Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A triumph for all concerned!
Although appearing in a DG dvd barely two years ago, this is the taping of a 7-year old performance(a composite of several ones? the booklet just says "taped in Vienna, 3/94") that must have sent home the fortunate ones present with a smile broad as their faces. And what a performance it is! I wonder if there's a conductor better equiped to tackle this complex score than...
Published on 27 Jun 2003 by Plaza Marcelino

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Der Rosenkavalier; Deutsche Grammophon
Excellent quality, shoehorned into two extra-capacity DVDs, which meant I had to recode it, to get it to fit on 2 DVDs, to take it on the boat.

Not Dame Felicity's most outstanding performance, but Sophie von Otter and Barbara Bonney turned in excellent performances, the Weiner Staatsoper did justice to Richard Strauss' music.
Published on 23 April 2011 by C. F. Reed


Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A triumph for all concerned!, 27 Jun 2003
By 
Plaza Marcelino (Caracas Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier -- Vienna/Kleiber [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
Although appearing in a DG dvd barely two years ago, this is the taping of a 7-year old performance(a composite of several ones? the booklet just says "taped in Vienna, 3/94") that must have sent home the fortunate ones present with a smile broad as their faces. And what a performance it is! I wonder if there's a conductor better equiped to tackle this complex score than Carlos Kleiber, who must have the score embedded in his genes (his father Erich, one of the foremost conductors of the first half of the 20th century, was also an outstanding exponent of the piece, his version preserved by Decca). There's an earlier taping of the original Otto Schenk production from which this one derives that has been severally available in betamax, vhs and laserdisc and which I haven't seen, but I could catch an actual performance of that same production in Munich many years ago and if my memory doesn't betray me, this one is superior if only by notches (the actual singers may have been different in that 1974 summer evening from the ones featured in the video, though, so please bear with me). Lott (Dame Gwyneth Jones in the Munich performance, with a few vocal problems but with an equally grand presence) is an ideal Marschallin, never losing her poise without appearing icy or aloof (as Schwarzkopf sometimes might), her exit in Act III an example of true aristocratic flair and grace under the inevitable. Von Otter is too beatiful a woman to play a truly credible boy of 17 and her stage manners are way too feminine, but her singing is so ravishing one quickly forgets about it. Brigitte Fassbaender took care of this role in the Munich performance and I recall her portrayal as superior, her looks and ways more "masculine" and thus more up to the role (but I'll keep Von Otter's voice for pure pleasure!). The Ochs I saw in the Munich rendition under Kleiber I mentioned was Karl Ridderbusch, an outstanding Ochs if there ever was one, equally matched in this new video by the similar-voiced Kurt Moll, who perhaps might have shown more restraint in his stage ways (after all, Ochs is also an aristocrat, not a bad-mannered rogue). And the Sophie of your dreams is undoubtedly Barbara Bonney, here resplendent in voice and looks. The camera takes are thoughtful and made with good taste, never obtrusive or "imaginative" as in other videos. Mind you, look no further: even if this were an audio-only release, it will be worth avery penny invested on it. And with the Vienna Philharmonic (well, with their "Orchester der Wiener Staatsoper" hats on) in top-notch form under a most inspired conductor, this will surely stand the test of time as well as those other classic non-video accounts of the score, the 1956 Karajan (the Czinner film notwithstanding) and the even earlier from the hands of Kleiber père. DG have opted to edit out end-of-act curtain calls, bows and cheers, save for Act one's, a decision I don't understand for I'm sure the house must have come down with cheering and applause after such a delightful evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kleiber at his best, 21 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier -- Vienna/Kleiber [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
It must be admiited that most things Carlos Kleiber has conducted have been quite special performances - and this is no exception! This "Rosenkavalier" could quite aptly be described as enchanting with some quite beautiful singing from Lott, Bonney et al. If the final few minutes of Act I do not move you, then nothing will, as Lott sings her heart out acknowledging the Marschallin's futility of the relationship with her young Octavian. Kleiber's direction is precise and lovely to behold. Clearly, this is a Der Rosenkavalier which every Richard Strauss.opera lover should have in their DVD collection. The sets, costumes could not be more beautiful. Buy this and let the performance "wash over you".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent performance - user-unfriendly DVD, 14 Jun 2009
This review is from: Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier -- Vienna/Kleiber [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
As a performance, this is formidable. Has there ever been a better conductor of this opera than the elusive Carlos Kleiber? Probably not. He heads a great (and very photogenic) cast here. Felicity Lott exudes class as the Marschallin and Anne Sofie von Otter is a very convincing Octavian. Barbara Bonney sings and acts beautifully as Sophie, but her costume and wig let her down somewhat: she looks somewhat matronly here, which is surely not the idea, unless its a piece of sardonic directorial subtlety on the part of producer Otto Schenk. Kurt Moll has almost too beautiful a voice to portray the boorish Baron Ochs, but that doesn't interfere with my appreciation of his performance: he acts the part most effectively.

One minor cavil: the DVD starts playing as soon as you insert it into the player, so you need to come out and go back to the menu screen to select the subtitles. And even then, it took several goes for me to secure the titles I wanted. This is just my experience, but it did lead to cause some minor irritation when I wanted to get stuck in to my viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine singing and acting, not so great sound, 19 Sep 2003
By 
Anand Ramachandran (Bangalore, India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier -- Vienna/Kleiber [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
I got this with great anticipation after reading all the fantastic reviews it has got. Unfortunately, the sound is recessed which means that one must play it fairly loud in order to get a sumptuous Straussian sound. I have a high-end system with electrostatic hybrid speakers, so I am fairly sensitive to sound.The sound needs to be opulent for Strauss. In fact, I have the Karajan DVD which has better sound. Morover, the picture perspective is from a seat fairly back.
Otherwise, the singing and acting are excellent.Kurt Moll is even better in the Karajan Version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Der Rosenkavalier, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier -- Vienna/Kleiber [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
My favourite light opera, with great sentimental associations, not least because my wife and I had the pleasure of seeing it in the Vienna State Opera House on the conductor's birthday some years ago, with a seat in the second row of the stalls, thanks to Thomas Cook, who also booked us into superb accommodation, with panoramic views of Vienna. And, of course, we travelled back on the Orient Express.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Der Rosenkavalier; Deutsche Grammophon, 23 April 2011
By 
C. F. Reed (Shrops. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier -- Vienna/Kleiber [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
Excellent quality, shoehorned into two extra-capacity DVDs, which meant I had to recode it, to get it to fit on 2 DVDs, to take it on the boat.

Not Dame Felicity's most outstanding performance, but Sophie von Otter and Barbara Bonney turned in excellent performances, the Weiner Staatsoper did justice to Richard Strauss' music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Der Rosenkavalier, 30 July 2010
This review is from: Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier -- Vienna/Kleiber [DVD] [NTSC] [2001] (DVD)
I asked for my original order to be replaced as it had no menu and no subtitles as the opera is in German and I speak English.
The replacement is the same so it is useless to me. Why did you do this ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier -- Vienna/Kleiber [DVD] [NTSC] [2001]
18.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews