Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why are you reading this? Just go and buy it. Now!, 14 Oct 2003
By 
Nicholas Tier "nuck_the_king" (Danehill, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
No questions; an exceptional 2-disc set. Springsteen's music was always superb, even when we used to listen to taped copies of vinyl LPs on rubbishy mono tape players, but the visual and aural quality of this release takes his music into another dimension.
Bruce has always been a "what you see is what you get" kinda guy, and this follows that belief. There isn't a huge booklet telling you the second assitant director's best boy's gaffer's middle name, and thank the good Lord for that. Nor is the second disc full of "Special Features" that you watch once and then never look at again; nope, the money's been spent where it really matters; on making the DVD experience as close to "being there" as possible.
You already know that you're going to like the music; but if you have an even halfway decent DVD setup, yu are going to be blown away by the crispness and clarity. This is particularly evident on the gentler songs; "Secret Garden" is a particular delight, with Bruce's brooding vocals seeming even more immediate than on the CD version.
Face it; if you like Bruce (and if you don't, what's wrong with you...), you should already own this.
Sure, Bruce is not at his best when he's trying to act ("I'm on Fire"; great song, dire video!), but with the huge track listing, this is not only beautifully engineered, but also great value. My only concern was whether it really could be his entire video promo career for such a bargain price; trust me, it is.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of Springsteen's career in video, 16 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This is an essential purchase for a fan charting Springsteen's video history from his early put-some-concert-footage-together-to-fill-the-hole through to his awkward acting efforts (I'm On Fire) to his pseudo let's-put-the-show-on-right-here-numbers of recent days. Most of all though, it's the music. In a word: outstanding.
And you get an audio of a previously (to me at least not having seen 'Limbo') unheard of song on the End Titles.
Why are you waiting?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 29 Mar 2001
By A Customer
I was pretty sceptical about what this would be like, too many times I have seen DVD's when you can tell that all they have done is copied the old VHS version straight on to DVD and that is it. How wrong could I be. I have to say I was totally amazed at the picture and sound quality. This set is unbelievable, whoever digitally remastered these videos has done a superb job. Even the Rosalita, River and Thunder Road promo's look like they have just been shot. Everyone should own this DVD set. Just remember, if you dont like Bruce Springsteen, you dont like Rock and Roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of The Boss, 12 April 2001
These two DVD's represent superb value for money. Between them they document the changing style of Springsteen's music as they lead you through the 70's, 80's and 90's. His best known tracks are obviously included but there are some pleasant surprises, also - such as Highway Patrolman. If you are a life-long fan of Springsteen - like I am - or if you are just looking for a good rock & roll DVD then look no further. This compilation is sure to please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic videos from a classic artist, 9 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This collection of Bruce Springsteen videos is first rate, a classic anthology in every sense of the word. His greatest songs are provided here, all with memorable videos, and you will want to watch them over and over again just to see how good the whole thing is. I bought this video as a gift for my girlfriend who adores Bruce Springsteen, because it was my intention to give her a reason to practice her guitar playing. My plan succeeded. Now, not only can she watch the well produced songs and videos of this gifted performer, but it has also given her the desire to pick up the instrument I have tried so hard to get her to learn. You can't go wrong with this video if you like early Springsteen. Everything you want is right here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bruce springsteen-video anthology-1978-2000, 21 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. P. Barby - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bruce Springsteen - Video Anthology - 1978-2000 [DVD]
i brought this as a gift for my mother for xmas as she is a big fan ,she claims its the best present she has ever received !!!.2 months in she hasnt even got as far as disk 2 disk one has been played over & over again . it has all the hits you would expect with lots of guest appearences , well worth th e money for any fan , or someone wanting to sample springsteens music .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must For All True Bruce Springsteen Fans!!!!, 11 Mar 2001
By A Customer
Brought this DVD from Amazon.com (USA)some 4 weeks ago. What can I say, I haven't stopped playing it!! This is a 2 disc DVD which not only makes it great value for money but shows a good variety of the Boss's work. Bruce as always, never lets his fans down, by giving us this bonus 2nd disk which features one of Bruce's best live performances of "Hungry Heart" which was filmed live in Berlin in 1995. You also get 2 versions of "Secret Garden", the normal single version and an acoustic version with strings which is excellent. My advice 'not true Bruce Springsteen fan should be without this'. Buy it today!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a great DVD, 8 Feb 2001
By 
I just saw both discs of the Anthology, and I am impressed! Disc 1 is the Anthology as we KNEW it. Dolby 5.1 mix or PCM Surround makes the viewing new again. Disc 2 is remarkable. From the familiar Human Touch and Better Days to the "get up and dance" Murder Inc., Dead Man Walking and Ghost of Tom Joad and then If I Should Fall Behind from the N.Y. MSG concerts... bruce fans will get teary eyed. They could have done more. Commentary from Bruce and the E Street Band to some of the videos would have been cool. I think there are storys behind each viedeo. But, he's the boss. Still a great DVD...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars are not enough, 8 April 2001
By A Customer
What more can I say if you are a Springsteen fan and own a DVD Player then this is a must for you. Like me you probably have the old anthology video and think that all they have done is made a DVD from the old footage. How wrong can we be the picture quality is perfect and the sound is just amazing. All the tracks are here from the rocking Rosalita and Glory Days to the moody Ghost of Tom Joad and the fantastic Secret Garden. If you only ever buy one music DVD then there can be only one, Bruce Springsteen The Complete Video Anthology 1978-2000. Buy it NOW from Markie Mark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great music captured beautifully but shows Bruce's decline, 21 Feb 2004
By 
Siriam (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Having worn out the original video which I bought many years ago (and which comprises Disc 1 of this great value two set)I was very keen to see what DVD and 5.1 dolby sound enhancements plus a second disc of 15 bonus performances of later material would provide of a musician who is one of the all time greats.
In music, great sound and a spot on high quality visual history of a true superstar who has just "delivered in his own way" for many years up to the present day, it is unbeatable and easy to see why it is so highly rated as a unique record of a memorable performer.
For me however it is also proof of the decline of the Boss and his band over the thirty years covered, with too much emphasis in the new second disc on songs that seem to be getting used because there is an MTV type video available rather than their place in Springstein's history. The fact that the two best of the most recent songs (Ghost of Tom Joad and Secret Garden) are both featured twice in four great versions underlines this concern.
The sheer power and energy of the early performances even where the picture quality and sound may not technically match more recent efforts (contrast the opening Roslaita from the 1970s with Murder Inc from a few years ago), left me wishing that a better time balanced selection had been made (on the basis there do exist recordings of those early shows especially his late 1970s/1980s stadium tours which are tantalisingly edited in in short bursts on certain selections).
However this is not to detract from a really great value selection which in range and enjoyment is a real pleasure - just do not be surprised if as a long standing Bruce fan you end up watching the first disc more often than the second !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews