Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHAT CAMERON DOES BEST.
I have always considered this to be James Cameron's most underrated film - often overlooked, its a fine example of what Cameron does best - make really cracking, edge of the seat action movies. This is easily on a par with his more famous sci-fi efforts (Aliens,Terminator,T2) - and urguably more impressive than Titanic,because the characters are far more three dimensional...
Published on 25 Feb 2001

versus
45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie but what's with the aspect ratio?
I recently re-bought this one as the original DVD I have is not formatted properly for widescreen tv's. I was hoping that this more recent edition has had this corrected but it has sadly not. As a result, when you are watching it on one of the more recent widescreen lcd's or plasmas, the picture is not "enhanced" for 16x9 so the picture sits like a small letterbox in the...
Published on 20 April 2007 by Mark Lavender


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie but what's with the aspect ratio?, 20 April 2007
By 
Mark Lavender (Auckland, NZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I recently re-bought this one as the original DVD I have is not formatted properly for widescreen tv's. I was hoping that this more recent edition has had this corrected but it has sadly not. As a result, when you are watching it on one of the more recent widescreen lcd's or plasmas, the picture is not "enhanced" for 16x9 so the picture sits like a small letterbox in the middle of the screen. You can zoom the image to fit the screen but the clarity is lost. Such a shame because its one of my favourite sci-fi movies of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A WASTE OF MONEY, 16 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abyss (Two-Disc Special Edition) [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
I love the film but what a shame about the technical presentation this totally ruined a brilliant film after a 10 minute viewing I gave up and confined this DVD 2 the shelf where it will stay. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS VERSION!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHAT CAMERON DOES BEST., 25 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Abyss (Two-Disc Special Edition) [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
I have always considered this to be James Cameron's most underrated film - often overlooked, its a fine example of what Cameron does best - make really cracking, edge of the seat action movies. This is easily on a par with his more famous sci-fi efforts (Aliens,Terminator,T2) - and urguably more impressive than Titanic,because the characters are far more three dimensional and believable.
Ed Harris and Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio are great as the estranged couple whose relationship is reconciled in the murky depths of an underwater trench,which is home to some peace-loving extra-terrestrials.
Despite the initial cuteness of the watery aliens, there is a very deep, thought provoking message in this film - especially intensified in the extended special edition version, which is way superior to the theatrical release. And how's this for value, BOTH versions are included in this box set.
Solid performances,excellent special effects and probably some of the best underwater photography you'll ever see in a movie, make this is a film that you MUST watch.
Despite excellent sound quality, and some astonishing extra features, this DVD is ruined by the fact that (like Cameron's Titanic before it), it is NOT presented in anamorphic widescreen - WHY are they STILL releasing some movies in this format?? This was a real let down for me, and I'm sure will be for other DVD buffs.
What a shame this ruins an otherwise excellent film and a great value DVD package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Imaginative, touching, and almost complete..., 8 May 2008
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abyss (Two-Disc Special Edition) [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
The Abyss is one of the those accomplished films that may have well been produced in an era gone by, for now attempts of the 'same old formula's' are chugged out right, left and centre. The Abyss, however, is completely original in it's own right. With beautiful underwater photography, fantastic camera-work that sets the tone for enclosed cabins or the vast openness of the ocean, this was surely ahead of it's time. I.L.M (Industrial Light and Magic) were in Co-Production for this movie and produced the scenes in which the computer meets real live acting; all done perfectly, I might add. They also helped produce Terminator 2, which as we all know still looks passable today.

Like a few other viewers, I've always felt the ending is somewhat 'open' and a bit blunt... This is, however, typical of any Sci-Fi/underwater film in which the producer has hundreds of options as to how to wrap up a vast story.

Their are 2 editions of this DVD; a Special Edition with 2 discs, and the Single Disc version. Both have the exact same covers so watch out and look for the edition banner on the top/bottom of the sleeve!

The ending doesn't let this film down in anyway. It always leaves me day-dreaming as to the possibilities of what lives miles down in the ocean floors... I thank James Cameron for his ability to tap into your emotions to pull that off, and for a small price, this DVD should be in anyone's collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated, under water, 31 Mar 2006
By A Customer
James Cameron loves water. The Abyss in it's cinematic form suffered badly from being cut too much. The extended version adds a few storylines and broadens the appeal of the film. I would suggest reading the book first as this explains even more of what is going on. The Aliens at the end then don't seem so out of left field. The art design, acting and special effects are all top notch. ILM of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb viewing...., 2 Jun 2008
By 
S. Marsh "The Watcher" (Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just want to say that this film stands the test of time for me. It is heartwarming, the special effects really work even today and its watchable over and over again....Just one thing, do watch the directors cut, or special edition, as I think that the cuts that were made to the original movie do remove quite a lot of the message of the film and without that, you miss the point somewhat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stand By For The New Experience, 11 July 2002
This review is from: The Abyss (Two-Disc Special Edition) [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Released in 1989, this blockbuster adventure from James Cameron follows an undersea drilling crew who come across a race of aliens living under the sea in a huge bottomless trench.
Actor Ed Harris virtually made his name overnight in this movie as the skipper of the crew who has his hands full with all manner of dangers on board the vessel, and actually manages to handle a first contact situation with advanced aliens.
Extreme credit goes to everyone asssociated with this film, for handling what was a very gruelling picture, especially to directon Cameron for having the vision to handle this story in an entirely different way. This film ran very definate dangers of sliding either in parody or boredom or maybe even preachiness, especially come the ending, but thanks to Cameron's superoir vision and that of his technicians, it steers well clear of this and rises above other films of the genre.
A justifiable hit at the time, and a good feather in the caps of all concerned.
As for you the potential buyers of this masterpiece, the movie is even better on DVD, with colour, clarity and sound quality all enhanced like never before. Y ou could do worse than give this one a whirl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful non-anamorphic transfer, 28 Feb 2010
By 
T. Lawford "Trev" (London, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you have a large-screen TV then FORGET this *awful* 4:3 non-anamorphic transfer. It shows up anamorphically on terrestrial TV now and again so you might as well wait and watch it that way. Good sound, but, with such a dire pixellated picture on large displays, what's the point?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spanking, 22 Aug 2006
Sci-Fi had grown stale by the late eighties, space travel had been rubbed into the ground as concept, but nobody had been to the bottom of the Ocean. However, when an American Nuclear Submarine mysteriously goes down a small underwater oil drilling team are called in as the Navys only hope of getting below the surface before a major storm front hits the area cutting of any futher rescue attempts. Dispatched with a team of Navy Seals to guide them the divers attempt a quick rescue opperation but are instead flung into a nightmare world where they are cut off from the surface and trapped on the edge of 25,000 ft ravine. The unlucky miners are required to push themselves to the limit to save themselves, only to find that a lot more is at stake. The plot is one of those amazing peices of storytelling that pulls together some stunning effects for the time period (i mean stunning) and a real sense of immersion from the epic setpieces making a trully exceptional film on all levels. Infact epic is a word that describes this film allround and thats that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some flaws but none of them fatal, 5 July 2005
James Cameroon has directed some fine films (Terminator and Terminator 2, Aliens, Titanic) but The Abyss gives the impression of being a bit of an experimental indulgence by a director with lots of cash behind him. It's a schizophenric movie, changing direction and focus from start to finish, never quite sure if it's a thriller or action flick or simple sci-fi schlock affair. The story centres around a US submarine that goes down in deep water after an encounter with a bizarely fast underwater craft, and follows the crew of a deep sea mining rig that is subsequently taken over by the Navy to mount a rescue operation. Technically the film is fantastic with, at the time, ground-breaking underwater photography and sequences, and the director pays great detail to the physics of deep sea diving. But this technical proficency can't make up for a generally weak storyline. As you watch the ensuing events many years after the film was made you'll wonder if certain scenes were just an experiment for later work on Terminator 2 and Titanic. And that really is the problem. Although it's an accomplished film with good character development, adequate acting, thrills, spills, tension and drama it's let down by a weak ending (I STRONGLY recommend the Director's Cut version), some poor dialogue and that nagging sense that it's just trying too hard to be all things to all people. Definately worth seeing but be prepared to feel a little disappointed at the end of it all but not quite able to put your finger on why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Abyss (Two-Disc Special Edition) [DVD] [1989]
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews