Customer Reviews


194 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "DONT DISTURB MY FRIEND HE'S DEAD TIRED"
First of all the 1st review on this page is incorrect COMMANDO on Blu Ray is UNCUT compared to the standard DVD version its the U.S.THEATRICAL CUT which runs at 88 mins, the standard DVD runs at 85 mins. So COMMANDO fans we get to eventually see the TOOL SHED scene UNCUT -eg GARDEN FORK, PICKAXE, SAW BLADES & arm chopped off with MACHETTE... So picture quality is a step...
Published on 18 July 2010 by Paul J. Jackson

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DVD is Cut to shreds
No, it's not just one quick scene of an arm being cut off after the shed attack. That was only cut in the BBFC cinema and VHS version. This UK release of "Commando" on DVD is loaded with further cuts. I love this movie and would give it 5 stars as a film but I'm here to review the DVD release to help purchasers, which is what all reviewers should do. Apparently...
Published 12 months ago by Stromberg


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "DONT DISTURB MY FRIEND HE'S DEAD TIRED", 18 July 2010
By 
Paul J. Jackson (UK , Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First of all the 1st review on this page is incorrect COMMANDO on Blu Ray is UNCUT compared to the standard DVD version its the U.S.THEATRICAL CUT which runs at 88 mins, the standard DVD runs at 85 mins. So COMMANDO fans we get to eventually see the TOOL SHED scene UNCUT -eg GARDEN FORK, PICKAXE, SAW BLADES & arm chopped off with MACHETTE... So picture quality is a step above the normal DVD, It still has grain visible but what can you expect the ACTION CLASSIC is 25 years old.. The sound quality is also good for the age of the film.. I can remember renting COMMANDO back in 86 and what an IMPACT it had "i loved it" Arnie is FANTASTIC, Full of ACTION & DARK HUMOUR, An 80's CLASSIC. "GO & BUY NOW"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DVD is Cut to shreds, 1 May 2014
This review is from: Commando [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
No, it's not just one quick scene of an arm being cut off after the shed attack. That was only cut in the BBFC cinema and VHS version. This UK release of "Commando" on DVD is loaded with further cuts. I love this movie and would give it 5 stars as a film but I'm here to review the DVD release to help purchasers, which is what all reviewers should do. Apparently the UK DVD release uses a German master from the German ultra-sensitive censor. None of these scenes are exclusive to a "Director's Cut", these are supposed to be in the official theatrical release. Here are some of the scenes cut on the UK DVD.

1. Man bringing out bins gets an extra shooting up by Cooke when on the ground.
2. Henrique, accompanying Matrix on plane has his neck broken.
3. Leg of table sticking through Cooke's stomach
4. Matrix slits a soldier's throat, while planting bombs (close-up)
5. Matrix stabs a man in the chest, while planting bombs (only the strangle is seen)
6. Matrix throws 2 knives at soldiers before massive attack
7. Shed-scene: Pitch-fork to the chest
8. Shed-scene: Axe to the groin
9. Shed-scene: Arm sliced off (This was the only scene originally cut by the UK censor)
10. Close-ups of pole in Bennet's stomach.

The Blu-Ray UK release has every one of these scenes restored but for those of us not getting roped into the Blu-Ray gimmick and over spending, we are denied an uncut DVD release of the theatrical version, not alone a Directors Cut release in the UK, which has even more scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why use the 80s cut version?, 16 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Commando [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
First id like to say that this is a great movie, and judging it on it's own merits it is a fun and exciting 80s Arnie flick, cheesy sure, but a good popcorn flick none the less.

But why have we been given the 80s edited version on DVD? Especially when according to the BBFC web site all-previous cuts have now been waived, and a longer 88m version was passed with no cuts back in 2007?

Some people are criticizing the BBFC for this, but seeing as they have now waived all previous cuts, it can only be the studio that is to blame for not releasing an uncut version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 1980s Arnie action pic, 31 Mar. 2013
By 
A. Moncrieff (up your a s s) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perhaps the epitome of 1980s action and non-franchise Arnie product, Commando is a very dated and extremely entertaining action film full of great stunts, one liners and cheesy, gaptoothed Arnie goodness. Rae Dawn Chong plays a typical 1980s sidekick with some still-funny one liners (and some real groaners), Dan Hedaya (apparently in shoe polish) plays a deposed dictator from Val Verde (the same fictional Central American country from Predator and Die Hard 2), Vernon Wells (Mad Max 2: The Road Warrior, Weird Science) plays Bennett, David Patrick Kelly oozes slime as Sully, some guy plays the Richard Crenna-role from Rambo and Bill Paxton shows up in a brief cameo (Arnie killed him in Terminator, and threatened him later in True Lies). All in all, a good cast.

Comic book writer Joseph "Jeph" Loeb was one of the writers of the script and it is probably him who contributed the memorable "rogue's gallery" of villains here - the "evil muscleman" Bennett, the "sleazy white guy" Sully, the "complacent psychopath" Cooke, etc - which makes the film so much fun to watch. The film is nicely situated between spoof and genuine thrilling action. Rather than undermine the film, the comedy here is to reinforce the thrills the film provides and knows you came for.

James Horner's score is quite good in a very cheesy way. While Horner has never done anything original in his life, he comes pretty close here - we can here lots of pre-echoes of the atmospheric militarism of his upcoming Aliens score, along with an extremely catchy melody performed on steelpan/steel drums. Also used are lots of keyboards (obviously), pan pipes (to indicate those of asian descent - really?) and, of course, the most 1980s instrument of all - the saxophone. Overall, it's extremely effective.

The film is definitely high on a list of great action films, from the heyday of excessive action, practical stunts and effects, and barely self-conscious thrills.

The UK Blu-ray is a straight port of the US one. The picture is good - grainy, no DNR. It's not the best picture you'll put on your TV but I shouldn't even need to say that. It's a fantastic HD representation of the film regardless. The sound is even more impressive - the lossless 5.1 really pumps the sound up loud, with only the bulldozer scene being somewhat problematic (tinny! noisy!). This is the US theatrical cut, by the way, uncensored in the UK for the first time since it's cinematic release (though this version has been screened on satellite television too), so we get the axe to the crotch, the severed arm, and the complete tool shed scene. Shame the director's cut, and commentary, could not be included as well, but it's no big loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray is Uncut, 19 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is just a short note to say the Blu Ray version of this gloriously over-the-top Schwarzenegger rampage is uncut as far as I'm aware,and does feature the "shed scene" in all of its glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Commando - Violence and one liners: Arnie does what Arnie does best, 8 May 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Commando [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
A great mid eighties action thriller from Arnold Schwarzenegger, this film is a perfect blend of action and one liners. It's a fine evening's entertainment for those of us who enjoy that sort of thing.

It's got all the ingredients. Arnie shows off his muscles gratuitously, and metes out deadly violence and killer one liners with equal ease. The script is perfectly suited to his talents, although it occasionally calls for the odd bit of exposition and provides some unintended humour as Arnie tries to get through some more complicated lines. There are plenty of nasty villains to contend with, and lots of impressive fight scenes as titanic gladiators do their stuff. Also present and correct the action film staple - an absolutely ridiculous plot more full of holes than a colander. The main bad guy has an evil and dastardly plan so convoluted, complicated and stonkingly daft that it's laughable. He is also a bad guy with a surprising lack of self preservation instinct. Thrown in with this are lots of big bangs as Arnie blows up and shoots anything that moves (and quite a few things that don't move). It's an absolutely perfect beer and pizza film full of nostalgia for those lads among us who grew up with eighties action film. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Commando Blu-ray (Region A Only), 2 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is totaly uncut the sound is DTS Wow it is a shame it is only region USA (it can be watched on playstaion 3 console)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CUT!!!, 20 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Commando [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Ok. Firstly this is a class action movie with Schwarzenegger at his bestbut.........its cut! Its not a subtle cut at that. Your left wondering if theDVD player just glitched.
I sat down to watch this epic and was gutted when I saw that the scene inthe aeroplane where he breaks a guys neck is removed (badly). I stoppedwatching and fast-forwarded to another commonly removed scene where hechops a guys arm off and yet again its badly cut. After that I gave upwatching it, I was wanting to see the 'greatest story ever told' not a cutup version fit for a seven o clock watershed. It gets four stars itsreally a 5/5 movie but this cut down no extras DVD brings it down. If Iwere you check out the American version it probably isn't cut. Why didthey cut it?...now that's a million pound question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars do you know how i promised to kill you last! i lied, 27 July 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Commando [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Commando is a masterpiece but not for its script or acting or even plot,its a masterpiece of one liners,over the top violence and its campness that you cant help but laugh at.Released in 1985 when over the top violence was at the forefront of cinematic releases,this is certainly one of the greatest films of its kind.

Arnie stars as retired colonel john matrix who(surprise surprise) is forced out of that retirement when his daughter is kidnapped by the insanelyt camp villain bennett,who in truth looks more like something from the village people than a film that scares the life out of you.The plot could be written on back of a postage stamp but the films brilliance lies in the action and how easy this is to watch and you will never get bored watching this.Essential for all the mad reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review for Region 1 director's cut, 30 Jan. 2009
I can reassure fans that the R1 director's cut is the full, unedited and uncut version of this glorious epic. I lost count of how many hired minions Schwarzenegger comically butchers in order to get his daughter back but I haven't seen many films where quite so many people die. Our hero of course is barely wounded in the process. If you enjoy classic 80's action movies full of cheesy one-liners this is as good as they get.
The R1 DVD is worth getting as the cut scenes (in particular the garden shed scene) are definitely worth seeing. However, the R2 DVD is still packed with all the one-liners and the classic 'I lied' scene so no worries if you don't have a multi region player. Why don't they make films like this anymore?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Commando [1986] [DVD]
Commando [1986] [DVD] by Mark L. Lester (DVD - 2003)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews