Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Wonderful
It sounds over the top but I can only describe this collection as 'truly wonderful.'

The digital remastering has left the orginal colour and warmth of the recordings intact while producing a high quality noise free sound quality.

The songs are delightful and I agree wholly with the previous reviewers comments.

It is also excellent value...
Published on 19 Jan 2007 by Muddy Rutter

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed in this album
This album did not live up to my high expectations. I have a copy of John Hurt Today which I like very much but this double album just does not contain enough high quality compositions in my opinion.
Published on 22 Sep 2010 by Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Wonderful, 19 Jan 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Studio Recordings: Remastered (Audio CD)
It sounds over the top but I can only describe this collection as 'truly wonderful.'

The digital remastering has left the orginal colour and warmth of the recordings intact while producing a high quality noise free sound quality.

The songs are delightful and I agree wholly with the previous reviewers comments.

It is also excellent value for money with three CDs in the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliance semmingly without effort., 8 Feb 2004
Mississippi john hurt, a legend, in my opinion this cd set contains all his best recorded songs, taken from three albums released by vanguard,the music contains such a soft and mellow approach, you dont realise how good it is until youre singing along with the master,
There is not a single bad song here,there is not even an o.k song in here, they are all brilliant, i never knew how good this man could be 'til i heard these sides. if you like country blues, mellow, kind and happenin' get this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding collection, well remastered, 5 Jan 2012
By 
ANH (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Studio Recordings: Remastered (Audio CD)
I can't really add any more to previous reviews, other than to say that this is a great place to put your toe into the ocean that is the Blues. The original recordings were good, the remastering is even better and the music is very fine indeed. The three albums you get are "Today", "Immortal" and "Last Sessions" and there isn't a bad track in there. This is the Blues played from the heart, quiet, unassuming and deep. Take a swim in here and you may never get back out again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 21 Dec 2010
By 
Peter Meathrel (South Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Studio Recordings: Remastered (Audio CD)
Just beautiful - and the remastering has been done really well. It would be difficult to dislike anything on this collection. The guitar work sounds so simple but as someone on the sleeve notes says - it ain't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars life enhancing music., 29 Sep 2008
This review is from: The Complete Studio Recordings: Remastered (Audio CD)
Here is a most moving 3 cd set of one of the greatest of all blues players.Miss this at your peril,because you'll be missing out on a treat.try the Amazon other suppliers for a real bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just an old man playing & singing, 19 Nov 2003
By 
This review is from: The Complete Studio Recordings: Remastered (Audio CD)
Soft & gentle, simple & serene, light & joyful. An old man with no anger or fear - staring death in the face with a twinkle in his eye. Happy blues! Music like this has so much wisdom it really can change your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Studio Recordings: Remastered (Audio CD)
Great album. Speedy delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only fault here is the sleeve, 28 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Complete Studio Recordings: Remastered (Audio CD)
Mississippi John Hurt could very well have been the first to record a song attibuted to Hank Williams and that's My Bucket's Got A Hole in It.Here its called Richland Woman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Studio Recordings: Remastered (Audio CD)
The master....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed in this album, 22 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album did not live up to my high expectations. I have a copy of John Hurt Today which I like very much but this double album just does not contain enough high quality compositions in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Studio Recordings: Remastered
The Complete Studio Recordings: Remastered by Mississippi John Hurt (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews