Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars People of Wisconsin might be offended
I'm Catholic, and I loved this film. should anyone be offended, it is people of Wisconsin, not us Catholics. The film is full of clever lines referring to Christian mythology and theology, and despite the disclaimer which says that it is merely a comedy, there are some referrence to issues that dog modern catholics. While it is not 'religious film' per se, it certainly...
Published on 27 Oct 2003 by A H Kobayashi

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Hope you can read Spanish!
Great film, but should be made more prominent that it is an European import being sold at UK prices! Unless you can speak some sort of Spanish dialect, you are not going to be able to understand the menus or the case!!!! Sending back for a refund would simply cost me more money. I feel SERIOUSLY ripped off as it is not made CLEARLY that it is an import other than a single...
Published 24 days ago by Darren Wilson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see for people with strange humor!!!, 10 Dec 2000
By 
ago@mi.is (Reykjavik, Iceland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Dogma is one of the best films I've ever seen and if you like films like Pulp fiction and The Devil's advocate you're gonna love this one. The plot is great and the black biblical humor may not be for everyone, but still if you get by that you're gonna love it. P.s. It's much better the second time you see it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Think about the idea!, 4 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Dogma is one of the best films that have been around for a while. It is a big shame that it has taken so long for it to come to DVD, making many people forget about it. Definitely worth watching and gives a great insight into the way modern religion should be having ideas rather than belief's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A humourous poke at the dogma of the Catholic church, 29 Nov 2000
This review is from: Dogma [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A refreshing and amusing movie that points fingers and laffs at the Catholic church. Ben and Matt obviously have a lot of fun with this movie. Parts of the story are weak, but its a great movie that doesnt tax the brain. Look out for the suprise appearance at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just watch it, 11 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This movie has answers for questions most people don't even ask.
This movie will make you laugh, cry and a little bit scared of Barney Affleck.
It is the best irreverant religious movie of all time (behind Monty Python and the Life of Brian & Bruce Almighty) and should be watched by anyone who still claims that organised religion has any answers for what it out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern masterpiece a work of Alanis Morisette!, 11 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I have only seen the video of this film but I'm sure the DVD will be something heavenly and well equipped with many special features. Anyways, the story revolves around Loki and Bartleby, 2 fallen angels who've found a loop-hole in religion that allows them to return to heaven. The only problem is that Loki was the Angel of Death before he offended God and got kicked out along with his advisor Bartleby. So they find a way to make their souls pure and go back home, which if they succeed will cause the universe to collapse around them. Enter Linda Fiorentino, the chosen one, to stop these two renegade angels from entering God's Kingdom once again. She's joined on her quest by profits, angels and other biblical figures. A work of genious that makes you laugh at the most serious and sacred thing on this earth, religion! Buy this DVD now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars religiously funny, 25 Nov 2005
By A Customer
A funny prespective of todays church and it crytiria for heaven and hell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buddy Christ!, 3 July 2007
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This film is great for so many reasons!

Alan Rickman was a great surprise for me, his delivery is just perfect as Metatron. The 'wings unfurling' is one of my favourite film moments as is the gory end which I feel is such an eerie and strangely stirring image.

Ben Affleck is one of those actors who has been viewed as a bit naff over recent years, which is a shame as he is one of the best actors around. Although his performance in this isn't as career defining as the one in Chasing Amy, he is still a strong actor who helps to confirm this as a classic film. His performance compares nicely with Jason Lee as Azrael, who also manages to act his knackers off to make the character truly believable.

The plot is simple(ish) and is not intended to mock Catholicism, instead it mocks the modern culture of rebarnding and selling what we already have. In this case "Buddy Christ" the new hip and trendy idol for the masses is introduced to attract more people to the church. Set with moral dilemmas of abortion clinics, and a holy war which could destroy the world - this is a funny and yet thought provoking film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dogma: Classic? I think so, 11 Aug 2002
By 
Billy Davidson (Doncaster, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Dogma shows exactly how far Kevin Smith has come from the days of Clerks and Mallrats. Critics say that while Smiths writing is all in all pure brilliance, his direction is still lacking. This is a lie! How anyone can say that Dogma was poorly directed is beyond the powers fo my simple brain. The Boardroom scene at the Mooby Headquarters is one of the best directed none oscar winning scenes of all time! And anyone who disagrees is just wrong. Very wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY FUNNY!, 30 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This DVD is great. There wasnt much fuss about it at the time i watched it but it was well worth the money and is one of those films i like to watch again and again! Religiously it was fine and strengthened beliefs rather than weakening them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this DVD, 16 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This is one of the funniest films I have ever seen!The twists to modern beliefs should please anyone, no matter what their religion.The bad language may put some people off, but the plot is just too good to miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dogma [DVD] [1999]
Dogma [DVD] [1999] by Kevin Smith (DVD - 2002)
£2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews