Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best since Mario Kart, 15 Oct. 2003
By 
This review is from: Crash Team Racing - Platinum (PS) (Video Game)
As a die hard Nintendo fan, and Mario Kart lover I have to admit that this game is hard to beat. Its fun for all the familly highly addictive and fantastic value for money. There is the adventure mode which is like a racing platform game with different levels, then you have the racing mode where you pick up power ups and really tee your opponents (dad, brother husband) off by turning them into a wobbly jelly or dropping TNT on their heads. Worth buying even for PS2. You wont regret it I promise!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Racing Game? Hell Yeah!, 14 April 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crash Team Racing - Platinum (PS) (Video Game)
I recently Re-purchased this game and I haven't been off it since. Perhaps my favourite and probably the best ever game series in Crash Bandicoot have managed to create a simple, but brilliant Kart-style racing game. As well as the original 3 Crash Bandicoot games this is the best game on PSone. Even today, Gran Turismo with it's stunning graphics, Burnout with it's Carnage Arcade-Style gameplay and The vry similar but ultimately inferior Mario Karts cannot match the sheer fun-factor of this game. I am just in awe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars racing game, 15 Jan. 2011
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crash Team Racing - Platinum (PS) (Video Game)
CTR, or Crash Team Racing continues the saga of Crash Bandicoot in this fourth package. The game is different to the previous three releases in so much as it is all based on the basic principal of Racing. The previous Crash games had a variety of styled challenges within the game but this has just one style. Having said that it is up to the usual standard for a Crash game.
You can play as one player or play against your friends with split screen. There are twenty five tracks to get through as Crash and eight of his friends race go karts and cars. It is fast paced as you try to win the race and slow down your opponents with booby traps and rockets.
This time the idea is that there is another crazy scientist on the loose called Nitro Oxide. He wants to speed the world up. To beat him you have five challenge modes to choose from. There is adventure mode, go head to head mode, time trial mode, grand prix mode and Battle mode. You can win races and pick up power ups to help you. You can skid, slam brakes, slide, hit turbo pads and do wheelies.
The graphics are up to the usual standard of colourful and interesting environments.
The main character is likeable. He has a humorous side as well with his facial expressions when he is frustrated and what he gets up to when he is waiting for instruction.
Some games require dexterity and other games get the adrenalin rushing as Crash has to race at break neck speed. This is a wonderful game and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best race game I have ever played, 22 Jan. 2001
This review is from: Crash Team Racing - Platinum (PS) (Video Game)
This has to be the best race game I have ever played. This game has often been compared to Diddy Kong Racing on the N64. I have played Diddy Kong Racing several times, and it was fun, but Crash Team Racing blows it clean out of the water. Another game CTR has been compared to is Mario Kart 64, but I have never played that, so I cannot make a fair comparison.
This game has excellent graphics and reasonable sound, but what really got to me was the gameplay. It's fast, fluid and very addictive. I have to say that the tracks on this game are the best tracks I have ever raced on, they look nice and are exciting to race on.
The only criticism I have of this game is that it is rather easy to achieve the main objective (saving the world from Nitros Oxide), I managed it very quickly. Having said that, even having defeated the final boss I have only completed 40% of the whole game. I still have to get all the relics (awarded for getting round each track in record time), CTR tokens (awarded for winning each race and collecting the letters CTR during the race - which can be tricky) and Gems (awarded for winning extra races. Only then can I beat Nitros Oxide a second time and make him acknowledge that I the fastest racer in the universe.
This is a very easy game to get into, the controls are easy to learn and the 'tutorials' given by Aku-Aku (or Uka-Uka) give you helpful information.
The cartoony graphics and easy playability will make this game appeal to kids but this shouldn't put older players off. With a number of four player modes, this game could prove a great laugh after a few beers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In 2007!, 23 Oct. 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crash Team Racing - Platinum (PS) (Video Game)
It's almost a decade since this game came out and guess what, it's still one of the best multiplayer games around. Great handling, hilarious deathmatches and crazy race modes, makes this an absolute classic.

Superior to its Xbox sequel in a million ways, this game is still played by my mates at every party, to this very day, and that's value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Buy it now!, 7 May 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crash Team Racing - Platinum (PS) (Video Game)
This is an addictive excellent game.
With a range of different characters with different skills this is the ultimate in racing.
The 2 player option is fantastic. There's nothing better than having a smug opponent who is ahead of you and you get to blow them up with a rocket!
The levels are not that challenging and the bossess easy to beat. I beat Nitros Oxide within a couple of goes (the bigger they are the harder they fall!)
Trying to get all the CTR tokens and relics to get platinum awards is so hard. I managed to get about 90% of the game.
I played the vs game with my brother (who plays it all the time and has got 100%) after over a year of not playing and I still beat him!
I play Crash's sister - Girl Power! Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Mario Kart!!!, 2 Jan. 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crash Team Racing - Platinum (PS) (Video Game)
This is the best Kart Racing game ever. It is the first (and by far the best) crash racing game. Sure it's a complete copy of Mario Kart 64 but its WAY BETTER!!! Better in gameplay, graphics and fun. Also the tracks are far more exciting. Its also compared to diddy kong racing but theres no competition because this game is way better! Unlike its rival kart racing games of the time, CTR has dated extremely well, buy it, even for the ps3, trust me you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Still Struggle to Beat It!, 15 May 2008
By 
S. Smith "sitorimon" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crash Team Racing - Platinum (PS) (Video Game)
Not often 10 years on a game can still hold its own but CTR definitely stands the test of time. The controls are still fluid and stable, the graphics may suffer a little bit but everything is perfectly visible and workable so you can't complain and multi player mode is still fantastic. It's a bit like when everyone says how great Mario Kart is still, CTR is Sony's answer and I have to say I prefer it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best racing game OF ALL TIME, 21 Oct. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crash Team Racing - Platinum (PS) (Video Game)
Yes I played this game as a young boy and yes, that probably makes me a tiny bit biased. But if you play this game and don't enjoy it I will be amazed.

I've been a lifelong gamer, played everything from guild wars, to COD to Forza to Football Manager. And this is still my favourite game. It's timeless, the graphics are awesome, it's faster slicker and more fun than Mario kart ever has been and ever will ever be. The tracks are a mixture of good and bad, but the good (from polar pass to hot air skyway) are classics and the bad (coco park) still contain enough weapons and other madness to be enjoyable. The characters will be familiar to pretty much anyone who was alive in the 90s, and the game is still surprisingly tough on hard mode. What's more, the multiplayer on this game is truly excellent. In fact i'd say it's the best multiplayer ever. Frankly, finding yourself scraping ahead of both your best mate AND that bloody CPU polar bear by 1 point in the last round of a tournament is a joy that must be experienced to understood.

you probably think I'm a little bit crazy. After all, this is 2011, gaming has moved on. But I disagree, I put it to you that games were better when we were kids. They got you jumping for joy, they were ruthless, and they were a real social event. Shouting profanities down your Xbox live mic is one thing, but it's no replacement for putting your sister in a headlock for having the tenacity to beat you on your favourite track. Or watching your best mate storm out the rooming screaming "it's not fair, the penguin is a cheat character, I hate you!" Anyway, I'm getting carried away. All you need to know is this game is ungodly amazing and you should buy it. Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The crash team racing brothers, 8 Dec. 2001
By 
This review is from: Crash Team Racing - Platinum (PS) (Video Game)
I think grown-ups which can drive already have a disadvantage, because they're too used to driving properly. I think adventure mode is the best, because it's the hardest. And I like the way that it rates how fast and how good the drivers are at the beginning of adventure mode. Scrapbook and the little video are quite funny. (Joseph, 7
I think it's a good game all around, because you've got driving, racing, fighting and shooting. (Thomas, 6)
It's very hard to stop your children playing this game constantly. (Joseph and Thomas's mum)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crash Team Racing - Platinum (PS)
Crash Team Racing - Platinum (PS) by Sony Computer Entertainment (PlayStation)
£77.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews