Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A truly spectacular movie, well worth its every minute
From the director of Mission: Impossible comes the thrilling, eye-popping science-fiction adventure Mission To Mars - starring Gary Sinise(Snake Eyes) and Tim Robbins.... The year is 2020, and the first manned mission to Mars, commanded by Luke Graham (Don Cheadle:Out of Sight), lands safely on the red planet. But the Martian landscape harbors a bizarre and shocking...
Published on 11 Dec 2000

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, but explores some interesting ideas
Brian DePalma's "Mission to Mars" usually inspires one of two polar opposite reactions from viewers: either it's outstanding, or it's unbearably awful. As is often the case, the truth lies somewhere in between. Although the plotline contains little truly original material and none of the acting performances come close to oscar material, the film has some minor strengths...
Published on 2 Jan 2011 by The Guardian


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, but explores some interesting ideas, 2 Jan 2011
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mission to Mars [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Brian DePalma's "Mission to Mars" usually inspires one of two polar opposite reactions from viewers: either it's outstanding, or it's unbearably awful. As is often the case, the truth lies somewhere in between. Although the plotline contains little truly original material and none of the acting performances come close to oscar material, the film has some minor strengths which make it worth seeing at least once.

M2M takes elements of the plotline from A C Clark and Stanley Kubrick's 1969 classic "2001: A Space Odyssey" and reworks them into a near-future first-mission-to-Mars setting. Many of the scenes are reminiscent of "2001" especially the zero-gravity shots and the long, slow destruction of the rescue ship, with the four crew then drifting high above Mars in space suits: an episode of genuine dramatic tension which pays homage to the long scene of astronaut Dave's attempts to outwit the computer HAL in "2001". The final scenes give cinematic voice to the widespread speculation that the enormous upward-facing rock "face" situated in the Cydonia Crater published on NASA's photographs might indeed be an artificially-created artefact and evidence of previous intelligent habitation of Mars.

One of the problems with this movie seems to be that it falls between different classes of sci-fi and doesn't really know if it's fish or fowl, so to speak. Its upbeat enlightened-aliens-from-ancient-times theme is reminiscent of the original 1950 "The Day the Earth Stood Still" (justifiably seen as a classic) and Spielberg's "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" - especially the ending. It's probably best to suspend disbelief and see the message of M2M as belonging to this strain of the genre. The discovering-remains-of-advanced-ancient-alien-civilization-on-distant-planet theme was pioneered as far back as Fred Wilcox's "Forbidden Planet" in 1956, has been revisited many times since and forms the cornerstone of the plot of M2M. The realization of this theme is unfortunately trite and unconvincing, with pretty doe-eyed androgynous CGI alien demonstrating that they were responsible for seeding life on Earth millions of years ago before departing for destination unknown elsewhere in the galaxy (why didn't they just move to Earth and settle there? - not answered).

On realization of scientific detail and on representation of Mars as we know it to be, the film scores a fairly high 8/10 due to advisory input from NASA. Realistic portrayal of space travel within the confines of current technology know-how: 7/10. Acting performances, 4/10 at most and character development, around 3/10. Dramatic tension, a respectable 5/10. Originality maybe 2/10 (the face-in-Cydonia speculation has featured as the central theme in no other movie but the rest of the plot is derivative). Overall, 5/10.

So in summary, not as bad as some claim and not great either. If you don't expect either the haunting mystique of "2001", the schlock-shock of Ridley Scott's "Alien" series or the wondrous and positivist message of Spielberg's CE3 but accept M2M as a hybrid which works well in parts, you'll enjoy it for what it is: an OK movie which misses the mark of greatness by some margin, but can be good entertainment nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BE ADVISED!, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BE INFORMED
I purchased Mission to Mars because I love this film and it's not available on Blu-ray in the U.S. yet, so I purchased this French import. This is not the only import I have purchased, BUT it is the only one that will not allow me to turn off the French subtitles! YOUR CHOICES ARE: EITHER FRENCH ON THE AUDIO... OR ENGLISH WITH FRENCH SUBTITLES.... THAT'S IT. You get French no matter what you do! The Subtitles CAN NOT be turned off and are very distracting. I don't understand why Studio Canal did this. It's as if they think that the only people that will watch this film are the French. It's really a shame, Picture and Sound are gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A truly spectacular movie, well worth its every minute, 11 Dec 2000
By A Customer
From the director of Mission: Impossible comes the thrilling, eye-popping science-fiction adventure Mission To Mars - starring Gary Sinise(Snake Eyes) and Tim Robbins.... The year is 2020, and the first manned mission to Mars, commanded by Luke Graham (Don Cheadle:Out of Sight), lands safely on the red planet. But the Martian landscape harbors a bizarre and shocking secret that leads to a mysterious disaster so catastrophic, it decimates the crew. Haunted by a cryptic last message from Graham, NASA launches the Mars Recovery Mission to investigate and bring back survivors - if there are any. Confronted with nearly insurmountable dangers, but propelled by deep friendship, the team finally lands on Mars and makes a discovery so amazing, it takes your breath away. Mission To Mars is an action-packed rocket ride that will enthrall you with its stunning special effects and keep you on the edge of your seat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2001 Lite, 24 Nov 2009
This review is from: Mission to Mars [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Whenever I watch this film, I can't help but think that Brian De Palma decided he wanted to remake 2001:A Space Odyssey without all those pesky problems that caused audiences to have to think, because the whole movie reads like "2001" pitched for the teenage market. Instead of a monolith, we have a sculpture of a face. Instead of Jupiter, we go to Mars. Instead of the Blue Danube, Van Halen. Instead of Kubrick's impassive and emotionless astronauts, Gary Sinise, (who seems to be about to burst into tears all they way through the movie) and cohorts - who all seem to be regular American Space Jocks right out of "Destination Moon" and who say "Oh Gahhhhd" a lot, and instead of Bowman's journey to the infinite, we get a rather tedious, plodding and overly-sentimental explanation. The spacesuits even look like an update of 2001's design.

The movie tries hard, attempting to copy the detail of 2001, but failing dismally, because the devil's in the details. The complete spaceship is abandoned, despite having a self-contained lander on the front of it (Apollo 13, anyone?). Orbital mechanics are ignored, Astronauts coming to a stop when their fuel runs out, and the ship fires its engines to go into orbit in the wrong direction. The magnetic storm that supposedly fried all electronics at the base is conveniently forgotten. You can imagine Astronaut Storey Musgrave, who was an advisor for the film, repeatedly explaining this over and over again to the writers, whilst they sit there grinning like Father Dougal McGuire.

All in all, an entertaining little film which doesn't require any hard thinking, and which unfortunately submits to tedium in the last section.

Brian. Stop, Brian. My mind is going. I can feel it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent sci-fi with some interesting ideas, 21 Sep 2014
By 
M. Brookes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mission To Mars (DVD)
I only vaguely remember watching this when it was first released and I seem to remember it coming out around the sametime as a Val Kilmer film set on Mars and this being watchable where Val Kilmer's was a bit rubbish. Anyway I decided to give this another viewing and I'm pleased I did. This is a decent sci-fi story with some interesting ideas. The effects are a little dated, but do their job. It's a slow burner with most of the film covering the journey to Mars.

The realisation of the astronauts life in space was well done and it doesn't shy away from a little danger, although it's done in a more restrained way than say, Gravity. Things get going once they reach Mars. The cast are all known actors and do a decent job with their roles. A fun film and well worth a rewatch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Such a shame, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this film so was shocked to find it had embedded foreign subtitles you cannot turn off or move
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mars, 2 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. G. Kerr (st helens lancashire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission to Mars [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
OK I know this got panned by some critics when it was first released, and yes it is cripplingly slow at times but I just love the way it reaches it's climax. For me the reproduction of the solar system / desruction of Mars effects made the whole film. Yes some of the acting was a a bit hammy / schmalzy but over all I loved this dvd. Missed it several times on telly so finally bought it and no regrets. Play this on upscaler and watch on big screen tv - the effects are worth it!
GK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well I liked it..., 14 Feb 2006
This review is from: Mission to Mars [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I really don't know why this film has got quite such a slating - it seems to have touched a nerve with a few people. Anyway, I intend to give my own point of view without ranting on about it (too much). To clear up a few misconceptions, this film isn't trying to be true to life down to the finest detail, nor is it trying to be something like Alien - it is much more light hearted. I would describe this film as more of a family film (it's only a PG) although some people do get killed and there are a few hold-your-breath moments.
The plot: obviously this film is about a mission to Mars, or perhaps more accurately a rescue mission which is launched after all contact is lost with the first crew. There are complications along the way and there is one particular scene when the astronauts are floating around in space which is quite tense. It turns out that the first crew were killed by activities associated with this mysterious mountain which is sending out a type of pulse. The crew set out to dicover what it means...
Okay, so there are aspects of the film that are unrealistic but at the end of the day it is science fiction and more importantly IT IS A FILM! Seriously though, the ending is sort of sentimental and not all that expected considering what happens in the rest of the film and the only reason that it would offend you is if you are not expecting it. But now you have been warned.
If you want to watch something that is to do with space and historically accurate get Apollo 13, if you want to watch people get killed by aliens get Pitch Black (both awesome films)but if you want to watch a film you have never seen before whilst eating some popcorn and not having to pay too much attention, get Mission To Mars.
Ignore the other reviews, you can't go wrong - buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sucking in Review Stars Like a Black Hole, 30 Nov 2002
By 
Bruce Kendall "BEK" (Southern Pines, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mission to Mars [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I don't know if you get the television series Mystery Science Theater 3000 in the UK. It involves a guy marooned in space who has to suffer through watching god-awful movies with his two bot friends. I rented this DVD to watch with my son. We are both MST3000 fans and ended up watching this classic send-up of the Sci-fi genre in the same vein. Much funnier than AIRPLANE or AIRPLANE II. This film is a guaranteed howler. Who could forget the numerous parodic references to Kubrik, Spielberg, Lucas, etc.? Side-splitting line deliveries from Senise, Robbins, et. al. This movie makes SPACEBALLS look like a Greek tragedy. This movie cries out to be in the permanent collection of anyone who loves great satire. More bang for the buck by far than BATTLEFIELD EARTH. Just thinking about this movie makes it difficult to type, my sides are shaking so violently. A true classic, in every sense. Come to think of it, the crew of MST couldn't possibly top the lines as they are delivered. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Just one thing more, on a more serious note. The jerk who keeps writing rave reviews for this movie and not leaving any traceable identity, please knock it off. It's clear to see that you are just voting under different identities for this piece of trash movie, just as you did on the US site. Your methods are transparent and juvenile in the extreme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning picture & sound on French Bluray (import), 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome Picture & Sound. Even though its a french only release & region b locked all you need to do is watch this on any PC/Laptop. Then you can easily disable the forced french subtitles as most PC Bluray software players allow this.

Still a great sci-fi b movie which holds up well today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mission to Mars [DVD] [2000]
Mission to Mars [DVD] [2000] by Brian De Palma (DVD - 2001)
£2.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews