Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever, sexy, smart and action packed. Horror at its best!
This boxed set is a definite must buy! The inside art work alone is impressive. All three films are fantastic, and they all have their own special, edge of your seat moments that wont be forgotten in a hurry. The films are extremely smart and scary and all manage to bend round each other so the killers all have something to do with each other.
Scream - An urbanised,...
Published on 10 Mar 2001 by emotional_boy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
OK if you like horror films
Published 2 months ago by G. Ashall


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever, sexy, smart and action packed. Horror at its best!, 10 Mar 2001
This review is from: Scream Trilogy Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This boxed set is a definite must buy! The inside art work alone is impressive. All three films are fantastic, and they all have their own special, edge of your seat moments that wont be forgotten in a hurry. The films are extremely smart and scary and all manage to bend round each other so the killers all have something to do with each other.
Scream - An urbanised, local town is the victim of gruesome murders all down to one (or two?) killer/s wearing a scary ghost mask and hood. This film is much more original than the others, and doesn't require the need for any car chases, or huge explosions like in the other two. This one is extremely clever and gory which basically started the francise off. The scene to look out for is the first scene, where Drew Barrymore falls victim to the killers terrifying pranks and haunting phonecalls. One not to watch alone!
Scream 2 - A much bigger scale. This tells the tale of Sidney coming to terms with two recent murders of a couple attending her college. Despite some excellent scenes (the opening, the killer car chase) You cant help but think that this is the usual killer chases young girl sort of film. This is more of a cash in on the original and has an extremely disappointing ending. It has its moments, but isnt as good as the original.
Scream 3 - This final installment is a breathe of fresh air. It is set in big Hollywood on the set of Stab 3. This movie concentrates much more on the comedy, but still manages to be scary and sexy. When u compare this to the original, its quite a shock to see how much the movie has changed. The actors have matured and it's scenes are dealt with on a much bigger scale.
Basically all three films are brilliant. They come in a excellent value for money package that has some amazing extras. This is also ... cheaper than in the shops, which makes it a compulsary buy. You'd be stupid not to get this action packed horror package!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only way to Scream, 14 Mar 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scream Trilogy Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
The Scream trilogy brought fresh new blood (in copious amounts) to the horror film genre. Mixing humor, pop culture, and horror, the original Scream laid the foundation for a series that carried a lot of energy through two sequels. Scream 2 was something of a step backwards from the first movie, but Scream 3 marked a turn back in the right direction. Fortunately, Wes Craven knew when to stop, as Scream 3 evidenced some decline in the novelty of the concept, leaving us with three movies we can appreciate over and over again throughout the coming years. The only problem I have with Scream 3 is the fact that it looked and sounded like a movie, whereas the original had enough of a hold on reality to make the experience seem like something at least remotely plausible in the everyday world.
... Scream 3 is not great but it is a lot of fun. The absence of writer Kevin Williamson is noticeable in a script that tries too hard and ends up overreaching. The attempt to complete the circle and redefine our understanding of the first movie in particular is a little off the mark. Making us rethink what we thought we knew is one thing; suddenly dropping new facts and heretofore unknown elements into the mix poses a problem for me. I really don't understand why Maureen's supposed ghost is called upon here, nor do I find complete satisfaction with the drawn-out explanation of everything in the end. Much of the action in this final chapter centers on the set of Stab 3, the third movie based upon Gayle Weathers' account of the original Woodsboro murders haunting Sidney Prescott. I do like the concept of the horror movie within the horror movie, and having a Stab 3 actor play each of our Scream characters is a lot of fun and provides for some of the film's funnier moments. Recreating Woodsboro for Stab 3 is a nice touch that works effectively here, and I was very happy to see Randy return (albeit in a noncorporeal form) to lay down the rules of horror trilogies. Staying true to form, the opening scene is impressive and memorable. Neve Campbell is always fantastic as Sidney Prescott, and by this time even Dewey (David Arquette) has evolved into a likeable character. Courtney Cox frankly looks awful in most of these scenes, although her performance is quite good (but I must admit missing the much more forceful edge she maintained in the first two movies).
The extras included on the Scream 3 DVD are impressive. Along with a full-length commentary by Wes Craven and the crew, you get a look at an alternative ending and several deleted scenes with commentary, two trailers, cast and crew biographies, some funny outtakes, and a short little behind the scenes look at all three of the Scream movies. Add this to all the special features included on the first two Scream movies, and you have a bevy of Scream resources right at your fingertips. When you buy The Ultimate Scream Collection on DVD, you get even more extra features sure to delight the Scream enthusiast: a "Behind the Scream" documentary featuring insightful interviews with cast and crew (I was especially interested in the concerns of Wes Craven and the crew over the MPAA and the lengths they had to go to in order to make sure they secured an R rating rather than something more restrictive), outtakes from all three movies, screen tests of Neve Campbell, Jamie Kennedy, and Skeet Ulrich, and a small but really nice booklet. If that's not enough for you, the bonus DVD includes a Scream trivia game (which fails to work on my PC), an interesting chart showing the linkages of all the significant characters from all three films, and a detailed screenplay with shot list to provide some extra insight into the making of the films. If you learn any more about Scream than you do from this box set, Wes Craven will have to kill you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 and 2 are awesome.. 3 is a bit crappy though ., 30 Oct 2003
This review is from: Scream Trilogy Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
The scream trilogy revived horror in the 90's . It is basically a huge homage to others such as Friday 13th and Halloween .
Scream 1 is the brilliant and one of my fave horror movies . A killer is killing people in the small town of woodsboro . The killer seems to be after one girl in particular , Sidney Prescott . All leading to a thrilling climax in a party in a farmhouse . 5 stars .
Scream 2 - If your looking for a scare fest your not really gonna find this very good . However as a movie i think this is extremely entertaining and i like it better than the original . More deaths , more blood . Sadly it kills off my favourite character Randy . :( . It sees Sidney and the survivors from Scream in college but not safe from danger . I think that it's impossible to guess who the killer/s is . 5 stars .
Scream 3 - I really don't like this film much . The cameo from Randy is cool and the intro is kinda suspenseful . It just seems cheesey . I don't like the plot , setting or characters . Set on the st of Stab 3 , a movie based on the murders of previous films killings start . 2 stars .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1st and 3rd fantastic!!! 2nd okay, 5 Jan 2008
This review is from: Scream Trilogy Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I gave this boxset four overall as the first one is absolutly amazing, the third one is really good but not as good, and the second one is abit of a bore.
The first scene of Scream 1 made me feel so scared. I knew that I was in for a scary night. The acting is really good, and the suspense and violence is brilliant.
The second Scream starts off quite well, with two people being killed in the cinema during the film based on the killings called 'Stab.' Then, it got to be the same thing. People being rung up, tormented, killed, then everyone being a suspect. This is the worst one of the trilogy.
The third and final installment is quite good. I thought it would be crap as the second was. It was the same thing though, but the ending was very entertaining, even though some of the people were v. OTT when they were running.
Overall, a good boxset. Don't bother missing the second one as you would need them all to understand the third one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value for money excellent features, 5 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Scream Trilogy Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fantastic box set a must for all horror fans. I was egally waiting for this box set and was not dissapointed, each DVD has an array of features and build up on each one. The first DVD SCREAM has 4 features and the best must be the behind the scenes documentary with Drew Barrymore. The second DVD SCREAM 2 had more features and the best ones were the outtakes, great to see some happy moments as the films are so intense. The third DVD SCREAM 3 has more fetures than the others and are really good, the best ones are again the outtakes but the alternative ending, best viewed with audio commentary.
This is a fantastic set and worth every penny, I do have some advice. If you have not seen any of the films them watch them first and don't play with the features as lots of the audio commantary will spoil the endings.
The only one bad thing with these films are, once you have seen them once and you know the endings it makes it less special. However when you watch them again you can look out for the clues and subtle hints. And with the audio commentary on the DVDS it gives you a better understanding from the director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 17 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Scream Trilogy Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Great set of films, really reinvented the horror genre. The first Scream is obviously more scary, there was not a lot to play up to, it was the first of its kind. Scream 2 was probably the poorest of the three, college students etc get killed, but who the murderers were was a big mystery, a real shock at the end and then all of the hints that were dropped come together. Even though it was the poorest, it was still fab!! Scream 3 is probably my favourite, the revelation at the end is hilarious! It's more modern, everyone has grown up (well, the one surviving Sidney!) and it's more of a mystery as to who is the murderer that in the other two!If you're looking for humour as well as a teen slasher flick, Scream 3 is what you go for! Definately worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie's, Great Cast..., 7 Nov 2001
By 
This review is from: Scream Trilogy Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
What can i say this quite simply IS the trilogy to own. The DVD extra's are great, from the extra deleted scenes, (Watch the different versions of Cotton Weary's demise, they are great fun!) and the famulous documentaries make for a good evening of t.v watching by themselves.
As for the films, i don't really think that there is anything i can say to do the first 2 justice accept WELL DONE!! to all involved in its production. Scream 3 is still a fabulous movie but for me the franchise had started to lose its edge. Still what can you do.
One day all DVD's will be done like this, but in the meantime, we'll all just have to settle for this, and T2-Ultimate edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best triologies, 5 Mar 2002
By 
Paul Christopher Thorley (Cemaes Bay, Anglesey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scream Trilogy Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I think enough has been said as to how amazing the films are and i think that this is one of the best trilogies there is(star wars being another).
But i do feel i was a bit fooled. I love dvds with the extra of commentry throughout the film and was excited by the prospect of seeing all 3 films with the commentry on. Even though it says on the box set that there is commentry for all 3 films it is only the 1st scream film that has a commentry throughout the film. The other two films only have comentry on the deleated scenes. Other then this dissapointing flaw in the dvd an excelent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Combines all the humour, scariness, gore and thrills into 1, 8 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Scream Trilogy Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Since the original 'Scream' in 1996, the genre of horror films has been turned around by the master Wes Craven. Right from the very first slaughter of Drew Barrymore in the first, the blood kept spilling into the year 2000 right up to the final film, 'Scream 3'. Scream 2 was an impressive sequel but did not hit the same chord of originality and humour as the first, yet just as pleasing and exciting to watch. 'Scream 3' was much hyped and for this reason was a slight disappointment but was still fun. Overall, the 'Screams' are all alike and fun and entertaining, scary, witty, gory. Although the first is the best by a long way, the others make out to be entertaining average horror/slasher films, the best since 'Nightmare on Elm Street.' Really, though, these films are the hits they are because the murderer is not really an ugly deformed man who wants vengeance on the kids who deformed him, which is cliched in so many 'could be better' horrors but it is the fact that the killer in THAT mask(!) is literally mad on blood and gore, and that is the reason he/she kills. This makes the killers entertaining but disturbing to the viewer. One of the main points is the 'whodunnit?' factor, which is kept brilliant by director Craven through all the films, as the murderer is generally a different person all the time, unlike cliched horror sequels in which the original horror is resurrected from the graveyard. Altogether, a giant thumbs-up to all involved in the production of these horror 'masterpieces.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 26 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Scream Trilogy Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This dvd has a brilliant review and i llives up to its review.Scream 1 starts us off on a journey of epic thrills i think that the best Scream is the first it kept you guessing but if thats what your after Scream 2 isnt the one for you i guessed who the killers were right from the start but Scream 3 was another Brilliant movie. The extras on the dvd's are blinding and i advise any scream fan to buy this title as soon as you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scream Trilogy Box Set [DVD]
Scream Trilogy Box Set [DVD] by Wes Craven (DVD - 2005)
£22.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews