Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very underrated album.
"Believe in Nothing" is a fine album of dark, heavy songs by a great band.
However, I believe this to be the least popular of all PL albums to date, and sometimes I reckon it's purely to do with the band's curious choice of album cover!
Gregor wanted to create a "live-sounding" album here, and it definately shows. Songs like "Mouth" and "Fader" are among PL's...
Published on 10 April 2005 by Warren Doyle

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not their best but still good
I first purchased this album in 2001, but because I scrapped my car with Believe In Nothing still in the stereo I am purchasing a copy again...When I first heard the album I was expecting a full on synth album again and another Host - which incidentally alienated diehard PL fans when it was released - But this isn't the case and on this album PL bring back the heavier...
Published on 12 Feb 2011 by Vlad


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very underrated album., 10 April 2005
This review is from: Believe In Nothing (Audio CD)
"Believe in Nothing" is a fine album of dark, heavy songs by a great band.
However, I believe this to be the least popular of all PL albums to date, and sometimes I reckon it's purely to do with the band's curious choice of album cover!
Gregor wanted to create a "live-sounding" album here, and it definately shows. Songs like "Mouth" and "Fader" are among PL's most listenable songs, that is, to an audience wider than their fanbase. My favourite song here is "Never Again". It's atmospheric and dark yet is has a warm glow to it. Other great songs here are "Divided", well orchestrated and executed, and closer "World Pretending". This is a very downbeat, slow song with excellent vocals from Nick Holmes.
One flaw here, I would say, is that on occasion it feels as if some of the songs don't belong together. E.g: I feel songs like "Mouth", Look at me now" and "No Reason" are so different from "Never Again" and "Control" to the extent that is seems odd that they'd be on the same album.
This minor detail aside, "Believe in Nothing" is difficult to fault.
Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing album, 8 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Believe In Nothing (Audio CD)
Judging from my promo copy, well, this is amazing stuff. I was talking to Aaron at their gig a couple of months ago and he said it's like a mixture of the last 4 albums, namely Icon, Draconian Times, One Second and Host. Couldn't describe it better myself. It's just great. Nice indeed to have the metal guitars back. I hope they become as big again, like the old days.
Cenk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not their best but still good, 12 Feb 2011
By 
Vlad (Swansea, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Believe In Nothing (Audio CD)
I first purchased this album in 2001, but because I scrapped my car with Believe In Nothing still in the stereo I am purchasing a copy again...When I first heard the album I was expecting a full on synth album again and another Host - which incidentally alienated diehard PL fans when it was released - But this isn't the case and on this album PL bring back the heavier guitars with less emphasis on electronics. The album has some excellent tracks, but these are few and far between the standouts being "Look At Me Now", "Illumination" and "Never Again". For me Believe In Nothing is a good album but doesn't come anywhere near to being a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Believe In this Album!!!!, 19 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Believe In Nothing (Audio CD)
A band which never gets the respect they deserve. Paradise Lost have always been in the background for the vast majority of the metal world but now is it time for these doom metal boys to shine? This Album suggests so.
As soon as you listen to "I am Nothing" you know your in for a treat! "Mouth" demonstrates how mature the song writing ability of Nick and Greg has become and the whole album represents both new and Old Paradise Lost. One of the best and probably most under-rated albums of the year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe In NOthing, 9 Jun 2002
This review is from: Believe In Nothing (Audio CD)
A Very Fine album,because the songs are typical Paradise Lost.Dont expect doom-metal,dont expect another "Host"!.Expect something different.Musicaly this album is very simple,but yet powerfull and melancholic.Songs about despair,rage,anger,depression.If you dont like nu-metal,this is the alternative.Very powerfull songs on this album are "mouth","control","sell it to the world","look at me now" and at times "Something real".Actually no matter what the critics say,this album rocks!.MOre melancholy songs are "Illumination","World pretending","Divided".
When you liked "One second" and also "Host" you will like this one.On the other hand if you are a DIE_HARD-doom fan,STAY AWAY FROM IT!!!The bad critics are only of those who liked Paradise Lost from 1990 tot 1995.
This is only my opinion about it,but i guess that people who liked Paradise Lost also after "Once secnd" will agree with me.
Also check the singles from the album.Masterpieces like "Gone" and "Waiting for God".To good for not to hear!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Host 2? Well almost., 7 Mar 2001
This review is from: Believe In Nothing (Audio CD)
Paradise Lost have evolved into what is their own unique sound and good for them, They obviously like what they are doing. This new alum proves that the sound they are looking for is now part of them fully. Although more in ya face then Host it still retains the same feel, however the songs just are not quite as "catchy" as the ones that made Host feel very listenable. Buy it if you like Host, avoid if you didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great pretenders, 13 Jun 2012
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Believe In Nothing (Audio CD)
Much has been said in reference to PL's post One Second 2 albums, Host and Believe in Nothing. And mostly the feedback has been negative across the board which is a shame because I found both albums to be quite refreshing and both very dissimilar to one another. Host was a complete shift away from anything metal, whereas BIN returned to the guitars but followed a more commercial avenue. The albums that succeeded this stuck with this format (to a certain degree) but ramped up the heavy. Host was a triumph of substance over style and BIN was just a great little rock album.

Opener 'I Am Nothing' starts it all off in particularly melodic and loud fashion, eschewing the lessons learnt from the gentle Host in favour of an almost nu-metal sheen (almost). 'Mouth' continues this perfectly, itself being an unadulterated commercial construct, only in a very pleasing way. What's wrong with 3 minutes of catchy chorus and driving beats? 'Fader' is slightly more of a lowest common denominator. It's good but sounds too similar to its forebears. 'Look at me Now' however is a great fun little track with an unapologetically silly but catchy chorus. 'Illumination' slows thing down a bit but not completely for the better. And 'Something Real' is a single-worthy song too far. It's ok but a bit average.

It's when we get to 'Divided' that some remnants of the experimentation from Host appears. It is not entirely successful but is, again, a lot of fun. It sounds like it was commissioned for a James Bond theme, which gives it a nice cheesy quality, ramping up the brass and enjoying itself a little too much. 'Sell It to the World' continues the fun but with more pace and in under 3 minutes. That is what is very apparent with BIN; it seems to not be taking itself too seriously and it makes for far easier and more enjoyable listening. Host was great but sometimes all you need is a 3 minute catchy rock-out. 'Never Again' is possibly the most PL sounding song on the album apart from the closer. It's dark and moody and played with waves of gothic influence. 'Control' is my pick from the album. It is a stunning song that mixes the melody and heaviness with interesting structures and delivery together with technical expertise. It's a cracker. Which is why the last 2 tracks are a bit damp squibby. 'No Reason' is ok just going through the motions and 'World Pretending', while a grower, is still really only good at best. And it's quite a depressing and slow paced track to end with in my opinion.

While not a complete success, BIN is far from the disaster that many seem to think it is. Granted it is no award winner and never will be, but it's got a handful of really good rock tunes and a consistent tone throughout. And it's fun. Which no other PL album is. Not one for beginners trying to find the PL sound but definitely equal to it's overly revered follow-up, Symbol of Life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Host with guitars, 4 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Believe In Nothing (Audio CD)
I should probably review this cd after a few weeks of listening as I had done with Host after deciding that it is a fine album. However with this new cd being heralded as "a mix of draconian times and one second" I have to put my word in. First off, okay there are more guitars, but that doesnt mean anything. It doesnt make the album seem heavier and it doesnt give it that metal feel of Draconian Times. This really just sounds like Host with some guitars. Not to say that is bad, there are some good tracks, and a couple of the tracks at the end are quite doomy, but on the whole it is still very commercial sounding. However I am sure this one will grow on me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A grower rather than an instant hit, but worth the listen, 12 Mar 2001
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Believe In Nothing (Audio CD)
A damn fine album from a dependable band who have found a sound they finally seem comfortable with. Far removed from the (rather dull) growl ridden doom metal of Icon and Gothic. This band have grown and experimented over the last 5 or 6 years from Draconian Times (which was good metal), thru One Second (which intoduced more keyboards and was even better), Host (where the keyboards were taken too far !) and now to Believe in Nothing which reintroduces a stronger guitar sound (wey !)and some quite simple but effective orchestration . It also benefits from a fine set of memorable songs. I hesitate to say this but you could probably sing along and dance to ost of them !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beleive It's Disappointing, 26 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Believe In Nothing (Audio CD)
I have listened to everything from PL so far, but in my opinion this one isn't as good as previous albums like 'One Second' , 'Draconian Times' or even 'Icon'. Some of their records like 'Host' takes time to get used to, and after some weeks, I quite liked it, but it isn't the same for this one. I can't see myself liking this record ever. It is fair to say that 'Believe In Nothing' is well engineered, but most of the tracks are dull and depressing. I am a fan of PL but unfortunately I don't recommend this album. I hope their next album will be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Believe In Nothing
Believe In Nothing by Paradise Lost (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews