Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All Creatures Great & Small...
If you like Wallace & Gromit, then you'll love this DVD. It features alot of the work done by Nick Park, but also other animators including the creator of Morph.
What you get:
Inside your case you get the DVD (obviously) and a 64 page book entitled "Insideaard" which is a description and history of Aardman Studios, the creators, and even a section on creating...
Published on 23 Nov 2002 by Mr. T. Cox

versus
63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First class material - deserves a better transfer.
Terrific films, interesting commentaries, nicely presented and with a nice booklet thrown in... what a pity the sound and image quality on the transfer aren't what they ought to be. On some of these films - including the newer ones - I had to strain to hear the dialogue, the sound quality was so muffled. Also the image quality isn't what you might expect from DVD; indeed...
Published on 18 Aug 2001 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First class material - deserves a better transfer., 18 Aug 2001
By 
Amazon Customer (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Aardman Classics [DVD] (DVD)
Terrific films, interesting commentaries, nicely presented and with a nice booklet thrown in... what a pity the sound and image quality on the transfer aren't what they ought to be. On some of these films - including the newer ones - I had to strain to hear the dialogue, the sound quality was so muffled. Also the image quality isn't what you might expect from DVD; indeed the occasional momentary crease (in 'Pib and Pog' for example) gives away the fact the at least some of these films have been taken from low-grade video copies and not the original source material. 'Next' also suffers badly; you ought to be able to clearly read the names of Shakespeare's plays on the banners that drop down behind the actor at the end of his performance - you can't. The only good reason for buying this DVD would be for some of the older films which you might never otherwise see; if you already have copies of some of these films that you've taped on long play VHS from Channel 4, hold onto them - the sound and picture quality will be better than you'll get on this disc. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All Creatures Great & Small..., 23 Nov 2002
By 
Mr. T. Cox "Tim" (Blackpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aardman Classics [DVD] (DVD)
If you like Wallace & Gromit, then you'll love this DVD. It features alot of the work done by Nick Park, but also other animators including the creator of Morph.
What you get:
Inside your case you get the DVD (obviously) and a 64 page book entitled "Insideaard" which is a description and history of Aardman Studios, the creators, and even a section on creating animations. While it features items from the DVD, it is not specifically about the DVD.
What's the DVD like:
The animated menus are quite good, with an ease to finding specific items. The items themselves range from adverts (like the creature comforts adverts; shot for Heat Electric, but oddly enough everyone associates them with British Gas...) to feature animations like "Wat's Pig". With 31 different items (including the 6 Oscar-winning Creature Comforts adverts), a behind the scenes commentary, and directors and animator's biographies, this DVD is certainly packed.
This is a must-have item for any animators, Nick Park or Wallace & Gromit fans, and with most of the items suitable for children, parents. The selection is varied and the quality is good. The behind the scenes commentary is excellent and insightful.
For me, one of the best things about this DVD though, is that because it is a collection of small items, you can watch 1 or 2 with a friend - when perhaps you wouldn't have normally had time.
More Cheese Gromit?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of varying quality content, 12 Dec 2000
By 
B. Hill (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aardman Classics [DVD] (DVD)
Creature Comforts had the whole family in stiches. Excellent. Still, there was a lot of very ordinary content. I would prefer to have all this extra stuff however than make it shorter with just the best of the best. DVD can hold a lot of material, so why not put it in, right?
The supplied booklet is also a great idea, but is jammed in a standard DVD case and makes it rather awkward to close wit the DVD. They could have done a better job with that, but once again I'd rather have the extra material than not.
All up, worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An education in animation, 25 Mar 2006
This review is from: Aardman Classics [DVD] (DVD)
For anyone interested in creating their own animations, this is a very interesting collection of Aardman snippets. But don't buy it just because you love Wallace and Gromit, otherwise you may be disappointed. Some of the wonderful "Creature Comforts" material is included and "Pib and Pog" should make you laugh. "Wat's Pig" and "My Baby Just Cares For Me" and "Not Without My Handbag" are very good. Even so, these are just a few of the 32 items listed and the DVD as a whole has the feel of a collection of samples, hurriedly thrown together, including stuff that fell down the back of the filing cabinet several years ago and a handful of bits swept up from the cutting-room floor. The sound and picture quality is quite bad on some sections. Really, I'm just an average sort of viewer who loves all the Creature Comforts and Wallace and Gromit films - not a student animator. If, like me, you're hoping for a moderately long, coherent, animated story, similar in style and humour to Wallace and Gromit, then this DVD may not be what you're looking for. I'm off to order "Wallace And Gromit - 3 Cracking Adventures" now - and I KNOW I'm going to enjoy that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mixed reviews, but here's another opinion, 8 Aug 2008
By 
F. Cairns - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aardman Classics [DVD] (DVD)
This product as already mentioned by hundreds of other reviewers, compiles most of Aardman's best animations from the early 80s up to the mid 90s, these include the much loved "Creature Comforts", the hilariously clever "Pib and Pog", the story of two brothers, strangely united by war in "Watt's Pig", the intelligently animated "Owzat", the dark thriller "Babylon: Sweet Disaster" and random conversation pieces put to bloody talented animation.

The variety is like watching an Andy Warhol film festival; random and very abstract films that jump from one extreme to the other. Yet each animation is buzzing with ideas and clever humour guaranteed to delight a patient audience. I say patient because at first glance, the average viewer may not understand certain aspects of the films, yet after at least 3 views, you can begin to appreciate the uniqueness of each animation.

The only fault I can see with this compilation is the bad transfer to DVD disc, the sound quality is variable and at times, the video looses touch in colour, as well as sharpness. The lack of subtitles is also a pity since I personally would love to understand everything said by these funny little characters, though that can be excused by the wonderful ideas thought up by the Aardman team.

Top-notch entertainment, suitable for the generally older and more mature audience, ideas, which stretch from one end of the universe to the other.

Well done on these creations, keep up the good work Aardman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 5 July 2009
By 
Callum Abbott (Baldock, Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aardman Classics [DVD] (DVD)
I am quite astounded by the number of poor reviews as this is a magnificent collection of films. A uniquely British animation studios made famous for Wallace and Gromit, Aardman show us here their incredible talent for film-making.

Of course I am biased, growing up with Wallace and Gromit, however I can't understand why anyone of any age wouldn't enjoy this DVD. As a big animation fan these early films show so much about early stop-motion through sometimes crude shorts yet the creativity and comedy throughout is second to none.

The DVD is not just plastescene as one might assume, but includes a number of weird and wonderful CGI animations created when the platform was little known. In fact one of the funniest short films for me is 'Humdrum' a computer-animated story about two shadows who, due to boredom end up playing a game of shadow puppets. Every time I see it I cannot help but howl with laughter.

Aardman Classics is a collection of British films of great character, sublime animation and will leave you chuckling for a long time after watching. This is one of my most treasured DVDs, a must for animation lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Curate's Egg of Aardman - make sure you get the right one, 10 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. B. Hiscott "boredsilly" (BurghfieldCommonUK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aardman Classics [DVD] (DVD)
This is probably the 4th or 5th iteration of this DVD.
I bought the first two, but I think that's probably enough now...
The content is definitely varied, some absolute corkers in there "Next" being amongst the finest bits of animation ever made...
However, there are a good many experimental works, where the animators are clearly practicing their craft, and one can see a good deal of the development in techniques, skills, equipment, etc., and from that angle, it's a working textbook on 'how to have a go at stop frame...
From an enthusiastic viewer's perspective, it's a bit disappointing.
The quality certainly isn't worthy of DVD, and many of the works will be flipped past on the 2nd viewing.
Worth buying for some of the items, as you just can't get them anywhere else.
Message to the publishers: Please stop re-releasing the same DVD with one more little extra each time, it really dis-enfranchises your devoted audience.
(PS - anyone managed to get ALL the plays in the right order?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aardman Classics [DVD] (DVD)
Hilarious highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful sample of Aardman's early stuff, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aardman Classics [DVD] (DVD)
This compilation of shorts, adverts and bits and pieces is a wonderful window on the early development of the studio. I'd also say to get the Rex the Runt box set too. I assume you've already got the Wallace and Gromit stuff if you're looking at this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What Aardman do when not working on Wallace and Gromit, 15 Dec 2009
This review is from: Aardman Classics [DVD] (DVD)
We all know what Aardman is famous for, the creation of Wallace and Gromit. But have you ever wondered what else Aardman make? Now's your chance.

This DVD features a huge variety of short films, not just from Nick Park or Peter Lord. Some of the films include Creature Comforts, the electric ad campaign, Pib and Pog, Wat's Pig and Stage Fright. It even has some of Aardman's lesser known but great works like War Story, Humdrum, Adam, Loves Me Loves Me Not, Next and so much more that needs to be seen.

Just because they're made by Aardman, it doesn't mean they are all alike. In fact, they are quite different from each other. They each have different visual looks, different writing styles, different content, even different time lengths. There's something for literally everyone.

For anyone who likes animation, this DVD shouldn't disappoint at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aardman Classics [DVD]
Aardman Classics [DVD] by Richard Goleszowski (DVD - 2000)
£12.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews