Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic fantasy-adventure of the Harryhausen kind!
Captain Sinbad's death-defying battles with stop-motion monsters began with 'The 7th Voyage of Sinbad', in which he fights against mad magicians and giant, cuddly cyclopses.
The adventure must have really done him in, because he took some time off, leaving Jason and the Argonauts to hold the baton for a while, fighting hideous harpies and very cleverly animated...
Published on 21 Aug 2002 by mayfly20

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Harryhausen's second Sinbad spectacular.
Its hard to believe that this film was made nearly 20 years after the 7th Voyage of Sinbad - it looks prety much exactly the same. I guess that technology just didn't advance so quickly back in those days without the aid of computers. The formula is bascially the same: Sinbad + evil magician + royalty in need of aid + beautiful women + stop motion monsters =...
Published on 18 Dec 2005 by J. Groom


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic fantasy-adventure of the Harryhausen kind!, 21 Aug 2002
This review is from: The Golden Voyage of Sinbad [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
Captain Sinbad's death-defying battles with stop-motion monsters began with 'The 7th Voyage of Sinbad', in which he fights against mad magicians and giant, cuddly cyclopses.
The adventure must have really done him in, because he took some time off, leaving Jason and the Argonauts to hold the baton for a while, fighting hideous harpies and very cleverly animated skeletons.
Now though, Sinbad has recovered, and he's ready to crack himself some stop-motion skull!
'The Golden Voyage of Sinbad' is every bit as fun and entertaining as 'The 7th Voyage of Sinbad' or 'Jason and the Argonauts'. One cannot of course, talk about these films for very long, without mentioning the incredible visual effects from the monster-meister himself; Ray Harryhausen!
This film features some really amazing work, the most note-worthy being, in my opinion, the six-armed statue which is bought to life for a deadly sword-fight with Captain Sinbad. Six arms - talk about harsh!
Some people may laugh at the slightly dated look of the effects nowerdays, but one must bare in mind that computer generated monstrosities were still a long way off into the future when this was made. With this in mind, I cannot help but marvel at the time and patience that must have gone into the making and animation of the monsters and other effects in this film.
'The Golden Voyage of Sinbad' features a new actor to play the intrepid hero - in the form of John Phillip Law. He is pitted against an evil magician (yes, another one!), who is played by Tom Baker. Tom Baker is of course, probably most famous for playing the mysterious Time-Lord in the BBC TV series; 'Doctor Who'. Tom Baker makes a great evil magician with his rolling voice, and his mad, staring eyes!
The plot, such as it is, involves Sinbad coming upon an ancient map, which leads him to a mysterious island, where he meets the equally mysterious monsters! To be honest, the plot flaps about a bit in my opinion, and I find myself not really caring about it. I'm too busy wondering whether Sinbad will have to devorce the Princess he married in 'The 7th Voyage of Sinbad' so he can marry the slave-girl he meets in this film! Who knows? - and frankly, who the hell cares!
'The Golden Voyage of Sinbad' should be watched for what it is; a fantastically imaginative and exciting piece of cinema from an era before computers held all the answers.
After you've watched the film, you can pay a visit to the Special Features Menu, to see what's there. Not much, to be honest.
First, there are a few posters for the film.
In another section is a trio of trailors. One of them is for this film of course; 'The Golden Voyage of Sinbad'. The other two trailors are for 'Jason and the Argonauts' and 'Sinbad and the Eye of the Tiger'.
Next up are the filmographies, including Ray Harryhausen and John Phillip Law.
Last of all on the Special Features, are three featurettes, none of which are related to 'The Golden Voyage of Sinbad', which is a bit of a shame. They are for 'Mysterious Island', The 3 Worlds of Gulliver' and 'Earth vs. the Flying Saucers'.
Out of the three featurettes, I was most interested in watching the featurette for 'Earth vs. the Flying Saucers' since it seems to be the film on which 'Mars Attacks!' was, visually speaking, heavily inspired by.
The one that actually proved to be the most interesting though, was the featurette for 'Mysterious Island', which seemed to contain quite a lot of information.
This DVD also contains various spoken and subtitled languages. Overall, I'd say this is a fairly plain disc, containing a very entertaining film. If you like your stop-motion monsters, then you can't go wrong with this.
If not, then the daddy of them all must surely be 'Jason and the Argonauts', though you would be cheating yourself if you didn't also get yourself a copy of 'The 7th Voyage of Sinbad'. Lastly, there is 'Sinbad and the Eye of the Tiger', which I am very much looking forwards to getting hold of. It was released at the same time as 'The Golden Voyage of Sinbad'.
To summarise; if you're a fan of Ray Harryhausen's work, or you are a collector of fantasy films in general, than this DVD will certainly fill a hole.
But, and it's a BIG but, if you're looking for fantasy that's truely on the next level, with special effects beyond anything possible in the Harryhausen era, then I command you to go forth and buy yourself the recently-released 2 disc DVD of Peter Jackson's god-like adaptation of the first part of J. R. R. Tolkien's genre-defining epic. I am of course talking about 'The Lord of the Rings - The Fellowship of the Ring'; a truely magnificent piece of fantasy-cinema that literally sweeps away anything in the genre that has ever gone before it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little delight from the time when Ray Harryhausen was all monsters daddy..., 10 Oct 2007
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Voyage of Sinbad [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
Here is a little, smart and funny fantasy movie, inspired by the classic Arabian tale of Sinbad the Sailor.

It has no other pretentions that to give you nice relax time with a story of a hero, a villain (and he is a real piece of art, this particular villain), some (really nasty) monsters, a (quite smart) riddle, a perilous journey, a secret island and a hot (really hot) chick in slave outfit. This is a movie you can watch alone or with your date and with your kids as well, providing there are seven years old or more.

Special effects by Ray Harryhausen are still working well and the monsters are more credible than not - after all it is not a hasard that in "Monsters, Inc" Pixar bowed to his talent by naming the most famous restaurant in monster's world "Harryhausen's". The bad guy (warlock prince Koura) is REALLY bad, Sinbad is quite likeable and the usual hot chick in slave outfit is VERY watchable.

The final sword fight is quite smart and unique - because one of the fighters progressively becomes invisible... quite a nice idea. And the way the final duel ends is quite a smart surprise, even for the most hardened fan of fantasy movies. You will also probably like the goddess Kali doing a short apparition as a showgirl... well, she couldn't help it, she was stoned. You will understand this joke better in the middle of the movie.

All in all, it is a little pleasure for a relaxing evening, with popcorn, beer - and if possible, a hot chick in slave outfit on your side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Harryhausen's second Sinbad spectacular., 18 Dec 2005
By 
J. Groom (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Golden Voyage of Sinbad [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
Its hard to believe that this film was made nearly 20 years after the 7th Voyage of Sinbad - it looks prety much exactly the same. I guess that technology just didn't advance so quickly back in those days without the aid of computers. The formula is bascially the same: Sinbad + evil magician + royalty in need of aid + beautiful women + stop motion monsters = adventure.
The main advances between the two sinbad films is in the script. Its a little more contemporary and genuinely humuorous in places, Sinbad himself is a little more Arabian flavoured than the clean cut Sinbad of 7th Voyage, and Tom Baker makes a great evil wizard whose dark arts visibly age him as the film progresses lending a slightly darker feel to the film.
The thing that lets the film down really is the monsters. Always the main focus of these films, if you don't have decent monsters then you lose a lot of the feel of danger and adventure. The animation is up to Harryhausens usual standards, but a couple of animated statues, a one-eyed centaur and a ragged looking griffon that lasts only a few minutes just don't make for good action. Certainly the six-armed sword wielding statue is masterfully animated and easily the high point of the film action wise, but there is nothing to match the Cyclops or the Dragon from 7th Voyage, in terms of a monster that has character and actually feels threatening and exciting.
Still its worth having for fans of the genre and a good one to watch now and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sinbad has never looked quite so good!, 14 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Golden Voyage of Sinbad [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
A fierce goddess with many arms, a one eyed horseman determined to steal the woman he loves and a ship full of delightful rogues, Sinbad has never looked quite so delicious! Baring his chest for all womankind, John Philip Law sets sail on the high seas to beat the evil magician in a race against good vs evil. The side-dish is a scrumpy little slave girl with a chest worthy of a wonder-bra add. The accents are workable and really you have to watch this film with a bottle of wine and a willingness to put up with a lot of playdo, but it was very entertaining and we had a good time watching this movie. Sinbad we love you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He who is patient obtains., 11 Feb 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Voyage of Sinbad [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
The Golden Voyage of Sinbad is directed by Gordon Hessler and stars John Phillip Law (Sinbad), Tom Baker, Caroline Munro, Douglas Wilmer, Takis Emmanuel & Martin Shaw. It includes a score by composer Miklós Rózsa and features stop-motion effects from Ray Harryhausen (this one in Dynarama). It's the second of three Sinbad films that Harryhausen made for Columbia, the others being The 7th Voyage of Sinbad (1958) and Sinbad and the Eye of the Tiger (1977). The plot sees legendary sailor Sinbad come into possession of a tablet dropped onto his ship by a mysterious flying creature. The tablet is one part of a map which greatly intrigues Sinbad so he wears it as an amulet. However, the tablet was bound for evil magician Koura (Baker) who now wants it back as it will lead to The Fountain Of Destiny. Can Sinbad, aided by the Grand Vizier Of Marabia (Wilmer), fend off Koura before he gets the rewards from the fountain to use for his evil ways?

A smooth adventure piece that's low on plotting but high on magical mystery fervour. More known for directing horror films, Hessler does an admirable job in not letting the thin story bog the movie down. Sometimes with Harryhausen led movies the stop-motion creations end up being the sole reason for watching the film. And while, as always, they are the best thing in this movie, they give the film an Arabian Nights feel to the piece, managing to charm and engage enough to round it out as a full film viewing experience. Yes the cast are sub-standard B listers, with John Law and Munro featuring, one thinks, for looks (cool beard and turban look) and bosom (whoosh!) respectively. While Tom Baker's pantomime villain act could never become tiring; such is the fun he and the audience are having with it. But this be a good old yarn that's spun well in conjunction with Harryhausen's effects. Here we are treated to a vengeful ships Figurehead, a Centaur, a winged Griffin, a tiny Gargoyle and best of the bunch-the goddess Kali, a six armed statue that is brought to life by Koura. The latter giving a moment to rival that of Talos' awakening in Jason & The Argonauts. Look out for Robert Shaw who features uncredited as the "Oracle Of All Knowledge". Rózsa adds the aural joy with mystical Arabian flavours, and Ted Moore's cinematography brings the gorgeous colours and costumes to life.

Good wholesome family entertainment. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Would always order through this channel, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Voyage of Sinbad [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
Film, delivery and being kept up to date great.

Would recommend this film to anyone who loves adventure, action films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I'm glad I stuck with it, 23 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Golden Voyage of Sinbad [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
Sinbad was made just a few years before I was born. A lot of my (slightly) older friends speak very highly of this adaptation and reminisce about it with much fondness. Throughout my childhood I managed to accidentally catch the odd few minutes here and there and, I have to say, I always liked what I saw.

This is the first time I have ever seen the whole film. In short, I was bored. The first half dragged and I found myself idly browsing my laptop for other things to amuse me. I was just on the verge of turning it off when it suddenly picked up.

Ultimately, I'm glad I stuck with it (and not just for Caroline Munro's outfit). The second half features much more action, better sets, many more monsters and even a bit of tension thrown in there.

It's a good romp. I'd give it a solid 3/5. But I'm guessing that if I'd watched it more when I was younger I'd probably regard it with a bit more nostalgia (like I do with the awful Star Crash *blushes*). You have to like a bit of cheesiness to sit through it, but, if you can appreciate the time and effort put into the sets and monsters, you might get something out of it.

Did I mention Caroline Munro's costume?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Golden Voyage of Sinbad, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Voyage of Sinbad [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
Sinbad’s love of shiny trinkets and curvy women land him in hot water once again.
There’s also an evil magician to contend with (Tom Baker).
Despite having a new actor in the role of Sinbad (John Phillip Law), a new director (Gordon Hessler), and a new composer (Miklós Rózsa) this 2nd adventure is unmistakably Sinbad-ish. The colourful Arabian imagery, the theatrics, the derring-do of the characters and the amazing stop-motion creatures of Ray Harryhausen mean it’s faithful to the previous film in every way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Voyage of Sinbad [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
By far the best monsters in this film belong to Caroline Munro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Voyage of Sinbad [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
like this film it maybe dated but well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Golden Voyage of Sinbad [DVD] [1974]
The Golden Voyage of Sinbad [DVD] [1974] by Gordon Hessler (DVD - 2005)
£8.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews