Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lake Placid
I've not laughed so much at other films that were out and out comedies as I did with this hilarious film, but even now I'm not so sure I should have found it as much fun as I did. Not made in a totally obvious spoof style, it's still pretty clear that the film makers decided that to make a pure monster creature thriller would be too passé, so instead jazzed up this...
Published on 23 Aug 2005 by Rich Milligan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is not all regions, its region a only ...
This is not all regions,its region a only please be aware of this before buying.
I've already made this mistake.
Published 2 months ago by dean shaw


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lake Placid, 23 Aug 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lake Placid [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
I've not laughed so much at other films that were out and out comedies as I did with this hilarious film, but even now I'm not so sure I should have found it as much fun as I did. Not made in a totally obvious spoof style, it's still pretty clear that the film makers decided that to make a pure monster creature thriller would be too passé, so instead jazzed up this offering up with a completely over the top script and as much camp posturing as they felt they could get away with.
A remote lake in Maine has become the scene of the grizzly death of an underwater Beaver researcher. (See how camp it is!) When the diver's body (well half of it anyway) is recovered, a post mortem reveals a tooth that has been lodged in the remains. New York museum professor Kelly Scott (Bridget Fonda) takes a look and decides it is the tooth of a reptile and vows to return to Maine to make further investigations.
This is much to the chagrin of local Sheriff Hank Keough (Brendan Gleeson) and fish inspector Jack Wells (Bill Pullman). What makes these two official's job even more difficult is the arrival on the scene of millionaire crocodile lover Hector Cyr (Oliver Platt) who seems more intent on saving the monstrous reptile than clearing the lake of the danger it represents. Perhaps the key to it all lies with the only inhabitant of anywhere near the lake, aged grey haired Delores Bickerman (Betty White) who lashes the forces of authority with the full length of her tongue at every opportunity.
As I say the film really does work best when it doesn't take itself too seriously and it does a fantastic line is witty bitchy retorts between all the main leads. Some of the lines the characters come out with are pure pantomime and I wondered at times how they all kept straight faces. The casts are obviously having a great time with the film and it's nice to see them all enjoying hamming it up to the limit.
Where the film doesn't operate so well therefore are in the supposed thrilling sequences, staring the 30 foot rubber croc. Whilst the special effects aren't awful, they are less than what modern films have made us expect.
All in all, this is an entertaining piece of throwaway cinema, and at only just an hour and twenty minutes long, it never outstays its welcome. Good Fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Certainly Not Lake Flacid, 17 Dec 2008
By 
G. R. Donaldson (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lake Placid [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
Dont be put off by the rotten title or the ghastly cover. This is as good as comedy horror gets. I actually won this in a TV competition but I would have bought it as it received some pretty good reviews upon its release. Some of the gags will make you smile rather than laugh out loud but its a good film. Oliver Platt as the maniacal but well intentioned conservationist is the best on show, however running him a close second is Brendan Gleeson's slow witted sheriff. The two bounce of each other really well. The effects are good and its short running time ensures the next gag or thrill is just around the corner. At £2.98 this is a steal.
I saw a very dodgey looking sequel to this in Sainsbury's recently. It just had buyer beware written all over it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film. USA Blu ray region locked, 25 Aug 2014
Fantastic film. Great characters. Superb sarcasm. Very good effects.
Just one problem - the USA version of this blue ray is NOT region free.
It is not all regions. It is locked to region 1 USA and will not play in off the shelf UK players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius comedy, startling horror, gigantic crocodile. Terrific Movie., 10 Aug 2010
This review is from: Lake Placid [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
Written by Ally McBeal's David Kelly, this has a lot of that series' very sparky, sassy comedy dialogue. Bridget Fonda's paleontologist is foisted off into the wilds of Maine after an animal attack leaves behind what looks like a fossil, and she makes no secret of her utter lack of adaptability to the woods. Her character is great fun to watch, and holds the movie together in one of her best performances, with some truly standout lines: "If you call me Ma'am one more time, I'll sue you - and with today's laws it's possible!"
Bill Pullman is the laid back game warden tolerating her bad attitude as he tries to find out what killed a man in the lake, and Brendan Gleeson is terrifically resigned as the Sheriff having to babysit them all. It's a cast sent from heaven, as all of them seem utterly at home spouting Kelly's fast, snappy, barbed one-liners. And then Oliver Platt arrives as a slightly demented and appallingly opinionated adventurer, and the comedy begins to increase at about the same rate as the horror does. Seasoned director Steve Miner doesn't forget the horror, and builds the suspense masterfully, with several startlingly violent and fast attack scenes that really highlight the danger they're all in, as well as a terrific 'trapped in the water' tension piece. The woods feel truly wild, there are some ingenious moments and interesting mythology, and Miner even gives comedy foil Platt a moment that is arguably the most chilling and threatening suspense scene in the film. It's a film of tremendous skill from all involved. Not designed to be taken seriously (except where it clearly hints: 'this is a serious bit' with a deft change in tone), it's sophisticated sharp-edged comedy, with fast paced action and masterful horror-tension and gore.
Filled with a warmth of spirit charm and adventure lacking in the majority of films, let alone the majority of horrors, this is an unmissable treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unpretentious, but very funny., 16 May 2010
By 
A. P. J. Jansen (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lake Placid [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
I guess you either love this move or hate it. It is not a horror movie, but a parody and as such very funny. There is a monster in the form of a very large crocodile, and at times it becomes a bit scary. (Not really more than that in spite of a decapitation.) But more important is the set of quirky characters and the spiffy dialogues. The problem of a movie like this is that the makers easily go over the top. This is not the case here; it has just the right balance between absurdity and realism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent comic horror!, 14 Jun 2001
By 
This review is from: Lake Placid [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
Lake Placid is a great fun film for everyone to enjoy. If you like action horrors you'll love this, and if you like comedies you'll also love it. With a classic performance from Oliver Platt and Bridget Fonda, it will not only keep you on the edge but also have your sides splitting with laughter! Ask yourself one question, if you had a 30 ft crock swimming right behind you, what would you do? Oh and by the way watch out for the mad old lady who feeds it cows! It has a great music theme and a perfect film setting. A must watch for anyone. If you haven't seen it don't miss the DVD, it took ages to come out so I wouldn't be surprised if it disapears pretty fast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clever Little Film......................, 14 Aug 2008
By 
Saturnicus "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lake Placid [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
Hardly a horror film, but it is a rib tickler. A zany, ill fitted expedition seek to find if there is indeed a killer creature in Lake Placid (not the famous one, but the other one).
The cast is outstanding with fabulous performances by Oliver Platt, Bridget Fonda, Brendan Gleeson and Golden Girl Betty White.
Jokes from Platt come hard and fast; and Ms Fonda is not short on Hang-ups.
Well worth watching, this movie has been a firm favourite of mine right from the first time I saw it. Though rated 15 in the UK, I think children would love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny rather than scary, 6 Mar 2004
By 
Sally-Anne "mynameissally" (Leicestershire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lake Placid [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
As the film begins, Hank, the local sheriff is in a boat, assisting the sarcastic guy from the Fish and Game Department who's tagging beaver. He's just sitting in the boat, eating a Twinkie and listening to someone singing "I think I love you, so what am I so afraid of ... " on the radio, when the Fish and Game guy, appears at the surface in his diving gear in a distressed condition, hurtling through the water as though he has a motor attached to his bottom. When Hank yanks him into the boat, he finds a significant amount of the man is missing. There's a large predator in Splendid Lake (even though the film is called Lake Placid) and the experts have to be called in to find out what it is and remove it.
Yes, it's been done before with other implausibly large predators, but it's still fun. This one is a real sparkler. It's not very scary - not even the underwater scenes where the colossal critter is gliding silently among the divers. But it's very witty. Jack, the Fish and Game Warden and Kelly, the palaeontologist are pretty sharp, but the real stars (for me) where Hank, the sheriff and Hector, the mythology professor who bounced sarcasm and just plain rudeness off each other like a pair of tennis players. Mrs Bickerman, who claims to have killed her husband with a skillet (I think that might be a frying pan) also has a cutting wit and spits most of her venomous humour at poor Hank. As investigations progress and the body count (moose, cow, bear, men) rises, a thin and insubstantial hint of romance flickers between Jack and Kelly, and the offensive Hector and grouchy Hank show signs of getting to like each other by the end.
The scenery is breath-taking - beautiful, glittering lake, mountains and forest. The music's agreeable (includes songs by Tom Jones, Eddie Grant). There's action and some gruesome scenes, but really, this is mainly a comedy. I've happily watched it several times. It's rather good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best, 28 July 2011
This review is from: Lake Placid [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
I was given this video as a present when it first came out. Years later, I have had to buy another copy as my son has pinched my original. Every time I watch it, it makes me laugh till I ache. A 'must have' for any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 12 April 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lake Placid [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fabulous monster movie. It has some moderate horror moments but also contains a number of laugh out-loud moments, making it the best horror-comedy since "An American Werewolf in London" 18 years earlier. The story is pretty obvious from the DVD cover so I won't discuss that. Acting honours go to Betty White as Mrs Bickerman, but mostly to Brendan Gleeson who is marvellous as the local Sheriff.

Interestingly the director is Steve Minor a veteran director of many slasher horror films (Friday 13th Part II etc). He also worked on the notorious "Last House on the Left" in the early 1970's. It just goes to show how age can mellow you.

I think it holds up to repeated viewings, and having already seen it a couple of times, I've now bought the DVD. Its only 82 minutes long so it doesn't overstay its welcome, unlike the Crocodile....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lake Placid [2000] [DVD]
Lake Placid [2000] [DVD] by Steve Miner (DVD - 2004)
£2.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews