Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent action thriller
.
This is George Clooneys best film. He is the cool, intelligent and hard special forces officer tracking down the stolen nuclear warheads with Nicole Kidman. Kidman is not only superb as the nuclear expert but looks stunning. It is amazing how versatile this actress is, being credible in so many differing roles.
This story is fast paced, brutal in places, has...
Published on 16 Oct. 2003 by Steve

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars and that red-tint hair Nicole definitely does not look like belonging to her
the only originality of this movie is that unexpectedly Nicole and George do not end up having sex in some weird place e.g. on a helicopter. I am so grateful to the director for sparing this to us.
Hey, and that red-tint hair Nicole definitely does not look like belonging to her.
Published 6 months ago by F. Panin


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent action thriller, 16 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Peacemaker, The [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
.
This is George Clooneys best film. He is the cool, intelligent and hard special forces officer tracking down the stolen nuclear warheads with Nicole Kidman. Kidman is not only superb as the nuclear expert but looks stunning. It is amazing how versatile this actress is, being credible in so many differing roles.
This story is fast paced, brutal in places, has an interesting theme with two very different baddies with different agendas and totally avoids all the traps that would make it a Bond type movie - the girl doesn't fall into the heroes bed at the end, there are no silly gadgets, etc.
A good thriller, good fun - good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 21 Jan. 2006
By 
This review is from: Peacemaker, The [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
The Peacemaker is a thoughly entertaining thriller, primarily directed to focus more on the action and less on the underlying Political plot. It features a rather intense relationship between Clooney and Kidman, who both put in stellar performances. The action sequences are exciting, Clooney in particular manages to capture every aspect of his confident character.
While the plot is quite strong it still resembles the typical American plot of the predominantly good America versus the predominantly bad East. However even taking this into consideration, the Peacemaker is a very strong movie, small on Political message and reality but strong on action and suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Director Mimi Leder should be given a Bond Moive, 28 Dec. 2007
This review is from: Peacemaker, The [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Although this has the usual American good guy heroes, and those nasty, nasty, Europeans as the bad guys, thus making it a typical US movie. That would not be a fair appraisal of it.

Strangely it feels like a European movie and the better for it. It has a proper thought provoking reason why the villains are doing what they are doing. And one that in today's world we should pay attention to.

This film has none of the over the top effects of a Hollywood movie, it all has the feel of believability about it. No silly car stunts, but one of the best car chase sequences I've ever seen in a movie. It's a great ad for Mercedes if your about to buy a car and are worried about being car-jacked!!

It reminded me of the recently re-born Bond film franchise, except this was made in 1997, making the films director Mimi Leder well ahead of her time for both Bond and Jason Bourne. That alone should make the Bond people considering her for the directorship of a Bond film.

By the way my copy of the film, (same case cover as the one shown here) did not have the 4 page booklet of Production Notes. But the disc was the same.

One thing of note is that although the dvd case (and here) says the dvd is in 16:9 anamorphic widescreen. The treat is that it is actually in anamorphic 2.35.1 Panavison as per the cinema release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crackerjack!, 24 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Peacemaker, The [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
This really is a crackerjack of a film – basically, the plot revolves around 10 nuclear warheads which have been stolen in Russia by a rogue general, for onward transmission to a terrorist/freedom fighter group. Dr. Julia Kelly (Nichole Kidman) is the US boffin assigned to the case, since she has the know-how on how to neutralise an atomic warhead; Lt. Col. Tom Devoe (George Clooney) is the US Ranger officer conscripted into the investigation because although he possesses no scientific experience, he has the hands-on experience and the contacts ‘to get things done’ and the way in which they spark-off each other is very cleverly directed by Mimi Leder. Dussan Gavrich (Marcel Iures) is the idealistic terrorist, obliged by tragic family circumstances to effect a ‘spectacular’ and Armin Mueller-Stahl is Devoe’s chum, the cunning Dimitri Vertikoff, who helps him ‘get things done’.

And there are spectacular (and believable) car chases, some clever gun battles and the dodgy director of a transport company realises it might have been prudent to have accepted Devoe’s bribe, after his nose is introduced to the top of a coffee table. The stunts are coordinated by G.A. Aguila who makes a very fine job of them.

Hans Zimmer’s music is very good, although I did seem to recognise bits of Prokofiev’s 2nd. Piano Concerto in the score and I did notice at least one soldier, initially murdered on a train who makes a miraculous recovery to appear, yet again as a soldier, later on.

But the action is never-ending and the dialogue is both witty and compelling. The film was made getting on for 20 years ago but the plot is as up-to-date as today.

Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Should women be allowed to direct action films??... And should Nicole Kidman be allowed to act??..., 6 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Peacemaker, The [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Dunno if I give a fudge about either question, but this film is actually fairly decent. With at least 7 (!) explosions and a uncle car chase plays some gun play and some bloody violence also. George does well in his first leading man (action) role. There's also some race against time material near the end. There's some suffering here too. It's not a very pleasant movie but it's all done in a way that's exciting and satisfying. The director went on to direct Deep Impact. I would recommend thus film to any Clooney fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars er conversion, 9 Feb. 2010
By 
U. Flanagan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peacemaker, The [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I wasn't a George Clooney fan until I saw this movie and used to scandalise ER fans by saying that I thought GC had only two expressions. The Peacemaker was the first outing of his that in my opinion saw him 'acting proper'. Since seeing this first during the year of its release, I've gone on to become a big GC fan and I love his off-beat, quirky and often quite funny roles. Plus now I speedily admit to his having a much bigger range of emotions :)and am ready to do verbal battle with anyone who disagrees!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant film!! Arrived in very good time. This is the first blue ray I have used as we have just got a new DVD and blue ray player. Workerpd really well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars peacemaker bluray( us import), 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this disc is region free so plays on uk players ,print used is good sure to please if your a clooney fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars and that red-tint hair Nicole definitely does not look like belonging to her, 26 Oct. 2014
By 
F. Panin "FabioStar" (Holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peacemaker, The [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
the only originality of this movie is that unexpectedly Nicole and George do not end up having sex in some weird place e.g. on a helicopter. I am so grateful to the director for sparing this to us.
Hey, and that red-tint hair Nicole definitely does not look like belonging to her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excelent Thriller, 7 April 2011
By 
Dr. D. Brand (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peacemaker, The [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Excellent thriller, with first-class chemistry between George Clooney and Nicole Kidman.

Clever plot with villains that range from evil to likeable!

An all-American action film, in which, as always, the USA saves the world - or something like that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peacemaker, The [DVD] [1997]
Peacemaker, The [DVD] [1997] by Mimi Leder (DVD - 2006)
£6.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews