Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The oldest and the best - have a box of tissues handy
If you want to see a really good old-fashioned Christmas film, this is the one for you! Much better than the remake, even though it's in black and white. Bound to make everyone wonder about the reality of Father Christmas (and we all really want him to be real). Just sit back and enjoy.
Published on 13 Dec 2007 by P. Field

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little bit of nostalgia.
This was bought for Christmas time viewing, and yes, you can always see it on the TV, but not always when you want to. Always enjoyable.
Published 13 months ago by Mrs J Barnett


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The oldest and the best - have a box of tissues handy, 13 Dec 2007
By 
P. Field "Pat" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you want to see a really good old-fashioned Christmas film, this is the one for you! Much better than the remake, even though it's in black and white. Bound to make everyone wonder about the reality of Father Christmas (and we all really want him to be real). Just sit back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great feel-good movies (xmas or otherwise)!, 19 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Miracle on 34th Street [DVD] [1947] (DVD)
Whilst I don't agree with the other review that John Payne playes Kris Kringle (it was Edmund Gwenn) I completely agree that this is one of the greatest feel-good movies. Although the more recent version was okay, this original version has much more humour and charm. This is the type of movie you watch to cheer yourself up, whether xmas is around the corner or not! Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start the holiday season with this movie each Thanksgiving, 27 Nov 2003
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Miracle on 34th Street [DVD] [1947] (DVD)
Since "Miracle on 34th Street" begins with the Macy's parade on Thanksgiving Day, it is the obvious movie to watch on Turkey Day to begin the Christmas season (when you watch "White Christmas," your favorite version of "A Christmas Carol," and "It's a Wonderful Life" is up to you). I know am not alone in my belief that Edmund Gwenn IS Kris Kringle, which means he IS Santa Claus. Of course they gave Gwenn the Oscar for Best Actor in a Supporting Role in 1948, but the film also won Oscars for Best Writing, Original Story (Valentine Davies) and Best Writing, Screenplay (George Seaton). Maureen O'Hara plays Doris Walker, a single mom who insists on bringing up her daughter Susan, played by adorable Natalie Wood in one of the great childhood performances of all time, in a no-nonsense manner, which means no fantasy, no fairy tales and certainly no Santa Claus. Boy, is she ever wrong, although it takes Kris longer to convince the mother than it does to work his magic on the daughter.
This version of this classic holiday film offers up the long trailer in which the publicity department tries to figure out how to market the film to the masses, which is a nice added bonus. You have to remember that the head of the studio had the delusion idea that since this was a good movie it should be released in May because that is when more people watched movie. However, the point of owning "Miracle on 34th Street" is to be able to watch it when it best fits your holiday schedule and cry over your favorites scenes. The best times to cry during this movie are as follows: (1) When Susan overhears Kris talking Dutch to the little refugee girl; (2) When Mr. Macy admits under oath on the witness stand that he believes Kris to be Santa Claus; (3) When Susan writes "I believe in you too" on Susan's letter to Kris; (4) When Susan yells, "Stop, Uncle Fred! Stop!" and (5) when Fred sees the cane in the corner and realizes that the magic might not have been his own after all. Please feel free to add others to this list as you see fit. Now, excuse me, as I have to go dry my eyes and remember that some films have become holiday classics for good reasons and that remaking something in color does not mean just because it is new it is improved. Happy Turkey Day, everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars :), 9 Jan 2009
By 
This is one of the oldest and best-known christmasmovies ever, so I really wonder why I waited until this year to see it. From now on, I will see it every year, `cause it`s one of the best christmas movies I`ve ever seen!

It`s about a little girl who doesn`t believe in Santa Claus, probably because her mom manages the christmasparade every year and tells her daughter about the Santa`s she have to rent, and how bad they are. The mom is also a very realistic person who thinks we should only believe in the things we know for a fact, and that imagination is unnecessary.
But this year a Santa appears as if from nowhere, and her mom hires him for the parade and for the mall. The little girl goes with her neighbour to see Santa at the mall and after talking to him she`s starting to wonder if he really is Santa Claus, as he claims to be...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The traditional film for starting off the Christmas season, 18 Nov 2003
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Since "Miracle on 34th Street" begins with the Macy's parade on Thanksgiving Day, it is the obvious movie to watch on Turkey Day and begin the Christmas season. I am not alone in my belief that Edmund Gwenn IS Kris Kringle, which means he IS Santa Claus. Of course they gave Gwenn the Oscar for Best Actor in a Supporting Role in 1948, but the film also won Oscars for Best Writing, Original Story (Valentine Davies) and Best Writing, Screenplay (George Seaton). Maureen O'Hara plays Doris Walker, a single mom who insists on bringing her daughter Susan, played by Natalie Wood in one of the great childhood performances of all time, in a no-nonsense manner, which means no fantasy, no fairey tales and certainly no Santa Claus. Boy, is she ever wrong.
The best times to cry during this movie are as follows: (1) When Susan overhears Kris talking Dutch to the little refugee girl; (2) When Mr. Macy admits under oath on the witness stand that he believes Kris to be Santa Claus; (3) When Susan writes "I believe in you too" on Susan's letter to Kirs; (4) When Susan yells, "Stop, Uncle Fred! Stop!" and (5) when Fred sees the cane in the corner. Please feel free to add others to this list as you see fit. Now, excuse me, as I have to go dry my eyes and remember that some films have become holiday classics for good reasons and that remaking something in color does not mean just because it is new it is improved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do Yo Believe ?, 13 Oct 2002
This review is from: Miracle on 34th Street [DVD] [1947] (DVD)
This film can really bring out the believer in all of us. To see Christmas once again through a childs eye. At the start a cynic due to the pressures of an adult who has forgotten what it is like to be a child. By the end even a cynic will be converted. This film was made all the better by he updated version which could bring a tear from the hardest heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Christmas Feel Good Movie, 21 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This is the original and still the best version of this classic Christmas movie. It is a warm and heart rending tale of a store Santa who claims to be the real thing. It shows the true spirit of Christmas and begs the question "Does Santa Claus really exist?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally proof that Santa is real, 13 Mar 2007
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
will not bore you with a recap of the whole movie or state which is obvious to all that this 1947 black and white movie is one of the major Christmas Classics.

Kris Kringle (Edmond Gwenn) is appalled to find a Santa preparing to be in the Thanks Giving Day parade is intoxicated. Kris is hired to play the part of him self. He befriends a child Susan (Natalie Wood) who does not believe in Santa or the tooth fairy or giants. His employer Doris Walker (Maureen O'Hara) is dubious of her decision to hire him after learning that he believes he is Santa. In the spirit of Christmas he brings two rival stores together and is in the process of bringing the girl around to believing. Naturally I left out many other controversial questions and fun scenes. Among them is one where a Dutch girl recognizes him as Santa and he speaks Dutch to her.

Through a few misunderstandings he is put on trial and must prove he is Santa. Can his friend, who happens to be a lawyer, prove this? If not what will happen to him? What effect will this have on Susan? Or you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, lovely and Christmassy!, 2 Dec 2006
By 
M. Todd (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miracle on 34th Street [DVD] [1947] (DVD)
This year I decided I wanted to see this Classic Christmas films. First I watched White Christmas and was hugely dissapointed, not christmassy at all. My second choice was Miracle on 34th Street and it was fantastic. I don't think a more christmassy film exists.

Santa clause ends up working in Macy's and the evil Psychiatrist who assess the staff decides that the man is claelry delusional. A court case ensues where Santa has to first prove the existence of santa clause and then prove that he is the real Santa.

Very funny, very cheerful and enjoyable. Maybe not for children as debateing the existence of Santa probably isn't a great idea. The whole film is christmassy throughout and really serves to get you in the festive mood. Themes of renewed hope and a romance keep the storyline going. Of course it's cheesy in parts but it's not too much, the adults of course do not beleive that he is santa though they pretend to so it's not too hard to swallow. Actually a thought provoking film, is it really that bad to allow someone to believe their delusions if they are happy, hermless delusions? Highly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Ever Christmas Movie, 5 Dec 2013
By 
S. Lyons (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is without doubt the best ever Christmas movie and to now have a colourised version is wonderful. It has both realism (wanting to put the old man who thinks he is Santa in an institution) and magic (maybe the old man is Santa after all). The film never actually says he is Santa, and is all the better for it. The arguments in the court scenes are exactly what you would expect to hear if someone making those claims were to end up in court, and the battles between the competing department stores in New York are amusing. The performances are great (with Edmund Gwenn rightfully winning an Oscar) and the script spot on, delivering a warm Christmas family movie without dripping it in oil. And just for the record, this p*sses all over the 1994 Richard Attenborough remake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miracle on 34th Street [DVD] [1947]
Miracle on 34th Street [DVD] [1947] by George Seaton (DVD - 2004)
3.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews