Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars128
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 December 2000
I love this story - it's just so 80's! It's also a very traditional Doctor Who story, very much in the mould of the 1970's stories - and the best Doctor Who since 'Revelation of the Daleks' in 1985. It's got a strong plot, strong leading characters and strong driving moral issue - Racism. Sylvester McCoy and Sophie Aldred and arguably the first Doctor/Companion team to gel so well since Tom Baker/Elizabeth Sladen, and this really helps the story. And then of course there's the Daleks - nice to see the themes created in Revelation following on here - Imperial/Renegade dalek factions. Episode One was the strongest start to a season in years - You just must see this story!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2001
This is maybe one of the best Doctor Who stories, ever, it ranked in the top ten in the Doctor Who marvel magazine, it is great because for 1 it is the last Dalek story on TV, 2 it does its best and tieing up some of the loose threads of Dalek continuity which has built up during the run of Doctor Who, 3 it shows the 7th Doctor Sylvester Mcoy as a darker, more mysterious doctor, which is what Doctor Who is all about a bit of mystery, this was taken a step forwad in Virgin's New Adventures, some may say too far, but most of all it is a great story with great special effects and it gets back to Doctor Who roots, from where it started.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2002
I LOVE this story...the action, the plot, the characters, the stairs!!! The opening montage sets the scene beautifully and everythings climbs from there.
This is what Doctor Who could have become if it hadn't been so cruelly axed. The Doctor is wonderfully brooding and always in control. I love the spoonful of sugar scene,it adds nothing to the plot, but adds richness to the story.
BUT...the BBC production vaues do not age well. For all this story's ambition is ruined by DVD enhancements. Scenes with models and wobbly daleks can be carried on video but not on DVD.
Watch this story and love it...but watch it on VHS!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2001
This is easily one of the finest Dalek stories ever. The Daleks wobble about a bit (due to the spherical tyres and cobbled ground), but otherwise they look superb. For example, the deliciously ominous music when they look at some one through their gun-sites, their ability to climb stairs, the high-budget ray-guns, and the realistic mutants.
Their is also some very nice Church music at the end, which is a nice way to end a story.
The Seventh Doctor is at his best as well, retaining many likable qualities from his predacessors, and putting them in action superbly.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2000
This has to be one of the best Doctor who DVD releases yet. It has a pack full of extras including deleted scenes. It has to be one the of the best Dr who stories, starring Slyvestor McCoy as the Doctor he battles against the daleks in this story only avaliable before in a box set. Buy it know before it is deleted! It has also been degitally remastered! I an't wait and will I will be the first to buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2005
what a fresh and great doctor who story this is sylvester mccoy is wonderful as the doctor and sophie aldred is equaly as perfect as his spirited assistant ace.
what i really like about this story is that we keep seeing and hearing references to the doctors previous visit to this time (during the william hartnell years) when he visited earth to leave the hand of omega which he has now come to retreave.
Excelent stuff.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2009
If you want a classic story with the Daleks this is ideal.
A lot of people moan about the classic story's of Dr who ,they never had the budget of today's TV programmes, so if you want good viewing and a classic story of Dr who this is extremely entertaining.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2009
I know Sylvester McCoy gets many bad reviews as a Doctor, but I think that is mainly down to poor management at the time and many poor stories. This is not of them. This is one of his best.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
A classic episode with lot of brilliant bits. I love the emperor dalek! Ace isnt my choice for doctors companion. The Daleks look more carboard than ever, but that adds to the charm.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2009
This has been released more than once. The Beeb didn't see fit to put any decent extras on it, but have now seen the Who dvds are big money spinners, so have seen fit to put this out again. Just leaves a nasty taste in the mouth, as this is totally an exercise in profit generation. There are so many stories fans are waiting to be released, and this coming round again is tiresome and annoying. No, I don't want have to sell my original dvd release and buy this. I want to Beeb to put their house in order; stop milking Who fans! Where is Terror of the Zygons, Seeds of Death, The Daemons etc? How long before other early releases come out to irritate those who lined the pockets of the Beeb in the early 2000s, just because they saw dvd as a swift profit, with little effort? My mark reflects on the story (4/5) and the product (1/5), but I do not wish to make people think this is a poor tlae; it is one of the best from the 7th Doctor's period, which in turn was hit and miss at best, due chiefly to the producer John Nathan Turner, who by 1988 had gone mad and thought he was in charge of a light entertainment programme. Nutter!
88 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse