Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best version available - It's a port of the HD DVD transfer
I see this product has one review by a sadly misguided soul who thinks this is a bad grainy transfer. First of all, this is the same transfer as the excellent HD DVD version, also the pitch problem has been fixed too. I had owned the US artisan release on Blu-ray prior to this and this is a big improvement on that transfer. The disc is coded region A,B. The sound is 5.1...
Published on 11 Aug 2008 by James Burnwood

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Totally great - or totally freaky?
Some interesting special effects were tried out here, in order to gross people out, no doubt. The story is good enough and played well enough, though at some spots you just can imagine the director say: Don't move until the camera's are rolling! Lots of blood, bedroom scenes and athletic action.Those who enjoy this mix of attributes will greatly enjoy it. All in all, it...
Published 6 months ago by joggle.com


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best version available - It's a port of the HD DVD transfer, 11 Aug 2008
By 
James Burnwood "JB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total Recall [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I see this product has one review by a sadly misguided soul who thinks this is a bad grainy transfer. First of all, this is the same transfer as the excellent HD DVD version, also the pitch problem has been fixed too. I had owned the US artisan release on Blu-ray prior to this and this is a big improvement on that transfer. The disc is coded region A,B. The sound is 5.1 DTS HD master audio. Due to the lack of any extras it misses the final star for my review. However, in terms of image and sound quality, This is the best version available of this cracking film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality sci-fi, 26 April 2013
This review is from: Total Recall [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
now, if i was having a trip to Mars, with super-spy save-the-planet shenanigans implanted directly into my brain and i didn't get to not only see Sharon Stone's norks but play with them as well i would be very unhappy and demand my credits back. thats the only reason this brilliant Arnie film doesn't get 6 stars. it does have, however, 3 mutant boobages "baby, you make me wish i had 3 hands!!!" i saw this film 8 times at the cinema when it first came out because me and the lads used to get hammered and go every week and the alternatives at the time were "Another 48 Hours" or something equally awful. we loved it every time. and even today it has a lovingly gratuitous, garish idiocy to it. don't watch the re-make it is so bad it makes me angry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


128 of 147 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Movie: 4/5 Picture Quality: 4/5 Sound Quality: 3.5~4/5 Extras: 0/5, 19 Aug 2008
This review is from: Total Recall [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Version: U.K / Optimum
VC-1 BD-50 / Region A & B / 1080p / 23.976fps / 16:9 / Advanced Profile 3
Running time: 1:53:33
Movie size: 27,470,180,352 bytes
Disc size: 27,855,845,274 bytes
Average video bit rate: 19.95 Mbps
DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 2121Kbps (48kHz/16-bit) English
DTS-HD HR Audio 5.1 2046 kbps (48kHz/16-bit) French / German / Portuguese
DTS 2.0 1536 kbps (48kHz/16-bit) Spanish
Subtitles: English / Danish / Dutch / Finnish / German / Norwegian / French / Portuguese / Spanish
Number of chapters: 16
No pitch issues.

Version: U.S.A / Lionsgate
MPEG-2 BD-25
Running time: 1:53:20
Movie size: 23,919,777,792 bytes
Disc size: 24,975,593,362 bytes
Average video bit rate: 22.82 Mbps
DTS-HD High Resolution Audio 6.1 3039Kbps English
DD AC3 5.1-EX 640Kbps

Version: Studio Canal HD DVD (E.U)
VC-1 HD-30
Running time: 1:53:27
Movie size: 21,281,163,264 bytes
Disc size: 22,085,368,978 bytes
Average video bit rate: 20.47 Mbps
DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "See You At Da Party Richter", 22 Feb 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Blu ray Info.
Running time 113 minutes approx, Trailer, Interviews, 7 minute behind the scenes featurette.

Trivia.
1)Christopher Reeve was approached to play Doug Quaid but turned it down.
2)Jeff Bridges, Matthew Broderick & Richard Dreyfuss were all considered for the part of Doug Quaid.
3)Body count 77.
4)Ronny Cox also appeared in Robocop again directed by Paul Verhoeven.
5)Robert Picardo added his voice & likeness to the Johnnycab character.
6)Sharon Stone impressed Paul Verhoeven so much in this movie he cast her in his next movie Basic Instinct.
7)Sharon Stone posed nude in Playboy to coincide with this movie's release (Anyone got a spare copy?).
8)Originally Dino De Laurentis was going to produce this with Patrick Swayze starring as Doug Quaid but the company went into bankruptcy & Arnold Schwarzenegger then managed to persuade Carolco to purchase the movie right's for a movie vehicle for him to star in.
9)Remade in 2012 with Colin Farrell as Doug Quaid but is a far inferior 12a remake.

Review.

In the near future.

When happily married construction worker Doug Quaid has dreams & images of another life on Mars he visits Rekall a virtual reality holiday vacation company that implant your wildest dreams & fantasies into your subconscious to allow them to become a reality.

But something goes wrong during the implantation & Doug is targeted by his former friend's as they try & kill him but Doug kills them & upon returning home his wife Lori also tries to murder him.

Turns out Doug is actually named Hauser a secret agent who is fighting the evil Mars Administrator Cohaagen who has become a powerful dictator ruling over the planet Mars.

Doug travels to the colony on Mars hoping to find answers to the mystery of who he actually is while trying to evade Cohaagen & his team of assassins led by Richter.

There he meets a woman named Melina who may know some of the answers to Doug questions in finding out about who he was in his past life.

Doug is eventually taken to the underground resistance movement which is lead by Mr Kuato a psychic mutant who knows secrets about Mars & knows that Mars is actually capable of sustaining a breathable atmosphere via a reactor in the alien ruins of Mars underground which Cohaagen denys exists but actually knows about it's existence but refuses to turn the reactor on.

When the rebels are attacked by Cohaagens soldier's Kuato is killed & Doug & Melina are taken captive & meet Cohaagen who reveals the truth to Doug that he actually works for Cohaagen as he & Hauser concocted this whole plan together to locate the resistance base & kill it's leader Kuato.

Doug manages to escape his captors as he & Melina battle Cohaagens guards to locating the reactor, Quaid then fights against Cohaagens top assassin Richter in a fight to the death as Quaid attempts to get to the alien reactor & turn it on so Mars can have a breathable living atmosphere but will he succeed?

Are these events real or is it just all a dream?

Timelord Thoughts.

This is a very gory & extremely violent Schwarzenegger Sci-fi action movie that delivers a very intriguing story & some wonderfully directed bloody action sequences by Paul Verhoeven.

The cast are great from Arnold Schwarzenegger as average guy Doug Quaid who may or may not be who he seems as Arnie handles the characters confusion & inner conflict well & as ever delivers the goods in the movies brutal action sequences.

This is Sharon Stone's breakthrough role as Doug's wife Lori who tries to kill Doug, Stone portrays Lori as a cold hearted bitch & malicious killer as she showcases here why she became a A list leading actress.

Melina is played by Rachael Tictoin who helps Doug in his quest for answers who equally delivers drama to her character & also delivers in her action scenes with Arnie.

Michael Ironside portrays pure menace & manic rage in his character of Cohaagens number one assassin Richter posing a genuine threatening psychotic killer presence which is wonderfully played by Michael Ironside.

Finally to Cohaagen who is Mars ruler & dictator that is played with a genuine charm & cunning evil given a wonderfully sinister performance by he brilliant Ronny Cox.

This film has some extremely violent action sequences & gory images especially towards the end of the movie & may upset the more sensitive viewers but for hardcore action fan's this delivers in spades, With a excellent script, A great cast of actor's & superb direction by Paul Verhoeven.

The Blu ray picture quailty is excellent as it's very crisp & clear with remastered sound that is simply stunning makes this a must buy purchase for Schwarzenegger action fan's on Blu ray.

Review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remastered Total Recall - Triple Play Blu-ray, 19 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Finally a worthy Blu-ray transfer for the excellent film, Total Recall. Previously the US (import) edition had less noise reduction but muted colours; the UK edition had stronger colours and sharper contrast, but heavy-handed noise reduction that resulted in 'smearing' in various places - particularly in the outdoor Mars scenes towards the end of the film. By and large this transfer bests the best of both these previous transfers. On no-FX scenes the picture is very sharp, retains grain, and has nice colour. Some problematic softness and slight trails persist on FX shots where layers have been used in the original. However they come across nowhere near as bad as the previous UK release. It seems they trace back to the original processes and may be impossible to fix - without completely recreating them (like was done for the original Star Trek TV series).

The sound is good, with clear dialogue and strong presence during action scenes - although the mix, by today's standards, is rather sparse in places so the action moments can rather blast out here and there.

If you are buying this on the strength of the commentary with Verhoven and Schwarzenegger, think twice! I've only listened to a portion of it so far, but insightful it isn't! For the most part, it's Verhoven and Schwarzenegger telling you what's happening on the screen (e.g. Arnie, 'this is where I'm taking the bug out of my nose'). Still given Arnie's character it's amusing enough - in a rather surreal way - and there's some filming info throughout about how the film was actually made. The 'making of' seems reasonable, and looks like it was made around 1990. It has interviews, behind-the-scenes footage and so on. There's also a newer interview with the Director and various other bits and pieces.

Be cautious if you are looking forward to the Digital Copy. I was - assuming it was going to be a standard iTunes affair. It's not. You have to (a) visit a website, (b) register (two screens not one), (c) download an installer programme, (d) find it won't install (on a Mac), (e) look at the leaflet to work out what else you can do, (f) try to get 'Flux Player' from the Mac App store, (g) find there's nothing there called 'Flux Player' then realise they meant the iTunes app store... (h) realise you probably have to go through the process on an iPad... etc. etc. etc. etc.

Update 1: Finally got the download going without an iPad as the installer package works so long as I have iTunes open in the background. The file is 1.4 GB! Joy! Judging by the reviews of the 'Flux Player' App though, my troubles may not be over yet. People have had difficulties transferring the file between devices, we'll see... Why so complicated? What was wrong with the digital copy being on a DVD in the package, entering a code, then it transfers to your computer? Useless... Update 2: Gosh. Wish I'd read the other review about Flux Player Digital Copy woes. Similarly I've got the Digital Copy locked on my Mac and am unable to transfer it to anything else to view it! GARBAGE!!! Why they would have a system like this is beyond me. Given it's a Triple Play, surely if I only wanted to view it on my Mac I'd watch the DVD, no???

Still, overall a worthwhile purchase on the strength of the picture, sound and extras - and, hopefully, if you can eventually get at the Digital Copy you're also paying for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Get Your Ass To Mars", 7 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
One of the high points of the sci-fi genre, action films and Schwarzenegger's career in general came along in the package of this imaginative, violent and visually exciting blockbuster. Fresh from his debut of 'RoboCop', director Paul Verhoven carries on his winning team of visual effects designers, editors and assistant directors to bring another gritty and uber-real utopian future plagued with fantasy and crime.

The first thing that struck me watching this, not even 40 minutes in, is the violence. Not that it's a bad thing - but it just looks, sounds and feels real like action films used to do back before CGI enhancement. The sound of bones cracking, flesh being shot away and the thick, crimson blood adds to the overall gritty and adult tone we miss so much nowadays in action films, and ones that weren't afraid to label an 18 film to sacrifice ticket sales.

Reality can never be replaced for glossy CGI, and this proves it. Everything feels more intense and real backed by a pulse-soundtrack, the proof of this is Quaid’s battle through the train station against Richter and his men; brilliant x-ray scanners, brutal deaths and loud, frantic music to accompany a stand-out sequence that we don’t see enough of today. And it’s made more brilliant by REAL classic cinema bad guys, who dress in black, talk tough and shoot innocents to get what they want and don't even blink. Great fun.

It's a little dated now but still looks brilliant with the set design, miniatures, visual effects and clever action sequences. It's well shot, with sweeping camera angels showcasing the complex landscape of Mars, mixed with the urban utopia of Earth. The visual effects are used to create and enhance Mars itself and the sprawling urban cities and starships seen on screen, thankfully not the actual stunt work and action which is very refreshing to see as CGI now dominates most action cinema.

Arnie has a great bunch of actors alongside him like Sharon Stone, Michael Ironside and Ronny Cox putting their all into their meaty roles trying to kill, deceive and outsmart the hero. This is a big popcorn based pleasure trip for all Arnie fans, and action fans alike, this is full of classic moments everyone who grew up with Schwarzengger and action films will never forget like the ever memorable 3 breasted woman, the freaky looking Johnny Cab, Quaid’s faulty Mars disguise, the gratuitous use of violence and gore, and of course the puns. "Consider this a divorce."

If you've not seen this, which I doubt, then please check it out and forget all you know about the turgid Colin Farrel 2012 remake which has proven that you can't remake certain films of yester-year, such as this sci-fi classic. And it proves that nobody still does it better than Arnold Schwarzenegger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gore galore with Arnie at his very best!, 1 Jun 2005
This review is from: Total Recall [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
This has to be Arnie's best film to date. He's done some other crackers (Commando, Red Heat) and some not so good (Jingle all the way), but I always look for this one in my collection when i'm bored. I won't bother explaining the storyline as you can read it somewhere above this review, however I will talk about what makes this movie as good as it is.
The action scenes are very impressive. Forget other fine gun fights in Commando or battles in The Running Man, this is the stuff to watch if you fancy seeing people being blasted into oblivion with futuristic hand guns. The blood is excessive to say the least, making this the most violent and extreme action i've seen from old Arnold in...forever! Fans of ultra violence step this way!
The acting isn't brilliant, but Arnie never was good at acting, he always seems to have this cheesiness about him when he speaks. However there are some decent scenes where the one liners are churned out, so do worry.
As for the story...it's very clever, that's all I can say. No nonsense. Paul Verhoven, I salute you!!! If you enjoy this, make sure to check out Starship Troopers and Red Heat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blast from the past, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My son wanted go see it after I told him that the latest one was not as good as the original. He now agrees
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Schwarzenegger Classic, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total Recall [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
From the time when Arnold Schwarzenegger was a king of the movie world.

There is a sense of black humour that the remake cannot match. Schwarzenegger is on top form in a film that is both a action film and a film that makes you think. (Behind the gunfire and the explosions there is a question about the nature of reality, which was famously explored ten years later in the matrix).

I must have seen this film dozens of times now, but still enjoy it every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 30 April 2014
By 
Brendan Newport (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total Recall [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Hasn't dated one bit. So much more fun than the remake, which is utterly devoid of humour.

Schwarzennegger hams-it-up perfectly, and the movie is almost purposely designed around him.

Bears little resemblance to 'We can Remember it for you Wholesale' - Phillip K. Dick's story, but who cares?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Total Recall [DVD] [1990]
Total Recall [DVD] [1990] by Paul Verhoeven (DVD - 2001)
5.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews