Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars84
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Ivan Danko (Arnold Schwarzenegger) is a tough Moscow cop on the trail of Viktor Rostavili (Ed O'Ross) the drug dealer who killed his partner. When Viktor turns up in Chicago, having paid an American woman to marry him and being held by the local police on minor charges, Danko is sent to bring him back.
The Soviet government does not want to tell the Americans just how important a prisoner they have and so, unalerted to the danger, the Chicago cops arrange a casual handover and the rest of Viktor's gang manage to spring him. In the process, one of the two Chicago cops with Danko is killed and that leaves him and Art Ridzik (James Belushi) together on a mission. They have both lost a partner to Viktor and they want to get him.
Thrown into the mix is the inevitable element that both men are seen as unreliable by their superiors and that, while they start out with a lot of mutual suspicion, it turns into respect as they become buddies.
All of the above sounds pretty much the standard Hollywood cop story formula and that does not bode well but this movie wins on its execution and balance. It's very well edited with a constant but not overwhelming flow of action and a script that gives both Belushi and Schwarzenegger occasion to deliver moments of levity.
Both leads are well cast and they do a good job together and you can believe not just in the characters but in the way that they rub along together.
Despite the fact that parts of the movie were shot in Russia and Eastern Europe using local actors, the movie does not seem to move beyond a stereotyped view of the people and country. That is really just a small criticism though and the important thing is that this is one of the best buddy-cop movies around.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 November 2014
Like many, I became a fan of Arnie in the late eighties/early nineties, however, despite about three viewings of ‘Red Heat’ I never really liked it. Until now. My initial disapproval of the film was the ‘lack of action.’ I guess I was too used to the big man mowing down hordes of bad-guys with machine guns, ala Commando, Predator and Terminator.

But, although the action scenes are definitely subdued (when comparing them to Schwarzenegger’s other output), there is actually some in there somewhere. I guess that ‘Red Heat’ normally gets lumped into Arnie’s other work and so a lot of people call it an ‘action’ movie. As I said, there are a few shoot-outs and car chase, but ‘action’ is second to its primary genre, which is ‘buddy cop’ film.

When you ignore the lack of cracking skulls and just focus on the relationship between the two mismatched leads, i.e. the tough Russian cop and wacky Chicago detective, then you’ll find this could well be the most perfectly-formed buddy cop movie ever. The Schwarzenegger and Belushi combo works brilliantly. Their opposite personas play of each other and Red Heat could almost be considered a comedy rather than an action movie based on how many one-liners there are in there.

Basically, if you’re looking for out and out action, then this movie will probably fall short of your expectations (like it did with me for so many years). However, if you’re looking for a no-frills buddy cop film that is just simple and effective, then this one will fill an hour and a half of your life. It’s not ‘classic’ Schwarzenegger, but it does the job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2010
Ok so we all know the story Russian cop (fish out of water) arrives in the city to extradite the drug dealer who killed his friend. Excellent performances from Schwarzenegger and Belushi. Classic action comedy.
As for the bluray picture quality it is excellent. you could almost believe this is a more recent movie. It looks that new and improved. Buy it!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2002
When I got Red Heat and watched it for the first time it was so amazing to see Arnie as a really hard, stern Russian. He was like a human terminator. I loved this film becuase Arnie had to go to Chicago in order to bring back a Russian drug criminal. This being the west and not the east.
In the first 20 minutes of the movie we see Arnie in action as he discovers the whereabouts of Victor (drug criminal) and tries to arrest him. Unfortunately Victor gets away and then Arnie has to go to Chicago to bring him back.
This film is filled with humour becuase of the relationship and differecnes between Arnie's views and the Chicago cops that he meets. They try to help him, but he does what he wants. Arnie being Arnie has so much fun in this role, breaks the rules and getting what he wants first.
If your an Arnie fan this move just rocks. Too cool, too funny and plenty of action.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A fun shoot-im-up with lots of good chase scenes and a few good plot twists. One of the things that make the movie is Arnold going around strait faced and like the terminator without the metal endoskeleton.

Thoroughly rotten bad guy and drug dealer Viktor Rostavile `Rosta' (Ed O'Toss) flees the USSR after encountering Capt. Ivan Danko `USSR State Police'. We find that he has big plans in Chicago where he plans to do a deal with Abdul Elijah `incarcerated Revolutionary political leader' (Brent Jennings). Abdul has an agenda of his own. Everyone's plans must be adjusted as Danko turns up in Chicago and teams up with Det. Sgt. Art Ridzik `Chicago Police Dept.' (James Belushi) to track down and retrieve Rosta.

In the process of tracking we meet all kinds of dangerous criminals and beautiful women. Ridzik almost gets killed because of his instant affinity with a blond wayward nurse; he is in for a surprise. We also have the obligatory vehicle chase scene with a different twist.

Aside from the main players there are quite a few recognizable character actors which add significantly the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
I bought this as I remembered some of the funny lines but it a good film to watch and Arnie has a tongue in cheek attitude to the role of a Russian cop. He is well matched with James Belushi. A very good and entertaining movie
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2004
This movie is great! Amd although the acting is not good, i suppose it just adds to it.
I love the shoot-outs between Arnie and his foe, it's just so great seeing a man in a nurse costume getting shot through a door!
The movie is pretty violent and bloody, however the story is gripping and somehow, even though the acting is not so good,it's kind of convinsing, and exciting!
It's not your average Arnie movie, however it does have his touch!
If you like this movie, why not try: COMMANDO
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
What can I say a really good product well worth the money came on time really well wrapped to protect the DVD and also to protect the sleeve everything was perfect on it I would recommend using these people again because what they say they do it's fantastic it's worth the money and it's brilliant and on a personal note it was very hilarious and funny and if you want something to make you laugh and I would recommend this film and this product from these people thank you so much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
This is an old Arnie film-not like his films of today- alot of good old bare knuckle action which Arnie is known for-I am a fan of his!
Schwarzenegger is the hero in this film-He is still at his best-a man of Authority and a man not to be ignored-hard as iron,and a man who would make an excellent police officer-the kids would respect law and order if he was on the beat!
Get this film if you are a fan of his-along with Belushi he is great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2012
Whilst this movie has many stereotypes, with Arnie in his terminator 1 role and James Belushi running through wise crack lines at one a minute, I liked this film a lot. The initial part in Russia was a stylish backdrop, and the action sequences such as the greyhound bus sequence and the shootouts were well done. I think this ranks as one of the best of its genre compared with 48 Hours, Black Rain and Beverly Hills Cop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.62
£7.71

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)