Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars46
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 November 2002
Although not one of the most well known of the Disney films this film is one of the classics and rightly so. It is not as long as a standard film, only 40 minutes but it is still as entertaining. The film is split into four main sections to tell four stories all about south America. The film was made in the early 1940's during the second world war as the war had cut off a lot of oversea markets and so this alonh with the feature "The Three Caballeros" was made to bring in some profit and to add to relations with South America.
The first segment sees Donald Duck exploring Lake Titticaca and trying to get to grip with native traditions. The second segment sees Goffy as El Gaucho Goofy a sort of south american cowboy and he has to get to grips with his horse. In the next section, we see a story about Pedro the mail plane who has to brave the mountains in order to get the mail through. The final sequence is the first appearance of José carioca, a character who would go on to star in many more films and cartoons including "The Three Caballeros. He teaches Donald about the music of Latin America. The DVD comes with another theatrical film released to theatres a 30 minute documentary of the film was made with footage from the research trip.
This film is known as a "Package Film" as it is made up from segments and was one of many released during the wartime as they were easier and cheaper to produce and they are often forgotten because they are"package films", but I have found that many of these films contain the best stories animation special effects and gags.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
This is Disney's 6th animated classic, although it's doesn't have the number 6 band on the spine, so if you need this look elsewhere.
It does come with 100 Disney reward points.
This is hardly a 'classic' more a live motion holiday planning documentary with a few unfunny cartoons included. Not really for kids and the quality is like VHS quality on an HD TV.
The price has hovered around the £4 mark for the last three years of it's release time.
You'll need this for your 50 DVD Disney set. There is a very interesting 30 minute bonus documentary of Walt Disney's team visit to South America.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2000
Saludos Amigos was inspired by the Disney studio's trip toSouth America in 1941.... The movie includes some live footage showing Disney and his staff doing sketches during the trip. There are four main parts in the movie - Lake Titicaca (an under-average Donald Duck short), Pedro (a nice story about a mail plane), El Gaucho Goofy (a quite funny short where Goofy learns how to be a gaucho) and Aquarela do Brazil (where a brush paints the backgrounds as Donald Duck and a parrot called Joe Carioca visit Rio de Janerio). Saludos Amigos' running time just over 40 minutes which makes it Disney's shortest "feature". The picture quality and the colours are very well restored, though a scene where Goofy smokes a cigar has been deleted, which might upset Disney collectors.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
With World War II raging around the world, Disney and some of his animators set out on a strange journey. They went down to South America as sort of good will ambassadors. Their trip also turned into two package films, the first was Saludos Amigos. Originally released in 1942, it also had the distinction of being released first in South America.

This is more of a travelogue with animated shorts instead of a true movie. It also clocks in at just under 42 minutes (despite my DVD packaging claiming it was about 75 minutes), so it’s very short. But if you are in the right mindset, it is fun.

The movie starts off with a brief description of the trip the animators took to reach South America, although once we get to Lake Titicaca in the mountains of Peru, we get our first short. This one finds Donald Duck filling in for the typical American tourist. As he learns a pit about the people who live in that region, he also gets in some pretty sticky situations. Naturally, he handles it with his usual grace and calm – you know quacking up a storm and making things worse with his temper.

As the animators travel over the Andes Mountains, they begin to envision the life of a small airplane who would have to fly over the mountains. The result is the second short, “Pedro.” We join the title character as he must brave his first flight over the mountains to get the mail when he dad is sick. Along the way, he faces a huge storm and a fearsome mountain. This is the weakest segment because the idea just never gels for me. I like the plane, but I just never fully got into the story.

Goofy takes center stage on the next leg of our trip as we learn the differences between an American cowboy and an Argentina gaucho. He brings his normal perfection to the job – he’s perfectly inept. The result is easily my favorite part of the movie and looks like one of the many “How to” shorts they did with him over the years. I especially love it when we see his attempts at “roping” an Argentine ostrich.

Finally, we land in Brazil. Donald returns and meets Brazillian parrot Jose Carioca as he tries to teach Donald how to Samba. We don’t get much of Donald’s temper, but we do get some funny shots of the poor guy showing how poor his timing is.

As I said, each short has live action around it showing the animators (and in one case Walt himself) looking at the local art and observing the people of the land. We also get to see some of them sketching.

Kids will naturally be drawn to the cartoons, and they will find them all entertaining. It’s not quite as educational as it would like to be, but it is a fun way to introduce different cultures from 70 years ago. It is very short, but I think that might be a strength. After all, I can only watch someone else’s vacation pictures and movies for so long.

What really saves this are the four animated shorts. True, the movie is lacking an overall structure and narrative other than travelogue, but those shorts are so much fun you might find yourself pulling out the disc to see certain parts again.

I suspect that most people would view this as a passing curiosity, but true Disney fans will delight in watching the movie. Either way, Saludos Amigos is entertaining if you sit down to watch it knowing it is a glorified travelogue.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
At little more than 40 minutes Saludos Amigos barely even qualifies as a feature film, although it was in many ways a pivotal development in the Walt Disney studio's output. Having taken a financial beating with the initial releases of Pinocchio, Dumbo and Fantasia and with the war closing off many foreign markets, Disney came up with the idea of compilation films, cost-effectively stringing animated shorts with a common theme that were originally intended to be released separately together with live action footage, enabling him to bring in proven box-office stars like Donald Duck and Goofy without the huge risk of full-length animated features.

Saludos was one of two films that came out of a trip the US government asked him to make to South America, ostensibly bringing a group of animators to look for inspiration on a goodwill tour as part of the Good Neighbor policy but also to gather intelligence to dissuade those neighbors from siding with the Nazis. In return, the government would underwrite the cost of the trip and give the ailing and strikebound studio federal loan guarantees so they could continue production. If the films were afterthoughts - and most look it - the format would stand him in good stead throughout the 40s and also act as a model for his later TV series Walt Disney's Wonderful World of Color.

Combining mute 16mm color footage of Walt and the animators on tour, reconstructions shot at the airport and four animated shorts, it's unapologetically a glorified travelogue, with Donald even turning up as a tourist at Lake Titicaca underlining the guided tour nature of the film. Along the way we get to meet Pedro, a baby mail plane on the intimidating Andes run and see Goofy trying his hand a being a Gaucho, linked by animated maps tracing the animators progress. Unfortunately the grand finale is a huge letdown: it starts out well but quickly runs out of steam and imagination and fizzles out with the introduction of Brazilian parrot and bon vivant Joe Carioca before more or less just coming to an abrupt stop. Still, that didn't stop the film managing to garner three Oscar nominations in 1942 - Best Music Scoring of a Musical Picture, Best Original Song and Best Sound Recording - and was successful enough for Disney to follow it up with the much more ambitious and entertaining The Three Caballeros. (More recently the making of the film was the subject of the documentary Walt and El Grupo, which Disney have released on DVD in the US in a special edition that also includes Saludos Amigos in an uncut version - the US DVD release has long eliminated footage of Goofy smoking while leaving Joe Carioca's cigar intact!)

If the running time seems a bit on the short side, the DVD is padded out with the 31-minute 1942 newsreel documentary of the trip, South of the Border with Disney. The picture quality isn't great, which is unsurprising considering the source material, but it does include brief elementary pencil sketch animation of the characters that would turn up in both Saludos Amigos and Three Caballeros in different story ideas.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 January 2015
We have just finished watching Saludos Amigos, and wow, what a beautiful little film. I say little as it's not very well known among the biggest Disney films, but don't let that put you off.

We really did enjoy it. It starts off with a little live action footage before slowly moving into animation around 5mins into the film. We then have a mix of live action & animation throughout the film. There is also a few bits that are so funny, with one being a dancing Llama that we enjoyed.

In total it's around 40mins long with some just stunning animation. With how much is CGI these days it's sometimes easy to forget how things used to be. There is also full English subtitles on this DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In 1942 with the lucrative European market lost because of war Disney could not afford lavish animated features like Snow White and Bambi and turned to a series of popular versions of Fantasia with a Latin American flavour embedding live footage within the animation.
Therefore looking at “Saludos Amigos” as current entertainment one asks “what the hell!” but take an historical perspective, sixty four years ago there was no television, no cheap travel, therefore the material in this film would have been novel to the audiences.
The film is notable for the introduction of Jose Carioca and plots his development.
However the accompanying filmed record of the research trip by the Disney studio to South America is fascinating, was this generally released I wonder. I provides a real insight into the Disney machine in operation and great footage of the interior of a propeller airliner (DC7?). The washed out quality of the colour puzzled me at first, then I realised it was almost certainly filmed on 16mm with very early colour stock. For me this documentary is the reason for owning the DVD.
For those of us with an historical outlook it is intriguing, for others best avoided and almost certainly will not be appreciated by the children.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
This 'movie' together with Melody Time and The Three Caballeros is a must have for a Disney collector. Though when your looking for a fun kids movie, these are no longer the movies you'd show the little ones.
There are much better movies for the kids, like Brave, Up!, The Little Mermaid or Aladdin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
Very happy with this seller and DVD. It was as described and arrived quickly. No issues what so ever. Couldn't be happier! The Film kept the children entertained and will be watched over and over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
thankyou for the very fast delivery of this dvd,my daughters been collecting disney films for a while and didnt know about this one so she was very pleased with it so thanks again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.