Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars35
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£8.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 July 2001
"Bachelor No. 2" is without doubt a brilliant collection of mesmerising tunes that stay with you through the day and make you want to return for more. In places the sound reminded me of the Beatles, and her voice does have that special quality that makes you hang on every note.
"Save Me" epitomises her blend of deceptively uncomplicated melodies, with lyrics that deal with ordinary situations in an extraordinary fashion. The "Save Me" video, specially filmed on the "Magnolia" set is also included on this album and is highly recommended.
Other highlights include the rock-influenced "Red Vines", surely the best sing-a-long track I've ever heard. "Calling It Quits" deserves a special mention for it's stunningly crafted lyrics on top of a very open sound that has a big-screen feel to it.
If you are buying your first Aimee Mann album my advice is to go straight for the best. Her previous albums, "Whatever", "I'm With Stupid" and the "Magnolia" soundtrack are all excellent, but this record is exceptional!
0Comment21 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2004
Having heard Aimee Mann first on the soundtrack to Sliding Doors, I had to find more of her work. This is where it led me, and by this time I'd gone through every one of her first 4 albums. This is without doubt her finest and most accessible LP: it's a masterclass in songwriting and a feast of vocal talent.
There are some notable standouts here. Calling It Quits has a breathtakingly euphoric feel, while Save Me contents itself by sitting at the end of the record and quietly and understatedly stealing the show.
Her voice is mesmerising, her lyrics are sharp and insightful and each and every song is so well crafted, you can't fail to be amazed at the skill of this singer. Oh, and she did the artwork herself too. This is no ordinary singer/songwriter people: this is one extraordinary professional.
0Comment11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2001
I bought this album out of curiosity. I loved the song "Obervatory" that Aimee wrote for Glenn Tilbrook's new album, The Incomplete Glenn Tilbrook, and I wanted to see what else she could do. What a wonderful surprise!! This is easily my favorite album of the year. Everyone told me Aimee Mann has a beautiful voice and clever, barbed lyrics. This is true, but the album could easily have been too cynical for me were it not sung with such gentle sweetness and tinged with an unexpected sense of whimsy. Those elements, combined with lyrics that make me cry and then laugh out loud, mean I could not recommend this album more highly!
0Comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2007
Looking through my CD collection i realised that less than 5% of them were by female artists, i didn't really know why but i never really seemed to be drawn to them, however, with this album aimee mann made me sit up and listen, it is a great collection of songs by a serial artist, the songs flow easily from one to the next, the song-writing is superb infusing a great deal of meaning into every song and the vocals are well performed creating a brilliant album. Bachelor No. 2 is an album that i keep coming back to and one in which i am always impressed, favourite tracks include Red Vines, Save Me and The fall Of The World's Own Optimist. For an artist that seems to be overlooked in the musical world this album is stunning and will no doubt be enjoyed by many for many years to come, a reminder of what music should be in an age dominated by karaoke shows like 'The X Factor' which are flooding the market with talentless wannabes.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2002
I've been a fan of Aimee Mann since 1993 when she appeared on Jools Hollands show promoting her first solo album. She sang two songs, one being the brilliant 'I Should've Known'. I couldn't wait to buy it. Batchelor No.2 is somewhat mellower than her previous two solo albums. It's lyrically superb, musically involving and just about perfect. I've always thought 'The Queen is Dead' by The Smiths would always be the ultimate album, but now i'm not so sure. That is how highly i rate this album. It's two years old and i still play it all of the time. Miss it at your peril!
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I've been a fan of Aimee Mann since her band Til Tuesday in the 1980s. With Bachelor No. 2 she has arrived at a peak of creative excellence that I'd recommend unhesitatingly.
Mann's strengths lie in razor-sharp lyrics about love, life and all points inbetween, coupled to deft melodies that burst into gorgeous, hook-laden choruses. This isn't Morissette-style "designer angst", but something far more insidious and yet rewarding.
Buy this now and discover one of the best albums *ever*. Her other releases are all excellent, too - best entry point is probably 1993's "Whatever", then "I'm With Stupid" and finally her dark album about addiction, "Lost in Space", which came out last year. None of these quite eclipse "Bachelor", though. A real beauty.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2006
Her third solo work and to date,arguably the most moving, with the first song, 'How Am I Different' being answered perhaps by those that follow it. It shares four titles with the Magnolia soundtrack CD, (though one on the latter is the instrumental version). There is a mixture here of up tempo numbers like 'Driving Sideways' and 'Susan', alongside the more melancholy ones like 'Deathly' and the beautiful closing song 'You Do'. Aimee's voice is the vocal equivalent of the recorder: pure and simple but used properly and therefore emotional and mellow and with a perfect and eloquent delivery. This CD is not only my favourite Aimee Mann album but it also makes it into my all time top ten: although such a list can vary according to mood and new releases this one will always be in there.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 April 2006
I've only just purchased this brilliant album. On listening to it a couple of times, the listener is reminded that the songs on this album are intelligently written and sung with grace. Incidentally, four of the songs on this album were used in the film 'Magnolia'. In fact, Paul Thomas Anderson, who directed the film, said that the Aimee Mann songs were the inspiration for the film he wrote and directed. In 'Magnolia', if you hear closely, there are some of Aimee Mann's song lyrics in the script.

My favourite tracks on this superb album are 'Deathly', 'You Do', 'Save Me', 'Nothing Is Good Enough' and 'It Takes All Kinds'. On listening to this album, I enjoy listening to her voice which is very distinctive and a joy to listen to. An album to just relax and let the smooth tones of Aimee Mann's voice wash over you.

This is an album to cherish and should be owned by anyone who appreciates excellent songwriting and brilliant singing. I would recommend it.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2002
Bachelor No. 2 is Aimee's finest album yet.
The sublime Calling it Quits is quite simply one of the most perfectly crafted songs I have heard in a long time.
All the hallmarks of a classic Aimee Mann album are here; great tunes, superb orchestration and possibly the most intelligent lyrics from any comtempory songwriter.
I look forward to "Whatever" comes next, this is Aimee's best yet.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2007
Aimee Mann has on a regular basis provided fantastic songs, but yet uneven albums. Despite being under the name of her former group, Til Tuesday, the album Everything's Different Now really was a solo album and is among the best break-up albums ever. Since then she has shun on occasions but the albums have often been lacking a few good tracks to be labeled as being great.

Bachelor no. 2 is an exception. From the very first tones on the first track, very Beatles like production, to the end of the record, there is not a single weak note. The production is mostly sparse but yet a sonic 3 dimension feel is still present. This may be due to the old fashioned stereo image used, something that has become maybe sort of a lost art.

The standout tracks for me are How Am I Different, Driving Sideways and Deathly. The other songs would in most cases, however, be standout tracks on other albums. I recommend this album and Everything's Different Now for anyone interested in Aimee Mann material, those albums simply do not disappoint.
11 comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.