Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars41
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£8.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on 22 February 2004
Down in the antipodes, decent OSTs like this are about as rare as Cockneys themselves. I had to travel to London on a regular jaunt to find this gem and do not regret it one moment (especially after paying under £10); later I bumped into a friend of the CD producer, who apparently went to work for MCA and asked for the soundtrack on CD, to be told that it didn't exist (in the days when decent vinyls were going for £75). His mission from that point: to re-create one of his favourites on CD-God bless his decision and persistence!
Quincy Jones's original compositions are marvellous, recalling the moments in the film-and despite the relative brevity of the entire CD, it all seems more substantial. His jazz background serves the score well, including his rearrangements of traditional tunes, which work well independently of the movie. No other Matt Munro-performed song touches 'On Days Like These', while the instrumental (present here, thankfully) is as elegant.
As an earlier reviewer said, the quality of the remastering is excellent, while the liner notes are a useful complement (while presenting little new information for fans, souvenirs such as an image of the original poster are worthwhile). I can't wait for my next drive around Italy with this soundtrack in the CD player. While remembering that in that country, 'They drive on the wrong side of the road!'
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on 4 January 2002
With good condition vinyl original copies of this changing hands for big money this CD must've been eagerly awaited. The artwork on the sleeve bears no resemblence to the original but the tracks are the same. The anthemic "Self Preservation Society" recently re-awakened by adverts and english footie fans is the real gem. If you love the film, this is a must, and if you own a Mini Cooper like me, fit a CD player and you'll be in seventh heaven. Turn it up and "blow the bloody doors off"
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
The Italian Job was a stylish and with it comedy from the late sixties. Everyone remembers Michael Caine's accent and the iconic Mini chase, but the equally stylish soundtrack is often overlooked.

Opening with the inimitable Matt Monroe crooning `On Days Like These', a song and performance as cool as the Alps in which the opening sequence is set, this is a classy sound track that really sets the tone for the film. Using the cool jazz/blues sound prevalent at the time there are series of swinging numbers that neatly describe the hip with it swinging youngsters, and the stuffier elder statesmen of the criminal organisation. It neatly brings together the various elements of the film, the comedy, the serious criminal endeavour and the sense of having fun that pervades throughout. Finishing with `Getta Blooming Move On', sung by the cast as the bus with the gold is careering through the Alps with joyful abandon, this is a great soundtrack.

The score from Quincy Jones is well put together and fits the film perfectly. It is not quite in the top echelon of film music (The Good, The Bad, The Ugly and On Her Majesty's Secret Service are my personal two all time favourites) but it's not far away. The only slight let down is that there is no dialogue from the film - Caine's `Now listen, I have this great idea...' at the end of the disc would have rounded it out nicely. The sound reproduction is clear and sharp, and sounds good on my stereo. The inlay contains a short essay and lots of nice pictures.

A decent set, well worth the money to any fans of the film and anyone who likes the style of the hip swinging sixties.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 3 March 2001
A truly great soundtrack that brought flooding back the fact I dragged my poor mother to the flicks over 10 times to see this film at the age of 8! But I agree with previous reviewers - adding some of the truly classic dialog... "...doors off..", "Hang on lads, I've got an idea", and Noel Coward's "Everyone's bent" would have added the 5th star for me.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 7 November 2000
So it's here at last - and about time too! After a wait of nearly 30 years, Quincy Jones and Don Black's soundtrack to the quintessential British caper movie doesn't disappoint. From the opening of Matt Monro's sublime vocals in the simply beautiful 'On Days Like These' to the beery finale provided by the cockney chorus in 'Get a Bloomin Move On', the long overdue CD release of 'The Italian Job' will no doubt fill a void in many a collection of cult movie soundtracks. As an Oscar winning London born songwriter, Don Black's participation was predictable enough for a 'Swinging Sixties' project, but just how Quincy Jones got himself involved would surely be a story worth hearing. Anyway, betwen them they pulled it off to create a memorable accompaniment to many a bloke's favourite British movie. Welcome home, Charlie Croker and the boys!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 June 2004
For those of us who for years were desperate to own a copy of the soundtrack from this brilliant classic British caper film, this CD re-issue is a wonderful thing to own. I am a HUGE fan of the film, I own it on most available formats and even though I own it, I still watch it when it comes on the TV. I am so grateful for the fact that this album is now available to the masses on CD, something I thought would never happen.

As a fan of the film I can listen to the tracks and picture the scene, but not so sure all of the music on this album would mean as much to someone who is only a casual fan of the film. Of course the fantastic 'get a blommin move on' and it's variants are found here, and the versions of 'on days like these' are worth the price of admission alone.

Something else that the film is famous for of course is the snappy dialogue and quotes 'bloody doors off' etc.. and I think it is a missed opportunity to not use the CD re-release to include some of the classic dialogue in between the tracks.

Apart from this though, the soundtrack on CD for a fan of the film is essential listening, enjoy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 27 January 2001
I think this is a great soundtrack but lacks in the fact that there is no dialogue from the film. Adding a few quotes here and there would have got this album a five.
Other than that its a great ST. Get your skates on mate and stand on your plates of meat and go and but it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2011
Never mind the lack of dialogue; that is NOT a drawback. Nor is it the length (many soundtrack albums of the 1960s were about half an hour long, vinyl being what it was/is). No, the real problem is not the music but Fred Dellar's annoyingly flagwaving liner notes; do they praise the film? Yes. Do they applaud lyricist Don Black? Yes. Do they hail Matt Monro? Yes. Do they even mention Quincy Jones... you know, the man who only WROTE THE MUSIC? (And it's almost entirely instrumental; it's not like the album's packed with songs.)

No. Epic fail, Mr. Dellar.

Ignore the notes (or pray that a real film music label like La-La Land or Intrada does an expanded reissue with a comprehensive booklet someday, not out of the question with Paramount becoming more accommodating nowadays) and just enjoy the music.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 4 December 2000
I bought this CD today and was very impressed with the quality of the recordings - obviously a decent re-mastering job has been done - but I couldn't help but feel a little short-changed. The CD runs for just over 28 minutes in total and there's no excerpts of dialogue - which was a real disappointment as it's the dialogue (especially from Caine) that really MAKES the film! Surely, some dialogue from the film could have been included, as is normally the case with many soundtrack albums, and this would have helped to fill out the rather measly 28 minutes of music you get on this CD. Still, having said all that, it's a hugely entertaining album to listen to and it's release on CD has long been overdue. I can't give it the 5 stars I'd like to as I feel it's a little bit of a wasted opportunity.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 5 February 2001
Qiuncy Jones has created one of the greatest soundtracks for any British film ever, with many a tune to drive to (Although Matt Monro's "On Days Like These"/Crashing into a JCB I'd rather not imitate). Tracks 7 and 12 are the greatest drinking songs ever, as by the time you down your third pint, you'll wish you were in the minis themselves. This CD was well worth the wait. Nice one Lads.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

The Very Best Of Matt Monro
The Very Best Of Matt Monro by Matt Monro (Audio CD - 1992)

Italian Job [Score]
Italian Job [Score] by John Powell (Audio CD - 2008)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.