Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Comedy
Here is a gem of a film. This feelgood comedy stars Robert Downey Jnr. as the reincarnation of Cybills Shepherds dead husband who meets and falls in love with his (now grown up) daughter, played by the understated Mary Stewart Masterson. Comedy and confusion ensues as mother and daughter both fall for the same man. With a good supporting role from Ryan O'Neal as cybills...
Published on 3 Dec 2002 by Mr. L. Moreland

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A small comedy
The story is not bad, unfortunately the script writer is not Neil Simon, so the better thing in the movie is not Cybill Shepherd nor Ryan O'Neill, but it is the always incredible Robert Downey Junior who is able to make us like whatever character he plays. He is definitely the better thing in this movie.
Published 16 months ago by Sabrina_c


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Comedy, 3 Dec 2002
By 
Mr. L. Moreland (Winnersh,Berks, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chances Are [DVD] (DVD)
Here is a gem of a film. This feelgood comedy stars Robert Downey Jnr. as the reincarnation of Cybills Shepherds dead husband who meets and falls in love with his (now grown up) daughter, played by the understated Mary Stewart Masterson. Comedy and confusion ensues as mother and daughter both fall for the same man. With a good supporting role from Ryan O'Neal as cybills Shepherds lovelorn friend, this is one of those 80's classic movies sure to appeal to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 9 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chances Are [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film. It has something for everyone. It is funny and a gentle love story, with a great cast. I would suggest sitting down with the whole family to watch this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth a watch..., 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chances Are [DVD] (DVD)
One of my favourite movies of all time, proper rom-com!!
I recommend this movie to ANYONE and I certainly recommend the seller. NO faults. buy all my DVD's with the company...
10 out of 10!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chances are, 2 April 2013
By 
roger (Nottinham, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chances Are [DVD] (DVD)
A very funny film a new twist on a old story it was a joy to watch and well acted with top stars i would reccomend this to all who enjoy a good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chances are dvd, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chances Are [DVD] (DVD)
i like this film very much a love story with a difference it is a bit like peggy sue got married a good girly film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romantic, 15 Sep 2011
This review is from: Chances Are [DVD] (DVD)
I found this film to be very romantic and was certainly something worth watching as a soother to the hustle bustle of life.

From the box, "An offbeat romantic comedy, 'Chances Are' is the hilarious story of student Alex Finch (Robert Downey Jr.) a guy who's literally seen it all before... Killed in a car accident back in 1966, Louie Jeffries finds himself at the prime of life at Heaven's pearly gates. Desperate to get back to what he's left behind, Louie returns to earth as the young expecting Alex. Gradually regaining his memory from his previous life, Alex is confronted with a wife (Cybill Shepherd) he's never met, a daughter (Mary Stuart Masterson) who's his girlfriend, and a best friend (Ryan O'Neal) he's never laid eyes on! Creating chaos and confusing everyone, Alex tries to come to terms with his new-found family before he loses his mind!"

The Special Features on this DVD are a (US) Theatrical Trailer with optional subtitles in German, French, Dutch, Spanish and Italian, and (a rather disappointing) Talent Profiles of Emile Ardolino (Director), Cybil Shepherd and Robert Downey, Jr. Alas, these Talent Profiles are just a few screens of text and offers no new information not already widely known on the internet and IMDB website.

DVD menu is in English only. Audio tracks are English and German (2.1 surround), French and Italian (Stereo) and Spanish (Mono). Subtitles are English, French, German, Polish, Czech, Hungarian, Hindi, Turkish, Danish, Arabic, Swedish, Finnish, Icelandic, Dutch, Norwegian, Portuguese, Greek, Hebrew, Spanish and Italian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely Magical Film, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chances Are [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film years ago when I was young and it had always resided inside me as a warm fuzzy memory. Then I decided to look for it on Amazon after googling first because I couldn't remember the name of it. Once ordered and arrived in quick time, ive watched it again and loved it again also! Robert DJ is sooo young in it, and cute, and he has def aged well!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CHANCES ARE, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chances Are [DVD] (DVD)
Loved it..and young Robert Downey is gorgeous Would recommend this light hearted film to anyone..more a woman's film than a mans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just a cute oldie, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chances Are [DVD] (DVD)
It's all you would expect from a romantic comedy - it's funny, it's romantic, it's not too long, it seems fresh every time you see it. And it's about the kind of peope we all would like to have as our friends. Nice distraction from daily news nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fun, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chances Are [DVD] (DVD)
It is a little sad and very fun.To live in another body very younger,refind his wife,his daughter,old friend,alot of things which create funny situation,with a happy end for everyone,very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chances Are [DVD]
Chances Are [DVD] by Emile Ardolino (DVD - 2005)
£18.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews