and its spiritual roots he choose White to be his tour guide. The BBC film "Searching for the Wrong-Eyed Jesus" taps into that part of the south of which White is one of its most acute observers. It is that strange world of "white trash" trailer parks, small-town Southern preachers, roadside cafe's called "Where Jesus Is Lord Truckstop Diner", sweet maganolia, whistling freight trains and that deep Southern Gothic which shows like "True Blood" have fed off in their own version of vampire led inspiration. One of White's best songs is entitled "If Jesus Drove a Motor Home" it speaks volumes.

"No such Place" released in 2001 is by the length of U.S. 171 corridor road in West Louisiana the best album that White has produced, although you grow to love them all and on another day a good case could be made for "Drill a Hole in That Substrate and Tell Me What You see". NSP starts with the wonderful "Handcuffed to a fence in Mississippi" a tale of full a poor victim of crime whose Trans am has gone AWOL. It is absolutely infectious with its images of stigmata's and motels. Next up is "The wound that never heals" one of the great rolling murder ballads but with a typical White twist namely that the song is about a murderess who is a victim of abuse, thereby White turns her into a heroine and feels her pain when he states -

She runs from devils. She runs from angels. She runs from the ghost of her father and five different uncles. Blinded by their memory, seared by their pain, she'd like to kill 'em all...then kill 'em all again.

Amazingly despite the subject matter it is hugely catchy song with White's Southern drawl perfect as the narrator. Check it out you will not be disappointed. The incredible "Corvair" a lullaby for a disused car sat in White's backyard, a heartbreaking sadcore ballad with weird sound affects that is reprised later on the album. The hugely commercial "10 miles to go on a 9 mile road" is back on the rockabilly trial, while "God was drunk when he made me" is redneck country with a twist and "Ghost town of my Brain" is excellent. My favourite is a sad 7 minute plus lament "Christmas Day" about someone stranded in the a Greyhound Station near Mobile on 25th Dec 1998 as a result of a bus breakdown. White weaves this brilliantly into a reflection on love and life and the mysterious appearance of a girl leading him to question "Where in the world did you come from my dear? Did some mysterious voice tell you I'd still be here? It is a strange and affecting song, about being left behind and the pain of relationships where White brilliantly observes that "The burden of love is the fuel of bad grammar".

"No such Place" also contains a Tom Waits "Rain Dogs" style version of Roger Miller's "King of the Road" which is almost unrecognisable to the original. Indeed it is a metaphor for this album since it is almost impossible to pigeon hole the brilliant Jim White and his music defies labels. It is not alt country, it is not mainstream, its not rock, its utterly unique and a place that you return to with alarming regularity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Superb Album Jim White is a Genius, 26 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: No Such Place (Audio CD)
At last another album from Jim White. Not as good as Wrong Eyed Jesus, which is probably one of the best albums ever made, but Jim White has turned out another wonderful album. The genius of Jim White rarely hits people on the first listening, sometimes it takes 2 or 3 listenings, but if you let it creep into you, you will get it.
One of the finest & most undiscovered artists around at the present time.
Buy it, turn off the lights & listen.....really listen & you will experience something incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent album, 23 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: No Such Place (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the strength of an excellent review in The Observer, without having heard any of the music beforehand, and I am not disappointed. The first 5 tracks are outstanding, and the whole album gets better with each listen. I thoroughly recommend it to anybody who likes good lyrics and original arrangements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No Such Place., 12 Jan 2012
This review is from: No Such Place (Audio CD)
A great album by an artist who seems under-appreciated in the UK. The sound quality really gives you the feeling that you are one of Jim's gigs. For anyone who likes his work this is a must, and for those who haven't come across him yet, I think it's a pretty good introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing!, 19 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: No Such Place (Audio CD)
The new album by Jim White to me is far from good. Is songs have no character or meaning. I really thought that the new album would have some flare but I was decived. You may like it I certenly don't, its boring with no true meaning. I sincerly recomend you listern to the album before you consider buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa718e4e0)

This product

No Such Place
No Such Place by Jim White (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews