Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Rock album in recent memory
Basically put, this album is the best rock album I have heard in ages. The line up of this band though was always going to produce a classic like this. Josh Homme, the song writer and guitarist, Nick Oliveri, the insane hedonistic bass player with a penchant for playing naked. Coupled with Nark Lanegan from The Screaming Trees, this is a line up that cannot fail. Every...
Published on 5 Nov 2002 by ellb_18

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Like a bootleg
Very bad sound, almost like a bootleg. Still its an official version, just not a good one. Avoid at all costs.
Published 3 months ago by Rúnar Guđlaugsson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Rock album in recent memory, 5 Nov 2002
This review is from: Rated R (Audio CD)
Basically put, this album is the best rock album I have heard in ages. The line up of this band though was always going to produce a classic like this. Josh Homme, the song writer and guitarist, Nick Oliveri, the insane hedonistic bass player with a penchant for playing naked. Coupled with Nark Lanegan from The Screaming Trees, this is a line up that cannot fail. Every song on the album is a brilliant piece of stoner rock. From the opening blast of 'Feel Good Hit Of The Summer' to the brilliantly mellow 'Autopilot' through to the album's end track, the epic 'I Think I Lost My Headache' This album even contains my favourite Queens song ever, 'Monsters In The Parasol' This album is a must have for anyone who has even a passing interest in music. A brilliant piece of powerful, mellow, stoned, exciting music, quite simply, this album is genius and cannot be overlooked by anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album since Nirvana's ''nevermind'' legendary album, 8 Mar 2001
This review is from: Rated R (Audio CD)
Queens of the stonage are not unfimiliar to the alternative rock scene with other great albums under theyre belt such as ''Queens of the stone age'' album (self titled) with great songs such as ''if only'' and ''regular john''.Enough about the past anyway this new album has adapted to a more powerful rock sound and has is easily the best rock album of this year and is worthy of your hard earned dosh with such hits as ''lost art of keeping a secret'' and ''feel good hit of the summer''both featured videos on mtv.If your into Nirvana and your looking for the next best thing this band does more than fill the shoes of kurt cobain with josh's amazing ability to create a unique rock sound combining his unusual voice with power chords and blistering solo's.This is a masterpeice and any rock fan would be stupid not to buy this you will still be listening to the catchy melodies and lyrics in 10 years time also these are very good live and are worth seeing as long they dont get busted for playing nude again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ahh... fresh air... deliver me from nu-metal, 23 Oct 2000
By 
This review is from: Rated R (Audio CD)
i'd just about given up on hearing a new(ish) band that sounded completely themselves and then i heard this. it's one of those albums that you couldn't imagine any other band releasing. there's a fair few style changes on the album but they all make perfect sense. there's a lot of guest helping out (particularly ex-members of the screaming trees) and qotsa still manage to keep the thing under total control. 'feel good hit...' kicks it all off and just as soon as that's done burrowing into your brain along comes 'the lost art...'to take up a few more of your cells... by the end of this album your head will have been plugged with so many favourite bits that you'll just have to play the whole thing over again. mark lanegan's guest vocals are amazing... the psych out of 'better living thru chemistry' will tap straight into your brain stem. ther are so many good songs on this album i could kiss the but of each individually but don't take my word for it... find out yourself. artistically the album is a perfect example of knowing when to hold back. they leave out things that lesser bands would have felt compelled to include but it makes the songs better. they play music like a stoned hemingway would have written. it's not quite rock and it's not quite metal but this album should have both camps drooling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very original and a classic...., 3 Aug 2000
This review is from: Rated R (Audio CD)
This is the best CD I have heard since In Utero by Nirvana. The first song 'Feel Good..' could have been written by a 6 year old, but it blows you away. 'Lost Art Of Keeping A Secret' is a slow, mellow song, but is bound to be a classic QOTSA anthem. This album should be the album of the year 2000, if not the album of the decade. This ranks up there with Nevermind. Other great songs are Tension Head, Quick And To The Pointless, Monsters In The Parasol, in fact, every song is a classic. In fact, the only downpoint is the four minute horn solo right at the end, but the rest of the album is full of so much class, you'll probably like it anyway. I just hope one of these songs gets to No.1 in the UK Charts. Now that IS a challenge for a rock band. BUY THIS ALBUM.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars QOTSA Review, 10 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Rated R (Audio CD)
Rated R is probably the best album of 2000 for me. This is a great album but I strongly advice anyone to buy the first self titled album first or aswell. It is a masterpiece not only of Queens of the Stone Age but of the whole of stoner rock. It is such an intense album with incredible melodies and harmony. I have owned this album for years and I listen to it all the time yet I could never get tired of it. It is an album that you can put on and listen to the whole thing without wanting to skip a single track. You won't want to miss a second of it.
Rated R is quite different from the first. Unlike many bands who seem to produce crap albums after there first few, QOTSA keep on producing good albums. No one song is like another and no one album is like another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock and Roll baby!, 15 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rated R (Audio CD)
What an album. I had heard very little of QOTSA before buying this album - it was a sort of impulse buy. It turned out to be the best thing i ever did. Full of Josh Hommes own brand of rock and roll, Robot Rock - hard rock stripped back to its bare essentials with a hypnotic, trance like rythem. What a diverse and mind-blowing album. Get anything to do with josh - kyuss, the dessert sessions, anything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Rock, but don't you DARE whine about Nu-metal., 6 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rated R (Audio CD)
'Rated R' is a great albulm, there's no denying it. It's just filled with catchy tunes that you'll be singing along to by the second time you hear it (although 'Feel Good Hit of the Summer' isn't actually that good). But just one thing, if I hear ANYONE whining on about this being 'such a welcolme break from all that shitty nu-metal' I'll come round to their house with every album released over the past three years and tell them to start at the beginning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy major-label debut for stoner rock kings., 28 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Rated R (Audio CD)
c-c-c-c-c-cocaine! by the time you hear this, "the feelgood hit of the summer" will be well and truly camped out in your subconscious. A glorious start to a fantastic CD sees a shopping list of narcotics recited like a gregorian chant and it is quickly followed by an equally good tune - "the lost art of keeping a secret." this sounds so good right now it's hard to turn it off - even to go to the pub, but it keeps getting better. Tune after tune flows in with waves of rhythmic beauty just a sublime album. I think to appreciate it fully you have to be getting stoned as the last track descends into experimental horn solos and bizarre pieces of music, but this aside this has to be an essential purchase for the year. If you are stuck between this and "Issues" for instance, there is no contest. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 6 Jun 2004
This review is from: Rated R (Audio CD)
After hearing the amazing Songs For the Deaf, I was instantly hooked on the Queens, so Rated R was a must-have purchase. When you first hear the first track, Feel Good Hit Of The Summer, You think "is that really it?" but by the end of another listen, you're addicted (not literally) and will go around humming the simple yet effective tune for ages. The next two tracks, The Lost Art... and Leg of Lamb are more melodic, and are probably two of the best songs on the album. My other particular favourite song is Monsters in the Parasol, Which has an awesome tune. The rest of the songs are good too, with classy riffage, super-fine drumming and awesome Bass Guitar. There is a dizzy instrumental at the end, which really finishes the album off in style.
The Bonus Disc is alright too, having Feel Good Hit...(again) and three other songs, which are catchy. Especially Never say Never.
Songs For The Deaf lovers will be a little disappointed with this outing, but only because Songs for the Deaf was such an outstanding Album.
An essential purchase for QOTSA fans and Rock Music fans in general, This album is a modern classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Of 2000 and Beyond!, 13 Jan 2003
This review is from: Rated R (Audio CD)
This is an album that will blow you away, if you've heard the new album your way ahead of yourself because although this isn't as heavy nor as fast as SFTD it is QOTSA at their finest. The self-titled album was huge but nothing in comparison to this. It gets straight down to business by blasting the two singles "Feel Good Hit Of The Summer" and "The Lost Art Of Keeping A Secret" leaving you thinking there can't possibly be much better than this but there's so much left.
"Leg Of Lamb" and "Auto Pilot" are powerful songs but mere tools to get you used to their psychedelic rock sound in preparation for the massive Bjork inspired "Better Living Through Chemistry" which will leave you wondering quite how much of the 'Nicotine, Valium, Vicodane, Marijuana, Ecstasy and Alcohol' you consumed to feel good this summer. After that head rush you need some calming down but now Josh Homme has got something else for you, the mind destroyingly addictive "Monsters In The Parasol" with Goss and Oliveri adding in some sinister backing vocals. 'I don't even know... what I'm doing here' admits Oliveri before a sudden rush of guitars and vocals leads into "Quick And To The Pointless". Guest star Mark Lanegan is given lead vocals on the darker "In The Fade" before another rush in "Tension Head" then it all starts to mellow out on the instrumental "Lightning Song" before the final big QOTSA outro "I Think I Lost My Headache" with a mass brass instrumental at the end which will either cause you to end the album prematurely or listen to an artist's attempts to create a musical depiction of a headache (One that still doesn't compare to Radiohead's "The National Anthem").
This album is one of highs and lows that will leave you either loving or loathing the entire album. Altogether the album is a mass hit and one of the greatest albums from 2002. One to add variety to a collection of Rock/Metal music and a great addition to those already fans of the members, QOTSA coming from Screaming Trees (Lanegan), Kyuss (Homme) and Dwarves (Oliveri). To make it all quite simple, if you don't own this album then do yourself a favour and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rated R
Rated R by Queens Of The Stone Age (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews