Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dan the Automator does it again!!!!!
Well after a mate was raving on about how good the likes of kid koala (from the ninjatune record label - along with the likes of Herbaliser et al) and Del the Funky Homosapien were I went out and bought the album Deltron 3030 and found the slick lyrics and mellow beatz were fantastic! So I was really exited when I heard that Gorillaz were essentially Deltron 3030 with...
Published on 26 Mar 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag From 2D And Co.
Time for another music review I think. This time I've chosen Gorillaz' self-titled debut album. That's "Gorillaz" by Gorillaz in case you didn't catch my drift. Anyway, the album was released in 2001 and consists of seventeen tracks.

The two standout tracks, without question, are CLINT EASTWOOD and 19-2000 (SOULCHILD REMIX). CLINT EASTWOOD is a great mellow but...
Published on 21 Oct 2010 by The 90's Guy


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dan the Automator does it again!!!!!, 26 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Gorillaz (Audio CD)
Well after a mate was raving on about how good the likes of kid koala (from the ninjatune record label - along with the likes of Herbaliser et al) and Del the Funky Homosapien were I went out and bought the album Deltron 3030 and found the slick lyrics and mellow beatz were fantastic! So I was really exited when I heard that Gorillaz were essentially Deltron 3030 with Damon Albarn added for effect. I have to say that I was not dissapointed. The mix of hip hop and mellow indie will stun you...it it of a genre I have never seen before! The songs they have released so far - Clint Eastwood and Tomorrow comes Today are probably the best songs but the others are excellent too! My advise - Go get it NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly original, 1 Feb 2004
This review is from: Gorillaz (Audio CD)
Well what can I say, in my eyes Gorillaz have come up with something a bit special. I first bought this album a few years ago. I listened to 'clint eastwood' a few times and then shoved it on the shelf. Only yesterday did I actually give it a proper listening to. To my surprise it was an amzing album. It is one of the weirdest, most experimental and original albums I think I have ever opened my ears to. I was absulutely blown away by the tracks such as '5/4' and 'double base'. It was such a radical change to the usual tones and rhythm I am acustomed to. The compilation of sounds, beats, rhymes and rhythms gives it an ultimatly unique style of listening. Its genre is so bloody hard to define, some hip-hop (ranging from jazz hip-hop such as 'rock the house' to zombie hip-hop like 'clint eastwood'), some rock, some easily listening, but above all just some totally diferent styles.
However I would say that it takes some getting used too. Perhaps some tracks are a bit too experimental, 'starshine' and 'M1 A1' spring to mind. But no matter what your music preference this is an essential album. Gorillaz have definitely given a whole revolutionary and experimental view of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great, 7 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Gorillaz (Audio CD)
gorillaz aren't the type of thing i'd usually listen to.
but they're great.
like pretty much everyone else, i bought this album after hearing clint eastwood and really liking it. clint eastwood is one of the most rappy tracks on this album, and they take it through a range of styles. my favourite songs are the last three tracks, one of which is kind of dub/reggae type thing, one is a pop song with cool wind effects and the last one M1A1 being gorillaz twisted idea of a rock anthem.
there's many other suprises along the way, none of the songs sound similar at all. but to find fault, a few of the tracks ('punk', 'latin simone' and one or two others) seem a bit throwaway. i was particularly dissapointed by the inclusion of an instrumental version of 'Latin Simone', having heard the full vocal version previously and thinking that was great. but you can't have everything can you?
basically, a mixture of moods, styles, rhythms..while it doesn't strike me as being a total classic, the best bits of this album are absolutely awesome.
oh and in reference to the previous review - i am a heavy rock/metal fan. again proof to how widespread gorillaz appeal is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a smooth ride from edgy punk to soulful harmonies...a joy., 31 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Gorillaz (Audio CD)
This is an album filled with little hooks and lines that will have you humming and drumming along.The mark of this albums infectiousness lies in it's ability to make the listener absent mindedly noodle and hum the tunes in any place and at any time. If music is about whistling in the dark, then look no further than Gorillaz.Slow and haunting songs like 'M1 A1' and '19-2000' melt effortlessly into noisier tracks like 'Punk' and '5/4'. The aren't many stand out tracks because the whole gels so well, yet on their own each track is a potential single - apart from 'soundcheck (gravity)'which features a somewhat grating soprano lyric from 2-d.The easiness of the rhythms and the fluid feel of the album as a whole make it perfect listening for lazy evenings and bathtimes, but also good for getting ready to go out... turn it up and enjoy.oh yeah...if you let the cd run, beware of the hidden track...it will make you jump.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST cd of the century, 21 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Gorillaz (Audio CD)
There is nothing better then a good cd with an excellent colaboration of different types of music. Enter Gorillaz. These guys know what they're doing. There's rap, R&B, Rock, Pop, and a little Miscellaneous on this cd. It's perfect. I guarantee you, if you like music you'll love this cd. It's so good I have 3 copies! One for the car, one for the house, and one for the pc! (It's interactive) :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original & Best, 1 April 2006
This review is from: Gorillaz (Audio CD)
This is deffinitely the best album from Gorillaz. Blur frontman Damon Albarn initially created the ficticious band to emphasise the amount of manufactured bands and the lack of actual talent in todays 'pop scene'. And you really cant get more manufactured than cartoon characters as an actual band. Albarns' plan may have technically back-fired on him as the Gorillaz became an instant hit. Taking a mix of punk, R n B, and slow rock to create classics such as clint eastwood, 19-2000, and rock the house. Even a collection of Gorillaz b-sides, formed a quite good album with "G-Sides". This is probably the most original/ diverse kind of music you are likeley to hear today. Boy/ girl bands, commercial hip-hop 'stars' and general pop artists should feel pretty bad that they are being out-done by a ficticious band led by mainly 2 people. (Albarn and cult cartoonist Jamie Hewlett) And they have the numerous awards to prove it. Whilst Demon Days is good and still maintains its originality, the self titled debut album will always be a firm favourite for those of us who like something else asside from the drone of girls aloud, the campness of every boy band around, and the vanity of those commercial hip-hop stars. (50 cent actually admitted that the first 3 of his 5 favourite songs of all time were 3 of his own songs) Thats hip-hop modesty at its finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a fresh new sound indie meets hip hop in a transy kinda way, 6 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Gorillaz (Audio CD)
Very interesting c.d. I spent alot of time just trying to find a label to fit the music...eventually I gave up and just sat back and listened. If you liked Clint Eastwood , their debut track from the album you will like the rest of the cd. but don't expect to find the same sound repeated over and over again. This is definatley one of the most interesting album's i have listened to since Radiohead released O.K. Computer.....I would recommened it to anyone who doesn't like fluffy music!!! ( By the way check out the re-mix of Clint Eastwood at the end of the disc....you probably already heard this on the radio by now , but just incase its worth a listen too. Unlike most remix's I've heard I actually like it better than the orginial track - and i bought the c.d on the strenght of the original , so I guess thats saying something!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GORILLAZ RULE!!!!!!, 11 Nov 2003
This review is from: Gorillaz (Audio CD)
Well to be honest when a mate leant me the album I thought I wouldnt have like it but how wrong was I!!!
There some absolutely top tunes on here but of course there are always the exceptions ( New Genious, 5/4 and sound check being the exceptions but the rest of the album is classic)
Man Research, Latin Simeone and rock the house are just tracks that have to be heard over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic debut album, 27 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Gorillaz (Audio CD)
Being new to the scene a lot were expected of cartoon band Gorillaz and they delivered in a way which was unbelievable with this fantastic debut album.

They came into the market having not a lot of success but were able to deliver in the form of their first single `Clint Eastwood' which reached number 4 in the UK charts but probably deserved higher with its cool style and interesting choice of lyrics.

The songs are very different from your average rock band. Because their mode of address is very unusual it struck a cord with a wide range of people. The video for Clint Eastwood showed the band dancing and the drummer being turned into a monster. The funny elements and amazing graphics were great but the whole music concepts are enough to win the hearts of any audience.

Using guitars, pianos, mixing sounds and great singing the band are able to deliver a new and different style of music. The music can and should be listened to at any time of the day, whether you wish to dance or chill out it is highly useful and beneficial

With singles such as `New Genious' and `double bass' it shows a varied and complex style of music. The songs are all different. From the fast paced `Clint Eastwood' to the slow based `Tomorrow comes today' emphasises the fact that Gorillaz are able to explore different styles and give the viewers different ideas as to what music should be about.

A personal favourite of mine is `Sound Check' the slowness combines beautifully with an upbeat rhythm. The pace and slow style of singing is enough to gain the audience's vote. The DJ's backing scratches are superb to. The different singers also combine to create an atmospheric style of music.

Both albums produced by Gorillaz(self titled and Demon days) are absolutely fantastic. With using different components such as piano, drums, violins etc and using these in ways to create such songs as Sound Check, Man Research and Clint Eastwood its no surprise that Gorillaz are my favourite band - to explore difference with emphasis into beautifully composed music I recommend this album or Demon Days above any other
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Animated Twist To Hip Hop, 22 Feb 2004
This review is from: Gorillaz (Audio CD)
Now i may get on the wrong side of people when i say this, but the idea of creating a band which is entirely on paper and pencil is not a very good one, but for some strange reason it seems to work for the Gorillz.
Created by Blur's Damon Albarn, who also provides vocals for the album, and artist James Hewitt, who created the characters for the band, Gorillaz is a mixed bag in its development.
Essentially this is a bit of hip hop, a bit of rock, a bit of electronica, a bit of everything, and it seems rather fresh when you listen to it.
The album ranges from groovy numbers such as the ode to drugs song "Re-Hash" and "19-2000" to Rocking tracks like "5/4" and "Punk" to songs like "New Genious" and "Tomorrow Comes Today" that displays Damon's vocals talents.
The star of the record has to be Del Tha Funky Homosapien, who raps out catchy rhymes on two of the albums hit singles "Clint Eastwood" and "Rock The House", but overall the highlight song for all Blur fans is "M1 A1" showing a rather rock grooved sound.
Overall Gorillaz is somthing different, it won't please everyone guaranteed, but it is a rather fresh cd and it makes for a unique listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gorillaz
Gorillaz by Gorillaz (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews