Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best single discs of rock available
Originally released back in 1980, and therefore sadly only 38 minutes long (vinyl limitations, lack of genuine hits etc.), this remains the benchmark collection of supreme rock n' roll that resides over nearly all other rock music. OK, maybe I'm sounding OTT here, and trust me I rarely rave about an album this much, especially a compilation, but very few discs of rock...
Published on 4 July 2001

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so Great
Maybe Aerosmith were a bit premature in releasing a Greatest Hits in 1980 but I found this record disappointing.

For a Greatest Hits I found a lot of the tracks pretty average and I wouldn't be tempted to buy any of their studio albums as a result of listening to this.

Track One "Dream On" is by far the highlight for me. I didn't find the rest of the...
Published on 15 July 2008 by haunted


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best single discs of rock available, 4 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Aerosmith's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Originally released back in 1980, and therefore sadly only 38 minutes long (vinyl limitations, lack of genuine hits etc.), this remains the benchmark collection of supreme rock n' roll that resides over nearly all other rock music. OK, maybe I'm sounding OTT here, and trust me I rarely rave about an album this much, especially a compilation, but very few discs of rock music compare, "Hot Rocks 1964-1971" (Stones) and "Appetite For Destruction" (er, Guns) are a few of the only comparable albums of this genre I've come across. If you've ever, ever, ever, been vaguely interested by any form of rock music or riffery, then buy this. It sums the genre up into one nice easy-to-swallow compilation. As for "MTV-Aerosmtih" fans, this should prove the perfect platform to their earlier, and trust me superior, days. The only faults I have found are it's short play time (there is a newer expanded version available also, but is drastically more expensive I believe) and the slight droop in quality towards the last two tracks, but trust me, the first 8 are worth anything you're willing to pay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest compilations ever!!!., 7 Dec 2011
This review is from: Aerosmith's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Let's not underplay this.

This is a full on assault of class and the sound of 5 incredible musicians at the peak of their powers. What these guys created from 1973 - 1980 changed the face of U.S. Hard Rock forever. They influenced literally hundreds of new bands and the reason for that is held within 38 minutes of pure hard rocking magic. The dirty, gritty, sleazy, butt kicking, rocking, genius of this has been often copied but never matched Stateside. Not even close.

The undisputed kings of U.S.Hard Sleaze Rock blow us away with such nuggets as " Dream On", " Kings & Queens", " Back in the Saddle", " Draw the Line" " Last Child", " Sweet Emotion", " Same Old Song and Dance" & the track that relaunched them to the MTV masses " Walk This Way"...( Minus RUN DMC!!!!)

Next time you listen to Bon Jovi, Motley Crue, Ratt, Poison, Cinderella, L.A. Guns, Faster Pussycat, Skid Row, Guns & Roses & their countless ilk......This is where it all came from.....

If your in any doubt to why literally millions of people consider the pre MTV Aerosmith to be one of the greatest bands that ever existed, then the answer is on the 38 minutes of pure platinum on this disc.

Iconic, essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Red & White BOMB, 8 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Aerosmith's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Yes, folks, this was/is perhaps the greatest band to ever come out of America, and here you have a fantastic overview of how great this band were before they give into drugs, went through rehab, and were reincarnated in smelly, pop-pinup form. This comp., and the album 'Rocks', are probably all the average fan will need of this band that for a short while created a perfect blend of hard rock, blues and funk. Buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Aerosmith's greatest hits, 1 Nov 2011
This review is from: Aerosmith's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Item arrived safely and on time, the content of the disc is excellent and will satisfy any Aerosmith fan, whilst not household titles they illustrate the groups long standing success.
A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars original greatest hits!, 22 Feb 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Aerosmith's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is agreat place to start your love affair with Aerosmith,if your not sure and are lookin for a cheap option,This was the first Aerosmith disc i ever bought,never regretted it,never looked back.
All the early hits are here,mostly in edited form,most notable on sweet emotion and kings n queens.Classic tracks 'Dream On' and 'Walk This Way ' are naturally the high points,while 'Back in the saddle' and 'last child' just rock .The original selling point for me was the Previously unavailable on album 'Come Together'.

it should be pointed out that an updated version has been issued superceding this,but that shouldnt detract from what a wonderful compiliation this is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great service, 23 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aerosmith's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
It was exactly as described, fast postage as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply the best cd i have bought in a very long time!, 8 Feb 2001
This review is from: Aerosmith's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The cd is generally very well put together. When i first got it i did'nt listen to anything else for about three weeks. a touch of class is what they are not, brilliant is what they are. Honestly i strongly recommend that you buy this cd. HAPPY LISTENING!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so Great, 15 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Aerosmith's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Maybe Aerosmith were a bit premature in releasing a Greatest Hits in 1980 but I found this record disappointing.

For a Greatest Hits I found a lot of the tracks pretty average and I wouldn't be tempted to buy any of their studio albums as a result of listening to this.

Track One "Dream On" is by far the highlight for me. I didn't find the rest of the others very remarkable. A very dodgy cover of The Beatles "Come together" was a low point on the album.

Maybe Aerosmith just aren't my thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, ultimate rock...., 7 Jun 2001
This review is from: Aerosmith's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
No one's reviewed this album for a while and it has a enourmaously low slaes rank so I feel it my responisbitly to say THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST ROCKS DISCS OF MUSIC YOU WILL EVER BUY. Yes, it's short and from the days of vynl, but you should only it more. The first 8 songs are all amzing in their own unique way, the last 2 rather special also. Look, I could never write a review worthy of this album. It's amazing, a classic, if you've ever showed an interest in the rock riff, or like any of the other rock legends (Gn'R, Zeppellin) then you'll adore this album. I don't say this about much stuff, honest. they will never surpass this, however over-produced MTV-balladsthey relsease. I love this, and you should too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aerosmith's Greatest Hits, 26 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aerosmith's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Definitely a good buy, has all the classic hits on it :D Excellent introduction for the lesser metal heads :D:D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aerosmith's Greatest Hits
Aerosmith's Greatest Hits by Aerosmith (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews