Customer Reviews


175 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "DONT DISTURB MY FRIEND HE'S DEAD TIRED"
First of all the 1st review on this page is incorrect COMMANDO on Blu Ray is UNCUT compared to the standard DVD version its the U.S.THEATRICAL CUT which runs at 88 mins, the standard DVD runs at 85 mins. So COMMANDO fans we get to eventually see the TOOL SHED scene UNCUT -eg GARDEN FORK, PICKAXE, SAW BLADES & arm chopped off with MACHETTE... So picture quality is a step...
Published on 18 July 2010 by Paul J. Jackson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DVD is Cut to shreds
No, it's not just one quick scene of an arm being cut off after the shed attack. That was only cut in the BBFC cinema and VHS version. This UK release of "Commando" on DVD is loaded with further cuts. I love this movie and would give it 5 stars as a film but I'm here to review the DVD release to help purchasers, which is what all reviewers should do. Apparently...
Published 9 months ago by Stromberg


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "DONT DISTURB MY FRIEND HE'S DEAD TIRED", 18 July 2010
By 
Paul J. Jackson (UK , Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First of all the 1st review on this page is incorrect COMMANDO on Blu Ray is UNCUT compared to the standard DVD version its the U.S.THEATRICAL CUT which runs at 88 mins, the standard DVD runs at 85 mins. So COMMANDO fans we get to eventually see the TOOL SHED scene UNCUT -eg GARDEN FORK, PICKAXE, SAW BLADES & arm chopped off with MACHETTE... So picture quality is a step above the normal DVD, It still has grain visible but what can you expect the ACTION CLASSIC is 25 years old.. The sound quality is also good for the age of the film.. I can remember renting COMMANDO back in 86 and what an IMPACT it had "i loved it" Arnie is FANTASTIC, Full of ACTION & DARK HUMOUR, An 80's CLASSIC. "GO & BUY NOW"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray is Uncut, 19 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is just a short note to say the Blu Ray version of this gloriously over-the-top Schwarzenegger rampage is uncut as far as I'm aware,and does feature the "shed scene" in all of its glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DVD is Cut to shreds, 1 May 2014
This review is from: Commando [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
No, it's not just one quick scene of an arm being cut off after the shed attack. That was only cut in the BBFC cinema and VHS version. This UK release of "Commando" on DVD is loaded with further cuts. I love this movie and would give it 5 stars as a film but I'm here to review the DVD release to help purchasers, which is what all reviewers should do. Apparently the UK DVD release uses a German master from the German ultra-sensitive censor. None of these scenes are exclusive to a "Director's Cut", these are supposed to be in the official theatrical release. Here are some of the scenes cut on the UK DVD.

1. Man bringing out bins gets an extra shooting up by Cooke when on the ground.
2. Henrique, accompanying Matrix on plane has his neck broken.
3. Leg of table sticking through Cooke's stomach
4. Matrix slits a soldier's throat, while planting bombs (close-up)
5. Matrix stabs a man in the chest, while planting bombs (only the strangle is seen)
6. Matrix throws 2 knives at soldiers before massive attack
7. Shed-scene: Pitch-fork to the chest
8. Shed-scene: Axe to the groin
9. Shed-scene: Arm sliced off (This was the only scene originally cut by the UK censor)
10. Close-ups of pole in Bennet's stomach.

The Blu-Ray UK release has every one of these scenes restored but for those of us not getting roped into the Blu-Ray gimmick and over spending, we are denied an uncut DVD release of the theatrical version, not alone a Directors Cut release in the UK, which has even more scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why use the 80s cut version?, 16 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Commando [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
First id like to say that this is a great movie, and judging it on it's own merits it is a fun and exciting 80s Arnie flick, cheesy sure, but a good popcorn flick none the less.

But why have we been given the 80s edited version on DVD? Especially when according to the BBFC web site all-previous cuts have now been waived, and a longer 88m version was passed with no cuts back in 2007?

Some people are criticizing the BBFC for this, but seeing as they have now waived all previous cuts, it can only be the studio that is to blame for not releasing an uncut version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Commando Blu-ray (Region A Only), 2 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is totaly uncut the sound is DTS Wow it is a shame it is only region USA (it can be watched on playstaion 3 console)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CUT!!!, 20 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Commando [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Ok. Firstly this is a class action movie with Schwarzenegger at his bestbut.........its cut! Its not a subtle cut at that. Your left wondering if theDVD player just glitched.
I sat down to watch this epic and was gutted when I saw that the scene inthe aeroplane where he breaks a guys neck is removed (badly). I stoppedwatching and fast-forwarded to another commonly removed scene where hechops a guys arm off and yet again its badly cut. After that I gave upwatching it, I was wanting to see the 'greatest story ever told' not a cutup version fit for a seven o clock watershed. It gets four stars itsreally a 5/5 movie but this cut down no extras DVD brings it down. If Iwere you check out the American version it probably isn't cut. Why didthey cut it?...now that's a million pound question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars do you know how i promised to kill you last! i lied, 27 July 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Commando [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Commando is a masterpiece but not for its script or acting or even plot,its a masterpiece of one liners,over the top violence and its campness that you cant help but laugh at.Released in 1985 when over the top violence was at the forefront of cinematic releases,this is certainly one of the greatest films of its kind.

Arnie stars as retired colonel john matrix who(surprise surprise) is forced out of that retirement when his daughter is kidnapped by the insanelyt camp villain bennett,who in truth looks more like something from the village people than a film that scares the life out of you.The plot could be written on back of a postage stamp but the films brilliance lies in the action and how easy this is to watch and you will never get bored watching this.Essential for all the mad reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review for Region 1 director's cut, 30 Jan. 2009
I can reassure fans that the R1 director's cut is the full, unedited and uncut version of this glorious epic. I lost count of how many hired minions Schwarzenegger comically butchers in order to get his daughter back but I haven't seen many films where quite so many people die. Our hero of course is barely wounded in the process. If you enjoy classic 80's action movies full of cheesy one-liners this is as good as they get.
The R1 DVD is worth getting as the cut scenes (in particular the garden shed scene) are definitely worth seeing. However, the R2 DVD is still packed with all the one-liners and the classic 'I lied' scene so no worries if you don't have a multi region player. Why don't they make films like this anymore?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Works Every Time.", 7 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
What qualifies for a “5 star film” these days? Academy Award winning performances? A culturally significant plot? Probably, but more than that, I feel a film that delivers what it says it will. No frills, no detractions, just entertainment. ‘Commando’ is marketed as an action film, and we GET an action film that is full of breakneck stunts, well-staged action sequences, wonderful bad guys and a genre defining hero. This is a 5 star film.

Shotguns. Grenades. Knifes. C4 Explosives. An axe. Pistols. Sub-machine guns. A rocket launcher. Rifles. UZIs. A garden fork. A metal pipe. A chair leg. These are just some of the implements and weapons Arnie uses to bludgeon, maim and de-limb those who stand in his way of seeking out his kidnapped daughter.

Necks are broken, limbs are cut off, torsos are sliced and blood oozes in glorious pre-CGI crimson against clothes and floors. When Stallone's John Rambo takes on an army in 'Rambo III', it seems a little far-fetched for his character. But when Schwarzenegger's John Matrix gets tooled up in the most macho moment of the 1980's to take down a small army protecting their corrupt leader, you can actually believe that Arnie can, will and has done this before! It's glorious, noisy and over-the-top without being far-fetched.

Arnie zips along the film at a mere 1 hour 27 minutes, but it's full of action and those fantastic one-liners that put 007 to shame when dispatching an enemy. "He's dead tired.", "Fly or die!", "I eat Green Berets for breakfast, and right now I'm very hungry!" and the wonderful moment when a villain is killed by a ventilation pipe - "Let off some steam!" Arnie looks great in this film, probably one of his best roles in his career and certainly makes you wish the golden age of action was still with us.

The soundtrack oozes tension and excitement and fits the mood perfectly. It’s dark and pulse-pounding and just compliments the action perfectly.With support from the likes of Vernon Wells as a brilliantly OTT psychotic Bennett and Bill Duke, David Patrick Kelly and Charles Meshack as Bennett’s heavies, who are each as important and memorable for different reasons, the bad guys are really bad without anything cliché about them and that’s all we need to really get into the story of good vs evil.

Mark Lester knows how to direct a star like Arnie in a very simple film as this. It sets up the plot and then doesn’t stop moving until the resolution. The action sequences move fluidly from one to the other without drag, and it proves you don’t need huge exposition to make something as entertaining and escapist as this popcorn fuelled masterpiece of cinema.

They REALLY don’t make them like this anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick Reviews!, 11 Sept. 2007
By 
This review is from: Commando [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
*** This comment may contain spoilers ***

Macho, stupid, ultra-violent but nonetheless brilliant, Commando is another perfect example of a classic 80's action flick. Violence? Yes. Explosive? Yes. Simple plot? Yes. Muscle men going at at(ahem)? Yes. One liners? Yes. Everything is here and although many hate it, this is still a wildly entertaining film. These films were important as part of our childhood, and still are today. They may not be suitable for kids, but with these it is easy to see the difference between right and wrong, real and not. Even though it is full of flaws it still should be recognised as pure entertainment.

Arnie plays John Matrix, ex marine whose daughter is kidnapped by an old colleague. He is blackmailed into an assassination or his daughter will be killed. However, Matrix soon escapes the man hired to make sure he doesn't try any funny business and begins to search for his daughter with the help of a sceptical trainee pilot played by Rae Dawn Chong. Matrix has revenge on his mind, and no-one will stop him.

As always Arnie is perfect, does his lines brilliantly, deals with the action effortlessly. For some reason Chong's performance has been destroyed by critics, but she is pretty good and I can see no flaws. Her character is meant to be annoying and scared, and she plays her that way. Bennett, the main bad guy, famous for his Road Warrior role is clearly effeminate-an interesting choice for a macho bad guy, and Alyssa Milano is also good in an early role. Bill Duke makes a welcome appearance, as does D.P. Kelly, who has vanished since the Crow. The action and set pieces are excellent, particularly the final attack, the soundtrack works well, and there are hundreds of quotable lines. 'I lied'- Shakespeare never did better.

Unfortunately this edition of the film has no features, and has been cut to shreds by various 'film and classification boards'. Yes, the people who make our decisions for us have deemed Commando the source of all society's evils, so what we get here is a hideously edited version. Don't worry though, a special edition is on the horizon- hopefully uncut and packed with extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Commando [1986] [DVD]
Commando [1986] [DVD] by Mark L. Lester (DVD - 2003)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews