Customer Reviews


147 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "DONT DISTURB MY FRIEND HE'S DEAD TIRED"
First of all the 1st review on this page is incorrect COMMANDO on Blu Ray is UNCUT compared to the standard DVD version its the U.S.THEATRICAL CUT which runs at 88 mins, the standard DVD runs at 85 mins. So COMMANDO fans we get to eventually see the TOOL SHED scene UNCUT -eg GARDEN FORK, PICKAXE, SAW BLADES & arm chopped off with MACHETTE... So picture quality is a step...
Published on 18 July 2010 by Paul J. Jackson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cut the movie?
this review would get 5/5 if they hadnt cut this movie. when you see what can get released in new movies and what is cut in older films, then you have to ask yourselves "who wants to see the uncut version"? ME for one. i want to see the movies i grew up with, in the early & mid eighties when people would kill people in films and some real life psycho wouldnt blame it on...
Published on 14 Mar 2008 by S. frost


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "DONT DISTURB MY FRIEND HE'S DEAD TIRED", 18 July 2010
By 
Paul J. Jackson (UK , Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First of all the 1st review on this page is incorrect COMMANDO on Blu Ray is UNCUT compared to the standard DVD version its the U.S.THEATRICAL CUT which runs at 88 mins, the standard DVD runs at 85 mins. So COMMANDO fans we get to eventually see the TOOL SHED scene UNCUT -eg GARDEN FORK, PICKAXE, SAW BLADES & arm chopped off with MACHETTE... So picture quality is a step above the normal DVD, It still has grain visible but what can you expect the ACTION CLASSIC is 25 years old.. The sound quality is also good for the age of the film.. I can remember renting COMMANDO back in 86 and what an IMPACT it had "i loved it" Arnie is FANTASTIC, Full of ACTION & DARK HUMOUR, An 80's CLASSIC. "GO & BUY NOW"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray is Uncut, 19 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is just a short note to say the Blu Ray version of this gloriously over-the-top Schwarzenegger rampage is uncut as far as I'm aware,and does feature the "shed scene" in all of its glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Commando Blu-ray (Region A Only), 2 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is totaly uncut the sound is DTS Wow it is a shame it is only region USA (it can be watched on playstaion 3 console)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CUT!!!, 20 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Commando [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Ok. Firstly this is a class action movie with Schwarzenegger at his bestbut.........its cut! Its not a subtle cut at that. Your left wondering if theDVD player just glitched.
I sat down to watch this epic and was gutted when I saw that the scene inthe aeroplane where he breaks a guys neck is removed (badly). I stoppedwatching and fast-forwarded to another commonly removed scene where hechops a guys arm off and yet again its badly cut. After that I gave upwatching it, I was wanting to see the 'greatest story ever told' not a cutup version fit for a seven o clock watershed. It gets four stars itsreally a 5/5 movie but this cut down no extras DVD brings it down. If Iwere you check out the American version it probably isn't cut. Why didthey cut it?...now that's a million pound question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GET REGION 1 DIRECTORS CUT FOR FULL UNCUT, 9 Dec 2013
This review is from: Commando [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Region 1 directors cut is uncut with a great commentary
Have fun with this one
Don't forget region 1 is uncut
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UK BLU RAY IS UNCUT, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The uk version if this Blu ray is most definitely UNCUT.
After owning the DVD version of this film and annoyed at how the film was shredded, I was sceptical about getting this again but im glad I did.
The neck break, saw blades etc are all back.
Thank "F" for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 1980s Arnie action pic, 31 Mar 2013
By 
A. Moncrieff (up your a s s) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perhaps the epitome of 1980s action and non-franchise Arnie product, Commando is a very dated and extremely entertaining action film full of great stunts, one liners and cheesy, gaptoothed Arnie goodness. Rae Dawn Chong plays a typical 1980s sidekick with some still-funny one liners (and some real groaners), Dan Hedaya (apparently in shoe polish) plays a deposed dictator from Val Verde (the same fictional Central American country from Predator and Die Hard 2), Vernon Wells (Mad Max 2: The Road Warrior, Weird Science) plays Bennett, David Patrick Kelly oozes slime as Sully, some guy plays the Richard Crenna-role from Rambo and Bill Paxton shows up in a brief cameo (Arnie killed him in Terminator, and threatened him later in True Lies). All in all, a good cast.

Comic book writer Joseph "Jeph" Loeb was one of the writers of the script and it is probably him who contributed the memorable "rogue's gallery" of villains here - the "evil muscleman" Bennett, the "sleazy white guy" Sully, the "complacent psychopath" Cooke, etc - which makes the film so much fun to watch. The film is nicely situated between spoof and genuine thrilling action. Rather than undermine the film, the comedy here is to reinforce the thrills the film provides and knows you came for.

James Horner's score is quite good in a very cheesy way. While Horner has never done anything original in his life, he comes pretty close here - we can here lots of pre-echoes of the atmospheric militarism of his upcoming Aliens score, along with an extremely catchy melody performed on steelpan/steel drums. Also used are lots of keyboards (obviously), pan pipes (to indicate those of asian descent - really?) and, of course, the most 1980s instrument of all - the saxophone. Overall, it's extremely effective.

The film is definitely high on a list of great action films, from the heyday of excessive action, practical stunts and effects, and barely self-conscious thrills.

The UK Blu-ray is a straight port of the US one. The picture is good - grainy, no DNR. It's not the best picture you'll put on your TV but I shouldn't even need to say that. It's a fantastic HD representation of the film regardless. The sound is even more impressive - the lossless 5.1 really pumps the sound up loud, with only the bulldozer scene being somewhat problematic (tinny! noisy!). This is the US theatrical cut, by the way, uncensored in the UK for the first time since it's cinematic release (though this version has been screened on satellite television too), so we get the axe to the crotch, the severed arm, and the complete tool shed scene. Shame the director's cut, and commentary, could not be included as well, but it's no big loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Commando - Violence and one liners: Arnie does what Arnie does best, 8 May 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Commando [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
A great mid eighties action thriller from Arnold Schwarzenegger, this film is a perfect blend of action and one liners. It's a fine evening's entertainment for those of us who enjoy that sort of thing.

It's got all the ingredients. Arnie shows off his muscles gratuitously, and metes out deadly violence and killer one liners with equal ease. The script is perfectly suited to his talents, although it occasionally calls for the odd bit of exposition and provides some unintended humour as Arnie tries to get through some more complicated lines. There are plenty of nasty villains to contend with, and lots of impressive fight scenes as titanic gladiators do their stuff. Also present and correct the action film staple - an absolutely ridiculous plot more full of holes than a colander. The main bad guy has an evil and dastardly plan so convoluted, complicated and stonkingly daft that it's laughable. He is also a bad guy with a surprising lack of self preservation instinct. Thrown in with this are lots of big bangs as Arnie blows up and shoots anything that moves (and quite a few things that don't move). It's an absolutely perfect beer and pizza film full of nostalgia for those lads among us who grew up with eighties action film. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why use the 80s cut version?, 16 Sep 2010
This review is from: Commando [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
First id like to say that this is a great movie, and judging it on it's own merits it is a fun and exciting 80s Arnie flick, cheesy sure, but a good popcorn flick none the less.

But why have we been given the 80s edited version on DVD? Especially when according to the BBFC web site all-previous cuts have now been waived, and a longer 88m version was passed with no cuts back in 2007?

Some people are criticizing the BBFC for this, but seeing as they have now waived all previous cuts, it can only be the studio that is to blame for not releasing an uncut version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Blu-ray for Commando, 23 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The other reviewers have laid out a wide spectrum of opinion about the film and the transfer. In my opinion it's a classic 80s action flick the like of which we are unlikely to ever see again in the coming decades and the transfer is actually very healthy. The picture quality is detailed, but I imagine the original cinematography flattened the image, so it lacks the latest HD 'pop'. The audio too is solid and hits hard during explosions, gunfire etc. The dialogue is clear. After getting this I was impressed enough to later buy it for a friend who'd just got a Blu-ray player. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Commando [1986] [DVD]
Commando [1986] [DVD] by Mark L. Lester (DVD - 2003)
2.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews