Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angela Hewitt at her finest
If you are newer to Bach's abundent solo keyboard music - or Angela Hewitt - then this CD is an excellent place to start. It features the popular "French Overture" and contains some of the more lyrical and "accessible" music Bach wrote for the keyboard. There is a delightful mix of Bach compositions here capturing the 16th/17th century musical styles from Italy,...
Published on 6 Feb 2006 by Alan Lekan

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Much Ado About Nothing!
So disappointed was I with the shallow and soulless monotony of this performance that I gave the CD away. I fail to understand how Ms Hewitt has attracted so much praise. I then tried Glenn Gould and ended up buying every Bach recording he made.
Published on 24 Jun 2008 by Thamesis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angela Hewitt at her finest, 6 Feb 2006
By 
Alan Lekan (Boulder, CO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bach: Italian Concerto & French Overture (Audio CD)
If you are newer to Bach's abundent solo keyboard music - or Angela Hewitt - then this CD is an excellent place to start. It features the popular "French Overture" and contains some of the more lyrical and "accessible" music Bach wrote for the keyboard. There is a delightful mix of Bach compositions here capturing the 16th/17th century musical styles from Italy, France, Germany and Spain. Bach shows himself to be a true "non-politico" - as well as the master composer of the era - by skillfully combining the musical styles from these countries (namely France and Italy) to produce works of great musical style and appeal.
In the opening Italian piece, Hewitt does great justice to Bach's tribute to the Italian concerto style with a convincing "dialog" between lighter solo episodes (tutti) and the fuller passages imitating orchestral effect (ritornello) - all on one keyboar of course. This piece is most famous for the adagio which Hewitt infuses with much heart and soul by her delicate, thoughtful melodic lines that never approach over sentimentality. The main event of this CD must certainly be the monumental "French Overture" (aka: Partita in B minor) - a grand conception lasting some 30 minutes repleat with numerous movements of French courtly dance influence and rich in imaginative and decorative keyboard effects. Miss Hewitt wonderfully articulates these effervescent rhythms with supreme confidence and masterful result. Her ornamentations are always tasteful, seamlessly integrated and truly enthralling to hear. In the off-beat rhythms of the gigue, her semiquavers bounce off the page with great poise and the crispness of fresh-pressed linen. And she shows her masterful pianism to its fullest in the curious final "echo" movement, bringing an brilliant, orchestral quality to it.
Hiding in the shadows of these two main events are four charming little "duets." These are no mere "fillers" but delightfully catchy, two-part inventions that Hewitt plays to full effect. Rounding out the program is a most unique "program music" piece by Bach thought written around the story of his older brother's departure ("Capriccio on departure of his brother"). In it, Angela Hewitt communicates both its nostalgic sentiments with her gentle, poinant phrasing and dynamics along with the piece's festive celebratory ending with her effective creation of trumpet and horn effects. A wonderful range of emotive effects in one piece.
Her carefree yet tight-on-the-rails style truly seems to bring out the best of Bach's keyboard treasures - transforming them into music of great vitality and charm. Her approach to Bach is one of artistry, nuance and good taste (not unlike Schiff) but without the "directness" or the "rough edges" that can be found in other performer's approaches (Gould and Gulda, respectfully). The many great Bach performers through the last decades have given us many "pallates of color" to experience, and Hewitt's colors are most notably beauty of tone, a poetic flavor, and graceful fluidity of line at its heart.
Angela Hewitt has been heralded as "the premier Bach pianist of this generation" in part for her ability to convey the music of J.S. Bach with exuberance, clarity and authority. Just about any recording of Bach's keyboard music by Angela Hewitt is a safe bet for being among the top choices available, and this CD is certainly no exception. It received the highest marks from both Gramaphone and Penguin Guides while ClassicsToday gave it a perfect 10/10 for Artisty/Sound Quality. In all her Bach recordings from Hyperion, the sound quality of this recording is among the fullest and most realistically recorded (where some other recordings like her Couperin, WTC or French Suites are done with a touch more "spaciousness" but still with clarity). Also a highlight are the scholarly and detailed notes delineating the nuances of the various "dance" types that Bach encorporated into his compositions. In all, an emmensely satisfying recording from a top Bach pianist of our time. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keyboard Bach in a vibrantly fresh way - music that dances!, 4 April 2001
This review is from: Bach: Italian Concerto & French Overture (Audio CD)
I have loved Bach's keyboard music for all my conscious life, and it is not often that I am stopped in my (CD) tracks by a new rendition. However, Angela Hewitt has captivated me with her precise but lilting offering. The 'Italian Concerto' is always a thrill, but this is the best recorded performance I have ever heard. It is almost impossible not to get up and dance around the room. The 'Capriccio on the Departure of his Beloved Brother' is so moving, and is a rare example of programme music from Bach. The other tracks are equally faultless and inspiring - truly a 'must have' for the music lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bach to be heard and enjoyed, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Italian Concerto & French Overture (Audio CD)
Angela Hewitt plays with such a sense of joy in all that she plays - and never more so when she plays Bach. This is a very fine performance of the Italian Concerto which simply dances over the keys with accuracy and delight. It is a recording to return to often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Italian Concerto & French Overture (Audio CD)
It is the perfect way to escape from the pressures of 'ought to's of life, in the evening. Angela Hewitt's playing is all I ever aimed at, falling far short. Her hard work is my joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Now part of an excellent box set, 14 Aug 2014
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bach: Italian Concerto & French Overture (Audio CD)
You may like to know that this excellent disc is now part of a fantastic box set of all Angela Hewitt's solo Bach recordings which I recommend very warmly: Angela Hewitt plays Bach (Complete Solo Keyboard Recordings) .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joyful, 7 Nov 2006
This review is from: Bach: Italian Concerto & French Overture (Audio CD)
What a joy to hear Angela Hewitt in these pieces. A recording you can come back time and time again and always hear something new and refreshing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Much Ado About Nothing!, 24 Jun 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Italian Concerto & French Overture (Audio CD)
So disappointed was I with the shallow and soulless monotony of this performance that I gave the CD away. I fail to understand how Ms Hewitt has attracted so much praise. I then tried Glenn Gould and ended up buying every Bach recording he made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bach: Italian Concerto & French Overture
Bach: Italian Concerto & French Overture by Angela Hewitt (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews