Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Fun
The Three Caballeros is Not one of Disney's most well known films, but that does not mean it is a bad film. UNlike most Disney offerings it does not have a hero or villain and the story is not like a Tolkien epic but it is over an hour of fun with Donald DUck on his birthday with two of his South American friends José Carioca and Panchito.
The film is made...
Published on 20 Nov. 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Surreal Tour of the Lands to the South
At the risk of losing my Disnerd status, I have a confession to make - until this weekend I had not seen all of the official Disney animated movies. And that's even though I have owned The Three Caballeros for a decade. I finally fixed that this weekend. As I suspected, I wasn't missing much.

The Three Caballeros grew out of a trip that Walt Disney and...
Published 3 days ago by Mark Baker - Carstairs Considers


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Fun, 20 Nov. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Three Caballeros, the [DVD] (DVD)
The Three Caballeros is Not one of Disney's most well known films, but that does not mean it is a bad film. UNlike most Disney offerings it does not have a hero or villain and the story is not like a Tolkien epic but it is over an hour of fun with Donald DUck on his birthday with two of his South American friends José Carioca and Panchito.
The film is made up of four main sections including a story about Pablo a penguin who wanted to venture to warmer climates. The second section is about a Gauchito who finds a flying donkey. The last two main sections feature Donald Pabchito and José.
It is filled with dance and music, the animation (for its time is superb) and the scenes where the three characters dance with Aurora Miranda and the other South Americans are sensational.
There is barely a minute without something worth watching truly a Disney classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remember this as a child, 6 Mar. 2007
By 
P. Burns "film lover" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I couldnt believe that I found this! I have been describing this film to people for years and no-one believed me. I saw it in infant school every christmas and it formed a subconcious love of samba. Its a little like an acid trip in rio so god knows what other subconcious thoughts were planted. Watch it, its a trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney takes a psychedelic trip south of the border, 20 Dec. 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The second film to emerge from Walt Disney's goodwill/diplomatic tour of South America (ostensibly bringing a group of animators to look for inspiration on a goodwill tour as part of the Good Neighbor policy but also to gather intelligence to dissuade those neighbors from siding with the Nazis) is much more ambitious and more fully realised on every level than Saludos Amigos, its somewhat cobbled together and much shorter predecessor, though you might not suspect it at first. 1944's The Three Caballeros initially promises to be more of the same - a compilation of loosely connected shorts with linking animation and travelogue footage - before hitting some amazing psychedelic highs that rival Fantasia for unbridled animation and make you wonder if the whole Disney animation department was high on peyote. There's a stronger framework, with Donald Duck elevated to leading man in his own full-length feature receiving a parcel full of presents from south of the border. Initially this means watching a couple of stories - the story of Pablo, the penguin who can't stand the cold, and a boy and his flying burrito - on the home movie projector he finds inside, but rather than simply stringing more short films together, linking them with home movie travelogue footage and calling it a movie, this goes off in ever more visually and anarchic directions as Joe Carioca and, later, Panchito the charro rooster take Donald on a tour of South America, both animated and live action. From then on it's a real trip in every sense of the word, an almost stream-of-consciousness swirl of colors, music and movement that makes the elephants on parade dream scene from Dumbo look like documentary naturalism - at one point Donald even gets turned into the film's soundtrack.

The tone is almost constantly upbeat, with some romantic lulls such as a lyrical ode to Brasil that makes striking use of Disney's Multiplane camera to add visual perspective to a striking tone poem between the energetic and vividly choreographed musical numbers (the animated title number alone is one of Disney's most amazing individual sequences), which are surprisingly complicated and often remarkably imaginative as the three animated amigos dance their way in and around the live action Aurora Miranda. The unapologetically randy Donald even gets to chase the local beach babes in another sequence, making it the first time since Disney's silent Alice comedies that the animators had combined animation with live action at length (in the interim there had only been Mickey's brief handshake with Leopold Stokowski in Fantasia), and certainly the most ambitious. But more than the ambition and accomplishment of the animation, the film is also infectious fun: even the songs are good (it was Oscar nominated for Best Music Scoring of a Musical Picture along with Best Sound Recording). It may be more eye candy than substance, but it deserves classic status among the best animated features of Disney's golden age - as long as you don't go in expecting a story or for anything that makes much sense.

The transfer is good but not outstanding, though it does a good job of capturing the original `glorious Technicolor' look of the film despite some imperfections in the master material, with a couple of decent similarly-themed short cartoons, Don's Fountain of Youth and Pueblo Pluto, included as extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 20 Aug. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great animation covering the different cultural aspects of North and South America. Classic Disney!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Surreal Tour of the Lands to the South, 24 May 2015
By 
Mark Baker - Carstairs Considers (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
At the risk of losing my Disnerd status, I have a confession to make - until this weekend I had not seen all of the official Disney animated movies. And that's even though I have owned The Three Caballeros for a decade. I finally fixed that this weekend. As I suspected, I wasn't missing much.

The Three Caballeros grew out of a trip that Walt Disney and several of his animators took to South America as part of a goodwill program during World War II. It was the second animated feature to be influenced by their trip.

You want to know about the plot? There is none. Instead, we get a series of animated shorts and some cultural vignettes that are roughly tied together by Donald's (Clarence Nash) birthday. He's received three presents from his friends down south, and as he opens them, we get to enjoy them, too.

Up first is a film strip, which contains two shorts. There's "The Cold-Blooded Penguin," a story about a penguin who decides to leave Antarctica for warmer climes. As someone who gets cold at the drop of a hat I could sympathize with this one. Next comes "The Flying Guachito" about a donkey with wings and the boy who tries to tame it. Again, it's fun.

As Donald moves on to his next present, along comes Jose Carioca (Jose Oliveira), a Brazilian parrot. Through the magic of film, he literally takes Donald to see some traditional dances in Brazil. Then comes the final present and the third caballeros, Mexican rooster Panchito (Joaquin Garay). Via a flying serape, Panchito takes Donald and Jose to various parts of Mexico to see more traditional dances, the beaches of Acapulco, and even the tradition of Las Posadas in which the children search through the town for a house willing to welcome the weary travelers of Mary and Joseph. When they find one, they celebrate with a piñata.

While Disney counts this as an animated feature, there are plenty of live action scenes once Jose and Panchito arrive on the scene. We see film of real people doing the dances and the children walking through the village with lights. Donald and the other birds might interact some, but mostly it's a chance to see the culture at work.

Sadly, when Donald is interacting with the ladies, he is flirting shamelessly. In Brazil it's actually kind of cute as he is almost too shy to ask anyone to dance. But by Mexico he's turning into a wolf (okay, not literally, but close to it). When they hit Acapulco, there's a very uncomfortable scene where Donald is chasing the ladies on the beach (no men to be found anywhere). They are laughing as they run away, but it's not remotely funny and frankly in poor taste. I can't even see how it was in good taste in 1944 when the film was released.

Then there's the final bit where someone sings "You Belong to My Heart" as Donald again tries to catch her attention. The animation here was colorful, but it was also just bizarre, even for the studio that brought you some of the segments of Fantasia.

That's not to say it was all bad. The two shorts in the first present are quite fun. The dancing and singing is fun to watch. There are some interesting tidbits about the cultures of Brazil and Mexico. And some of Donald's antics are entertaining as always.

On the other hand, it can drag and the lack of a coherent plot really makes it more of a travel documentary than an entertainment film.

In many ways, I'm surprised that Disney still references this movie as much as they do. It's the basis of a boat ride in the Mexico pavilion in EPOCT and these three birds can now be seen in it's a small world. For that reason alone, I'm glad I watched it.

But would I recommend it? Yes, but with the understanding of what it is. This isn't an entertaining movie but a travelogue of sorts. But I think the biggest audience for The Three Caballeros will be other Disnerds like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 Caballeros, 28 Mar. 2009
By 
Mrs. J. Honey "alanssister" (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought for my Dad who saw the film in 1945. He was so pleased & watched it straight away. It looks new! Brilliant animation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney’s first film to combine live action and animation., 18 Jan. 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
When released in 1944 this film was hyped as the first time live action and animation had been mixed in the same scenes. There are times when it is apparent this was an emergent technique but it is very successful.
Around the loose story of birthday presents for Donald Duck’s we enjoy a riot of creative and glorious colour animation, dancing and singing with two new friends for Donald, Jose Carioca who was introduced in “Saludos Amigos” and his friend Panchita (a Mexican charro rooster). Also Pablo the penguin who travels from the South Pole to a tropical island in his bath is a little gem. And yes, Aurora Miranda is Carmen Miranda’s sister, doing a pretty good job of imitating her sibling.
I have always enjoyed this lesser known Disney film which has stood the test of time with its bright rhythmic music and superb animation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Classic, 24 Feb. 2013
By 
Thirlwell (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're a collector of the Disney Classics you'll love this, great family entertainment and laughter. Don't you just love the classsics?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oldie but goody, 18 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My niece is collecting all the numbered Disney films so this was on her list at Christmas and she loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Donald Duck's South American Goodwill Project, 16 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Three Caballeros, the [DVD] (DVD)
A follow up to the previously released 'Saludos Amigos', this was Disney's second attempt at goodwill relations with South America. The main problem with this film is that it is too episodic. The very thin continuity plot of Donald Duck's birthday soon becomes wearing and, too a degree, highly irrelevant to the set pieces. This is not say however, that the film is without merit. It provides (in places) a nice, if somewhat Disney-fied (and dated) insight into South American life and culture, and is at times, highly entertaining. Whilst not a classic in the same league as say 'Snow White' or 'Beauty & The Beast', it is still worthy of a viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Three Caballeros [VHS] [1946]
The Three Caballeros [VHS] [1946] by Norman Ferguson (VHS Tape - 2000)
Used & New from: £3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews