Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Put in Your Finger and Pull out a Plum..., 29 Sep 2005
By 
Gareth Waterman "GW" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magnetism: the Very Best of Bad Manners (Audio CD)
One day I'll get around to compiling my first Amazon list. It'll be entitled: 'Music you can have on in the car to entertain small children that doesn't drive you out of your tree' or something like that. This album will come pretty close to the top of the list, along with They Might Be Giants and lots of the Trojan Ska box sets.
Of course all the Bad Manners favourites are here - and in their original Magnet Records productions too - without a duff track in sight, but the bonus is in hearing the breadth of stuff they recorded which should serve to remind us just how good they were. However much they may have been regarded as a novelty first time around (thanks to Special Brew and My Girl Lollipop), they also recorded tracks like Inner London Violence and Just A Feeling which would have graced any Specials album. So, whether you're after quality tunes, nostalgia or just something everyone will like - and which doesn't make you cringe - this will do nicely, Sir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SO MANY SKA GEMS ARE FINALLY ON C.D., 10 Feb 2004
By 
This review is from: Magnetism: the Very Best of Bad Manners (Audio CD)
For people who have browsed the Bad Manners section of Amazon before, you may think my review title odd: finally on CD?
Well, there have been compilations before of Buster and Co's stuff, but the material tended to be either live or re-recorded tracks. These songs are the original Magnet Records cuts.
And I was surprised at how many I recognised. Of course songs like Can Can and Special Brew are perminantly embedded in my brain but Buena Sera and Walking In The Sunshine have been re-awakened. Only real qualm is I liked the group but their tendancy towards cover versions is pretty much in evidence here. Pity, because their own tunes are some of the best on here.
All in all, if you have any affection for Buster Bloodvessell and his eight-man crew, you could do worse than to purchase this lovely item!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE FOR ALL FANS OF SKA MUSIC, 16 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Magnetism: the Very Best of Bad Manners (Audio CD)
Buster Bloodvessel and bad manners are the stuff of legends and this compilation pays testament to the great band they were and in fact still are. all of their hits are included on this cd, the can can, lip up fatty, lorraine, special brew and all the other faves. buy this album and relive their heydays of the 80's and have a lot of fun besides, tell all your freinds and party on to the real fat sound of bad manners. kopki lula london
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This'll do nicely, 13 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: Magnetism: the Very Best of Bad Manners (Audio CD)
Bad Manners were stereotyped as the novelty act of the 2-Tone period, but if you listen to this album you'll struggle to understand why.

Here is an album of fantastic music, of solid music, music you can dance to, music you can listen to again and again, with just that little edge of stupidity to it.

This CD is full of classics: two top-fives, two top-tens, some top-twenties, top-forties, and of the tracks that didn't make the top-forty - like Samson And Delilah or That'll Do Nicely - you'll find excellent examples of a band pushing themselves and growing in inspiration. It would have been great to have been given the lyrics (does anybody know what he sings on That'll Do Nicely?), and the TV themes Educating Marmalade and Your (from Hold Tight!) could have been included, but these are minor quibbles.

This is NOT a re-mix or a live album. These are the originals. Buy this record!

Sad songs? - Well I've heard too many...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing:, 11 July 2013
This review is from: Magnetism: the Very Best of Bad Manners (Audio CD)
1. Special Brew
2. Lip Up Fatty
3. Ne-Ne, Na-Na, Na-Na, Nu-Nu
4. Can Can
5. My Girl Lollipop
6. Lorraine
7. Woolly Bully
8. Magnificent 7
9. Just a Feeling
10. Tequlia
11. Buona Sera
12. Inner London Violence
13. That'll Do Nicely
14. Walking in the Sunshine
15. Samson and Delilah
16. Only Funkin'
17. Got No Brains
18. The Undersea Adventures of Ivor the Engine
19. Echo 4-2
20. Don't Be Angry
21. El Pussycat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great cd, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magnetism: the Very Best of Bad Manners (Audio CD)
Whilst the delivery took a little longer than I would have liked it's absolutely worth the wait. Great cd that took me back to my youth. Some of the recordings are a little 80's but that's how they were produced back then. Great cd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Me like!, 20 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Magnetism: the Very Best of Bad Manners (Audio CD)
This band is brilliant live. That has to be said, and I don't think you can fully appreciate Bad Manners without seeing them live. Having said that, the reaction to these songs is one of intense laughter. Buster Bloodvessel is funny, and these songs (especially "Lorraine", "Special Brew" and "Can Can") reflect the sense of humour excellently. Buy this CD now. It really is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars these boots were made for dancing, 21 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Magnetism: the Very Best of Bad Manners (Audio CD)
bad manners are back and busters still larger than life ! as of wednesday december 20 bristol fleece&firkin mighty fine show.this cd is nearly all of the bands back catalogue from magnet records the band first record label it is a shame that the cd's track listing is not in order of the singles being released but never mind it wont stop you from pullin on yer boots and putting on your braces and giving it some good old moon stomping this cd also includes some tracks lifted from the vinyl records namelywooly bully magnificent7 tequila inner london violence echo 4+2(the song that introduces buster to the sea of bald heads in the crowd)if you get the chance see them live do so you'll never forget it !!!!! this cd is a must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best drunken anthems in the world....ever, 22 Mar 2001
By 
This review is from: Magnetism: the Very Best of Bad Manners (Audio CD)
i was always a big fan of ska but i never really appreciated this lot until i had seen them live. your money would definitely be better spent on a ticket if they're near you, but if you want an album of daft drinking songs, you cant go wrong here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews