Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Wishes from Michael Ball!, 11 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful collection of songs for the holidays. Michael Ball treats us with his beautiful renditions of classic Christmas songs, O Holy Night, Ave Maria and a poignant duet with Brian Kennedy on Silent Night. There are also non-traditional songs like From A Distance and less well-known songs like the catchy A Winter's Tale, Joni Mitchell's River and a well-harmonized duet with Elaine Paige on As Long As There's Christmas. A lovely surprise number is a new song co-written by the talented Mr. Ball called Light A Candle. Why don't you treat yourself or your friends to this wonderful album this coming Christmas?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael's Christmas album, 7 Nov 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christmas (Audio CD)
On this album, Michael has mainly avoided the obvious traditional carols but shows he is well capable of singing those by including Silent night (with Brian Kennedy), Have yourself a merry little Christmas, O holy night and Ave Maria. Several of the other songs may not strictly fit the Christmas theme but I've seen all of them on other Christmas albums - these are covers of River (Joni Mitchell), A winter's tale (David Essex), Happy new year (Abba), From a distance (Nanci Griffith) and Amazing grace. More conventional Christmas fare is offered via covers of When a child is born (a UK #1 hit in the seventies for Johnny Mathis) and the rocking Driving home for Christmas (Chris Rea).

All those covers are excellent but there are two great original songs - Light a candle (written by Michael) and As long as there's Christmas (a delightful duet with Elaine Paige, who recorded her own Christmas album in the eighties).

Michael's easy listening style of music should appeal to fans of Andy Williams, Perry Como, Johnny Mathis and Neil Diamond although his tenor voice is very different from any of their voices. If you enjoy any of their Christmas music, you will surely love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael's On The Ball Once Again, 24 Dec 2000
This review is from: Christmas (Audio CD)
I don't know how he does it... this guy just gets better and better! Michael's ability to sing in such a variety of music styles is amazing, and this album features a compilation of traditional Christmas songs including a couple of duets with Elaine Paige and Brian Kennedy. Michael has the voice of an angel and is sure to melt your heart with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GrandmaE, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas (Audio CD)
Lovely music for the present season my cousin and I have enjoyed listening to it makes a change from watching TV
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Michael, I love you!!!, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas (Audio CD)
That fabulous voice is second to none....LOVE your choice of Christmas songs...all of my favorites....would love to hear you in concert someday!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Ball Christmas CD, 22 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas (Audio CD)
For any fan of Michael Ball and of Christmas carols, I do recommend this cd. There are traditional and modern carols, all sounding just splendid with Michael Ball's amazing voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas cd, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas (Audio CD)
Micheal Ball Christmas CD as some very nice some song on this cd just nice for a quite christmas in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite Christmas of all time., 6 Jan 2012
By 
Richard Collard (Miami, FL , USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christmas (Audio CD)
Michael Ball's Christmas CD is one exquisite item. The selection of songs is quite apropriate some of them are classics and some of them can be played year round , From a distance is the best version of this song I ever heard. I highly recommand this cd for you collection, you will agree after one audtion that it is a MUST and The Holidays are better just because of the great talent of Michael Ball.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Christmas CD, 25 Jan 2010
This review is from: Christmas (Audio CD)
This is the music I always put on when I am decorating the Christmas tree.
I love the mix of songs - all rendered in that fabulous voice.
My favourite is 'O Holy Night'; my only complaint is that he doesn't sing all the verses, as then I could hear it for longer! Sublime and uplifting.
'As long as there's Christmas' with Elaine Paige is lovely as well - but then, it all is.
Brilliant as usual - a great CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 20 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas (Audio CD)
Love this CD - it gives you a real feeling of Christmas and I love the version of 'River' that is on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christmas
Christmas by Michael Ball (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews