Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars103
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 August 2015
I wasn't a Fan of the original but this One is just Awful.The CGI effects are Really Bad and it seems to have forgotten why the first was successful and that is its minimal use of visual effects, concentrating more on Shadows and Sounds to catch you off guard.This has none of that.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2002
The build-up was good, with all the guests arriving, the actresses were interesting, Catherine Zeta-Jones stunning...
Quite scary bedroom scenes. Worth seeing if you are passionate about ghosts.
But at the end the special effects of the children ghosts are just ridiculous, I was so angry at the silliness of the images.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2007
If you saw the original, beware... The plot bears no resemblance to Shirley Jackson's psychological horror story. The sub-plots make no sense and dead-ends. There's lots of CGI and special effects, which are well done and are the star of the movie.

The sets for the house were the best part and are worth seeing. Liam Neeson must be sorry he made this film, and Owen Wilson, seems to be the comic relief, Zeta-Jones certainly looks good but isn't given anything to do except wander around looking colorfully tarty. Bruce Dern and Marian Seldes were probably just happy they had such small parts. This doesn't make it as a "good" bad movie, and it wouldn't really worth the trouble hating, except that it butchered a book that was both scary and intelligent.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2015
I love this, one of my favourite ghosts films. Its not particularly scary, however it is a fabulous storyline. Has a great cast, Liam Neeson, Owen Wilson, Lily (can't remember her name!) and Catherine Zeta Jones before she got really famous and became an awful actress!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2000
I must begin by saying that I saw the original years before I saw this version so its hard not to make comparisons.
The first thing in the film's favour is that it takes what was a scary story anyway and tells it quite well. Secondly, there are a few spine chilling moments in the film - all borrowed from the 1963 film.
Unfortunately all this is undone by unsubtle effects and horror moments. I came away with the impression that Jan de Bont felt that the audience would be unsatisfied if they didn't see anything so threw in an effects driven finale...which spoils the ethos of the film.
Lines have been added to the story which are tainted with the usual Hollywood belief that audiences are esseentially stupid and points have to be reinforced.
The cast manage to make a good job of the material but at the end of the day Jan de Bont should not have been let near this. Its interesting to note in the accompanying featurette that the producers felt that the things you imagine can be much more powerful than what you see. I can only presume that this was why they wanted to make the film but somewhere along the line this idea was subverted.
In recent years, ghost story films have all been given "happier" endings, aiming for a redemption concept that tends to undermine the power of the story. This is no exception.
On a plus side, the transfer is excellent - the picture quality is clear and sharp. The sound is excellent even if some of the effects lack subtlety. The features are rather sparse comprising a short documentary and two trailers.
My advice - track down the 1963 original, expertly directed by Robert Wise. It is far superior. The 1999 remake is entertaining and has a few spooky moments but is disappointing overall.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
Good film, I loved this when it first came out
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2003
When i watched this film a while ago, i thought that if a production crew decide to remake a classic horror film, they could at least do it some justice, the poor quality acting and ridiculous effects are a real let down. I really would strongly recommend the original as apposed to this one, it was not scary and does not deserve a 12 rating.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
I don't know about the original but this movie is garbage. Not scary at all and very ridiculous. Laughable. Loss of time and money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
Advertised as seen but turned out on arival to be a copy in German thankfully it Was in English after turning off German subs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
This movie seems to have aged badly
although if you can see past this , its a hugely enjoyable movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)