Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful film
I was interested in this movie after taking a look at the front cover of the DVD and seeing what a strong cast of female talent it had. 'Steel Magnolias' (1990) was a treat from start to finish, a comedy/drama centering around a group of very different women in a beautiful Louisiana bayou town, a simple story about love and friendship.

Julia Roberts is terrific...
Published on 9 Nov 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars FOR ME, JUST SILLY
All the stars I like, small town US setting that I like, I just found the whole thing lightweight and silly.
Published 7 months ago by Mrs. J. Stark


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful film, 9 Nov 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Steel Magnolias [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
I was interested in this movie after taking a look at the front cover of the DVD and seeing what a strong cast of female talent it had. 'Steel Magnolias' (1990) was a treat from start to finish, a comedy/drama centering around a group of very different women in a beautiful Louisiana bayou town, a simple story about love and friendship.

Julia Roberts is terrific as the lead character, Shelby, a young women who gets married and has a child, only for tragedy to strike due to her type of diabetes. The scene stealer is undeniably Shirley MacLaine as Louisa, a grumpy, acid tongued two-timed widow, the 'heart' of the film is Dolly Parton as hairdresser Truvvy, and special marks should go to the wonderful Sally Field who excels as the distraught mother towards the end if the film.

'Steel Magnolias' is a new favourite film of mine, it is beautifully-written, superbly acted out and just a brilliant piece of drama that should appeal to both men and women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Steel Magnolias, 27 Sep 2010
This review is from: Steel Magnolias [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Great classic movie, is extremely sad and funny at the same time. Girls night in film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this film!, 16 Jun 2003
By 
GG (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
I'm sure that any film reviewer would not put this in his list of the top 10 films of all time, but it is way up there in my personal list. It is just a great feel good film which over a period of several years depicts the lives of several women as the get on with life as best they can. Dolly Parton, Olympia Dukakis, Sally Field, Shirley McLaine, Daryl Hannah, and Julia Roberts star. All aspects of life are there, right from birth to death and theres some great comedy in there too tyhough the film is not a comedy. Dukakis and Mclaine's one liners and constant bickering is a joy from start to finish. The film is set in the 'deep south' of the US, which seems to give the comedy a bit more bite'... well okay then it gets down right bitchy at times but always tongue in cheek.
A great Sunday afternoon film. May make your eyes water and tug at your heart strings but well worth a look!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars " the funniest movie ever to make you cry ", 16 July 2014
By 
Robster (Preston, U.K) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Steel Magnolias [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Based on the play by Robert Harling, and based on his own life experiences ( the documentary on the DVD covers this more in depth ) and Directed by Herbert Ross, the film chronicles the lives of a group of women in a small Louisiana town over the course of a few years.
What starts of as a comedy, complete with razor sharp one liners, classic lines ( " looks like two pigs, fightin' under a blanket " ) and bursting with good old fashioned southern hospitality and sweetness the film suddenly changes direction when one of the characters, Shelby ( Roberts ) a serious diabetic, takes a turn for the worse.
You'd be hard pressed to find a cast that work so beautifully together, capturing humour, tenderness and emotion so perfectly.
The tag line of the film on it's release was " the funniest movie to make you cry " , and that sums it up perfectly.
Starring Sally Field, Dolly Parton, Julia Roberts, Daryl Hannah and a sublime comedy pairing in Shirley MacLaine and Olympia Dukakis ( who incidentally steal virtually every scene they are in together ) Steel Magnolias is on par, for me, with Bette Midler's Beaches as one of those films that can make you laugh and cry in equal measure.
Highly Recommended viewing for those quiet sunday afternoons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steel Magnolias, 12 Jan 2010
This review is from: Steel Magnolias [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
This is a very tear jerker film I would say for ladies only they would have to have plenty of hankies round about them but it is a very good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars FOR ME, JUST SILLY, 4 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Magnolias [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
All the stars I like, small town US setting that I like, I just found the whole thing lightweight and silly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit Corny, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Magnolias [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Though there are very good actors in the film,i thought it was a bit corny and over the top in places!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great., 1 Dec 2012
By 
Jan Nitschke Aas "jnaas" (høvik. norway.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Magnolias [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
What more can you ask for in a film? Funny,sad and true to reality.And what a gallery of great actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious & heartbreaking, 12 Jun 2012
By 
Mrs. J. Sears (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Magnolias [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
a wonderful film - brilliant cast - heartbreakingly sad and hilariously funny in turn. marvellous cast - every one turns in an oscar winning performance every one should watch this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great acting, great story, 13 Jun 2010
By 
P. Howard (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Magnolias [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Definitely a girl's film, but one that will touch a lot of men too. The huge cast of charismatic acting aristocracy, gives it a true heritage & acounts for the longevity it enjoys. It takes you through a roller coaster of emotions from the banter of the Southern ladies who have been friends for years, to the heartbreak of a family devastated by their daughter's defective kidneys and the knock on effect to friends & the community in the deep South of America. Absolutely not to be missed & I have watched it at least 20 times and it still warms & pleases just as much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Steel Magnolias [DVD] [1990]
Steel Magnolias [DVD] [1990] by Herbert Ross (DVD - 2001)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews