Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars8
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2001
Excellent live recording of Wishbone Ash in Paris. Yes, mostly tracks that have been on other live CD's, but this time its the latest band line-up, with a superbly clear recording. So good it makes you feel that you are there (just need a glass of vin rouge and the smell of Gitanes!). Tracks like FUBB and Phoenix amongst others, really show guitar playing at its best. Andy Powell has been in the band since 1969, but relative newcomer Mark Birch is a fine player too (and great vocals also). Very good bass and drums add to the overall effect. Plus two "unplugged" numbers on this CD, make it a favourite for many.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
I am a die hard Wishbone Ash fan but I regret buying this collection of limp lackluster performances. I never listen to it. There is so much great stuff out there by WA. Don't buy this, get something better.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2007
- Ash's third live "double" set if it were on vinyl, but in CD land everything's together

and tidy, so how have the band changed up to this moment in time? Extremely well it

appears, a new line-up with original member Andy Powell at the helm aided by Mark Birch

on vocals and guitars, Bob Skeat on bass and Ray Weston on drums, three of these

members are still in today's current line-up.

A much better live set this time, with many more old live favourites included, and with some

excellent playing, duelling solos with even better sound quality on "Living Proof"

and "Lifeline" from "Just Testing, and especially "Persephone" from "There's the

Rub", "F.U.B.B." (F***** Up Beyond Belief) from "Wishbone 4", "Come in From the Rain" from "Front Page

News" , "Wings of Desire" from "Strange Affair" and old classic favourites "Errors of my

Ways" and "Phoenix" from the first album, and "Leaf and Stream/Throw Down the Sword"

from "Argus".

Overall a much fresher effort than "Live Dates 2" , but no "date" palms on the sleeve! (maybe just).

With the line up on this album but with Bob Granfelt replacing Mark Birch the group went

on to record the excellent studio album "Bona Fide", a very strong set of songs, some of

which are covered on the "London and Beyond" CD/SACD released in 2004.

Better than "Live Dates 2" but not essential, deserves 3.5 stars.
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2010
This is a more recent recording (1999) and different line-up than the first "Live dates" and although I don't think is good as that, is still a good one.
There are a few great melodic pieces like "Errors of my way" and - of course - a more modern version of the epic "Phoenix" to finish on the high.
A good buy for all Ash fans.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2015
One of the best of british bands going to me heyday was in the seventies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2015
not had a chance to listen to this as yet but as a long time fan of Wishbone ash and having seen them live I am sure it will meet expectations, sound quality being the only caveat, as an ex sound engineer and very long time Hi-Fi enthusiast my expectations of music sources eg vinyl, cd etc are sometimes not met.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
great band and album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
Great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.26
£5.75

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)