Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars10
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.35+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2001
This has to be one of the most diverse Punk albums I own. The opening Track "For Boston" gets the energy flowing with its chants and fast paced beat, this leads perfectly into my personal favourite track "The Legend of Finn MacCumHail" This is the ultimate punk tune based on a traditional Celtic legend, it has it all - Fast beats, shouty choruses and loud guitars. "The Rocky Road to Dublin" will have you jigging in the isles and "The Wild Rover" is a classic pub tune to drink your Black stuff to.
What struck me most about this album though was that while keep the same punk feel as previous albums like "Do or Die" and "The Gang's All here" it also has some other styles like the traditional Irish tunes and some heart-stirring acoustic tracks. Its this that will keep you going back to this album when most other punk bands have gone into obscurity.
A definite must have album.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2001
Now I know that a lot of people have not heard of these guys but they are probably one of the very best of the punk bands that are out right now. Lets face it when you want the best then you have to buy not only this album but the rest of these guys stuff. With songs such as "heros of our past" and the "spicy mchaggis jig" you can't far go wrong because this singular album can be rated as good as predessors. To put it simply this is the best punk album of the decade and it's a must have in any serious punk fans collection!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2003
how can any punk not love the dropkick murphys!? tis a great cd, mix of punk, irish folk and BAGPIPES! hurrah for dkm! if ur a fan already u wont be dissapointed
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2007
I have only recently discovered this band, after hearing Shipping up to Boston on the Departed film soundtrack. I am now hooked! They are brilliant, the music just grows on you. I especially like The Torch off this album but the rest are good too. Buy it if you are looking for something a bit different.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2001
Dropkick murphys aaaa what can i say but i love em, their previous album "the gangs all here" was somewhat of a dissapointment to me, not due to lack of talent and quality by any means, it just strayed away from the irish folk values which bless the band and give them there individuality and stand out from other punk bands, Sing loud Sing proud is one of the best albums i have on my rack and no my rack is not a single cd rack infact it has a capacity of 60 cds. So bring oyut the leprecauns and beat them sensless cos this my friend is the pot of gold that they keep so well hidden simply magnificent, they sing bout drinking, love, and war joost plain irish stuff. Best song on album gotta be ummmmm the rocky road to dublin, even the pogues shane mcgowan makes an appearence on the song good rats, a siong about rats would you believe it, deffinately a different route to all that EMO punk about love, love love love, boring if you ask me, these songs are more like a stroy than a love letter.
Basically buy the damn cd and you will be happy for the rest of your life(was i a salesman in a past life? must of been, i can just see me sellin potatoes in a big irish field, while the sweet sounds of the bag pipes and whistles blare from the hills and little men skip down the grass aaaaaa
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
I first heard the Dropkick Murphy's "Tripping up to Boston" on the movie The Departed. It was such a powerful track I wanted to hear more so I bought this and The Warrior's Code. Love both albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
Having been a fan of the dropkicks for sometime and having a father with similar tastes in music i brought this for him for christmas, he liked it mum wasnt to keen though!! ha ha
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
Bought this for my son and he loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2001
well this is a great cd and i have lent it to someone and i need to get it back!
good rats is pretty funny,sing loud sing proud is a quicker song as is for boston the spicy mchaggis jig is fast funny and quite amazing.true punks will love it.the best cd i own quite honestly
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
Perfect and cheap!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)