Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has This Film Got The 'X' Factor?
I have never been a fan or fantasy or such like films, but after this film was recommended to me by a friend i thought why not just watch it and see if it was any good. So, i did, rather skeptically i will admit. However, before long i was really getting into and i was starting to grip the edge of my seat. By the end i was quite shocked at how good it was.
I mean,...
Published on 16 Nov 2003 by no1filmaddict

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Like a toad being struck by lightning....
The same as everything else.....

In a world where both Mutants and Humans fear each other, Marie D'Ancanto, better known as Rogue, runs away from home and hitches a ride with another mutant, known as Wolverine.

Charles Xavier, who owns a school for young mutants, sends Storm and Cyclops to bring them back before it is too late.

Magneto,...
Published 8 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has This Film Got The 'X' Factor?, 16 Nov 2003
This review is from: X-Men [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I have never been a fan or fantasy or such like films, but after this film was recommended to me by a friend i thought why not just watch it and see if it was any good. So, i did, rather skeptically i will admit. However, before long i was really getting into and i was starting to grip the edge of my seat. By the end i was quite shocked at how good it was.
I mean, you can be really picky about certain things that they have missed out from the comics, but as i, and a large majority of others in the world have never read them anyway, i guess it don't really matter.
I have seen quite a number of films before, which have tended to be either action or martial arts, but suprisingly this really measures up. I would not hesitate to watch this again and i look forward to watching sequel and any others which they might make.
So, in answer to my original question, Has this film got the 'X' factor? Well, i would say YES definatly! And i would also say BUY THIS NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Three, 11 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: X-Men [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Yes, yes, yes, yes. This movie rocks. In fact, I can't think of a single reason not to buy it.

Let's start with the cast. The two juggernauts Ian McKellen and Patrick Stewart are in the centre of this epos, going head to head against each other - one militant using force to establish a new world order where mutants are at the top, the other wishing to build bridges between mutants and humans for a better understanding; justice and peace for all. Then there's Halle Berry (hot as usual) as a quite convincing Storm, Famke Janssen as the graceful Jane Grey, Anna Paquin as the fugitive Rogue and Hugh Jackman as the wild and mysterious Wolverine. There is not - in my opinion - a single cast member who does not play his/her part well, and they are all well-suited for their respective roles.

The plot is what makes this film stand out. The focus is on the difference in philosophy between the two old friends Xavier and Magneto, the appearance of a new powerful mutant named Rogue and her encounter with the loner Wolverine. The film is an introduction to the story of the X-men, and is very well suited as the beginning of a trilogy. Wolverine is an important character: basically, he's a mystery. He doesn't remember much about his past, and throughout this film (and indeed in the next) he quests to learn more about himself while at the same time opening the door to his heart in one rare instance for the vulnerable Rogue, who is placed in the middle of the battle between two old friends who have different views on the relationship between humans and mutants.

The film will leave you with a desire for more. Trust me when I say you don't really need it. This film yields a preliminary result of a continuing battle between the two great old men, and that's the way it should be. You can always continue the story yourself, in your own imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "We are the future Charles, not them!", 11 May 2006
By 
C. O'toole "bigcon" (co. down N ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Men [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
2000's X-Men saw the first of the really high calibre super-hero franchises of the 21st century, The X-men, Spidey, the Hulk(come on it was all right!) to name but a few. Like the beginning of all great franchises, whilst being a film of small scope, it hints at huge back stories and since its character development was so interesting, the moolah that it generated financed the more detailed and excellent X2.

It opens to bleached rainy 1944 in the jewish ghetto where a young Jewish boy is wrenched from his parents in a tear jerking sequence. The wire gate bends and buckles to his anger, he is knocked unconscious by the butt of a rifle... The themes of discrimination could not be hammered home more bluntly. We move to the near future where a young girl in the first flush of love is agonisingly separated from her loved ones because she is different with dangerous powers. We move to a sweaty dingy cage where a feral young Clint Eastwood look alike dominates the ring, yet he is a tortured individual with a backstory. These miscreants are given shelter by Charles Xavier at his "special" academy. These mutants are feared and ostracised by society especially ambitious Senator Kelly who wants a mutant registration act. Charles Xavier believes in the good of mankind but Eric Lensha (our boy from WW2) is bitter and wants to dominate mankind. The film floats between super hero cheese but keeps a foot in reality and this is why it's been such a success with the outsiders in fact Bryan Singer feels it has a Gay connotation! This may or not be true but this is a very satisfying and thought provoking film with an occasional burst of humour. When Wolverine is asked to verify that he's the real deal and not a doppelganger by Cyclops he utters"You're a Dick!" revealing hid identity and true love rival sentiments.Anna Paquin is excellent as Rogue, Halle Berry is beautiful and is storm, Ian McKellen hams it up as Magneto and good old Darth Maul/ Ray Park crops up as Toad. X2 kept up the quality and consistency and X3 looks like a belter! Good old Frasier himself blue and furry as the Beast, Real hard man Vinny Jones as the Juggernaut, the re emergence of "Angel" my Marvel salivary glands are going wild ,it's like a roll call of old mates from the Marvel comics of my Youth but Singer a true genius wisely avoided putting Wolverine into yellow spandex, a fact he alludes to in the film! Bring it on X3! JOIN THE EVOLUTIONNN!!!!(eh!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars X-Men, 18 Jan 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: X-Men [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
The thing is when you sit down to watch a film like this; you shouldn't be expecting acting of Shakespearian standards, a subtle plot and sensitive subjects. What you're really after is a good chunk of action, some great special effects and a fun filled storyline to keep you going to the end. With X-Men you get that and plenty more besides.
Hugh Jackman is great to watch as the "lead mutant" and how great to see Ian McKellen and Patrick Stewart trying to outdo each other in the ham-acting stakes. Another mention must go to the superb sets which give the film a wonderful futuristic feel. Couple that with some amazing special effects and the ingredients for an entertaining evening come together nicely.
Another great plus point is that the film has no pretence about it; it knows it is a comic-book action flick and tries to be nothing more. There no stuffing of morals down your throat as comic-books sometimes try to do, and any points the director makes are done with real skill and therefore work so much better than if he'd rammed the "discrimination is bad" message home over and over again.
Great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An impossible mission accomplished, 25 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: X-Men [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I've talked to many avid X-Men comic fans and this was really the film that they had been dying to see since they first picked up the comic book.
To see it finally on film is probably something I personally have been waiting for since I was about 7 (many many moons ago) and to say I was impressed was an understatement.
Making a film from a comic book is hard. You have to appeal to the die hards "It's not close enough to the story line; its not in depth enough; Rogue doesn't look like THAT!" and to the mass market "What the hell is an x-man?" means you have to make sacrifices on both sides to get the ideal movie.
This has HUGE potential to fail - but the balance is right in this movie.
Instead of trying to appeal to fans with deep characterisations of all characters (10 hour movie, anyone?) they've concentrated on Wolverine and Rogue, balanced off against the die hards moaning that their fave character isn't in it enough (wait for the next movie, will ya!)
Instead of revealing the entire history of the Xavier/Magneto saga (which after 100's of comics still hasn't been resolved) they've given what I consider the ideal solution - brief history, but not much detail (die hards complain again, but it is in the spirit of the books!).
And instead of trying to follow the complex plot lines (who REALLY knows the history of Wolverine - anybody?) they've stuck to the basics - he himself isn't really sure.
I get the feeling that they have spent WEEKS just discussing how to execute this movie, and I for one think the result far exceeds most people's expectations - however, like any crossover movie, everyone is gonna have their winge about how it wasn't EXACTLY what they wanted.
If I was you, I'd leave your mind open and just watch Wolverine and Sabretooth fight it out : )
And where was Gambit?
:-p
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Comic Book Movie, 5 Oct 2007
By 
M. A. Ramos (Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As far as bringing comic books/games to the screen, this has to be the best so far. The filming, sound and acting are great. The only reason I feel I did not give it 5 stars is that I just finished watching "The Perfect Storm" the same day...and the acting does not compare... But if you like reading the X-men comic, you must have this film. The DVD gives you a lot of extras. And for a comic book, there is a very good story line. Wolverine's creation seems to need its own movie. Everyone else is born a mutant.... Of course the comic book as is the movie, is a statement on how the majority treats minorities they do not understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fine film, 28 July 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Men [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
X-Men is the best comic strip adaptation I've seen to date. It has all the excitement and special effects that you'd expect, together with a class of acting that you don't see in many other films of this type.

The story concerns the two factions of the X-Men. X-Men are mutations from normal humans. One is lead by Professor Xavier (Patrick Stewart) and the other by Magneto (Sir Ian McKellen). Xavier believes the X-Men can work with humans. Magneto wants to destroy humanity and in a brilliant opening scene (shot in black & white) set during the 2nd world war we see he has some justification for this view. Patrick Stewart and in particular Ian McKellan are the main reasons to see this film. They add a certain gravitas to the proceedings that takes the movie to a different level. Having said that Hugh Jackman and the rest of the cast are all good.

It always helps to have a good director and Bryan Singer (The Usual Suspects) does a great job. There are some excellent set pieces and the film is kept to a sensible length. This is well worth buying at the right price as it does hold up to repeated viewings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Escapism, 4 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: X-Men (2000) [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I was originally drawn to the film by Patrick Stewart, a favourite actor of mine. I knew nothing about the series, and I was expecting some harmless Holywood trash. I was very pleasantly surprised.
From the opening sequence I was captivated. Excellent performances all round and a completely engrossing story. This film leaves you wanting more, especially from McKellan and Stewart. My only criticism is that it could have been longer - plenty to explore within the world of the X Men. This is a thoroughly enjoyable movie that appeals to the imagination in both children and adults alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars X-citing and X-ceptional fun!, 7 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Men [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This film, along with ‘Blade’, could easily be the ones responsible for the current regeneration of the superhero / comic-book movie. Direct Bryan Singer brought a fresh look to a genre long since stale with exciting characters, cutting edge special effects and a cast of top name stars to deliver fun, fast and exciting action and story work for a franchise backed up with an extensive back catalogue.

Thankfully for tip-toeing into the make or break world of superhero adaptations with a wealth of comic book history to rely on, the plot relies on no previous knowledge of the X-Men to understand and follow. Of course there are plenty of nods to the Marvel universe for die-hard fans to note, but for the general audience it’s a simple story of good mutant vs bad mutant vs humanity in a fight to survive and save man-kind. It’s exciting and dangerous, but fun and witty at the same time thanks to the cast who embody the characters as if they were born to play them on-screen to make them far more likeable and enjoyable to watch than could be imagined.

It’s easy to see the growing appeal for Hugh Jackman making Wolverine a more likeable character than he could have played him, appealing to all audiences and paving a strong lead for the franchise. But you can’t knock any of the cast at all to be honest; Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen play old friends and enemies that you believe has just been ongoing for decades, and fellow X-Men Famke Janssen, Halle Berry, James Marsden and Anna Paquin equally show a great deal of raw emotion, wit and pathos in a story that is very tender and deals with the strong subjects of isolation, betrayal, loss and acceptance of who you are.

The threat of communism in the 1960s and racism in the 1970s creeps into the plot, but without ever being in your face as it just makes the story more believable, more relevant and more fitting for modern society rather than spanning some out-of-this-world alien-esque plot.

Yes, sadly some of the actors are under-used with such a wealth of talent where you wish you could see more of them and the foundations are placed for greater character development in future films as we just skim the surface of some of the team, but it’s a minor argument in an otherwise enjoyable film. Carried along by hard-hitting action sequences and bone-crunching fights (a stand out duel between Mystique and Wolverine is both exciting and thrilling), dry humour and the use of cutting-edge CGI in the year 2000, it’s a slick and exciting trip into the super-hero universe of Marvel’s X-Men that launched a craze unlike modern cinema goers haven’t experience for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Mutant High., 23 Sep 2009
This review is from: X-Men [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
"X-Men" is based on the Marvel comic-book series and hit the big screen in 2000. Directed by Bryan Singer, the film stars - amongst others - Hugh Jackman, Patrick Stewart, Ian McKellen, Anna Paquin, Famke Janssen, James Marsden, Halle Berry and Rebecca Romijn.

Mutants are seen as the next step in humankind's evolution and born with a slightly different genetic makeup - a variation that generally brings a superpower with it. You won't necessarily be able to tell just by looking at someone they're a mutant, however - in many cases, mutants look just like normal humans. In fact, only three of the characters in the film - Toad, Mystique and Sabretooth - look anyway different. In most cases, a mutant won't even know that they are a mutant until they reach puberty - which is generally when their powers 'switch on'. Throw in an unhealthy dose of widespread anti-mutant sentiment, and an over-complicated adolescence gets even worse.

Rogue is one such teenager. The poor girl enjoys her first kiss, and sees her young boyfriend collapse into a coma. Unfortunately for Rogue, her mutant superpower is destined to make her lonelier than most : skin-on-skin contact with another human will see her absorbing that person's life-force. (Although she doesn't know it at first, touching another mutant will also see her - briefly - gaining that mutant's superpower). In a blind panic, she flees - running more or less randomly to small-town Alaska. There, she finally has a bit of luck - when she runs into Wolverine, a cagefighter who's also a mutant. Originally known as Logan, Wolverine has an adamantium skeleton, a very sensitive nose, and a hyperactive healing factor. (You can injure him - he just won't stay injured for very long). However, he doesn't have much of a past - Wolverine's life is a mystery even to him. Unfortunately, the pair have barely made their introductions before they're dragged into a war...

On their way out of town, Rogue and Wolverine are attacked by Sabretooth - a member of the Brotherhood of Mutants, led my Magneto. Luckily, two X-Men called Storm and Cyclops arrive to help, and take the pair back to their base in New York State. The initial assumption is that Magneto wanted Wolverine for some reason. The X-Men's leader - Professor Charles Xavier, the world's most powerful telepath and a one-time friend of Magneto's - wants to find out why. He asks Wolverine agrees to stay a little while and, in return, the Prof will try to help Logan remember his past. Rogue, meanwhile, is enrolled at the Professor's School for Gifted Youngsters. The school could be viewed as a cover of sorts : the Professor's abilities are not public knowledge, though the 'gifted youngsters' are actually mutants. The purpose of the school is to train young mutants how to properly - and responsibly - control and use their powers. The Professor also believes humans and mutants can live peacefully, side-by-side - Magneto, on the other hand, disagrees.

Magneto is not alone in his belief : Senator Kelly - a 'standard', though influential, human - sees mutants as something to be feared and, therefore, requiring control. The Senator very strongly advocates the Mutant Registration Act, though he wants even more than that. "If it were up to me", he says "I'd lock them all away". If it weren't for people like Kelly raising the stakes and talking of imprisoning people without trial, this war may never have needed fought...

A cracking superhero movie overall. There's a bit more of Wolverine than any of the other heroes, though there is a heavy side-order of Rogue - who I liked a lot more onscreen, than did in print. (I was very impressed with Paquin's performance as Rogue, and also Romijn as Mystique. A member of the Brotherhood of Mutants, Mystique is a shapeshifter. However, while she doesn't look human in her natural form, she does look very cool). The sparring between Cyclops and Wolverine also worked very well, and provided a few comic moments. I wasn't too impressed with Storm, though - her contribution to the movie was pretty much non-existent. That may well have been down to the writing, but I'm not sure Halle Berry was all that bothered about making the most of her screen-time. Still, other than that, a very enjoyable show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X-Men [DVD] [2000]
X-Men [DVD] [2000] by Bryan Singer (DVD - 2004)
£2.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews