Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poor Charley - tough decision ...
We've seen it before (WHEN HARRY MET SALLY, SLEEPLESS IN SEATTLE) and since (YOU HAVE MAIL), but Meg Ryan is indisputably The Right One for this cutesy-yet-not-too-slushy romantic comedy lark ... although the even lovelier Sandra Bullock (WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING) can do it, too ...!
Aviophobic bride-to-be Kate (Meg Ryan) is enthusiastically preparing for the lavish...
Published on 4 April 2003 by MarmiteMan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clasic film
I like both Meg Ryan and Kevin Kline and although it is an old film by now, it still gives me few chuckles. It's easy to work out the storyline, but a nice easy to watch film all the same.
Published on 29 Aug 2009 by PC1257


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poor Charley - tough decision ..., 4 April 2003
By 
MarmiteMan (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
We've seen it before (WHEN HARRY MET SALLY, SLEEPLESS IN SEATTLE) and since (YOU HAVE MAIL), but Meg Ryan is indisputably The Right One for this cutesy-yet-not-too-slushy romantic comedy lark ... although the even lovelier Sandra Bullock (WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING) can do it, too ...!
Aviophobic bride-to-be Kate (Meg Ryan) is enthusiastically preparing for the lavish wedding when her fiancé flies off to Paris on a medical conference ... only to 'phone-in a few days later with the startling announcement that Kate should cease wedding arrangements forthwith as ... he has fallen in love with a Frenchwoman. Disbelievingly, Kate faces her mortal fear of flying to get to Paris and shake him out of his infatuation. On the aeroplane she sits next to petty thief Luc Teyssier (Kevin Kline - Gérard Dépardieu declined the rôle). Exchanging stereotypical national dislikes, it is hate at first sight.
Or is it ...? Ryan is ever-cuddly and ever-so-slightly-ditzy, whilst Kline is perfectly-accented and stubbled, oozing a pretty darn convincing Gallic charm. Kate's rebuttals by the Georges Cinq's stoic Concièrge - she puts down 100 Francs as a bribe; he simply takes it - are a treat. And so is her animated air-fighting following the theft of her luggage - "Oh man ... ma stuff, man ..." Almost as a fil rouge, Kate's wanderings through the City of Light include constantly not seeing the Eiffel Tower ... until she is on a train leaving Paris.
Kate's earlier opinion of loser Luc turns via promiscuous rascal to grudging respect upon discovering that he is, in fact, a Man With A Plan, from a background in fine wine - that moment is quite poignant ... Hovering in the background is avuncular detective-sergeant Jean (Léon) Réno who is aware of Luc's family history as well as his current jewellery-smuggling, but who owes Luc a never-fully-explained life debt. It is he who actually rescues the mis-matched couple ...
Anybody who says "They don't make 'em like they used to ..." should swallow those ill-chosen words as the 1990s have produced endearing romantic comedies to counter the numerous over-the-top petroleum-jelly & mayhem Action Blockbusters. FRENCH KISS may be a trifle formulaic, but its superbly-nostalgic soundtrack - Charles Trenet's rendition of Verlaine's 'Blesse mon coeur' is wonderfully evocative of an autumn stroll in Paris - and the fine interaction between Ryan and Kline help make this one of the more memorable and heartwarming feel-good films of the decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This has to be in my top ten favourite films!, 15 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This is Meg Ryan at her best, playing a neurotic woman, jilted by her fiance - hence she sets out to Paris to get him back. I have to say though that Kevin Kline makes this film for me!! He is just brilliant and very convincing as frenchman Luc, who uses Kate (Ryan) as a unknowing carrier for his stolen goods from Canada to Paris. He pretends to help her when she becomes a victim of another thief, but along the way falls in love with her, at the same time as he makes her realise how uptight she has always been, thus emerges a new Kate. This is a lovely comical romance, and just watchable again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent romantic comedy, 10 Jan 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Kiss [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Excellent romantic comedy. Meg Ryan's fiancee (Tim Hutton) flies from Canada to Paris to a medical conference, meets and falls in love with another woman. Meg conquers her fear of flying and sets off in hot pursuit, to be helped but also deceived by small time con-man Kevin Kline. Arriving in Paris, Meg's belongings are stolen and she finds herself stateless and penniless. Kline offers to help her retrieve her love as the action moves to the Cote d'Azur, purused by the French police in the form of Jean Reno.
Beautiful locations, some very funny moments and pleasant characters. enjoy it. Kline does overact a bit, but don't let that spoil it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy viewing, romantic comedy, that has a bit of everything good in it, 2 May 2010
By 
J. S. Hardman "Consultant software developer ... (Near London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Kiss [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
French Kiss is an easy viewing, romantic comedy. With Meg Ryan, Kevin Kline and Jean Reno, it has brilliant casting. Throw in a backdrop of Paris and the French countryside, a cops and robbers type back-story, chase sequences, slapstick (not to mention Kevin Kline overacting brilliantly) etc, it really has a bit of everything.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lactose intolerant..., 17 Nov 2013
This review is from: French Kiss [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Kate and Charlie have a perfect life planned out before them. Buy a house, marriage, kids, the whole works. Kate's fear of flying keeps her in Canada while Charlie goes to Paris for a medical convention.

While there Charlie falls for Juliette. He calls off the wedding with Kate and she nervously boards a plane to get him back.

She ends up sitting next to French thief Luc. He hides a stolen necklace and smuggled grape vine in her bag to get it through customs. Her bag is stolen, the necklace apparently lost, and Kate and Luc head to Cannes, Luc to find the necklace and Kate get Charlie back.

Along the way, Kate and Luc begin having feelings for each other, because this is what happened in every Meg Ryan Movie in the nineties......

If it wasn't for Kline or Reno, this would have gotten a two all the way, and if it were made today, I'm sure it'd star Katherine Heigl and just be as bland.

Which is another way of saying that the film is as bland and as generic as romantic comedies can be, but with the added element of xenophobia.

Ryan has never been more annoying, from her shouting for no reason at all, to her silly John Lennon style sunglasses, every scene in which see is in is annihilated, and there are plenty to choose from because she produced the blasted thing.

It looks beautiful though, and as I've already said, I'll watch Kline read the phone book, but this really is the pits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clasic film, 29 Aug 2009
By 
PC1257 "DVD FAN" (Weston Super Mare) - See all my reviews
This review is from: French Kiss [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I like both Meg Ryan and Kevin Kline and although it is an old film by now, it still gives me few chuckles. It's easy to work out the storyline, but a nice easy to watch film all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another perfect romantic comedy featuring Meg Ryan., 13 July 2001
By A Customer
The comedy's plot is not the best ever, but both Kline and Ryan make it worth a look. It is one of those romantic comedies that most people love, warm and very funny.Cuddle up to someone with a mug of hot chocolate and WATCH IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent entertainment-comedy, romance and superb acting., 12 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This is a video I could watch time and time again. Meg Ryan and Kevin Klein act out their parts superbly. While at times I cried with laughter, there were times I cried through the sheer weight of the emotions that were bubbling away all through the film.Kevin Klein's ("Leuke") french accent is to die for and Meg Ryan (Kate) is so convincing as the two timed fiance trying to win her man back. Set against the wonderful Provence landscape, this film is well worth buying. It is good all round family entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet with a great Soundtrack, 30 Mar 2008
This review is from: French Kiss [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film. Like a good French meal, the flavours build up in subtle beguiling layers. Great setting of Paris and an irresistible combination of sexy, French, laid back hero and uptight, American heroine. This combo has been done before in Green Card, but the plot here is completely different and has a fresh feel to it. The friction between the characters unfolds beautifully into frisson and then passion thru the conduit of the accidental kiss. Having already heard the characters respective opinions on kissing, this is quite enchanting.

Initially, we come to know Kate's (Meg Ryan) story in a light comical fashion. We are then taken thru a train journey into Luc's (a very convincing Kevin Kline) story. This is a sensual delight. A feast first for the palate in the description of cheeses, then for the eyes in the stunning landscapes, for the nose in the exploration of wines and of course for the heart as everything is bought to a satisfying finish with an unexpected twist before the final flourish.

With all the wonderful comic touches along the way, and the great soundtrack I would recommend this DVD for a great night in, or in my case as I have already watched it many times, lots of great nights in. Worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone gets what he / she really wants., 23 Oct 2002
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
As in the movie "Boys' Night Out (1962) with Kim Novak" , Kate, Charlie, and Luc, only know what they are supposed to want in life. They pursue their wants until they find that they really want something different than they were supposed to want. That is a lot of wants.
Lots of action, one-liners and great music (French Kiss: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack. I notices that all the time Kate is in Paris that she just misses seeing the Eiffel Tower by a few seconds. She does find an Eiffel Tower souvenir that reminds her of Luc.
Everyone is perfect for the part. I would almost thing that Kevin Kline was French. Laurent Spielvogel plays the Concierge and has the attitude that Johnny Carson always says the French have. Even Jean Reno (birth (location) Casablanca, Morocco) seems exceedingly French.
This film is a quit amusing, thought provoking, and tales many unexpected turns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac7b75e8)

This product

French Kiss [DVD] [1995]
French Kiss [DVD] [1995] by Lawrence Kasdan (DVD - 2001)
£5.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews