Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drop your plates of meat / right upon the seat
Down in the antipodes, decent OSTs like this are about as rare as Cockneys themselves. I had to travel to London on a regular jaunt to find this gem and do not regret it one moment (especially after paying under 10); later I bumped into a friend of the CD producer, who apparently went to work for MCA and asked for the soundtrack on CD, to be told that it didn't exist (in...
Published on 22 Feb 2004 by Jack Yan

versus
11 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT The original soundtrack
If you have seen the film you should realise this has been "digitally Remastered" to sound like a poor imitation of the film. There is the Self Preservation Society but aweful in all the versions, On Days Like These should have been worked on another day, sound bites there are none, terrible instrumentals etc. Buy the film, buy the DVD buy something else otherwise you...
Published on 12 Sep 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drop your plates of meat / right upon the seat, 22 Feb 2004
By 
Jack Yan (Wellington, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Italian Job (Audio CD)
Down in the antipodes, decent OSTs like this are about as rare as Cockneys themselves. I had to travel to London on a regular jaunt to find this gem and do not regret it one moment (especially after paying under 10); later I bumped into a friend of the CD producer, who apparently went to work for MCA and asked for the soundtrack on CD, to be told that it didn't exist (in the days when decent vinyls were going for 75). His mission from that point: to re-create one of his favourites on CD-God bless his decision and persistence!
Quincy Jones's original compositions are marvellous, recalling the moments in the film-and despite the relative brevity of the entire CD, it all seems more substantial. His jazz background serves the score well, including his rearrangements of traditional tunes, which work well independently of the movie. No other Matt Munro-performed song touches 'On Days Like These', while the instrumental (present here, thankfully) is as elegant.
As an earlier reviewer said, the quality of the remastering is excellent, while the liner notes are a useful complement (while presenting little new information for fans, souvenirs such as an image of the original poster are worthwhile). I can't wait for my next drive around Italy with this soundtrack in the CD player. While remembering that in that country, 'They drive on the wrong side of the road!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last one of the most sought after vinyl soundtracks on CD, 4 Jan 2002
By 
G. S. Dawson "Gaz" (Aldershot, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Italian Job (Audio CD)
With good condition vinyl original copies of this changing hands for big money this CD must've been eagerly awaited. The artwork on the sleeve bears no resemblence to the original but the tracks are the same. The anthemic "Self Preservation Society" recently re-awakened by adverts and english footie fans is the real gem. If you love the film, this is a must, and if you own a Mini Cooper like me, fit a CD player and you'll be in seventh heaven. Turn it up and "blow the bloody doors off"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You're only supposed to blow the bloody dust off yer needle., 3 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Italian Job (Audio CD)
A truly great soundtrack that brought flooding back the fact I dragged my poor mother to the flicks over 10 times to see this film at the age of 8! But I agree with previous reviewers - adding some of the truly classic dialog... "...doors off..", "Hang on lads, I've got an idea", and Noel Coward's "Everyone's bent" would have added the 5th star for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where is croker saying 'Hold on lads, Ive got a idea, 27 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Italian Job (Audio CD)
I think this is a great soundtrack but lacks in the fact that there is no dialogue from the film. Adding a few quotes here and there would have got this album a five.
Other than that its a great ST. Get your skates on mate and stand on your plates of meat and go and but it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Get your skates on, mate!', 7 Nov 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Italian Job (Audio CD)
So it's here at last - and about time too! After a wait of nearly 30 years, Quincy Jones and Don Black's soundtrack to the quintessential British caper movie doesn't disappoint. From the opening of Matt Monro's sublime vocals in the simply beautiful 'On Days Like These' to the beery finale provided by the cockney chorus in 'Get a Bloomin Move On', the long overdue CD release of 'The Italian Job' will no doubt fill a void in many a collection of cult movie soundtracks. As an Oscar winning London born songwriter, Don Black's participation was predictable enough for a 'Swinging Sixties' project, but just how Quincy Jones got himself involved would surely be a story worth hearing. Anyway, betwen them they pulled it off to create a memorable accompaniment to many a bloke's favourite British movie. Welcome home, Charlie Croker and the boys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why no dialogue?, 4 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Italian Job (Audio CD)
I bought this CD today and was very impressed with the quality of the recordings - obviously a decent re-mastering job has been done - but I couldn't help but feel a little short-changed. The CD runs for just over 28 minutes in total and there's no excerpts of dialogue - which was a real disappointment as it's the dialogue (especially from Caine) that really MAKES the film! Surely, some dialogue from the film could have been included, as is normally the case with many soundtrack albums, and this would have helped to fill out the rather measly 28 minutes of music you get on this CD. Still, having said all that, it's a hugely entertaining album to listen to and it's release on CD has long been overdue. I can't give it the 5 stars I'd like to as I feel it's a little bit of a wasted opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The soundtrack to the best film ever. Worth every penny!, 13 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Italian Job (Audio CD)
Many people have said it's a pity that this soundtrack lacks quotes from the film. Whilst I can see where they're coming from, it is a soundtrack, and if you want quotes, you buy the film, which is also worth the money. It's the best film ever, and the soundtrack doesn't let it down. How I wish I was small enough to drive a Mini!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cockney rhyming slang is back in fashion..., 5 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Italian Job (Audio CD)
Qiuncy Jones has created one of the greatest soundtracks for any British film ever, with many a tune to drive to (Although Matt Monro's "On Days Like These"/Crashing into a JCB I'd rather not imitate). Tracks 7 and 12 are the greatest drinking songs ever, as by the time you down your third pint, you'll wish you were in the minis themselves. This CD was well worth the wait. Nice one Lads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The soundtrack to england's best film of all time!, 12 Jun 2002
This review is from: The Italian Job (Audio CD)
The soundtrack to my fav film of all time- british or otherwise. The highlight is the final track, the Self Preservation Society, although the rest, particularly Matt Monro's intro and 'Its Caper Time' is also great. An essential CD for any Italian Job fan!
So why not 5 stars? The film gets 5 of course so why not the cd? As others have said there should have been some quotes. Also they missed out the second verse to self preservation society, the one Croker and co. sing just before the coach takes that corner too fast...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is what it is, 27 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Italian Job (Audio CD)
After reading some of the reviews that were negative, my response is what do you expect. This is the musical sections off the film, not dialogue or directors cuts, just the music. Hence the phrase sound track.
It has that 60's feel which fits well with the film, and brings back those memories of some the best bits of the film.
In fact one of these tracks was so good I used it as the first dance at my recent wedding. Now there is an endorsement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadd1d8e8)

This product

The Italian Job
The Italian Job by Various Artists - Soundtracks - Film Scores (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews