Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Storm
I'm really surprised reading the reviews here to see the criticism and scorn that has been poured upon this film, at the end of the day it's not all that bad and at least it is a vast improvement on some of the disaster movies that have gone before it.
That's not to say it's not without its faults. Certainly there is an amount of cheesy dialogue between the main...
Published on 31 Aug. 2005 by Rich Milligan

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Storm - a far from perfect film
Okay, everyone on board? Clooney! Wahlberg! Petersen! This is gonna be great. A sure-fire winner. Now for the full checklist...

Cliched script... Check!
Cliched characters... Check!
Overacting from Diane Lane... Check!
Overblown orchestral score... Check!
Pointless coastguard subplot... Check!
Lots of yucky sugar-sweet schmaltz...
Published 22 months ago by The Demon Pazuzu


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Storm - a far from perfect film, 1 Jun. 2013
By 
Okay, everyone on board? Clooney! Wahlberg! Petersen! This is gonna be great. A sure-fire winner. Now for the full checklist...

Cliched script... Check!
Cliched characters... Check!
Overacting from Diane Lane... Check!
Overblown orchestral score... Check!
Pointless coastguard subplot... Check!
Lots of yucky sugar-sweet schmaltz... Check!
Proven A-list director simply ticking boxes and embarrassing himself... Check!
Thirty minutes too long... Check!
Horrendous screenplay but why bother with a rewrite... Check!
So lacking emotion, you couldn't care less who lives or dies... Check!

And the Blu-ray transfer? Well that's average. Not shocking, but nothing to write home about either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Storm, 31 Aug. 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Perfect Storm [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
I'm really surprised reading the reviews here to see the criticism and scorn that has been poured upon this film, at the end of the day it's not all that bad and at least it is a vast improvement on some of the disaster movies that have gone before it.
That's not to say it's not without its faults. Certainly there is an amount of cheesy dialogue between the main players and the some of the whooping and bonding scenes on the boat are toe curling embarrassing.
The film is based on the book of the same name by Sebastian Junger and is the true story of the phenomenal storm that crashed onto the North Atlantic in 1991. I haven't read the book but apparently it is a most compelling series of survivor accounts of personal experiences that the storm brought about.
The main thrust of the film is the story of the swordfish fishing vessel "Andrea Gail", after a run of bad hauls, skipper Billy Tyne (George Clooney) decides to take the ship out for one more trawl but to the more dangerous waters of the Flemish Cap. His crew are a motley collection of various characters and include Bobby Shatford (Mark Wahlberg) a young fisherman currently trying to develop a relationship with a single mother, Chris Cotter (Diane Lane). David "Sully" Sullivan (William Fitchner) a older fisherman who has his own personal conflicts with his ex-wife and son. There's also Alfred Pierre (Allen Payne) a family-less Jamaican, Mike "Bugsy" Moran (John Hawkes) the sort of man who'll always be missed in a crowd and Dale "Murph" Murphy (John C Reilly) who is only recruited for this one voyage. I mention the crew in completion as the first part of the film really deals with getting to know all the characters and their own particular issues and problems and this is one of the most enjoyable pieces of the film.
What the second part of the film deals with is the struggle the Andrea Gail faces when she gets caught up in the storm. It's certainly exciting stuff with rolling waves, crashing spray and all round soakings for the entire cast. I guess to be truer to the book the film also includes the fight in the storm of the pleasure vessel Mistral and also that of the search and rescue helicopter that comes to their aid. Although both these series are exciting and well filmed they do detract from the main action from on the fishing vessel and therefore detract from the main thrust.
The film does become a bit formulaic towards the end but to its credit it is still an effective tear jerker. Mention too for the lovely and moving musical score and the special effects which were nominated for an Oscar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Storm, I just love it so much., 6 Feb. 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Perfect Storm [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
"The fog's just lifting, you throw off your bow line, you throw off your stern-you head out to South Chanel past Rocky Neck.....Ten Pound Island, past Niles Pond where I skated as a kid-and you blow your air horn and throw a wave to the lighthouse keepers kid on Thatcher's Island-then the birds show up, black backs and herring gulls, big dump ducks-the sun hits you, head North, open up to 12, you're steaming now, the guys are busy, you're in charge-you know what? You're a god damn sword boat captain, is there anything better in the world?"

Ordinarily I would write a review that is fair minded and as honest as I can call it, something that hopefully would interest the readers either side of the fence. But here with The Perfect Storm I just want to write why I love this particular picture, and what a most divisive picture it has turned out to be. I'm aware of the complaints about the movie, even the ones from the family of the real Captain Billy Tyne {played by Alpha Male regular George Clooney}, but as an entertaining spectacle with huge slices of emotional fortitude, The Perfect Storm will forever be hitting my spots.

The character build up is just wonderful, people with things to prove, fractured and blossoming romances, loyalties on the line, grudges carried over from previous encounters, the lives of sea fishermen fully formed in the films first quarter. Then there is a sequence as George Clooney says the monologue that I have opened this review with, beautifully recited, but it's the emotion in Linda Greenlaw's face (Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio) as she watches and listens to him speak it, just wonderful. Then the boys go out to see, heading off into dangerous waters to hopefully make a killing in the fish market, tensions run high, accidents happen, heroes are born and rivalries quickly overturned, but the boys must go further if they are to corner the market, the Grand Banks are evil at this time of year.

A three pronged hostile weather front is heading their way, they are, as Linda tells Billy on the radio, heading into the belly of the monster, and what a monster it is. Here the makers excel, director Wolfgang Petersen, his cinematographer John Seale and his S/E maestro John Frazier do literally put me right there in a amongst the waves and daring do bravado. Then it's the final couple of reels, the emotional mangler, even a spiritual coda that is hated by so many can't make me dislike the film any less, and I'll wager right here and now that as funeral eulogies go, few if any have been delivered with as much heartbreaking emotion as the one read by Mastrantonio here.

It's a personal opinion you know, but The Perfect Storm is a magnificent film that I enjoy three times a year, every year, and nobody will ever be able to take that away from me.

"There's no goodbyes Christina, only love," damn straight!. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True Story let down by Hollywood in places, 18 July 2007
By 
Tangerine "tangerineman" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Perfect Storm [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
I'm inclined to agree with those that get fed up with people being critical of a plot that based on a true story. We all know Hollywood can and does change things it can't be bothered to convey but still its not the films fault that these are the events of this story. The Andrea Gail and its captain George Clooney (who is superb) are desperate to get the catch they need. Clooney refuses advice to return home and becomes caught out by Mother Nature who whips up a monsterous storm of horrific proportions that eventually causes deadly problems for the boat and its crew. I dread to think how hideous those sea storms really are as these CGI waves are a brilliant testamant to that but can never get close to the true power and horror the sea can achieve. A very good film worthy of its place in a collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Quality, 21 Sept. 2009
By 
Chris (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big fan of the movie 'The Perfect Storm' so despite already having the DVD version I had to buy the Blu Ray edition when it came out. Playing it on a PS3 I found the quality to be excellent and the waves/effects etc were very realistic. Sound quality was excellent and I found a number of the extras well worht watching, especially the 'Making of' feature. If you like the original film, are able to play back Blu-Ray and are undecided whether to just get the DVD version or this Blu-Ray version go for the Blu-ray, much clearer and you can really see all the details on the waves etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'FREAK WEATHER SYSTEMS MERGED AND FORMED - THE PERFECT STORM', 7 Jun. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I first bought this on 'DVD' when released and after watching wasn't over impressed with it's presentation in terms of bringing out the tension assosiated with the sheer horror of what befell the crew of the 'Andrea Gail' in '1991'

However buying 'The Perfect Storm' on 'Blu-ray' proved to be the right decision, the storm scenes and giant wave effects are greatly enhanced on this format, and yes it greatly improved it's visual content from a viewing point of view, it made a '3' star expierience into a '4' star rating for me.
We will never know in reality what really happened on the 'Andrea Gail' during it's final moments in that massive storms coming together, but....the film does put a considered happening to events that leave in tact the memories of those men for their loved ones.
This a dramatic and well portrayed drama capturing the tension that almost certainly would have been the case, 'George Clooney'
as 'Captain Billy Tyne' gives a convincing performance.
Certainly worth owning on this Format, and certainly deserving of a re-visit..............................enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling movie about a true story!, 16 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
Director Wolfgang Petersen is in his element again: After having dealt with water for Das Boot he returns to the wet element with this true story starring George Clooney and Mark Wahlberg. When a few fishermen set out to the open sea, they have no idea of what they are going to experience: the title-giving Perfect Storm. With unbelieveable visual effects by ILM and very emotional performances from all the key actors, The Perfect Storm is more than just another disaster movie: It's a true emotional epic about man and sea. Buy it now on DVD- you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 14 Feb. 2012
I'm a huge fan of TPS and always have been since it was first released. I find the special effects and the acting really good and enjoyable. Everything is very believable and plausible, and I think it's one of the best films ever made. Sadly, I suppose the main reason for writing this review is due to the amount of other reviews on here saying "the script was rubbish" or "this film is abysmal" ... In fact, the two that made me laugh the most were 1 star reviews written by "Baribus" and "St.Onions". Now, I don't know why these two are complaining about the storyline, especially since it was based on a true story.

The film itself is named after the 1991 storm of the same name, which features some fishermen going out fishing aboard the F/V Andrea Gail. Why these other clowns have failed to realise this film is based on a life event is beyond me. They have actually complained about the main event rather than the side events such as the helicopter pilots.

If you happen to read any reviews that are complaining about the storyline, my advice would be to rate the review as "unhelpful" and move on. They clearly haven't watched the film, if they had, they would of realised that a director/writer can't change a film that is to be based on real life events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New England Fishermen, 5 Oct. 2007
By 
M. A. Ramos (Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Perfect Storm [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
I feel like I am in the minority here...but I like the movie. And I have heard the People of the town thought the movie company did justice as well. How do you tell a story of a lost fishing boat where all hands were lost. We do not know what actually happened on board, and which of the subplots and events that were added in to brighten up what was an otherwise sad story. The Andrea Gail sets out for a late-season fishing voyage right before a number of meteorological events trigger one of the largest storms in history on the Eastern Seaboard. We get to see many events that occurred including the perils of a yacht, a Coast Guard helicopter crew, and the fishermen on the Andrea Gail.

I feel they captured the town and fishermen. The time at the beginning of the movie is required so that you can see why the men were willing to take risk going out so late in the season to fish again. I enjoyed the little look into New England fishery.

The boat, the men and the action on the high seas are great to watch. The storm effects (CGI I'm sure) were also very cool. Both George Clooney and Mark Wahlberg do a fine job as the captain and crewman, respectively, of the doomed Andrea Gail. I will keep my DVD and watch it again....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A mixture of "Jaws/75" and "The big Blue/88" with huge waves, 21 Mar. 2011
By 
Peter Thomsen (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Perfect Storm [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
You get an insight into these Gloucester fisher lives. I originally come from Esbjerg/Denmark by the North Sea. Which in the old days was a fishing industry town, where one in 1978-80 easy could get a job the next day in the summertime. I recognize some of the beginning.

There are a lot of reasons why, you should buy this DVD. Especially when one can see how it was made, in special feautures which is very comprehensive. In addition one get some really good view of the area of Gloucester Habour, Massachusetts (in which the start of the real movie was filmed) and The Sable Island. There are some nice details about names of the fishers which lost their lives since 1623, with respect to the history etc. - Boring, not at all. Though I must admit that the first 3/4 part of the movie is best. In the last part of it, it's only a fight between the fishers and the ocean. Too much water. 4 stars which I think is the right rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Perfect Storm [2000] [DVD]
The Perfect Storm [2000] [DVD] by Wolfgang Petersen (DVD - 2000)
£5.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews