Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Rock album in recent memory
Basically put, this album is the best rock album I have heard in ages. The line up of this band though was always going to produce a classic like this. Josh Homme, the song writer and guitarist, Nick Oliveri, the insane hedonistic bass player with a penchant for playing naked. Coupled with Nark Lanegan from The Screaming Trees, this is a line up that cannot fail. Every...
Published on 5 Nov 2002 by ellb_18

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Like a bootleg
Very bad sound, almost like a bootleg. Still its an official version, just not a good one. Avoid at all costs.
Published 7 months ago by Rúnar Guðlaugsson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Rock album in recent memory, 5 Nov 2002
This review is from: Rated R (Audio CD)
Basically put, this album is the best rock album I have heard in ages. The line up of this band though was always going to produce a classic like this. Josh Homme, the song writer and guitarist, Nick Oliveri, the insane hedonistic bass player with a penchant for playing naked. Coupled with Nark Lanegan from The Screaming Trees, this is a line up that cannot fail. Every song on the album is a brilliant piece of stoner rock. From the opening blast of 'Feel Good Hit Of The Summer' to the brilliantly mellow 'Autopilot' through to the album's end track, the epic 'I Think I Lost My Headache' This album even contains my favourite Queens song ever, 'Monsters In The Parasol' This album is a must have for anyone who has even a passing interest in music. A brilliant piece of powerful, mellow, stoned, exciting music, quite simply, this album is genius and cannot be overlooked by anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ahh... fresh air... deliver me from nu-metal, 23 Oct 2000
By 
This review is from: Rated R (Audio CD)
i'd just about given up on hearing a new(ish) band that sounded completely themselves and then i heard this. it's one of those albums that you couldn't imagine any other band releasing. there's a fair few style changes on the album but they all make perfect sense. there's a lot of guest helping out (particularly ex-members of the screaming trees) and qotsa still manage to keep the thing under total control. 'feel good hit...' kicks it all off and just as soon as that's done burrowing into your brain along comes 'the lost art...'to take up a few more of your cells... by the end of this album your head will have been plugged with so many favourite bits that you'll just have to play the whole thing over again. mark lanegan's guest vocals are amazing... the psych out of 'better living thru chemistry' will tap straight into your brain stem. ther are so many good songs on this album i could kiss the but of each individually but don't take my word for it... find out yourself. artistically the album is a perfect example of knowing when to hold back. they leave out things that lesser bands would have felt compelled to include but it makes the songs better. they play music like a stoned hemingway would have written. it's not quite rock and it's not quite metal but this album should have both camps drooling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album since Nirvana's ''nevermind'' legendary album, 8 Mar 2001
This review is from: Rated R (Audio CD)
Queens of the stonage are not unfimiliar to the alternative rock scene with other great albums under theyre belt such as ''Queens of the stone age'' album (self titled) with great songs such as ''if only'' and ''regular john''.Enough about the past anyway this new album has adapted to a more powerful rock sound and has is easily the best rock album of this year and is worthy of your hard earned dosh with such hits as ''lost art of keeping a secret'' and ''feel good hit of the summer''both featured videos on mtv.If your into Nirvana and your looking for the next best thing this band does more than fill the shoes of kurt cobain with josh's amazing ability to create a unique rock sound combining his unusual voice with power chords and blistering solo's.This is a masterpeice and any rock fan would be stupid not to buy this you will still be listening to the catchy melodies and lyrics in 10 years time also these are very good live and are worth seeing as long they dont get busted for playing nude again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very original and a classic...., 3 Aug 2000
This review is from: Rated R (Audio CD)
This is the best CD I have heard since In Utero by Nirvana. The first song 'Feel Good..' could have been written by a 6 year old, but it blows you away. 'Lost Art Of Keeping A Secret' is a slow, mellow song, but is bound to be a classic QOTSA anthem. This album should be the album of the year 2000, if not the album of the decade. This ranks up there with Nevermind. Other great songs are Tension Head, Quick And To The Pointless, Monsters In The Parasol, in fact, every song is a classic. In fact, the only downpoint is the four minute horn solo right at the end, but the rest of the album is full of so much class, you'll probably like it anyway. I just hope one of these songs gets to No.1 in the UK Charts. Now that IS a challenge for a rock band. BUY THIS ALBUM.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars QOTSA Review, 10 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Rated R (Audio CD)
Rated R is probably the best album of 2000 for me. This is a great album but I strongly advice anyone to buy the first self titled album first or aswell. It is a masterpiece not only of Queens of the Stone Age but of the whole of stoner rock. It is such an intense album with incredible melodies and harmony. I have owned this album for years and I listen to it all the time yet I could never get tired of it. It is an album that you can put on and listen to the whole thing without wanting to skip a single track. You won't want to miss a second of it.
Rated R is quite different from the first. Unlike many bands who seem to produce crap albums after there first few, QOTSA keep on producing good albums. No one song is like another and no one album is like another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars First great rock album of the 21st century, 24 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Rated R (Audio CD)
The album begins with the `drug anthem' - Feel Good Hit of Summer, which is basically a head-banging chant along list of drugs. Yet, it's good. However it's the less frantic songs which shine here: The Lost Art of Keeping a Secret displays a great sense of band dynamics. It's a fairly mid-tempo number with a heavier guitars in the chorus.

Even so called `lesser tracks' like Leg of Lamb still sound better than most heavy rock. Auto Pilot, the 4th track is one of the highlights. The song struts along with some great singing from mainman Josh Homme and a really tight band performance where not a note is wasted. It's probably one of the poppier numbers but it's a real classic.

The album picks up a bit after this with Better Living Through Chemistry which is a perfect vehicle for Homme to do his slightly sneery, slightly geeky rock god routine. The song lurches from tight, snappy verses and chorus to heavier guitar breaks. Monsters in the Parasol is an unremarkable song, and then there is a short Nick Oliveri song (ie screechy), Quick and to the Pointless which the title perfectly describes.

In the Fade features vocal contributions from Mark Lanegan, in fine voice here as always on one of the jauntier numbers on the album. After a brief interlude (another chorus of Feel Good Hit of the Summer!) we get onto Tension Head. This is another Oliveri track but it's absolutely gripping. One of the heavier tracks on the album, it belts along at a rate of knots, while Oliveri screams his head off, culminating in the chorus where he roars "I'm feeling so sick, I'm feeling so f**king sick", and it's hard to get across in words how brilliant that sounds.

A two minute acoustic interlude, Lightning Song relieves this `tension' before the final song on the album proper, I Think I Lost My Headache. This is a slow, vaguely heavy track, which goes on for quite a while before descending into a horn-filled, repetitive ending.

There are 3 extra tracks on the UK version, the best of these is You're So Vague, a wonderful twist on Carly Simon's You're So Vain, which is catchy and delightfully heavy.

All in all, it's a great album, and one which declared Queens of the Stone Age as having well and truly arrived. From here they became one of the most consistent heavy band of the `00s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Album of all Time-End of Conversation, 14 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rated R (Audio CD)
Let me get this straight, this album is not just your regular album that you may play a few times a year an album which simply pies up your CD collection. This is truely a master piece, the only album ever which has achieved perfection. It is rock to the extreme. When you play it, it will totally overtake you and will never leace your CD player. It does not contain "a few bum songs" if you think that, you are missing the point of this album completely. It is perfect and really its not their second album. They have all released music for over a decade whether it be with KYUSS, Dwarves and various other bands of pure quality. The Queens manage to take on something new, something completely uncompramising, something which will make your spine tingle on every listen. If you have come looking for another Creed or Buckcherry you have come to the wrong place. This album does not simply churn out various influences and keep rock at stand still. It is the biggest and most extreme statement and each song has been finely tuned to perfection. Whether its soothing laid back stoner attitude of "Better living Through Chemestry" or the screaming wreckage of "Tension head" this album has achieved something very special and is an absolute must for any living breathing person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Rock, but don't you DARE whine about Nu-metal., 6 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rated R (Audio CD)
'Rated R' is a great albulm, there's no denying it. It's just filled with catchy tunes that you'll be singing along to by the second time you hear it (although 'Feel Good Hit of the Summer' isn't actually that good). But just one thing, if I hear ANYONE whining on about this being 'such a welcolme break from all that shitty nu-metal' I'll come round to their house with every album released over the past three years and tell them to start at the beginning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy major-label debut for stoner rock kings., 28 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Rated R (Audio CD)
c-c-c-c-c-cocaine! by the time you hear this, "the feelgood hit of the summer" will be well and truly camped out in your subconscious. A glorious start to a fantastic CD sees a shopping list of narcotics recited like a gregorian chant and it is quickly followed by an equally good tune - "the lost art of keeping a secret." this sounds so good right now it's hard to turn it off - even to go to the pub, but it keeps getting better. Tune after tune flows in with waves of rhythmic beauty just a sublime album. I think to appreciate it fully you have to be getting stoned as the last track descends into experimental horn solos and bizarre pieces of music, but this aside this has to be an essential purchase for the year. If you are stuck between this and "Issues" for instance, there is no contest. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock and Roll baby!, 15 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rated R (Audio CD)
What an album. I had heard very little of QOTSA before buying this album - it was a sort of impulse buy. It turned out to be the best thing i ever did. Full of Josh Hommes own brand of rock and roll, Robot Rock - hard rock stripped back to its bare essentials with a hypnotic, trance like rythem. What a diverse and mind-blowing album. Get anything to do with josh - kyuss, the dessert sessions, anything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rated R
Rated R by Queens Of The Stone Age (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews