Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars117
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£19.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 November 2012
I was immediately interested in this movie after taking a look at the front cover of the DVD and seeing what a strong cast of female talent it had. 'Steel Magnolias' (1990) was a treat from start to finish. This is a comedy/drama centering around a group of very different women in a beautiful Louisiana bayou town, and a simple story about love and friendship.

Julia Roberts is terrific as the lead character, Shelby, a young women who gets married and has a child, only for tragedy to strike due to her type of diabetes. The consistent scene stealer is undeniably the wonderful Shirley MacLaine as Louisa, a grumpy, acid tongued two-timed widow, the 'heart' of the film is Dolly Parton as hairdresser Truvvy, and special marks should go to the fabulous Sally Field who excels as the distraught mother towards the end if the film.

'Steel Magnolias' is a new favourite film of mine, it is beautifully-written, superbly acted out and just a brilliant piece of drama that should appeal to both men and women. This DVD edition includes lots of good special features, including deleted scenes, director's commentary, a featurette, and more.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 19 February 2012
This movie is wonderful. As another reviewer pointed out, it's a "girl's film," but that men can enjoy it, too. This is true. I know guys who have enjoyed it--in fact, one of them is my husband. Just as an aside -- the movie is based on a play written by a man! (Robert Harling)

I've read some excellent summaries of the movie by several other reviewers, so I will hone in on another aspect of the excellence of this movie. Many times women are portrayed as being bitchy and catty to each other, but in my opinion this movie is realistic in its portrayal of female friendship. To be sure, the gals get on each others' nerves once in a while, but over all, they care deeply about each other's welfare. It's touching to see the concern of Truvy (Dolly Parton's character) for young Anelle (Daryl Hanna's character) whom she practically takes in as a daughter after giving her a job as a stylist at her beauty shop. The relationship of M'lynn and Shelby (Sally Field and Julia Roberst, respectively) is strikingly accurate in the relationship between mother and daughter. But most touching is how all of the women gather around and support M'Lynn in her painful loss.

It's true that the movie was set in the "Deep South" of the United States, but there's something universal about it. My mother cried when she watched it the first time. When I was teaching an English class to Spanish-speaking students, I used it for the language and subtitles, I had a whole classroom of Mexican women weeping over M'Lynn's loss. And now I notice that this movie has a high rating here in the UK!

To me, it shows universal human nature. It has the right combination of dramatic elements, humor, sadness and triumph to make it an excellent movie. I strongly encourage getting the movie and watching it. I'll make a guess that you won't watch it only once!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 27 September 2010
Great classic movie, is extremely sad and funny at the same time. Girls night in film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 16 July 2014
Based on the play by Robert Harling, and based on his own life experiences ( the documentary on the DVD covers this more in depth ) and Directed by Herbert Ross, the film chronicles the lives of a group of women in a small Louisiana town over the course of a few years.
What starts of as a comedy, complete with razor sharp one liners, classic lines ( " looks like two pigs, fightin' under a blanket " ) and bursting with good old fashioned southern hospitality and sweetness the film suddenly changes direction when one of the characters, Shelby ( Roberts ) a serious diabetic, takes a turn for the worse.
You'd be hard pressed to find a cast that work so beautifully together, capturing humour, tenderness and emotion so perfectly.
The tag line of the film on it's release was " the funniest movie to make you cry " , and that sums it up perfectly.
Starring Sally Field, Dolly Parton, Julia Roberts, Daryl Hannah and a sublime comedy pairing in Shirley MacLaine and Olympia Dukakis ( who incidentally steal virtually every scene they are in together ) Steel Magnolias is on par, for me, with Bette Midler's Beaches as one of those films that can make you laugh and cry in equal measure.
Highly Recommended viewing for those quiet sunday afternoons.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 13 June 2010
Definitely a girl's film, but one that will touch a lot of men too. The huge cast of charismatic acting aristocracy, gives it a true heritage & acounts for the longevity it enjoys. It takes you through a roller coaster of emotions from the banter of the Southern ladies who have been friends for years, to the heartbreak of a family devastated by their daughter's defective kidneys and the knock on effect to friends & the community in the deep South of America. Absolutely not to be missed & I have watched it at least 20 times and it still warms & pleases just as much.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on 16 June 2003
I'm sure that any film reviewer would not put this in his list of the top 10 films of all time, but it is way up there in my personal list. It is just a great feel good film which over a period of several years depicts the lives of several women as the get on with life as best they can. Dolly Parton, Olympia Dukakis, Sally Field, Shirley McLaine, Daryl Hannah, and Julia Roberts star. All aspects of life are there, right from birth to death and theres some great comedy in there too tyhough the film is not a comedy. Dukakis and Mclaine's one liners and constant bickering is a joy from start to finish. The film is set in the 'deep south' of the US, which seems to give the comedy a bit more bite'... well okay then it gets down right bitchy at times but always tongue in cheek.
A great Sunday afternoon film. May make your eyes water and tug at your heart strings but well worth a look!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 12 January 2010
This is a very tear jerker film I would say for ladies only they would have to have plenty of hankies round about them but it is a very good film
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 4 February 2015
Half of this film was missing on DVD. First of all we couldn't get rid of subtitles then film jumped about from scene to scene then finished after around 50 missed about 1 hour.
Unfortunately couldn't find sellers info so put it in bin. Very disappointed. Never had this problem before. Well hope not! I have bought DVDs for presents from Amazon so maybe recipients too polite to tell me.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
This film is about six rather different women in the US South, who live in the same neighbourhood and regularly see each other at the beauty parlour, whose owner is very well played by Dolly Parton. All the women have slightly odd names, the least unusual being Shelby (played by Julia Roberts). Shelby is preparing to be married in the first part of the story, with her household in an uproar.. and it’s not long before we learn that she’s diabetic.

The blurb says that this is the ‘funniest movie ever to make you cry’. Serious hyperbole there since I neither laughed nor cried. It’s undoubtedly moving, and the characters (once I had got used to the strong accents) likeable. There were a few amusing moments, and a tragedy which I should probably have foreseen, but which I didn’t quite believe would happen in the context of a fairly light mildly humorous film.

Still, it works well; the interactions between the women are mostly believable, and the story thought-provoking. I felt quite involved with the story and the people and was sorry when it ended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 4 May 2014
All the stars I like, small town US setting that I like, I just found the whole thing lightweight and silly.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Beaches [DVD] [1989]
Beaches [DVD] [1989] by Bette Midler (DVD - 2003)

Driving Miss Daisy [DVD]
Driving Miss Daisy [DVD] by Jessica Tandy (DVD - 2008)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.