Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Am I surprised? Hell no! It's Schmoove!
I Listened to this album for the first time on my way home on the train. Well what can I say, the guys have done it again! This is excellent stuff. Some of the tracks have a funky groove like The Biz and Microphone Fiend and it was hard sitting still! Then there are those which are excellent chill tracks. If you're a FLC fan then you'll definitely love their lastest...
Published on 6 Mar 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Full of Lovin' but not much Fun
This latest album from the Funs leans more towards the poppy hip-hop sound of '100% Columbian'. If you're expecting the hard-line mix of mellow urban beats and meaty guitar choruses then think again. But if you're looking for a deeply laid back sound to wile away your up-coming summer hols to then you can't go much wrong.
Published on 29 Mar 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underground NYC hip-hoppers do the funk/pop thang, 6 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Loco (Audio CD)
Considering FLC is born and bred from NYC, it's distressing to live on my side of the pond (USA) and miss out on all their schmoove gigs. "Loco" certainly brings out a lot of the UK influence they must have garnered from their time on the road - songs like "Bump," "Swashbucklin' in Brooklyn" and the title track itself sound like discotheque rave-ups more than ghetto blastin' hip-hop. While FLC may be moving their sound a bit with this record, they certainly aren't ditching their roots, with songs like "Run Daddy Run," "My Sin," and "Microphone Fiend" keepin' it real. "Where the Bums Go" and "Dickholder" show they still enjoy gettin' a little wild once in a while - which makes us rock fans feel a bit better. Flat out, FLC is one of the best bands from the US to come out in the past ten years, both in terms of talent (Huey is one of the best guitarists out there - period) and songwriting capability, and it's saddening that they don't get more exposure in their homeland. While the new album certainly can't touch the raw rock n' hip-hop pleasure of "Come Find Yourself," it's still FLC at it's finest, and that makes it better than anything on the Billboard top 40 anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Full of Lovin' but not much Fun, 29 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Loco (Audio CD)
This latest album from the Funs leans more towards the poppy hip-hop sound of '100% Columbian'. If you're expecting the hard-line mix of mellow urban beats and meaty guitar choruses then think again. But if you're looking for a deeply laid back sound to wile away your up-coming summer hols to then you can't go much wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Am I surprised? Hell no! It's Schmoove!, 6 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Loco (Audio CD)
I Listened to this album for the first time on my way home on the train. Well what can I say, the guys have done it again! This is excellent stuff. Some of the tracks have a funky groove like The Biz and Microphone Fiend and it was hard sitting still! Then there are those which are excellent chill tracks. If you're a FLC fan then you'll definitely love their lastest offering, so don't delay buy it NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not their best, 31 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loco (Audio CD)
If you like FLC then get it, if you want just one good FLC album, then dont get this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Man, I love this album!, 22 July 2007
By 
Ruth "Whochick67" (Derbyshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loco (Audio CD)
A lot of people don't like Loco very much, I'm not one of them! There are some great tunes on here, and their cover of Microphone Fiend is awesome!

I've been a fan of FLC for about 10 years now and have finally got around to making a website in support of them. You can find it at [...] if you'd like to come around and find out more of what they're currently up to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Schmoove is here to stay, 18 May 2001
By 
K. Yates "Drunken Max" (Lymm, Chesire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Loco (Audio CD)
This is definitely 30-something music to chill and to do some lovin to apart from it makes me very soulful.There is still the usual mixture of hard, pop and serious schmooving sounds but a little more maturer now. I was listening to "Come Find Yourself" and the same sounds are there but now there is a more well produced and mellow result. Selling out ? Maybe, but the edge and the humour is still there and I will continue to be a big fan. "Half a Block" and "She's my friend" are seriously fine tracks. A record collection must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars There best POP album yet!!!!!!!, 4 May 2001
By 
This review is from: Loco (Audio CD)
To all those who though FLC were a hip-hop band, think again! This albums shows what a good pop record should sound like. There is nothing groundbreaking here, just good, chilled-out tunes that you just don't tire of hearing. More of the same please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mellow, Mellow, Mellow, 21 April 2001
This review is from: Loco (Audio CD)
This is such a mellow album. I have read the bad reviews of this album and those people simply miss the point of it. It is true that the faster guitar drivin hip hop of say, Scooby snacks or Fun Lovin' Criminal are gone, replaced by much more mellow vibes. This album is perfect for late night chiling out or lazing on a hot summers day, relaxing and letting all your troubles fade away. Top Class!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Cool Cool !!!!, 17 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Loco (Audio CD)
This album is a masterpiece and beats even the superb "Come Find Yourself". These lads are just so cool and chilled out. They don't have to take themselves seriously - they just write and perform great music. BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ooooh Aaaahhh Shmoooth !!!, 9 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Loco (Audio CD)
This album so unbelieveably slick. The first track 'Where the Bums go' is a punky and quite awful rough singing makes you want to listen to it more! Track 3 'The Biz' is probably one of my favourites, the female backing vocals are great ! Track 5 'Half a Block' is so laid back you can just daydream all day long. Track 6 another great tune, you just have to sing along to the chorus! Track 7 'Bump' is just plain funny. Track 8 is a personal favourite its got such a funky beat ! People who enjoy funk with a twist of godfather laid back gangster attitude will love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa679bdbc)

This product

Loco
Loco by Fun Lovin' Criminals (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews