Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Billions and Billions
The total number of stars in the universe is greater than all the grains of sand on all the beaches of the planet Earth.

This tv series will expand your mind and heart. Late Carl Sagan was an amazing person who aside from this Cosmos also wrote a few non-fiction books as well as a novel "Contact" (also recommended). Not only was he very familiar with the...
Published on 27 Jan. 2007 by Litania

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware the Cost - Not a DVD's are created equal
I will not denigrate this television series as it is possibly one of the most seminal programmes ever to be produced. It was, and is, breath taking in its science and vision. No more to be said. For that it’s a 5 star rating.

No, this is about the quality of the transfer, sound and picture, to this European version, which is NOT the one so gloriously...
Published on 16 Mar. 2013 by P. Hall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cosmos, one of the best, 4 Sept. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cosmos [DVD] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Excellent DVD set, just be aware that they are NTSC and not PAL as stated in the Amazon description. They are however, Region Zero. The quality of the box set is excellent as was the series. There is little I can add to the plaudits awarded to the original series other than it still inspires me to this day. UPDATE. After contacting Amazon, they have now listed the DVD correctly as NTSC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could be the best documentary of the 20th Century, 9 July 2008
By 
Antony (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cosmos [DVD] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
One of the best documentaries I've ever watched. Sure it was made almost 30 years ago, but still everything makes sense, and the way he can explain so many concepts in science and cosmology you'll walk away wanting to watch it one more time. After watching this again I gained some more purpose in life, why we are really here and humans are really meant to explore further. We explored all the seas of earth, now it's our turn to try to leap off this planet and find out more about the universe. Like Carl Sagan says, if we don't destroy ourselves, it is our destiny. As long as we can repel those that preach superstition and non scientific thinking, man can grow and conquer the universe. I think Carl is right, there is life on other worlds, it's just such a big place out there, billions and billions as he said it ;). On of the greatest voices of the 20th Century, and you can watch him on this great dvd. I just wish he made some more, but after this production I don't blame him, it basically said everything he needed to say. After watching this I bought Contact as well, since he wrote that story as I was so impressed with his thoughts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cosmos, 10 Jun. 2007
By 
This review is from: Cosmos [DVD] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Everyone should watch this. An extremely intelligent and exceptionally articulate man takes us on a journey to everywhere. If more people were like Carl Sagan the world would be a much better place to live. Cheers Carl. Love from Simon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Science Documentaries Made...... ever1, 26 Jun. 2007
This review is from: Cosmos [DVD] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
When I was about 9 or 10 I started to watch this amazing documentary series on TV with my Dad. This shows would explain to me, as a young child, the Theories of Relativity, Darwinism, how the planets and stars were formed and the Big Bang , how civalisations can fall apart and more. The name of this show? ..... Cosmos.

I was a child, and could understand it all. Is this series aimed at children. No! Most definately not. Its just that Dr Carl Sagan is probably the most articulate scientist that has ever walked this planet. His ability to explain the most complex theories to anyone who is listening is unprecidented.

Everything about this series is perfect. The writing, the effects, the music (Vangelis wrote the theme, and it is brilliant in the context of this series.).

Everyone needs to watch this, to see parrallels with what is happening today. Even tho. it is nearly 30 years old - it is still remarkably true dispite advances in theroes about Global Warming etc.

I was 10 when I watched this first. I wathed it again with my girlfriend recently, and she was simply amazed.

My person I would most like to invite to dinner.....? Dr Carl Sagan. Sadly he died 10 years ago. A truely great loss to science and humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 23 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Cosmos [DVD] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Carl Sagan's book and TV series called Cosmos has opened the vast universe to millions and millions of people. I thoroughly enjoyed reading the book and watching the series.

It is not surprising that Cosmos is the best-selling science book ever published in the English language...and the series has been seen by half a billion people!

Carl Sagan was able to accomplish this feat by tapping into his psyche as a little boy who asked many questions about the universe. He then wrote and produced the series from the heart. His enthusiasm and fascination with the earth, planets, stars, galaxies, extraterrestrial life and more is contagious! He took an incredibly difficult subject and made it fun, exciting and educational for anyone from 8 to 80 who has looked up at the night skies...and wondered.

The book and series are not to be missed!

The Re-Discovery of Common Sense: A Guide To: The Lost Art of Critical Thinking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Carl's COSMOS-ological Constant, 7 May 2010
By 
Peter Karsten "Osiris" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cosmos [DVD] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
My first exposure to this brilliant TV series was when I was still at school; and all I knew of Carl Sagan then was he was an astronomer. I was interested in Cosmos because I am a fan of Science Fiction, thus I wanted to see what sort of show Cosmos was. Well...I was very surprised, it wasn't a science fiction show as such, but a science-fact-documentary-type program of self-discovery through Dr. Carl Sagan's perspective-A Personal Voyage.

This personal voyage also imprinted on me as I watched Cosmos week after week, As I too was interested in the Stars of the Heavens. Later I would read several books authored by Dr. Carl Sagan, to try to get to know him better, I am also into science fiction so reading `Contact' by Carl was a must. Sadly I didn't finish the book because I felt it was too boring, thus I felt Carl was not a very good sci-fi writer. (naturally some of you may think I'm wrong)

Anyway, back to business. Watching Cosmos again was a real thrill for me as it took me back all those years, even so, this TV Series back then and even now has no equal. If religion has the Dalai Lama, then science has Carl Sagan, he presented Cosmos in a way that you can understand it, and after each episode, you would walk away feeling you knew something that you didn't know before. The series is just as fresh now as when it first appeared back in 1980.

History Lesson 1: Cosmos: A Personal Voyage.

Now a bit about the show.

This thirteen-part television series was written by Dr. Carl Sagan, Ann Druyan, and Steven Soter, with Carl Sagan as the show's presenter. It covered a wide range of scientific subjects including the origin of life and a perspective of our place in the universe. It won an Emmy and a Peabody Award and has since been broadcast in more than 60 countries and seen by over 500 million people.

A book to accompany the series was also published. Cosmos was produced in 1978-79 with a $6.3 million budget, with over $2 million additionally allocated to promotion.

Cosmos is notable for its groundbreaking use of special effects, which allowed Carl Sagan to apparently walk through environments that were actually models rather than full-sized sets. Example: The Library of Alexandria. The soundtrack to Cosmos is just as impressive and included pieces of music provided by Greek composer Vangelis.

History Lesson 2: Cosmos: The Series.

Let's look at the episodes presented on seven DVDs in this edition.

Episode 1: "The Shores of the Cosmic Ocean"

The first DVD has the above episode and has an Ann Druyan Introduction.

Episode 2: "One Voice in the Cosmic Fugue"
This episode has the Cosmos Update, 10 Years Later (1990), presented by Carl Sagan.

Episode 3: "The Harmony of the Worlds"

The second DVD has episodes 2 &3.

Episode 4: "Heaven and Hell"
This episode has the Cosmos Update, 10 Years Later (1990), presented by Carl Sagan.

Episode 5: "Blues for a Red Planet"
This episode has the Cosmos Update, 10 Years Later (1990), presented by Carl Sagan.

The third DVD has episodes 4 &5.

Episode 6: "Travellers' Tales"
This episode has the Cosmos Update, 10 Years Later (1990), presented by Carl Sagan.

Episode 7: "The Backbone of Night"

The fourth DVD has episodes 6 &7.

Episode 8: "Journeys in Space and Time"
This episode has the Cosmos Update, 10 Years Later (1990), presented by Carl Sagan.

Episode 9: "The Lives of the Stars"
This episode has the Cosmos Update, 10 Years Later (1990), presented by Carl Sagan.

The fifth DVD has episodes 8 &9.

Episode 10: "The Edge of Forever"
This episode has the Cosmos Update, 10 Years Later (1992?), presented by Carl Sagan.

Personal Comment: Interesting to note that this update may have been film in 1992, as a computer diagram shown by Carl is dated 1992, thus I must conclude that perhaps, all the updates on the DVD were not done in 1990, (Although assumed) but in 1992 at the very least.

Episode 11: "The Persistence of Memory"

The sixth DVD has episodes 10 &11.

Episode 12: "Encyclopaedia Galactica"
This episode has the Cosmos Update, 10 Years Later (1990), presented by Carl Sagan.

Episode 13: "Who Speaks for Earth?"
This episode has the Cosmos Update, 10 Years Later (1990), presented by Carl Sagan.

The seventh DVD has episodes 12 &13.

Personal Comment: This DVD set states it has been Digitally Remastered, and it shows in parts, but in some scenes (live-action and animated film) throughout the series, there are no touch-ups, this is because the original may have been unable to be repaired, or those responsible just left the film as is. In any case, the untouched film/negatives does not degrade Cosmos as a whole-so enjoy.

One very big mistake about this DVD Edition is that it does not have a special hour-long interview conducted by Ted Turner with Dr. Carl Sagan. This is considered a must to complete Cosmos as a whole. This missing 14th episode: "Ted Turner Interviews Dr. Carl Sagan" must be added to future DVD releases. Why it wasn't included here is a mystery. (In the past this episode was available on video) I would have loved to have seen it.

History Lesson 3: Cosmos: The Music

For those who want to know about the sound track.

In 1981 a soundtrack LP was released on RCA records shortly following the series' airing. The LP contained short bits of popular and classical songs used throughout the series that were edited into musical overtures or collages. The signature theme "Heaven and Hell, part 1" by Greek synthesist and composer Vangelis was also included.

In 2002 a special "collector's edition" 2-CD set of the music from the series was released to coincide with the Cosmos: A Personal Voyage DVD. The 2-CD set contained complete versions of many of the songs from series, unlike the original release which contained only snippets of the various songs.

Track listing for 2-CD collector's edition:

CD 1:
1] Heaven & Hell, part 1 -- Vangelis -- 1975
2] The Year 1905 -- Dmitri Shostakovich -- 1957
3] Alpha -- Vangelis -- 1976
4] Cranes in their Nest -- Goro Yamaguchi
5] Clarinet Concerto A major -- Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart -- 1791
6] The Pachelbel Canon -- Johann Pachelbel -- 1680
7] Metamorphosis -- Jeffrey Boydstun -- 19xx
8]The Sea named Solaris (BWV 639) -- Johann Sebastian Bach/Tomita -- 1714
9] Partita for Violin solo no. 3 in E -- Johann Sebastian Bach -- 1726
10] The Four Seasons:Spring -- Antonio Vivaldi -- 1725
11] Sonata D-Dur für Trompete, Oboe und Basso Continuo -- Gottfried Finger -- 169x
12] Concerto for Mandolin in C major -- Antonio Vivaldi -- 1725
13] The Tale of Tsar Saltan -- Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov -- 1899
14] Legacy -- Larry Fast -- 1975
15] Russian Easter Festival Overture -- Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov -- 1888

CD 2:
1] Pulstar -- Vangelis -- 1976
2] Vishnu symphony no. 19, opus 217 -- Alan Hovhaness -- 1966
3] Melancholy Blues -- Louis Armstrong -- 1923
4] Aquarius -- Galt MacDermot -- 1968
5] Beaubourg, part 2 -- Vangelis -- 1978
6] The Planets: Mars -- Gustav Holst -- 1915
7] Alien Images 1 -- Jeff Boydstun
8] Fly...Night Bird -- Roy Buchanan -- 1974
9] Entends-tu les Chiens aboyer? -- Vangelis -- 1977
10] Le sacre du printemps -- Igor Stravinsky -- 1913
11] Prayer of St. Gregory -- Alan Hovhaness -- 1946
12] Bulgarian Shepherds Song Izlel je Delyo Hajdutin -- Valya Balkanska
13] Comet 16 -- Vangelis -- 1986 (only the special edition of Cosmos)

Personal Comment: It may have been fate, but one of my favourite musicians is Vangelis, and his music adds another level of excellence to Cosmos; and the other musical additions by famous musicians gives the TV Series that added distinction.

Again, I feel the CD soundtrack should have been included in this edition, perhaps in the future, there would be a "Deluxe" Edition of Cosmos, that would have it. I'm sure as would others that listening to the music of the series will enhance its appreciation.

Final Thoughts.

Cosmos is the best TV Series that presents the mysteries of life, our world, and our place within the Universe; and even today, we are still trying to understand. Dr. Carl Sagan's thoughts for our world, who sadly is no longer with us and he will be missed. But his insight and his message to the human race through his TV Series is just as relevant today as it was back in 1980.

The thing is, do you wish to listen, do you want to hear? If you want to understand just a little, then Cosmos is for you. This series leaves for me anyway an afterthought of who we really are in the Universe and our place in it, but also to question our ourselves, our beliefs, our being to an almost spiritual sense. This earth is the only known planet that supports human life, we may wonder about other worlds, other intelligent life elsewhere, but if we are not careful, the human race will kill itself to extinction, before we have a chance to make ourselves known to the Universe. The eyes of God are watching.

Take the journey of wonder, of amazement, of reflection, of beauty, of knowledge with Carl through a voyage of discovery and remember...remember and never forget...we are all made of star-stuff.

Cosmos

On the Shores of the Cosmic Ocean, I hear One Voice In the Cosmic Fugue, speaking of The Harmony of the Worlds, that are like Heaven and Hell, so many worlds, so many colours, I feel the Blues For a Red Planet, such Traveller's Tales enrich the sky full of Stars that are The Backbone of Night, where one Travels In Space and Time, experiencing The Lives of Stars on The Edge of Forever, it is The Persistence of Memory, that I ponder the thoughts, "Who Speaks For Earth?"

From the Encyclopedia Galactica.

Thanks to Wikipedia, for additional information complete this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Beware the Cost - Not a DVD's are created equal, 16 Mar. 2013
By 
P. Hall (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cosmos [DVD] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I will not denigrate this television series as it is possibly one of the most seminal programmes ever to be produced. It was, and is, breath taking in its science and vision. No more to be said. For that it’s a 5 star rating.

No, this is about the quality of the transfer, sound and picture, to this European version, which is NOT the one so gloriously shown by Amazon. A quick search based on the EAN number soon finds this copy. An Amazon search lands you back here.

The picture: This is something of an extreme going from very vibrant, sharp and clear images to extremely pixelated, evidence of extreme compression? This is very evident in the first programme and at times is a distraction as it is extremely prominent, so those with Hi-Def players and screens are going to notice this! At other times the image is very soft, which granted this is a 25+ year old TV programme, showing signs of chromatic aberration. It is also not helped by image artefacts from the transfer equipment being present. So far the quality ranges from good to bad.

The sound: The sound quality is crisp and clear, the result of remixing? However at times, particularly when listened to as 5.1 mix, the music does have a tendency to dominate and drown the narration. Personally it should be there to support, not dominate.

So far this review is based on the first 5 episode, and as such I’ll review and update this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Story Ever Told, 26 April 2007
By 
M. Kemble "elbmek" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cosmos [DVD] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The Greatest Story Ever Told was a Hollywood film on biblical proportions!! But they were wrong, Carl Sagan told us the Greatest Story Ever Told in this supreme masterpiece of science and discovery. His enthusiasm and expertise shines like a supernova in the blackness of eternity. RIP Carl, the master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best documentary about space and the history of science, 22 April 2014
By 
P. Pirzer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cosmos [DVD] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
While this famous documentary series - made by the late astronomer Carl Sagan - was filmed in 1980, it is still one - or maybe the best - documentary about space and the history of its exploration and understanding.
Newer documentaries are very trashy, but Sagan was an exelent teacher and knew how to interest the people for science without making a crash-boom.bang-show.
This edition of the 13-part COSMOS series was released in 2002 and contains some new simulations and pictures from the Voyager-mission which were not included in 1980.
Personally, i like that edition more than that one from 2009.
The DVD-case is much better (But You need a big table to unfold it!) and there is an index, which is missing in the 2009 edition.
At least i have to say: It's nice to see COSMOS after all those years again and it is each Cent worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cosmos [DVD]   [US Import] [NTSC]
£46.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews