Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb emotional rollercoaster
Shane Meadows follow-up to Twenty Four Seven is one of the best films i have ever seen. At the start it is hilarious in places, which draws you into a particular mood, and then it hits you as it suddenly turns black and bleak when you are least expecting it. It is both funny and disturbing and plays with your emotions to such an extent that you are not sure whether to...
Published on 4 Jan 2001 by r.boreham@natcen.ac.uk

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 6/10. Brassed off
Like Shane Meadows' later `This is England', `A Room For Romeo Brass' is a coming of age drama revolving around friends growing up in the working class Midlands. Both films feature friendships tested by the divisive arrival of an influencial older figure. The protagonists in both films seek friendship to escape disappointment or disenfranchisement from family life. While...
Published on 24 Jan 2008 by Demob Happy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb emotional rollercoaster, 4 Jan 2001
This review is from: A Room for Romeo Brass [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Shane Meadows follow-up to Twenty Four Seven is one of the best films i have ever seen. At the start it is hilarious in places, which draws you into a particular mood, and then it hits you as it suddenly turns black and bleak when you are least expecting it. It is both funny and disturbing and plays with your emotions to such an extent that you are not sure whether to laugh or hide your eyes in places. An incredibly thought provoking film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British cinema at its peak .... GIZOID!!!!!, 27 April 2006
This review is from: A Room for Romeo Brass [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I watched this film having high hopes because I had already watched the fantastic "Dead Mans Shoes" and I was definitely not disappointed.

Shane Meadows is at his directorial best here, and Paddy Considine shows exactly why he is on his way to bigger and better things with his portrayal of the older kid down the street Morrell. He leaves you feeling both pity and hatred for him in equal measures (yet I was still left feeling surprised by his almost evil side near the end.

Other wonderful performances here include those of Gavin (Ben Marshall) and Romeo (Andrew Shim). Surprising grown up, funny and touching performances from a couple of very young actors with a great future ahead of them.

James Higgins and Frank Harper were both worth the price of the DVD alone with their wonderfully contrasting performances as the two lads dads. The both of them manage to make us change our views of the characters by the end of the film.

Finally, I was pleasantly surprised to see a fleeting, yet memorable cameo from Bob Hoskins as Gavins tutor Steven Laws. Though he is barely on the screen he manages to portray a surprising and vivid performance that certainly proved to me that there is more to Bob Hoskins than the stock characters that we are used to from him.

Overall I was extremely pleaded by this film. Though it was by no means as dark as "Dead Mans Shoes" it was every bit as witty and frightening with enough one liners to keep you going forever.

This may be a massive cliche, but I think I can safely say, that Meadows and Considine are the British Scorsese and De Niro. Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Room For Romeo Brass - Surprisingly captivating film, 3 Nov 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Room for Romeo Brass [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I have to admit I groaned a little when I opened the latest `LoveFilm' envelope to find yet another of my girlfriend's favoured indie comedy/drama offerings sitting there instead of one of my preferred Hollywood blockbuster shoot-em-ups. I took a deep breath and steeled myself for what I thought would be a few hours of mind-numbingly tedious British grittiness. However, I was totally captivated and drawn into this remarkable bit of story telling. I hate to say it, but more often than not her choices turn out to be really great films, perhaps I should start to listen to her more often!

The film centres around two twelve year olds living somewhere in the midlands in the late eighties/early nineties, and their friendship. When Romeo and Knocks meet Morell things start to change as the older boy forms an almost sinister relationship with Romeo and an obsession with Romeo's sister. Romeo has the added complication of his ne'er-do-well father recently reappearing in his life, and Knocks' hospitalisation for a major operation.

This is an excellent character study piece, filled with plenty of humour (mainly from Paddy Considine's marvellous turn as the somewhat creepy Morell). It is a tale of friendship, obsession, and a well observed slice of life. While centring on the characters of Romeo and Morell, there is also plenty of time to explore other characters, and I garuantee you will not fail to be astounded and moved by the character of Knock's Dad in the final few minutes of the film.

With a well chosen set of characters that I could really relate to, an excellent script with believable dialogue and an excellent cast, especially the two kids and Paddy Considine and some great directorial touches from Shane Meadows I found this to be a great film. It's got a killer soundtrack as well, which is well worth seeking out. It's a well chosen mix of tracks that set the mood perfectly. From the opening beats of Message to you, Rudy it goes on to mix Donovan with JJ Cale, Ian Brown, Fairport Convention, Billy Bragg and Stone Roses. Anyone who can make such an eclectic mix of artists work as a soundtrack is a genius in my book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A British Triumph..., 16 Mar 2002
This review is from: A Room for Romeo Brass [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
In the year 2000 British Film fans witnessed a tremendous triumph. No, it was not the oscar winning Sam Mendes (American Beuty) it was the highly under rated writer/director Shane Meadows. His triumph ? His film... 'A Room For Romeo Brass.'
A tremendously inspiring work of art, 'Romeo Brass' explores pier pressure. A hunter to all, as we see a number of characters deal and not deal with random victimisation.
A must see for all fans of the silver screen... Even the blockbuster fan should find something in this beutifull slice of real, life, chaos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One beat, two beat, three beat, sugar beet..., 8 July 2005
This review is from: A Room for Romeo Brass [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This film is wicked from the opening bars of 'Message to Rudy' to the moment the credits roll, touching and well-observed story about two boys, their friendship and their search for a father figure they can aspire to. It's also very funny!
What I loved most about it was the way in which all the characters were ambiguous, your sympathies shift throughout the film from one to the other and no-one is either wholly bad or wholly good. Paddy Considine is fantastic Morell is both frightening and intimidating, but you feel very sorry for him in his lonely social inadequacy.
The master stroke for me was the two boys' dads - brilliantly written and acted. Watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touch it!, 4 July 2010
This review is from: A Room for Romeo Brass [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
What can I say, this film is amazing :)
Anyone who has enjoyed any of Shane Meadows films or Paddy Considine's for that matter, look no further. Shane's brillliant talents at directing beautiful films that make us laugh and cry and Paddy's fantastic acting (as ever) makes this film one you can't afford to miss.
Two young boys, Gavin and Romeo (Andrew Shim- This is England), are best friends. Equally troubled at home and school (with parents who are either downright weird or very violent) they stick together and look out for one another whenever trouble arises.
But when strange young outcast Morell (Considine- Dead Man's Shoes, Hot Fuzz) saves the boys from being beaten up, their lives start to change forever, and the boy's relationships with each other and their own parents are put to the test.
Something that starts off so light hearted and fun starts to turn ever so dark. It really is compelling stuff.
Fantastic acting (as ever with Meadow's films) and it is guarrenteed to make you burst out laughing, into tears and keep you stuck on the edge of your seat.
If you enjoy British films, you can't afford to miss this one. Really, you can't.

'One beat, two beat three beat, sugar beat. Four beat, five beat, six beat, wheat-a-beat. Seven beat, eight beat, nine beat, heartbeat. My heartbeat, my heart is beating for you.'...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "What I'm going to show you is bigger than Godzilla...", 13 Sep 2008
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Room for Romeo Brass [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
When you watch a Shane Meadows film you expect natural performances and housing estate based drama - and it's all here in a fantastically realistic package.

This film is essentially the story of Romeo and Gavin, two schoolboy friends whose friendship is threatened when a third member joins the tight group. The 'third member'; Morell, a twenty-something man seems like a nice-enough guy though a bit socially awkward and perhaps a bit slow. He divides the two friends after becoming obsessed by Romeo's sister and his darker side starts to expose the unhinged aspect of his personality.

Meadows' demonstrates his abilities to present the emotional aspects of men in his films. Be it a broken father trying to wriggle back into the lives of his ex-wife and kids, or an unbalanced man on the road to self destruction. It's not done with long cheesy moments of pained expressions and long passages of narrative blurting out mental anguish - it's done in a subtle and more effective way. His strength as a director is to capture portrayals which could be happening right there and then on your street, every character is believable. Even the mentally deficient Morell who provides us with some over-the-top comedy moments feels real.

In a nutshell: A brilliant example of the type of cinema which feels as though it's more real life than fiction, and of which Meadow's is a master. Each character has a history, there are no clear cut bad eggs here - each is a product of their experiences. This is one of Meadows' earlier films, but it's still distinctly his. It feels wrong to describe the cast as actors as they never seem to be acting, they seem to *be* the characters they play on screen. A special mention to the superb Paddy Considine and young Andrew Shim who went on to appear in other Shane Meadows films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best film I've ever seen, 16 July 2001
By A Customer
This is nothing short of stunning. The performances are touchingly and frighteningly true, the dialogue spot-on and Paddy Considine should have won the oscar. Do yourself a favour. See this film, then tell everyone you know about it. Upsetting that tosh British films get so much publicity yet classics like this so often sadly go unnoticed. Nothing short of wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should see this criminally under-exposed film, 21 May 2001
This is one of most stunning films I've ever seen. It defies categorisation and indeed, to say too much about it would give the game away. The performances are incredible, particularly the wonderful Paddy Considine as Morrell, one of the most interesting, vibrant characters in living memory. The friendship between the two young leads is touching, funny as hell and utterly believable. It should be a law that people see this film. Criminally under-exposed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Cult Classic, 8 Jan 2001
By 
A. Oakley "Mr Al" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Room for Romeo Brass [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This film has to be the best of last year (2000). I'd even go so far as to say that its comparable to Withnail with its many quotable lines (Wheatabeat!). It's got humour, that unique English feel and yet its also as dark as they come. Fantastic acting and casting with classic direction from Shane Meadows - miss it at your peril!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Room for Romeo Brass [DVD] [2000]
A Room for Romeo Brass [DVD] [2000] by Shane Meadows (DVD - 2002)
9.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews