Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely beautiful...You must own this record
This album is unusually beautiful. I came across King of Convienience by chance, and my music collection has been infinitely enhanced. Every track on this album is an absolute gem. People will at first make the inevitable comparison to Simon and Garfunkel, with moments of Nick Drake. Do not believe them. It cannot be pinned down. This album is a true lady and does not...
Published on 17 April 2002 by S. Parry

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice enough
but not really as uplifting as some would have you believe! On listening to this I'm reminded of Simon & Garfunkel but with a more modern focus (and not such good harmonies). Recording quality is good and clean, but I didn't find any of the songs leaving an indelible imprint - so after four listens I still can't remember a real high point or track which I've 'got to'...
Published on 1 Nov 2010 by Paul


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this quiet album made some noise in my life, 4 April 2012
This review is from: Quiet Is the New Loud (Audio CD)
It is their first album. And what an album it is!
This Norwegian duo has followed my relationships and provided me with a very touching soundtrack for my personal events.
From "Winning a battle, losing the war", a magnificent display of acoustic guitars mixing and soothingly telling the story of a man ready to do anything for a woman who is only a source of pain for him, to the more cheerful "Singing softly to me", of a love that is looking you in the eye and finally makes you open up, or from the wise song on "Failure", which encourages us to see the best in all our falls, the album is a quiet gem, with lyrics that leave an impact underneath your skin.

It does not leave a mark in the obsessive way some albums do, but it surely makes you listen to it on and on, especially because it is so elusive that it requires repetition.

Great for a sunny spring day, with thoughts of people you've loved on your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Less is indeed more, 12 Oct 2009
This review is from: Quiet Is the New Loud (Audio CD)
One of the many great bands to come out of Scandinavia lately ( a region quietly creating one of the most interesting music scenes around ) are the Kings Of Convenience , a duo consisting norwegian singers-songwritters Erik Glambek Boe and Erland Oye . The chemistry of their friendship relfects on their work on this album , their first one on a major record company which includes a tracklist of well-crafted melodies , gentle and relaxed yet never light-weight . The witty lyrics meticously describe feelings and situations while the vocals remain calm and focused all the way through .

" Sex , Drungs And Rock'n Roll " this ain't since were're talking about a band who won't hesitate , in case someone doesn't call them cool , to declare they like to organize chess-championships inbetween gigs...and well, that's what makes them so cool afterall, at least in my book . The enigmatic tracks ( " Little Kids ", "Weight Of My Words " ) work as good as the happy ones ( " Toxic Girl ") yet the group is at the top of their game when they deceide to open up and reveal sensitivity and emotions like on the opening " Winning A Battle , Losing A War " or the impossibly beautiful " Summer On The Westhill ".

" Quiet Is The New Loud " is a record which , along with recent releases such as Beck's " Seachange " or the Kings' second offering , proves how far one can go just with an acoustic guitar and a lot of inspiration . A modern classic then , if there is such a thing anymore .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tops, 30 Jan 2009
This review is from: Quiet Is the New Loud (Audio CD)
This is one gorgeous sounding album. Being an audiophile I am always on the look out for great music combined with superb engineering and sound quality. This has it all. Slot it in your player late at night and press 'chill' or should I say play. It is one of the most relaxing albums I have ever come across combining hypnotic acoustic sounds with 2 soft blended voices. An album I keep going back to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as their first, 30 April 2006
By 
N. Wood "Impatient" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quiet Is the New Loud (Audio CD)
Another incredible albumn by the two feel-good Norwegians.

If you own any of their other work then you'll already understand why this album is for you; I've not yet met anyone who hasn't appreciated the pleasantly pacifying duo.

If Kings of Convenience are new to you, then you're in for a treat. Buy the album; wait for a long sunset; press play on your stereo; and listen the paired-down acoustic brilliance produced by a fresh Scandinavian climate.

I can't recommend these chaps highly enough.

Lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars almost 5 stars, 15 Feb 2001
By 
This review is from: Quiet Is the New Loud (Audio CD)
I'm a bit of a miser when its time to rate CD's. After all - surely nothings out there which is so gorgeous to listen to that it deserves a perfect score.
With quiet is the new loud however, i came very close to breaking my maxim and i've got well over 100 cd's so i've listened to enough to compare it with.
This albums true strength is its mellowness. Its like the musical equivalent of a warm bath - you can't wait to get home from a hard days work and just immerse yourself in it. The songs can only be described as gentle and its guaranteed to transport you to a more tranquil place.
Possibly the only drawback is that all the songs are of a similar nature and while you would never describe the record as depressing the melancholy feel of the songs can sometimes be a little tiresome.
But thats only a minor quibble, with songs this beautiful you'll forgive them anything. I agree with a previous reviewer that summer on the westhill is a classy song but every song is good enough to be your own personal favourite.
So my advice is take a risk and buy this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hazy Summer And Reflective Smoke-Filled Nights, 17 May 2002
This review is from: Quiet Is the New Loud (Audio CD)
Some albums can cheer you up, others bring you back down but very rarely there's an album which you can listen to at any time, irrespective of your mood. Well, here is such an album.
Being a fan of the new acoustic movement and its inherent contrast to the angst and rage of the parallel motion of nu metal, I was absolutely delighted to have found an album that can figurehead all of the principles held by the genre. To me these principles would be soft vocals, gentle guitars and a fragile, breathless nature.
Each track on this album has these qualities in abundance, as well as the ability to add variety with a summery trumpet or string section. I've been listening to this album for four months now and I still want to go back and hear it all again.
As close as any album can come to quiet perfection, these hazy summer vignettes breathe life into the acoustic genre and beyond. Quite fantastic and a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely listening, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quiet Is the New Loud (Audio CD)
This cd is definitely a grower. I saw them at the Green Man festival this summer and bought this on the strengh of that. Why aren't these guys more famous in the UK?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quiet Is the New Loud (Audio CD)
Yes, there is another one. Unbelievable how these 2 boys always staying at such a level and still getting better and better. Buy them all, you won't be disappointed a tiny bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice enough, 1 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quiet Is the New Loud (Audio CD)
but not really as uplifting as some would have you believe! On listening to this I'm reminded of Simon & Garfunkel but with a more modern focus (and not such good harmonies). Recording quality is good and clean, but I didn't find any of the songs leaving an indelible imprint - so after four listens I still can't remember a real high point or track which I've 'got to' listen to again or take to my desert island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle Hearts, 5 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quiet Is the New Loud (Audio CD)
Quiet Is the New Loud
If you are feeling sensitive or have had a painful split from a relationship. The Kings of Convenience are the perfect antidote. 'Quiet is the New Loud' is The Kings debut album. It is so beautifully delicate in voice, poetic lyric and harmonious instrument. Sooth your soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quiet Is the New Loud
Quiet Is the New Loud by Kings of Convenience (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews