Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best beat'em up saga around
Tekken Tag may not be part of the mainstream story, but the inclusion of all the previous characters makes it the best of the bunch. The graphical upgrade has also made the characters and backgrounds brilliant to look at. The vast amount of moves for each fighter will leave you searching for all stratergies as you decide which characters fit your style best. If you want a...
Published on 21 Sep 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
ok
Published 14 days ago by keith godwin


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best beat'em up saga around, 21 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tekken Tag Tournament [PS2] (Video Game)
Tekken Tag may not be part of the mainstream story, but the inclusion of all the previous characters makes it the best of the bunch. The graphical upgrade has also made the characters and backgrounds brilliant to look at. The vast amount of moves for each fighter will leave you searching for all stratergies as you decide which characters fit your style best. If you want a fighting game for the PS2, then this is by far the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tekken Tag Tournament Review, 29 Dec 2002
By 
Tekken Tag Tournament is the first Tekken game to come to the PlayStation 2.
This game has better graphics, and even more new characters to add to the existing ones which are on the previous games. From the name of the title, you can probably tell what the main part of this game is. When I heard about being able to do tag team action in Tekken, I went straight down to the shops and bought this, knowing that it would be a great game, and I was right.
When in Arcade mode, you select your 2 characters and play another 2 characters, which is usually the CPU. When you are fighting, your opponent waits out of the screen, and when you tag, the players swap around. The great feature of this though, is that while your character is not fighting, their health gets higher because they are resting outside, so if one of your characters is low on health, you can tag them out so there health can gradually get higher.
Also, double team moves are available and with this adding on to the supreme graphics, new game modes and new characters. The all new Tekken Bowl can be opened when you complete certain parts of the game and new characters can be opened when you finish Arcade mode.
In conclusion, I would recommended this to anyone who likes beat em up games and with great new combos, new characters, and game modes, this is definitely a good fighting game for the Playstation 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GuttenTag TekkenTag, 24 Jan 2002
This review is from: Tekken Tag Tournament [PS2] (Video Game)
A few years ago, I remember driving into town one lunch time, from work, to purchase a game called Tekken 3. I had seen Tekken when it first came out. Friends had Tekken 2, but T3 was knockout. Tekken Tag is now here and it makes T3 look like the original game.
The first thing you realise when you play is that the FMV sequences look like your watching film. There's no disappointment when you play the game either. The graphics are supurb throught the whole game. The polygons have all smoothed out, and the bear doesn't look like he was made of straw or biscuits, anymoe.
The characters move quicker, its more responsive, and the number of characters and moves has increased exponentially. This is a game worthy of a Tekken Master.
A whole new element has been added to the game with its Tag feature. Not only can you play the game, one on one as usual, but the main game consists of two characters per team, each tagging the other one on and off to revitalise or to save energy.
Throws have improved as now one character can do a throw whilst leaving the screen, as the other finishes it off, by jumping into the game and inflicting more damage.
The hidden game this time is Tekken bowling. I wont tell you how to get it, I dont wish to deprive you of any fun. This is a great fun game and unlike Tekken Ball this game requires a modicum of skill and practice. Its been well thought out and gives a sometimes well deserved rest from fighting.
My only complaints about the game, are that there is not enough hidden stuff. Once you have unlocked TBowl, and beat all the characters, you dont really get anything else. You do get a feature to take still shots of your games - if you have the speed to get it in time - and a jukebox for when you are playing TBowl - WOW?! There are rumours of a hidden Dr B, but to the best of my knowledge thats it. But with these points being the only bad ones I'd still rate this game 5/5.
Namco have hit bullseye this time. Be it you are getting your butt whipped, or giving your mate the hiding of his life, you'll be doing it in style. Good day, Tekken Tag, we're going to be spending a lot of time together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great graphics, 3 Oct 2002
By 
M. Simmonds (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm amazed to read reviews saying that Tekken Tag wasn't much better than Tekken 3. Graphically Tag is in a different league and it's much faster, since Tekken 3 is only a PS1 game. You can still play one on one if you want, but you can do some good tag combinations if you manage a throw and then tag your second character in. Extra moves per character also appear in this version plus a couple of new faces.
What I really like about Tekken Tag though is if you want to be really good, you can't just press the buttons randomly. There is defintely high skill involved and on the harder levels, you can only be successful with good move variation.
No doubt this version will start being rubbished now that Tekken 4 is out, but that's easy in hindsight. Platinum price is good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still going strong!, 20 Feb 2002
If you don't already own this game you should buy it. At the new Platinum price the value is fantastic.
This game, though only graphically updating Tekken 3 and adding a few moves per character it has about 35-40 characters. Every fighter for every game is there and I've been playing it on a very regular basis from launch day and it's still going strong (especially with tekken 4 not coming out until christmas).
I'm sure you're thinking "but my mate said dead or alive is better and they're both the same price". It comes down to personal taste at the end of the day. This game is much better where it matters but ANYONE and I mean ANYONE can play DOA2 and it gets boring very fast. Tekken tag is better for the money in every way. (And there is the hidden bowling game!!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To put it simply...Superb., 1 Feb 2005
This review is from: Tekken Tag Tournament [PS2] (Video Game)
Ok, lets get one thing straight, this is not just a "slightly hyped up version of tekken 3" like my friend once said. This game is, to put itn simply...outstanding! When i first saw this game round my mates house on the ps2, i was shocked and amazed. Amazed at the graphical capabilities of the ps2. They are amazing and will not disappoint previous fans of the series. The sheer amount of moves which your character can pull off is astounding and the amount of characters like 'devil', 'unknown', and other classics such as 'p-jack', 'jack-2', 'gun-jack' and the ogres. The cut scenes are something special as well but i won't spoil it for anyone who is going to buy this game, all i will say is that you have to applaud Namco for a fantastic job well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tekken Tag Tournament...the best fighter ever ?, 29 Nov 2004
well...quite possibly yes it is the best fighter ever made, fun for someone new to the series to pick up and play, but also works on the other end of the spectrum, veterans will feel right at home. Tekken Tag Tournament (or TTT as I like to call it) will feel a lot more like T3 than T4 as it still had the 2D backgrounds, which if a little odd-looking at times do the job nicely, I don't really want to get bogged down in the graphics of the game as its not really important, but lets just say they do the job very well (very well indeed) gameplay is what counts here and TTT has it by the bucket-load, I got this game when I got my PS2 way back, and I am still playing it today which means it has great longevity.
I would absolutly recommend this to anyone with a PS2, infact i'd consider it an 'essential' title, some people may tell you T4 is the one to get but I really can't agree, plus T5 is on the way so you may want to wait for that, but seeing as this is pretty cheap on amazon's marketplace section this game is a steal, so go buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A game everybody Should get !, 13 Mar 2003
The game might have been 2 and a half year old when i got it it but it was an exellent game! (One thing you should never do is listen to others )It had a good extra feature called tekken bowl which is slightly tough to master on your first shot.The graphics are good and unknown is tough to beat ( even with two on one ) . There is a motion capture extra as well which you can take pictures of your moves. There is the usual theatre mode which you can watch the ending of each character ( Jun's is a bit sad ) . You can unlock characters from earlier on in the series ( Like Kuzuya and Jack-2 ). The next game Tekken 4 will be the best yet. Be sure to buy it if you are a fan of the tekkken series .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 10 April 2001
This review is from: Tekken Tag Tournament [PS2] (Video Game)
I'm not usually a fan of fighting games, but Tekken Tag is SUPERB!! I would advise anyone to buy this game if they want just the one fighting game in their collection. The graphics are fantastic, the controls are easy to master, the speed of the gameplay is quick and there are a number of different characters all with different characteristics. As you progress you unlock more characters that are available to you. Also once you've unlocked a few characters there is also a game called Tekken Bowl to unlock. A Ten-Pin bowling game which is certainly worth a mess around with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tekken on all-comers .., 13 Aug 2001
This review is from: Tekken Tag Tournament [PS2] (Video Game)
Tekken Tag Tournament is Tekken 3 plus the novel "Tag" option and is Namco's first attempt at a PS2 conversion of their massively popular "beat-em-up" Tekken series.
The game plot itself is your average run of the mill "whack everything in sight as fast as possible" fight simulator. What sets TTT apart is the astonishing graphics, depth of character moves, pounding sound track and tonnes of added extras!
Game play is aimed at the "real-deal game heads" that have astonishingly good hand-eye co-ordination and infinite patience when figuring out special moves. There isn't too much for anyone to work out in terms of moves which, initially I found a little disappointing. Experimenting in the Practice mode I soon discovered a whole host of combo-moves and throws that, whilst extolling unadulterated violence across your TV screen, offer serious amounts of pleasure as your opponents crash to ground accompanied by groans and wails! What I am saying? Yes, I was hooked! I normally prefer a more cerebral challenge and thus I realise I will never complete Time Challenge in under 5 minutes or win 25+ rounds on Survival but I must say I do thoroughly enjoy a couple of rounds with TTT to let off a bit of steam occasionally.
The usual suspects line up in TTT plus Unknown, a female that usurps other players' styles and acts primarily as an end-of game boss. The twist to TTT is the Tag element that allows the player to select two players (or more in Team Battles!) and alternate throughout the fights. As battle commences the sumptuously drawn background is alive with various on-lookers wandering around. Some on-lookers get quite excited, especially in the School Locale, and you can sometimes get a serious pummelling as your eyes absorb the excellent detail in every scene. The music booms out some cracking good tunes that if you are not careful you catch yourself humming at work the next day. You have been warned! I don't need to describe too much about the game play itself but be prepared for sore thumbs and massive sulking sessions in the kitchen after you get another mighty kicking from that great lug, Ogre or even worse the skinny chick, Michelle!?! Apologies female readers but you can have your revenge on this reviewer by whacking Jin or Law whom I normally play and thinking of this review. Having bought TTT you will play the game and then come back for more and keep coming back indefinitely, I promise.
You need ferocious hand-eye co-ordination to really progress in TTT although Arcade Mode always offers the chance to "Continue?" I must confess that I have on occasion been known to utter expletives and throw down the Joy Pad complaining bitterly that the CPU has "cheated" but normally return, shame-faced, when my girlfriend posts yet another "Fastest Time" in Time Attack Mode or "Greatest Survivors" in Survival Mode. These two modes offer gamers the opportunity to show the world just how sad they are by recording the best efforts! Having said this however; I am extremely jealous of people that go fast than 9 minutes in Time Attack and cannot believe anyone could do more than 12 wins in row on Survival! Other Modes include Arcade, 1 On 1 and Team Battles allowing up to 4 players with Multi-Tap converters.
Secrets are unlocked throughout the game and there is FMV by the CD full after completing Arcade with each character. Watch out for Forrest Law but be prepared to wince as FMV shows him warming up with his mate, Paul. Ouch! Tekken Bowl also becomes available which offers a reasonable diversion from knocking lumps out of each other. Characters that were moments earlier running across each other and stamping at heads are now teamed together to fire in the Strikes and Spares. Tables of character utilisation, clever clogs Survivors and big head Time Attackers compliment the usual tuning screens for adjusting anything from match duration and round counts to screen position. TTT is a brilliantly programmed and beautifully crafted game that is playable by all, from the "game-heads" that make real-life fighter pilots look like snails to the more ponderous of us with the "crash bang wallop" just waiting to get out from their subconscious.
Overall, although not radically different from Tekken 3, Tekken Tag Tournament offers gamers a truly intense "Beat 'Em Up" second to no other on the PlayStation 2. I personally cannot wait for Tekken 4 having been converted to this form of game in a big way although I am sure my Joy Pad may not agree as it goes crashing across the floor after the CPU "cheats" again ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tekken Tag Tournament [PS2]
Tekken Tag Tournament [PS2] by Sony (PlayStation2)
22.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews