Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A galaxy of fun
.
What a surprisingly good film! Sci-fi stories, by their very nature are difficult to make into successful comedies but this is a rare example of how to do it perfectly.
This film is a genuine masterpiece. It sends up shows like Star Trek and Babylon 5 very cleverly without ever deteriorating into clumsy, high school camp parody.
Everyone has seen some...
Published on 2 Oct 2003 by Steve

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Galaxy Quest
Just not my cup of tea but sort of funny I suppose. I bought it for someone as a present because they said they liked it, and that's the main thing but I found it puerile
Published 7 months ago by Greta M. Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Way Family Films Should Be, 30 Jan 2010
By 
MLA (Wien, Österreich) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galaxy Quest [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Galaxy Quest is one of the very greatest family films, a good plot with a range of emotions, characters that both young and old can appreciate for very different reasons, and just clever enough to relax into for a highly entertaining hour and a half. A mark of whether a film is 5 star is whether it holds up well on a repeat viewing a decade after release and Galaxy Quest certainly does. The casting is unbelievably good, the action flows well but never dominates the characters, and the satirical element remains one to admire.

OK so it is a bit obvious at times and the characterisation is unchallenging but that is how a high quality family film is put together. The casting is perfect for a range of audiences with Tim Allen expertly cast as a self-centered actor who played the captain of a starship twenty years earlier and lives on the adulation. Sigourney Weaver, the most iconic of all female sci-fi actors, gives a terrific interpretation of the gender values of the 60s science fiction explosion. Alan Rickman is given a particularly difficult role as a sardonic British thespian somewhat displeased with the low brow nature of his craft. Tony Shalhoub does not have a huge amount of screen time but for those of us who appreciate Monk it is a pleasure to see him in action.

Galaxy Quest is of course a spoof on the science fiction television genre and Star Trek in particular but this is no ordinary spoof. It is a great story by itself. Mainly seen through the actions of Tim Allen's character, the washed up actors are given a second chance to do something with themselves in the form of saving a race of aliens from a particularly evil villain. The satirical digs at the people of Star Trek - both the cast and the fanbase - are close enough to the mark to work but are harmless enough for this to be a very family friendly outing. The gentle comedy throughout should keep adults entertained while the fight between good and evil is exciting enough for younger viewers.

The formulation of the plot including the away mission on a nearby planet comes directly from the original series of Trek with the heroes beaming down to the planet to give the viewer a break from space. Within that formula comes most of the gentle satire and though Crew Member 5 hams up his role a bit much for this reviewer's liking, it is enough of a nod to shows of yesteryear to draw at least wry smiles and flat out laughs at many points. The scene in which Sigourney Weaver complains about the construction of the ship to include a completely unnecessary trap is a brilliant way of handling the numerous plot irregularites that make sci fi so variably watchable.

It would be hard to claim that Galaxy Quest is the funniest film or even the best satire of recent times but what it unquestionably makes for is tremendous family viewing for fans of sci fi or for those who just enjoy a good light hearted action comedy. The dvd extras are very limited but the film itself is what family films should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Whole is Far Greater Than the Sum of its Parts, 29 Jan 2009
This review is from: Galaxy Quest [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
For years, I was hesitant to even watch this film. After all, on paper it appeared to be little more than 'The Three Amigos in Space.'

"Out of work actors, forced to rest upon their laurels are hired for what they think is a live re-enactment of their onscreen performance, only to discover that they've actually been placed in mortal danger."

However, thanks largely to the spectacular performances of Alan Rickman, Tony Shaloub and 'The Guy in the Red Shirt,' it is so much more than this. And I'd even go so far as to recommend this film to anyone who truly despises sci-fi.

Yes, it is definitely 'Light' entertainment without any grand vision or depth. But it also has some spectacular comedy which left me struggling to breathe.

"Listen! I have ONE job on this ship! It's stupid! But I'm gonna' do it!"

It's difficult for me to go any further without analysing the 'Spoofs' in detail. But I'd defy anyone not to laugh out loud, even if they've never seen a single episode of 'Star Trek.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great comedy, 28 Aug 2007
By 
Sarah K (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Galaxy Quest [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I saw this film a while ago on the tv and loved it,so I got the dvd.It is so funny I was laughing from beginning to end.
Tim Allen is great as the egotistical,arrogent Jason Nesmith.Sigourney Weaver plays Tawny Madison well to,but the person who steals the show for me is Alan Rickman.As Alexander Dane he just does a fantastic job of sending up so called 'pompous' british theatre actors bemoaning his lack of a proper acting job.
It has some wonderful lines...."it's a rock! it doesn't have any vunerable spots!"
"you broke the ship.you broke the bloody ship!" being 2 of my faves.
I really do recommend this film to people,especially if you are having a miserable day....it will cheer you up no end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic ride from start to finish!!, 28 Jan 2001
This review is from: Galaxy Quest [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I saw this movie and it made me laugh out aloud for its whole running length!! From Alan Rickmans hilarious portrayal of a British thespian who's career has gone down hill, to the strange sounding, almost no tone speech of the lovely aliens!! The cast is great in this movie, working together as if they had known each other for years, both in the film (As the story points out) and in real life!! The high lights for me were Alan Rickman and Sigourney Weaver, who had a real good chemistry on screen, even though they aren't actually the romantic couple in the story!!
Whether you love Star Trek or hate it, you'll love this hilarious spoof!!
A movie for anyone who loves to laugh!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By Grabthar's Hammer it's the ultimate sci-fi movie, 14 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Galaxy Quest [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
If you have never seen a sci-fi movie then start with this one. Great family viewing for a new generation - a spoof movie that you can laugh all the way through until it brings tears to your eyes. You will also see just how hard it is to park a spaceship but people with sensitive teeth may find the scraping of metal just too much to bear! Hilarious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gloriously funny sci-fi comedy, 17 Oct 2007
By 
lexo1941 (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Galaxy Quest [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
'Galaxy Quest' is much better than it might be expected to be. Although it's a mischievous take on the reputation and backstage rivalries of the original series of 'Star Trek', it's also an exciting space opera in its own right, with plenty of high-energy beam-zapping, lobster-headed aliens and CGI flash to be going on with.

The jaded cast of a long-cancelled television sci-fi show are mistaken by genuine aliens for their own characters, because the aliens, called Thermians, have no concept of 'acting' - to them, the shows (which they've picked up as transmissions from our planet) are much-treasured and carefully studied 'historical documents'. The human cast are whisked off into the middle of a life-and-death struggle between the benign, kindly and peaceloving Thermians and an evil and violent race bent on enslaving them. Somewhat startled to find that their fictional ship has been recreated in working detail by the Thermians, the cast are even more thrown to realise that they have to live their roles for real and rise into heroism.

Everyone is brilliant: Tim Allen as the bombastic and Shatneresque captain, Sigourney Weaver as the gorgeously bosomy and doggedly earnest communications officer (whose only job is to relay every command to the computer and repeat back whatever it says - she knows it's stupid but she's going to do it anyway), Alan Rickman as the deeply disappointed Shakespearean actor reduced to wearing a stupid rubber wig as the alien scientist 'Dr. Lazarus', and a host of great supporting roles. My two favourites are Enrico Colantoni as the spectacularly weird-voiced and really quite touching Thermian leader Mathesar and Tony Shalhoub as the serene-to-the-point-of-stoned Fred Kwan, fictional 'chief engineer' on the spaceship and the one member of the TV show cast who just treats the whole thing as an amusing exercise in group improvisation.

The plot is clever, the jokes are richly funny and the special effects do not let the side down. It's a blast. Old-school Star Trek fans will get a special kick out of it, but anyone will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant intelligent entertainment!, 4 Nov 2006
By 
Mr. M. Poole "mykepoole" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Galaxy Quest [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
My family and I have watched this film at least half a dozen times so far and we now need to replace the worn out DVD!

This is a cracking script, with biting and beautiful performances from everyone. The vain, egotistical lead actor, the dumb blonde, the bitter former classical actor ("How did I get here - I played Richard the Third, you know..."), the stoned out technician, the panic sticken extra who believes life will imitate art(he was killed before the commercial in one episode) and finally the wonderfully believable Thermians - scientific geniuses star-struck almost to silence in the presence of their heroes - a people with no concept of fiction or deception.

The plot is clever, the script delivers laughs in a constant stream, and the performances are all spot on.

This is a heart-warming and hysterical film. BUY IT NOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Galaxy Quest is worth the money, 25 July 2005
This review is from: Galaxy Quest [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Fantastic Film!!!! The random storyline, Tim the tool man Taylor (Tim Allen) and the sarcastic genius of Alan Rickman combine to make Galaxy Quest a worth while purchase.
If you're looking for a comedy which also has a deep meaningful storyline, don't buy galaxy quest. Really...that would just be stupid. But if your looking for a hilariously feel good movie, this is the one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ***** I LOVE THIS MOVIE *****, 27 Dec 2002
By 
Mr. N. Carnegie (Kirkcaldy, Scotland, UK.) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Galaxy Quest [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I love Galaxy Quest. There I said it. I think it is one of the funniest yet most under appreciated movies of the last few years. I own it on DVD, yet every time it is on Sky I still end up watching it again and laughing again and again. To put this in perspective I’m not even a great fan of comedies, I’m not even a great fan of Tim Allen or Sigourney Weaver (although they are both decent actors) but this movie just tickles me pink and has me giggling like a kid every time I watch it.
Glaxy Quest, as I’m sure everybody already knows, is a send up of Star Trek. Tim Allen is cast in the William Shatner role, Sigourney weaver is the Uhura of the show and a dead pan Alan Rickman is the Leonard Nimoy of Galaxy Quest. Having had their show cancelled several years previously the cast of the now defunct Galaxy Quest make their living by doing personal appearances at conventions organised by their all too obsessive fan club. However their careers are given a new lease of life, and a definite change of direction, when they are enlisted by some very hapless (but genuine) aliens to assist them in fighting a war against a ruthless enemy who has been terrorising their ‘people’. The unfortunate ET’s however do not realise that Galaxy Quest is merely a TV show and instead believe that each episode is a historical document. From this false belief the unfortunately dim-witted and naive aliens have modelled their whole ethical system on the show and created an exact replica of the Galaxy Quest star-ship to assist them in their quest for survival.
This movie is simply a joy. Unlike many spoofs it doesn’t over egg the mix. It is told straight and there are no nudge nudge wink wink asides to the camera. Every joke pretty much hits its mark and there is so much fine observational humour that it perhaps requires a couple of viewings to completely appreciate its subtleties. Galaxy Quest is in many ways the sci-fi equivalent to the Scream movies, in that it sends up all the old clichés of sci-fi movies and of course in particular, Star Trek. That said it is not done in a disrespectful manner. I grew up with the original Star Trek and as an adult have enjoyed The Next Generation immensely, which definitely added to my viewing pleasure of Galaxy Quest, which is absolutely choc-full of witty knowing dialogue. Much of the credit for this must go to the invention of writers David Howard and Robert Gordon for what is obviously an affectionate and extremely clever and knowledgeable spoof. Kudos also to Director Dean Parisot for his subtle direction and decision to play the movie straight. Tim Allen, Sigourney Weaver, Alan Rickman, in fact the whole cast are just great. Galaxy Quest never misses a beat and I highly recommend it!
Five stars *****.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beam Me Up Scotty, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galaxy Quest [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This is a wonderful riff on Star Trek and tis actors. The acting team from Galaxy Quest ( a now discontinued but much loved cult TV series) are doing endless rounds of openings, conventions and are scratchy and un-happy with each other. The Captain more into girls and drink than anything, the Spock type ( a frustrated Thespian played perfectly by Alan Rickman) the communiciations officer who everyone oogles ( Sigourney in a great role) are all going nowhere fast. Then approached by aliens ( its way better than that sounds) they suddenly find themselves having to live their roles and calling on fans to help. It's funny, it's heroic, it's insightful and played for all its worth by a great cast. I especially loved the security guy...you know the one who always gets killed because he has no name...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb011c5c4)

This product

Galaxy Quest [DVD] [2000]
Galaxy Quest [DVD] [2000] by Dean Parisot (DVD - 2006)
£8.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews