Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST vid I have bought this year !
For all those people contemplating life, love, and "The One", this film raises all the questions you thought you should never ask. This candid portrayal of love and lust is funny, sad and poignant in all the right places. Sandra Bullock is stunning as the wild woman every man wants to run off with and Ben Affleck reciprocates as the man that every woman would...
Published on 30 April 2000

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing
Being a Sandra Bullock fan, I was looking forward to watching this dvd, but was very disappointed. It started off funny, but degenerated into farsical, over the top nonsense. Also, I was not impressed by some of the content (gay bar, lust issues) which I felt trivialised the subject matter. Whilst this dealt with what is no doubt an interesting subject, I felt the film...
Published on 1 Feb 2008 by Katie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST vid I have bought this year !, 30 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Forces of Nature [VHS] (VHS Tape)
For all those people contemplating life, love, and "The One", this film raises all the questions you thought you should never ask. This candid portrayal of love and lust is funny, sad and poignant in all the right places. Sandra Bullock is stunning as the wild woman every man wants to run off with and Ben Affleck reciprocates as the man that every woman would dearly love to settle down with. Large dollops of comedy sit slickly with tear jerking sadness, all of which is interspersed with heart warming romance. If you don't see it, you'll never know just what you might be missing (in life too).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great but no for everyone, 22 April 2003
This review is from: Forces Of Nature [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
if your looking for one of those films that has all the award winng stuff,like explosions and fights then don't watch this, but if you want a funny, sometimes light hearted, sometimes heavy, with a realistic ending, then you should watch this.
Both characters have something to learn from each other and as with most films, something to show the audience. As a film many viewers will see it a the last temptation of the groom, which it is. but it is also funny, without taking it too far as so many films do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing, 1 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Forces Of Nature [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Being a Sandra Bullock fan, I was looking forward to watching this dvd, but was very disappointed. It started off funny, but degenerated into farsical, over the top nonsense. Also, I was not impressed by some of the content (gay bar, lust issues) which I felt trivialised the subject matter. Whilst this dealt with what is no doubt an interesting subject, I felt the film was directed towards men, and the passion of the ending of the film was not matched by the silliness of the middle, and the humour of the beginning. I was waiting for it to end, as it did, fairly predictably. Wish I hadn't wasted my money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars astonishing real for an american film, 17 Oct 2011
This review is from: Forces Of Nature [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This is a film with a lot of action, fun, and for one like me, working for people with psychic problems for decades, shows a remarkable insight. Sandra Bullock is as fantastic as ever and acts this women with a severe personality disorder in a very authentic and understanding way, you can't help but loving her. Adam Sandler is great in the other part of a steady man, who hasn't full experience of himself at all. Accidentally pinned together (they have to deal with a lot of problems) both learn about themselves and their capabilities, find something new in exchange and in the end you see that life doesn't goes the easy way and is nevertheless precious every moment. And as long as you live you can always make things up, or at least try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forces of Nature (DVD) (1999) Sandra Bullock/Ben Affleck, 20 Sep 2011
By 
Derek Vernon-morris (Greater Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forces Of Nature [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
The tongue in cheek action begins on Ben's (Played by Ben Affleck) Stag Night. Dancing with a stripper gives his Grandfather a heart attack, next his Best Man forgets the ring and Ben has to travel from New York to Savannah alone, but not quite--He happens to be sitting next to Sarah (Sandra Bullock)a hip chick. A seagull enters the jet engine, and the plane skids out of control even before take off, during the panic Sarah seems to think he has saved her life, and as there are no other immediate options available, he hitches a ride with her and a guy whose licence has expired. After an altercation with the Police, he is arrested for drug offences, and Ben and Sarah are held in custody also. It seems like fate conspires to prevent him making the deadline to his wedding.

At one point they stand on the top of a railway carriage to see the sunset, across a lake, and yes, they end up in the wrong half that is heading for Chicago. They pretend to be married, and Ben impersonates a Doctor when given a ride by a group of elderly travellers, and they have to moonlight to avoid paying at a Hotel.(where his best man catches up with him but leaves without him again) The bank catches fire where his Father has telegraphed money to, so Sarah offers her services as a table dancer at a club to make the fare, but they prefer Ben to dance.

All the time he is examining his true feelings and questioning other people, most of whom give him the downside of marriage, and Sarah is escaping an abusive relationship, and trying to reach her ten year old son.
Sandra Bullock's trademark comedy with periods of sensitive realism is evident through out, and Ben Affleck plays a quiet regular guy that things just keep happening to. Will he abandon his wedding and Stephany and shack up with Sarah ?
The final disaster is a hurricane when they do arrive just in time for the wedding and more hillarity. For anyone who has not seen this I will not reveal their final descisions, but true love conquers.

Directed by Bronwen Hughes, produced by Susan Arnold, Donna Roth, and Ian Bryce, with a great sound track by John Powell, and an all star supporting cast, this film is certainly one for the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb film, 10 May 2008
By 
Chris George (Leeds UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forces Of Nature [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This was my first experience of a brilliant writer, Marc Lawrence, who creates a refreshing, bright and original story in a genre where possibilities are fairly limited. Lawrence's real skill is in the short, every-day scenes (people waiting in a queue, or riding in a taxi) where he puts surprisingly original words into the mouths of what appear to be ordinary people ( as Woody Allen does) thereby revealing some quirky and very humorous feature about that character. Lawrence also has a knack of allowing characters to speak our own inner-most thoughts as if they were everyday truths. But there is no doubt that the brilliant writing is given three dimensioal life by the acting of Ben Affleck, who can handle the various demands of his craft better than anyone. He has always excelled at the awkward, difficult moments, when he is clearly searching for the right words, and yet his joy and child-like enthusiam in moments of excitment are catching. I also liked the pace and mood of this film, as it (literally) journey's onto its (emotional) destination, Lawrence builds up the mystery yet allows us to empathize with the charactars as they face upto doubt and temptation before marriage. The final scenes somehow exist in a a dreamy, unreal atmostphere,with the battering storm reminding us of the Forces of Nature that affect every one of us in our own lives. Best film I have seen for a long time. Recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My wife loves it!, 20 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forces Of Nature [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I bought this for my wife and surprised her when it turned up just a couple of days after I promised to buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars forces of nature, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forces Of Nature [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
another good one from sandra bullock,got a few of hers never been disappointed yet.shes so free and easy to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Forces Of Nature, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forces Of Nature [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
another good film but then I'm bias as I love Sandra Bullock. Definitely a film for the girls with a glass of wine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Dud, 23 July 2013
By 
David Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forces Of Nature [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I am a big fan of Sandra but this film is not one of her best.Its one of the earlier ones so she had not yet matured into the actress (or actor) she is today.

I think we gave it away to a charity shop!

David
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forces Of Nature [DVD] [1999]
Forces Of Nature [DVD] [1999] by Bronwen Hughes (DVD - 2006)
£6.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews