Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nick Cave In Beautiful, Non-Murder Related Album Shocker!!!
To say that all of Nick Cave's albums before this point had been solely about murder is slanderous. That said death, dirt, darkness and rage have tended to be recurring themes throughout his entire career. The watermark for this was his previous album 'Murder Ballads' which examined the actions of numerous psychos in intrepid detail. It charted the victims, tried to find...
Published on 5 Feb. 2002 by marauderite

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Looking at buying your first Bad Seeds album? Don't start here!
I love Nick Cave. I have all his albums. However, as much as people rave about it, I just don't get it. To cut a long story short, it is BORING!

Don't get me wrong this album has some five star tracks on it. 'Into My Arms' is stunning. 'Black Hair' and 'Green Eyes' however are cringe worthy. The problem is every song is played at a funeral pace. The Bad Seeds...
Published 7 months ago by Penguin_army


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Possibly Cave and Co's finest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
great lyrical genius
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
Eternal relevance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The reading is from..." Cave's near perfect creation, 19 Nov. 2003
This review is from: The Boatman's Call [VINYL] (Vinyl)
"I wish that I was made of stone so that I would not have to see beauty impossible to define, a beauty impossible to believe, a beauty inpossible to endure..." (from "Brompton Oratory")
My GOD do I love this record. Over-some-edge beautiful. Religious skepticism meets 20th century romanticism driven by the joy of love, tempered by this never ending well of human pain and loss. This music repeatedly touches that spot that hurts that only music or orgasm can get at. Like Leonard Cohen can so often do for me, the music of Boatman soothes like May (the month), a calm wind, a glass of iced ginger tea, a lover's deep and probing kiss, the perfect massage. A record too good for words, especially these. (this review is of the vinyl--the sound stage, tone, clarity, and intimate detail are just perfect, gorgeous)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
Amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Looking at buying your first Bad Seeds album? Don't start here!, 19 Sept. 2014
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
I love Nick Cave. I have all his albums. However, as much as people rave about it, I just don't get it. To cut a long story short, it is BORING!

Don't get me wrong this album has some five star tracks on it. 'Into My Arms' is stunning. 'Black Hair' and 'Green Eyes' however are cringe worthy. The problem is every song is played at a funeral pace. The Bad Seeds are almost entirely absent. Try and spot Blixa Bargeld. He is totally absent. His ash tray must have been spilling over in the studio. As I said some songs are great but taken in one dose as an album should be, you really will struggle to stay awake.

My reasons for writing this review are that this is usually held up as Nick's masterpiece for reasons I can't fathom. If you are new to Nick Cave buy Murder Ballads or Let Love In. These are a great place to start. If you but this first you'll wonder what all the fuss is about. And then you'll suffer a sudden bought of narcolepsy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only three good songs, well below his standard, 9 Feb. 2015
By 
Toby le Rhone (StaffordshireUK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
Got to be one of his worst records, I would only rate three of the songs on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was expecting, 7 April 2009
By 
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
No doubt the Nick Cave aficionados who have given this album five stars will vilify me as a Philistine but as someone who was drawn to Nick Cave by tracks such as 'Babe, I'm on Fire' and 'My Beautiful World', this album was a disappointment. In comparison to the aforementioned tracks this is an extremely turgid album. If you are into Nick Cave and want to sit down and listen carefully to the lyrics, appreciate the musicianship and relate the whole ensemble to what was going on in his life during that period then maybe this album is for you. On the other hand of you want entertainment such as that afforded by the splendid 'Babe, I'm on Fire', then you should choose another album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A truly great album, bought in good faith, but mine is a shoddy bootleg - beware!, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boatman's Call [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I love this album - Nick Cave pared-down to an absolute minimum. It is inexplicable that Mute haven't re-released it on vinyl, but then they appeared to do just that.... Only this re-issue is a bootleg, and so are many others that have suddenly become available.The vinyl itself isn't too bad, but the artwork is shoddily printed. Buyer beware!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boatmans Call [CASSETTE]
Boatmans Call [CASSETTE] by Nick Cave (Audio Cassette)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews