Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars St Swithin's Hospital Swings.
Doctor in the House is directed by Ralph Thomas and collectively written by Nicholas Phipps, Richard Gordon (novel) and Ronald Wilikinson. It stars Dirk Bogarde, Kenneth More, Donald Sinden, Muriel Pavlow, Kay Kendall, James Robertson Justice and Donald Houston. Music is by Bruce Montgomery and cinematography by Ernest Steward.

Story follows the fortunes of...
Published on 17 Nov. 2012 by Spike Owen

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doctor in the House
This film is a classic comedy, based on the goings on in a 1950's medical school/hospital. It is an enjoyable family film which focuses on simon sparrow and his unique group of friends who all bond during their three eventful years at medical school.
Doctor in the house is suitable for all ages and is extremely funny, there is a different type of comedy for...
Published on 5 Aug. 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars St Swithin's Hospital Swings., 17 Nov. 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor In The House [DVD] (DVD)
Doctor in the House is directed by Ralph Thomas and collectively written by Nicholas Phipps, Richard Gordon (novel) and Ronald Wilikinson. It stars Dirk Bogarde, Kenneth More, Donald Sinden, Muriel Pavlow, Kay Kendall, James Robertson Justice and Donald Houston. Music is by Bruce Montgomery and cinematography by Ernest Steward.

Story follows the fortunes of Simon Sparrow (Bogarde), who starts as a medical student at St Swithins Hospital in London. Quickly hooking up with a couple of fun seeking students, Simon sets about trying to survive the 5 years of student life before passing the grade to become a doctor. Wine, women, song and adventure beckons; as does being expelled...

The most popular film of 54 at the British box office, Doctor in the House spawned 6 sequels and a TV series, whilst it also represented the point when Bogarde became a "name" actor. It looks a bit tame now of course, its affability hardly giving credence to the given observation that it's an important movie in the British comedy film pantheon. But its worth should not be under stated, nor should the flame of warm old time Brit comedy ever be extinguished as the sexually tinged comedy of today jettisons smiley simplicity in favour of overt crudeness.

Many behind the scenes of the production had family links to the team that would go on and produce the Carry On series of films that became a staple of British cinema, Doctor in the House represents the flip side of the Carry On medical adventures. Where boisterous sauce is replaced by awkward innocence and double entendres replaced by jovial japes; and of course there's a wealth of British talent across the cast list to enjoy as they deliver the well timed gags and scenarios. Lovely film really. 7.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still applicable to medical students today!, 16 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor In The House [DVD] (DVD)
I first watched this film many years ago, and unfortunately it has just ruined my ability not to laugh during ward rounds! Just looking at all of us following sheep-like after a consultant makes me think of Sir Lancelot Spratt 'you must pursue me, you must pursue me!' and it is then a struggle to keep a straight face... To try and make others understand my amusement I have sat them down and made them watch the film. They all agree that though some things are different, for the most part, medical school is much unchanged from how it was nearly 60 years ago!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More, and well...More, 20 April 2006
By 
M. P. Crowther "Writer-historian-student" (Aylesbury, Bucks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor In The House [DVD] (DVD)
One of the reasons I love this movie is the fact that my favourite actor Kenneth More is in it and I have liked the movie since I was young. But it is also one of the funniest movies that this country has produced and one of many great 1950 comedies alongside "Genevieve", "Carry on Sergeant" and others. Like some of these other films (More's "Geniveve" amongst them) it shows a Britain confined to celluoid. Perhaps a gentler Britain to the one we know today. Doctor in the House however is pure fun and with Donald Sinden and James Robertston Justice (delightful as ever) it is extra fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia writ large, 2 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor In The House [DVD] (DVD)
I can remember watching this film as a youngster thirty five odd years ago on a sunday afternoon. It is, as my title suggests, a blast from a bygone age.

It tells the tale of new medical student Simon Sparrow played by Dirk Bogarde at St Swithin's medical school where he comes into contact with three repeat failures ably played by Kenneth More, Donald Sinden and Donald Houston. It therefore follows the full five years of medical school and the trials and tribulations of exams each year. Muriel Pavlow plays the inevitable nurse love interest.

At almost 60 years old it will look to many quaint, outdated by modern standards, and pulls out many of the expected stereotypes - dashing doctors, pretty nurses, scary matrons, and belligerant consultants. But it is a gentle afternoon romp and worth watching if nothing more than for the comic excellence of Sir Lancelot Sprat as played by the inimitable James Robertson Justice. My ten year old found it fascinating and can't wait to watch it again. Probably not worth the full five stars, but if you are after a bit of nostalgia its hard to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Loves Doctor In The House, 7 Oct. 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor In The House [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this many years before going to Medical School. At the time I thought it very funny, but only later as a medical student myself, and then a doctor, did I realise just how it often represented real life situations I was to encounter. Having gone to Medical School in London, and spent some time at the real life location of the fictional St Swithin's, this film is especially relevant to me. That said I recommend it whether you are medical or not. I love this film, it is so funny and sweet. I often re-watch it when I am getting worn out with the realities of Medical life to rekindle the innocence that once sparked my vocation. It is ideal for those lazy Sunday afternoons. A perfect prescription for the blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gentle comedy, 18 Mar. 2006
By 
lynne (London England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor In The House [DVD] (DVD)
This movie, depicts everything we expect from the 1950's. Gentle humour, drama, flirtation etc. Nothing offensive, probably just the gentle life that most of us are unable to lead now.
So grab those biscuits and coffee, put your feet up and watch 'Doctor in the House'. As usual, Dirk is all we'd hope a decent English bloke to be, always ready to join in the fun, but knowing when to call it a day, handsome and attractive to women, though charming, he makes us remember the butterflies in our bellies on first dates. Some inevitable drama in a hospital situation,this actually adds to the charm of the film, because we all know 'it will be alright in the end'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars IN THE LINE OF..........., 4 Jun. 2013
By 
Ms. Sally C. Mitchell "RABBIT" (Swindon, WILTS, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor In The House [DVD] (DVD)
I LOVE THE DOCTOR BOOKS ALWAYS HAVE I HAVE ALL OF THEM, RICHARD GORDON IS A DARNED FAVORITE OF MINE, BUT THE FILMS ARE FUNNIER, SOMETIMES THEY DON'T STICK TO THE BOOKS AT ALL, THEY HAVE THE GIST OF THE STORY AND NOT MUCH ELSE BUT FOR ALL THAT, THE DVD IS HILARIOUS, IT'S A GOOD OLD BELLY LAUGH FILM WITH THE FAVORITE ACTORS, DIRK BOGARDE, JAMES ROBERTSON JUSTICE, DONALD HOUSTON AND KENNETH MORE, AND THE REST OF THE CREW, SEE AT YOUR OWN PERIL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Comedy at its Best, 12 Nov. 2014
By 
John "J.B." (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor In The House [DVD] (DVD)
Nice gentle comedy which can be watched by all. Has a great cast including Kenneth More and Dirk Bogarde. James Robertson Justice shines as surgeon Sir Lancelot Spratt. The immortal line for me is when Sir Lancelot, explaining about a forthcoming operation on a patient, asks trainee doctor Simon Sparrow (Dirk Bogarde) "What's the bleeding time?" and he replies "Twenty past four". Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars British Comedy Classic, 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor In The House [DVD] (DVD)
This is a Classic British Comedy based on the books of Dr Richard Gordon. The cast are stalwarts of film comedy of the 50's. Dirk Bogarde, Kenneth More, Muriel Pavlow and Donald Sinden to name but a few. The comedy is riotous and the Technicolor is luscious. I've seen it many times on tv but it was still worth adding to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Doctor in the House (1954) ... Dirk Bogarde ... Ralph Thomas (Director) (2011)", 10 Aug. 2011
By 
J. Lovins "Mr. Jim" (Missouri-USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor In The House [DVD] (DVD)
VCI Entertainment and The Rank Collection presents "DOCTOR IN THE HOUSE" (1954) (92 min/Color) -- Starring: Dirk Bogarde, Kenneth More, Muriel Pavlow, Donald Sinden, James Robertson Justice, Kay Kendall, Donald Houston, Suzanne Cloutier, Geoffrey Keen, George Coulouris, Shirley Eaton, Joan Hickson, Richard Wattis

Directed by: Ralph Thomas

VCI has restored and brought from their vaults another great film from the British Invasion.

Sir Lancelot Spratt was written with James Robertson Justice in mind, or so it would seem because it's a perfect fit. When he walks into a room, you start immediately to put a smile on your face - just stand by for anything that's about to happen.

The supporting players is a dream cast, J R J, Kenneth More (so underrated), Donald Houston, Kay Kendall, Muriel Pavlow and Muriel Pavlow. Some very over the top (which I love) --- "what's the bleeding time...ten past ten sir"

Doctor in the House is just what should be ordered!!!!

Growing up, watched all of the Doctor Series films, this just stands out from all the rest, the perfect example of British comedy in the 1950's.

Doctor In The House was so successful that it spawned not only six sequels, but also a television spin-off.

The dialogue is side splitting and the sight gags even better. Marvelous, fast-paced entertainment that holds up well to this day!

Won BAFTA Film Award for Best British Actor (Kenneth More)
Nominated BAFTA Film Award for Best British Film, Best British Screenplay (Nicholas Phipps) and Best Film from any Source

For product description and editorial review check this out on the Amazon site above my review

SPECIAL BONUS FEATURES:
1. Commentary with Muriel Pavlow and Donald Sinden
2. Photo Gallery

BIOS:
1. Ralph Thomas (Director)
Date of Birth: 10 August 1915 - Hull, Yorkshire, England, UK
Date of Death: 17 March 2001 - London, England, UK

2. Dirk Bogarde [aka: Derek Jules Gaspard Ulric Niven van den Bogaerde]
Date of Birth: 28 March 1921 - Hampstead, London, England, UK
Date of Death: 8 May 1999 - Chelsea, London, England, UK

3. James Robertson Justice [aka: James Norval Harald Justice]
Date of Birth: 15 June 1907 - Lewisham, London, England, UK
Date of Death: 2 July 1975 - Winchester, Hampshire, England, UK

4. Muriel Pavlow
Date of Birth: 27 June 1921 - Leigh, England, UK

5. Kenneth More [aka: Kenneth Gilbert More]
Date of Birth: 20 September 1914 - Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire, England, UK
Date of Death: 12 July 1982 - Fulham, London, England, UK

Mr. Jim's Ratings:
Quality of Picture & Sound: 4 Stars
Performance: 4 Stars
Story & Screenplay: 4 Stars
Overall: 4 Stars [Original Music, Cinematography & Film Editing]

Total Time: 92 min on DVD ~ VCI Entertainment #8665 ~ (August 2, 2011)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor in the House [VHS] [1954]
Doctor in the House [VHS] [1954] by Ralph Thomas (VHS Tape - 2000)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews