Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars California Dream Boy
This game is nearly beautiful only problem is the grphics that some time mix up but and this is a big But !!! , you must buy it .
Published on 26 Dec 2000 by maxedo2001@hotmail.com

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars surfing h30
this game is not very exciting not very good graphics looks more like a psone game not much options within the game if you decide to get this game rent it first!!!
Published on 20 Jan 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars surfing h30, 20 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Surfing H30 (Video Game)
this game is not very exciting not very good graphics looks more like a psone game not much options within the game if you decide to get this game rent it first!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars California Dream Boy, 26 Dec 2000
This review is from: Surfing H30 (Video Game)
This game is nearly beautiful only problem is the grphics that some time mix up but and this is a big But !!! , you must buy it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do NOT Buy this Game, 19 Mar 2001
This review is from: Surfing H30 (Video Game)
To Put It bluntly this game is the worst i have ever played. Years i have played computer games and have not EVER found a game i could truly callBAD. The Controls are a pathetic system with many contradictions, the graphics are more familiar to N64 users (esspecially if they have recently been surfing on a few fast moving blocks of ice). As for gameplay DO NOT get me started, This Game knew less about computer playability than a dead duck last seen in ancient Egypt. Playing this game has broken a personal record of mine in that i completed it in Under a Minute with no longing to play it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter Rubbish, 16 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Surfing H30 (Video Game)
The worst game on the planet, don't even bother renting it - terrible graphics, slow, incomprehensible controls - an appalling waste of time at every level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AVOID THIS, 27 Jun 2001
By 
This review is from: Surfing H30 (Video Game)
This is total rubbish. Thankfully I didn't buy it but got it with my PS2 console. It is pure rubbish, the game play is dreadfull, the controls are horrible, graphics are horendous and it is just a waste of time. As an ex-surfer I thought this game would rule, but it lacks everything that a game should be. Avoid this at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FUN!, 14 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Surfing H30 (Video Game)
Surfin H30 is a great, fun surfing game that can be played by all ages. Once you have got used to the difficult controls, you will find yourself playing this game for hours on end. The graphics are very pleasing to the eye, soundtrack impressive and gameplay awsome! The longevity of the game is also good due to the varied courses and difficulty levels. A must for all surfers and non-surfers out there!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELENT STUFF, if you know Surf, you must buy this one!, 10 Sep 2001
By 
Luis Peres "Luis Peres" (Portugal - Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Surfing H30 (Video Game)
Im sick and tired of reading so many unffair bad reviews about this game! Despite all the bad reviews this game has been getting, i still think this is one of the most original and well conceived games i saw recentely. Ok, it's not perfect, and i agree with a few of the flaws of wich has been acused, particulary that bad camera stuff wich can be realy anoying sometimes, but i think SURFING H3O has so many good things and it's such an addictive game that i realy couldn't care less about that detail. Besides there are much worse (and sucessful) games out there with the same problem and they don't get attacked because of that.
Surfing H3O is definetely one of the best games i've played recentely, and i can see why this is not a game for everybody. The one person who thinks is going to start playing with the little characters on surfboards with the same ease he plays with a Tony Hawks Pro Skater game, is in for a (bad) surprise ! SURFING H3O is not another fast moving, cute arcade game pretending to be a radical experience. This is a SURF simulation game who tries and does a pretty good job in suceeding to recreate this almost impossible "sport" in a very realistic way. In fact it does an excelent job !
People complain on the bad, almost inexistent controls of the game, but if they took the time to realy learn them, they would discover this "weird" control system is the perfect solution to simulate the balance we have to have while riding a surfboard. There's no aceleration button here, no left or right turn, the same direction applyied to the control stick can do several diferent things depending on the position a player has on while ridding the wave, and learning to understand and get the feeling of this is what makes these controls so perfect. Master them and believe me you'll no longer will complain your surfer doesn't moves the way you would like him to move. Do you want him to accelerate and go somewhere ? Well my friend you just have to wait for the wave that's coming on to you and use it's strenght and power to move while you try to balance in your board applying al the manouvers wich are in the game. (and they are in the game!) You can't go right or left just by simply turning the stick on those directions, it won't work. You'll have to know how the wave behaves and know the right moment when it's power will enable you to go in that direction, just like in the real sea enviroment. Believe me people, this game is real !
It might not be perfect but it's very realistic. You want to move in the water ? Paddle. Want to change direction ? Wait for the right wave and use its characteristics. Oh and don't bother looking for a brake button because you won't find one.
People who complain about the playability of this game, never took the time to learn the controls properly or don't have any interest or knowledge in Surf. If they did, they would imediately recognize how good this game is in simulating SURF. To apreciate SURFING H3O you have to learn first how to move in this incredibly original game enviroment, then when you master that, you'll discover there's a second phase where you have plenty of tricks and manouvers to learn also. Just don't try to do them in the begining because you won't be able to do them, in fact you might not even find them ! There's much more to this game than it appears at first sight. This is not the empty game it might look at the begining. Don't be fooled.
My friends, this game has a brilliant and original control system that makes it differ from all the "similar" games out there. The controls work wonderfuly and give us all the thrills of Surf while playing this great little game. The controls work. They just don't work as you expect them to. The analog sticks are brilliantly used and realy create a great feeling of freedom while we are descending a giant wave at full speed under heavy rain. This is one ride of a game once you learn how to play it.
If there is one great thing about this game, is that once you master all its secrets, you'll still be playing this in years to come, because this is one of those kind of games that you'll come back to, just for the thrills it gives you. Trully an undiscovered classic here. For those who complain all the time about the lack of original games, this one is the one for you.
Ok, it's not the most brilliant Playstation 2 game graphicaly speaking, but the waves look great and they feel real. The sound is excelent (particulary in surround) and the game plays wonderfuly once you master it. And it has a fantastic soundtrack wich gets us right into the feeling. Excelent stuff.
My friends, if this game played any more real than this, we would be drowned ! If you love the sea, original games, games that realy depend on your skills as a player, games that you'll be coming back to many times and you love Surf, look no further, SURFING H3O is the game for you. BUY IT without fear. SURF'S definetely UP with this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Surfing H30
Surfing H30 by Rockstar (PlayStation2)
6.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews